ICL WILL CLOSE THIS YEAR
by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 02:52 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Firstly I went through all the blogs before I write this. Firstly, I am not a chamcha of Pawar nor do i support all decisions of BCCI. The point is if a cricketer is good, I would let him be selected a governing body rather than some private body. A PRIVATE BODY SHALL NEVER HOLD CREDIBILITY. Just bcos someone is honest & of integrity doesnt mean he will be given the permisson to run a police station & start arresting people on its will. The public will never accept this even though it will accept the existing police even though they are CORRUPT. If BCCI is not working properly, it is our duty that we correct it according to our wishes. Seconly its not fair to criticize BCCI for selection matters. Say for example, Ganguly being dropped. There might be 20 crores Indian who dont want him & some 25 crores who want him, So basically its all individual opinion. We have many crickets of same capabilities & who gets a chance to play is purely LUCK. Debate if you can but no bad words plz

  RE:ICL WILL CLOSE THIS YEAR
by yuvahabba on Apr 02, 2008 03:12 PM   Permalink
sure ,i m ready to debate.. first of all u r giving very wrong comparison... comparing cricket boards with police station ,is same as comparing cricket match with a War... may be people like u still watch cricket match btw india and pakistan still as a war ,and not enjoy the game.
secondly,in india ,we have many PSUs..but still we have TATAs and AMBANIs ,a pure private venture..still both co-exist and aid in development of our economy.Do u think Ratan Tata's TATA group does not hold CREDIBILITY. Plz think before u write yaar.IPL, organising events for many talented players ,who never got due share of fame and money , is really great... And for ur kind information,ICL was conceptualised always as second fiddle to regular BCCI controlled tournaments... But it is BCCI,with its IPL,has created all nuisance...I hope all of us( fans of cricket as a game ) support ICL and force BCCI to accept its mistake.. when these talented young players will get the opperrunity to play for india. no one will be able to stop us from becoming no. 1 team in the world...

  RE:RE:ICL WILL CLOSE THIS YEAR
by Deepak Trivedi on Apr 02, 2008 03:21 PM   Permalink
wah wah!!!! yuvahabba, we match somewhere in our thoughts. Give some wise words to Mr. Nair.

by Nandakumar R on Apr 02, 2008 03:27 PM   Permalink
The concept of cricket league is firstly mooted by Kapildev atleast 2 to 3 years back. Inspite of talent, some Indian cricket players don't get chance to play for India( may be as you say LUCK) and their life ends playing some sheilds or Ranji matches. But he wanted to show the players talent if given chance. That chance was not created by BCCI. Why didnot they recognised Kapil's ICL for that good cause. Here The egoism of the board members and their proximity with ICC governs. ICL will do wonders if BCCI don't interfear or put ban on ICL players. It is after the success of ICL, BCCI has come out with their version of IPL. So the fight is due to EGoism only not of any thing.

by Abyss on Apr 02, 2008 02:57 PM   Permalink
Mr nair, who told you that BCCI is a govt body of govt assisted body. they are dictators with no respect for the game or its veterans. Has niranjan shah, or lalit modi and Mr pawar of anyone else in the BCCI elite panel ever held a Bat in their life. They all are here to make lobby and money with no intention to do any good to the sports in India. look at MCG, SCG, lords, etc etc on the world stage. our best stadium is.. Eden Garden. thats it. no indoor, no imported pitch. stop speaking for vultures and BCCI

by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 03:01 PM   Permalink
I guess you dint read my blog properly. No where have i supported BCCI. BCCI is a private body but recognized by ICC. You gave me your list of complaints. Imagine ICL is recognized as you support it & tomorrow relatives of Kapil Dev & Mr Chandra' are being selected in the Indian team, can you promise now that it wont happen?

by BIJU KRISHNAN on Apr 02, 2008 03:27 PM   Permalink
First explain - how ur name can be Kuldip Nair...!

Kuldip (North ka naam hain...)
Nair (typical mallu)

Yaar first display ur real name or explain the basis.

by Ranajit Bhattacharyya on Apr 02, 2008 03:12 PM   Permalink
Niranjan Shah, if my memory serves me right, was a cricketer of sorts. Long long time ago someone by his name, a cricketer, was booked under FERA by trying to carry out foreign currency, on the sly, out of the country.

by harish bysani on Apr 02, 2008 03:01 PM   Permalink
there is nothing much to debate as you have compared cricket with public service which is no way correct,

Cricket is just a sport and when someone thinks he has capability to run a team why not make it even if it is private organisation

when some one has talent no one can stop him from playing to india boss

by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 03:05 PM   Permalink
How can you trust ICL that the player has been selected on merit & not by influence.

