One notices that a good number of educated people quote things without any data. It is difficult to reason when one makes such vague assertions. I am posting some data from NCRB website. Think for a few minutes: Men suicide due to family problems: 68,000 per year. What are these family problems?- Financial and legal terrorism. Women suicide per year- 26,000.
Number of men burnt in 2006: 3423- No investigation till date. Number of women burnt in 2006: 1800 (All of these are AUTOMATICALLY called as dowry death (304B) and entire family made to run around courts for 15 years to prove innocence in 70% of these cases.
RE:Objectivity in the making of statements
by krishna tripathi on Mar 06, 2008 04:01 PM Permalink
i know..i keep track of atrocities against men. u r probably the one who was writing about a dharna in bangalore...hai na??
RE:Objectivity in the making of statements
by Swathie on Mar 06, 2008 05:09 PM Permalink
Krishna,
It was in hyderabad. If you are from hyderabad you must know the great media coverage we got for this event. Almost all local news papers and local channels have covered the plight of 150 mothers and sisters who have attended the conference. We have invited the National Women Commission members to attend and have a debate with us. They have agreed to come but did not turn up as they were scared to face the media and live coverage of the event.