Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by Uttamkumar Samanta on Feb 12, 2007 09:01 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Although it is very late at the close of World Cup, but India should replace Dravid from Captaincy before going to World Cup. See, how many matches he lost after during his captaincy, loosing rate is 80%.
Bring Tendulkar or Ganguly as a skipper again. Dravid is most useless particularly in ODI or limited over games.
Selectors should think of it very seriously.

  RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by bharat on Feb 12, 2007 09:24 AM   Permalink
Are we not being a bit too impulsive? If Tendulkar and/ or Ganguly fail in the next too matches, will you demand for them to be removed as well?

  RE:RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by Uttamkumar Samanta on Feb 12, 2007 09:37 AM   Permalink
Bhai Bharat,
You are too much loving to Dravid. Dravid is
too useless for ODI or limited over matches.
Try to understand this. He is being skipping
India last one year (not merely 3-4 matches).
For the World cup India needs a Skiper like
Ponting (AUS) or Smith (SA, smith even bit Aus
chasing 439, all time record) or Lara (WI). And
please donot compare him with Ganguly or
Tendulkar. Ganguly is the most successful
captain so far. And during Tendulkar tenure in
past there were many hypocrtes (Azhar, Jadeda,
N Mongia etc) involved in betting were in the Team made him unsuccessful
as skiper.

RE:RE:RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by Suman Bhat on Feb 12, 2007 09:45 AM   Permalink
Two senior players who scored 10k runs in int'tl odi matches can play such irresponsible shots to get out cheaply? All cricket experts and commentories gave the same opinion. How Sangakara played the innings for Srilanka? I
if india won the match many peopl would have told it is because of dada.Dhoni is No3 in ICC ranking he could not finish it. Dravid has been put under unnecessary pressure since some people would like to create an impression that he is a worse Capatin than Ganguly. Sataistics say something different. Dravid did own responsibility when India recently lost ODI match against WI. It seems that people have very short memory.Ganguly is performaing to make sure his place in team is safe but not for team cause.How he get out in SA when he scored 26 and 46 in second and third test. In SA it was Sreesant, DineshK, and Irfan who won match. During WI odi series dravid is highest rungetter with better average than ganguly. Dravid's odi batting average is better as captain than a batsman. How can you say he is not performing? Captiancy pressurer will be there when all players are not supporting. Some players play only to sure for their place in team. If you see the fielding you can see the difference. How Srilankan players supported his captain by giviing 100%.
still team is ranked 6th now but dravid made captain it was 8th ICC odi ranking. Even ganguly had many defeats and how much success team had under ganguly captiancy within first 16 months.? ganguly was succesful b'zu of contributions of sachin,dravid kumble and laxman and sehwag. During WC2003 sachin won match against pakistan to take team to semis not b'cuz of ganguly's cpatiancy.

RE:RE:RE:RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by Uttamkumar Samanta on Feb 12, 2007 10:03 AM   Permalink
Yes, Dhoni is #3 in ICC ranking. His average
and strike rate is better than Dravid. Then
why Dravid comes before Dhoni in the batting
order ?!
Another thing is Dravid's run average people
account. what is about his strike rate? That
is always lower than any top order batsmen. If opponent
team scores more than 300, and Dravid's strike
rate is 74-76%, then who will score rest of the
runs (where team needs at least one run per
ball). Other than Nagpur ODI where he batted in
slog over in the first innings, Dravid is
totally failed in ODI (donot consider his run average only). So, his attitude should be
like Ricky Pinting (or Smith or Lara), otherwise
Selectors (if he himself does not initiate)
should remove him from ODI captaincy.

by karthik bala on Feb 12, 2007 10:03 AM   Permalink
Enogh of your crap please go away

by Anindya Ganguly on Feb 12, 2007 10:01 AM   Permalink
Come on Suman what u are comparing here is the battig skill not captaincy still. Nobody said that saurav is better than Dravid in batting skills.Both of them are great batsmen with dravid being the better one with better skills in TEST mathches. But it is true that saurav have the best captaincy ability among the whole bunch.
And it's the credibility of the captain to make sure that he gets the right combination. So if dravid wins match shud i say that saurav played that's why , sachin played that's why or sehwag played that's why !!! To win mathches always people have to play or else how could one win !!!

RE:RE:RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by bharat on Feb 12, 2007 09:57 AM   Permalink
My dear friend,

If you look at Dravid's record long term, I have no doubt that he is good enough to retain his position in the Indian side. Certainly he can figure among the top 5 or 6 batsmen. You cannot write off a batsman of good track record in 2 or 3 matches. This rule not only applies to Dravid but also to the other batsmen like Tandulkar, Ganguly, Sehwag. We all know that Graeme Smith had a poor run against India in the first few ODIs, having become Zaheer's bug bear. Did the South Africans drop him?

We cannot have a team full of bang-bang batsmen. Steady players like Dravid have their own importance. In his intial career, Dravid was not suited for one day, but he has adopted his game well for one dayers and is well worth the money. Dravid is still one of India's best batsmen, be it the test matches or ODIs. The question of whether he should or should not be in the team should not arise at least for now.

by Anindya Ganguly on Feb 12, 2007 10:08 AM   Permalink
Bharat for SA and Aussie players do show consistency.They also go through these inform offform thinks.
But for India this form issue is like a cronic disease. Once one gets out of form everybody follows it. And I am not a creicket expert but I think it is the responsibility of the coach and Co. to make sure that things work properly. If players are sent back to doemstic games to regain there form on their own then what THE BLOODY HELL is that coach doing there. eating only crores of our hard earned money !!!

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Drop Dravid from Captaincy
by Suman Bhat on Feb 12, 2007 01:17 PM   Permalink
check the statistics of last six years find out who contributed more to team's victory sacnin, dravid or ganguly. And ganguly was successful captain not b'cuz his leadership quality or agression but of contrbuiton of dravid, sachin laxman and kumble. He was non performing captain almost 3 years of his captiancy.

Ganguly's ODI record as a captain:
147 matches, 76 wins, 66 losses

Dravid's record:
60 matches, 30 wins, 26 losses.

by melque thomas on Feb 14, 2007 04:47 AM   Permalink
For this World cup We need captains like Pointing i accept but you guys are not understanding the fact..Pointing is good because has a team they are doing well. But India as a team are not doing well.In case of Australia if Pointing does't play well one match others play istead. I hope you guys understand the difference. Lets forget the past and lets cheer up India as the World cup is coming very soon.

by Uttamkumar Samanta on Feb 12, 2007 11:36 AM   Permalink
Dravid does not have killer instinct like Ponting, Smith, Lara, Ganguly or Sachin.
Just because of that he should step down or be removed from Captaincy.

Sangakkarra ton lifts Sri Lanka