hi! i am doing my msc in biotech here in india. i wanna do my Phd in the states. i want to know about the subject GRE test and most importantly i wanna know about how i could get my full tuition fee off.. it'd be impossible for me to spend more than 7 or 8 lakhs from my own pocket and i know that for 3 years( most PhD programmes take 3 years) that amount is not enough unless i get a full tuition waiver. if i am not wrong on an average i have gotta spend 7 lakhs per year which includes everything. so 7*3=21 lakhs... that's too much. can you give me the actual picture of expenses in the US for a PhD student. I heard that i will be required to show my finances for the whole period of my course during the visa interview... how is that possible? I don't have anyone to guide me. please help.
RE:funding and Entry requirements for PhD students
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 16, 2006 07:54 PM Permalink
You dont need subject GRE for most of the university. If you got accetance in any PhD program, your tuttion fee will be waived in addition you will get stipend to support your living.