by Sanjeeva Reddy on Apr 02, 2008 03:01 PM   Permalink
Kuldip,

You got all wrong. Police station is a govt body and there can't be second one. But BCCI is a private body and you can have as many private bodies you want. Improving BCCI is like helping a private company to improve its revenues. BCCI has not improved cricket in its 75 years of existence. Look at some of the grounds in India. Thats the reason we need an alternative to tell every one that cricket can be better. regarding playing for India, any citizen can play for India and supreme court will give this verdict once the case comes up. If BCCI wants our support, then it has to be recognized by govt or be a govt body. Hope u got good insights..

by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 03:08 PM   Permalink
BCCI is a private body but recognized by ICC which is the ulimate world governing body for cricket. Agreed it hasn't done much but that shows it has worked like a typical government body. AGAIN I REPEAT I M NOT SUPPORT BCCI's working. I WANT IT REVIVED FOR BETTERMENT OF CRICKET. I just dont support ICL who is talkin about searching talent & hidden agenda is to make money. Dhoni was paid 6 crores for a year, rite? KAPIL DEV IS ANNUALLY PAID 12 CRORES FOR SERVING ICL.

by rajesh kumar on Apr 02, 2008 02:58 PM   Permalink
so what do u think about BCCI what kind a body ? manage by politician... so u want some politicilan sud join ICL?

by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 03:02 PM   Permalink
No matter who runs ICL, i wont support. I want BCCI to be corrected & infrastructure developed if nothing has been done for the players good.

by Deepak Trivedi on Apr 02, 2008 03:17 PM   Permalink
Nair Ji is neck deep in BCCI sand. not upside down. but downside up!!!!! like u knw, that big bird, wht u call........ (tell me friends)

Mr. Nair, cricket in India will never close. if not ICL thn any other L but u will find it.

And i pity your thinking that u compared Police station (a statutory body) with a Pvt Company. We can have many reliances, tatas if we have capability. but we can not have many chief ministers for one state, or many PMs (no offence to MMS and Sonia ji) for country.

Take care. Mamu ko phool do, bhai log!!!!!!

RE:RE:RE:ICL WILL CLOSE THIS YEAR
by yuvahabba on Apr 02, 2008 03:22 PM   Permalink
well said Deepak...
Mamu ko ek phoolon ka guldasta meri taraf se... mamu is sick..All of u,plz join hands to help him :-) :-)

by yuvahabba on Apr 02, 2008 03:10 PM   Permalink
sure ,i m ready to debate.. first of all u r giving very wrong comparison... comparing cricket boards with police station ,is same as comparing cricket match with a War... may be people like u still watch cricket match btw india and pakistan still as a war ,and not enjoy the game.
secondly,in india ,we have many PSUs..but still we have TATAs and AMBANIs ,a pure private venture..still both co-exist and aid in development of our economy.Do u think Ratan Tata's TATA group does not hold CREDIBILITY. Plz think before u write yaar.IPL, organising events for many talented players ,who never got due share of fame and money , is really great... And for ur kind information,ICL was conceptualised always as second fiddle to regular BCCI controlled tournaments... But it is BCCI,with its IPL,has created all nuisance...I hope all of us( fans of cricket as a game ) support ICL and force BCCI to accept its mistake.. when these talented young players will get the opperrunity to play for india. no one will be able to stop us from becoming no. 1 team in the world...

by kuldip nair on Apr 02, 2008 03:14 PM   Permalink
You dont have to support ICL to correct BCCI. You should correct BCCI by dealing with them only. If Mr Chandra was so much interested in the betterment of Indian sport than he should have concentrated on some other game like hockey or soccer but he choose cricket purely cos the money lies in it. Kapil Dev is paid 12 crores annually to do all this.

by yuvahabba on Apr 02, 2008 03:20 PM   Permalink
Mr. Nair
sorry to say this ,but u r not at all ready for a debate here..whatever any one is writing ,u r simply contradicting saying only one aalap " U should Correct BCCI.Thats all." and if BCCI never gets improved, jus forget about cricket and sleep in our cosy home..right...
jus sign off kuldip... u need to grow up before posting in public forums

by Nandakumar R on Apr 02, 2008 03:34 PM   Permalink
It is not money that spoils the sport. the money was paid even by IPL to the already existing and current players. This concept was initially mooted by Kapildev and it is the egocentric BCCI has failed to recognise it due to personal problems.(had there been the president is non political, this secnerio, would not have happened)

by Kishor on Apr 02, 2008 03:01 PM   Permalink
i fully agree

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2008/apr/02kapil.htm