kindly guide me
by mayank nawal on Aug 07, 2006 07:25 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

dear sir,

i'm a third year engg.student frm comp.sc.& engg,in india(maharashtra).n i wish to pursue my mba from usa,right after my graduation.i will be completing my graduate around august'08.kindly guide me all the details right from the grass root level(including all the preparation and all).

thanking you.

mayank nawal

  RE:kindly guide me
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:07 PM   Permalink
Start preparing for GMAT and give it as soon as possible. Find some good professors who can give you a good letter of recommendations. It will be very expensive so be prepare to have good financial background.

  RE:kindly guide me
by Vishnu on Aug 09, 2006 12:51 AM   Permalink
Most of the top business schools look for some work experience prior to joining the MBA program. It does help in "usually case based" teaching style adopted by top B schools. I would certainly recommend atleast one year of work experience in your chosen field, before pursuing an MBA program.

To put together a good application for top business schools, you need the following

1. GMAT

2. Your undergrad credentials (GPA/Percentage)

3. Work Experience details

4. Write-up on your future goals. Most schools ask you to write essays on various topics, which are geared to extract your goals and thoughts about future.

You can work on GMAT while you are going through undergrad. Number 4 is important for you, to get most value out of your investment (both time and money) in an MBA program.

Hope this helps

Going to study in the US?