I'm from chennai. Here, Only an apartment that is worth Rs 50,00,000 & above can fetch you Rs 12,000 as rent in todays scenario i.e. when u buy an apartment today for 50 lakhs, you can only rent it to a max of 12 thousand. So if this is the case in chennai, the cost of purchasing an apartment in mumbai & delhi should be even more & im quite sure the rent should only be a little more.
So, i suppose the data taken for comparison is wrong in this article. Probably a 25 lakhs apartment can only fetch you 8000 in rent in chennai. And should be almost the same in other metropolitan cities. So, i dont know where the author of this article hail from.
RE:data for comparison looks wrong !
by anchal sultania on Apr 30, 2007 06:58 PM Permalink
@Vasanth Kumar Gopalakrishnan
your assertion "Only an apartment that is worth Rs 50,00,000 & above can fetch you Rs 12,000" is wrong. That is true in Chennai. But if you come down to banaglore, you would find that the house worth 30 lakhs (a 2BHK) earns you anywhere between 12000 to 20000. It all depends upon a lot of attached attributes to the house.
RE:data for comparison looks wrong !
by karthik on Apr 30, 2007 09:41 PM Permalink
no in chennai itself, in Velachery Ramaniyam Edens and Coconut grove which cost 35 lacs and 48 lacs resp. ,the prevailing rent is 15k & 20k.