A country where newborn girls are buried alive and aborted even before they are born, where girl have to pay HUGE MONEY as dowry to even get married , where girls child is treated as an unwanted and given less food, where when a girl is born faces become constiptated and when a male child is born there is a mihai baat,where idiotic boys are given coaching at KOta for THREE YEARS to clear IITJEE while girls child is ignored, where women are raped every minute, where boys are pampered like hell and gifted motorcycles by parents the moment they step in to class 12th and later these same boys become newabs and do chain snatching and eve teasing, where men can have sex as much as they want before marraige and come Mr CLEAN at marriage while women is blamed in case she is not a virgin, where husband is not considered a life partner but a pati parmeshwar a f GOD, where a screen kiss makes a NATIONAL HEADLINES, where women live a scary and insecure lives and have to obey commands of her husbands like a slave, discrimination on EVERY STEP agaisnt women, where corruption is so high that a chaprasi to the chairman have amassed property worth crores and crores while 90% of people have to slog it out.
sex ratio in India is DECLINING SHARPLY AND SOON THERE WILL BE SHORTAGE OF MARRIAGABLE GIRLS, ALREADY happened in states of Haryana, Rajasthan, and Punjab
RE:True face of India
by vipin nayyar on May 23, 2008 09:38 AM Permalink
I fully agree with you that India has one of the most corrupt political system in the World.You will not find even a single politician who talks about reducing corruption taking India to a progressive path. They all want to divide and rule. They never talk of giving facilities to backward class so that they can compete at their own but they want reservation in every field. It is only the market size in India that has contributed to the progress but just see China, in infrastructure we are still 100 years behind. What makes you feel proud, a few software companies in India, the way inflation and salaries are going up, very soon it will no longer be a lucrative destination for MNCs.
by Jaichand on May 23, 2008 09:41 AM Permalink
Problem is HOLIER THAN THOU attitude of Indians who live in day dreams of somehow being a superpower and automatically all problems are pushed under the carpet.
we all know how hellish India is but we are hard nosed and will fail to see shit on our faces even when shown clearly in mirror.
all indians these are living in superpower fantasies
by samson judas on May 23, 2008 09:40 AM Permalink
Dear Jaichand, I agree with you 101%. This is the correct frightening picture of the latest happenings here!! Actual thing working here is a religion called Hiprocracy!! Else all, or most of the above things would not have happened !
by LN on May 23, 2008 09:52 AM Permalink
No one will dispute with you on this point, this is the real India, described in a paragraph, I think some miracle or some divine blessing is still keeping India alive and kicking. The kinda social infrastructure we have, the country would have been broken into 1000 pieces in a single day on the basis of caste, creed, language, religion, quota, and above all the politicians would have got a big chunk of land for their won.
RE:RE:True face of India
by DS on May 23, 2008 10:51 AM Permalink
it is just because we are very complacent and careless when it comes to our own existence. we don't care. we don't care that we are living in such a stratafied country. we don't care that we recognize problems. we don't care that we are even close to being a developed society.
we just don't care. in return, the world doesn't care about us.
by Jaichand on May 23, 2008 09:56 AM Permalink
Dear things will improve ONLY when we stop having holier than thou attitude and swish problems under the carpet
by karpagam masanan on May 23, 2008 09:44 AM Permalink
Before writing this article, did u thought what have you done personally to overcome these problems. Every place have advantages and disadvantages of its own. Stop complaining and act.. If you are not ready to do anything then dont complain.
by Haresh on May 23, 2008 09:49 AM Permalink
Jaichan is one of the worst person produced by mother on the earth. I dont know where he lives currently, but if i get opportunity to sponsor him a visit to india which is not what he just said. If you are in US or UK, please ask how parents take pride about their daughters virignity or about their son who calls police to get their parents arrested. Hope Jaichand is also reading news of Indian being killed now and then, as part of racist mindset. What r u talking abt killing of girls -- Indian born American Astranaut was not killed when she was born and so was Indira gandhi, and so was Rani Lakshmibai and so was his mother. I dont know how to deal with few Indian's like this. By any chance if you are living in India, you have not done your bit of work to improve society, so rather than complaining about things, work to improve things where u feel there is need else your mother will be ashamed of herself for giving you birth.
by Jaichand on May 23, 2008 09:54 AM Permalink
you are a stupid person and having a HOLIER THAN THOU attidute . idiot it is INDIA that has worst of the worst PROSTITUTION - 8 lakhs prostitures in mumbai alone and million or millions of young girls are sold in such markets for sexual harrassment ......... wake up idiot,your pants are dirty.
and what is wrong with sex with a consenting adult ? again a moron who follows stupid outdated culture that was based on suppressing something natural.
it is better than your red light areas in EVERY INDIAN CITY , AIDS and HIV production houses they are and you know even school students go there and married men too. what a ignorant chap as if such things dont happen india . And india girls in metros aslo get their fetus aborted many many times. and later pretend to be sati savitri at the time of marriage negotiations. It is INDIA which is capital of AIDS not the west thanks to stupid ppl like you who refuse to acknowledge problems
by DS on May 23, 2008 10:43 AM Permalink
so spot on... India is an AIDS ticking bomb. But we still pretend "we are not like west". i feel helpless when i see that even in the presence of the data, people can't seem to understand that there is a problem and instead of fixing it, they simply ignore it.
Couldn't agree more with you. I feel like you are speaking my head.
by DS on May 23, 2008 10:40 AM Permalink
you are an idiot beyond imagination. dude, what are you talking about? get your thoughts lined up and you will see that your argument is cyclical and more useless than anything.
Accept the fact that the sex ratio is declining. Indeed, there are now cases of villages in Pubjab and Haryana where more than 30% young men will not have women to marry to, thanks to the rampant killing of the females in womb. The more saddening thing is that people still think what they are doing is right. They are just as brainless as you are. Just cause you can write on a forum in English doesn't make you a sound person.
But I agree with you about instead of complaining, people should act. That is the ONLY difference between the developed and developing societies.
by LN on May 23, 2008 09:59 AM Permalink
You are living in 'Never-land' it seems, day dreamer! you must be a teacher in a primary school or a student who has read theories and copied varbatim on paper, how easy it's to forget all those Indians who shun their parents on road without shelter and food at their old age, when they need their children the most!!
RE:RE:RE:True face of India
by Jaichand on May 23, 2008 10:02 AM Permalink
I see little girls begging with babies in streets lights in so called capital of india, no value of human life
RE:RE:RE:True face of India
by DS on May 23, 2008 10:47 AM Permalink
why thinking about old age parents? okay so they have raised us. but have we ever thought about the poor child who is begging on the street light, the old handicapped man living on the road who is trying to somehow get by on 10Rs a day, women in Indian villages who don't even know that they have rights. Why a country of more than a billion so oblivious to so many problems surrounding us. are we just to preoccupied with the bollywood buzz, cricket, religion, our useless society and its the most non-sensical laws and rules.
We Indians don't know how to act. But we better for it is all that we must do before it gets out of hand.