Shaan: The BJP (and the RSS) only fed on fertile ground that was tilled by the Congress. I don't know if you are a Muslim, If you are think back, who has been feeding your insecurity: the mullahs, the Congress, the communists and parties like Yadavs (Mulayam and Laloo). Each of them positions themselves as the guardians of Muslim rights. Mulayam Singh projected himself so strongly as ANTI-HINDU, that he proudly wore the tag of Mullah Mulayam. The same Mulayam and Laoo suddenly discovered their Hindu roots, when Mayawati began to make inroads into Muslim votes. They made an ostentiatious public display of Ganga Pooja.
To come back to the fertile field which BJP harvested, can you go back in time and recall the Shah Bano verdict? A Supreme Court judgement was overturned by legislation. Why, because the Muslim community came out on the streets. Muslim MPs and others from the community said the judgement would harm the party. It put the stamp of "Muslim appeasement" on the Congress.
On seeing the strong backlash, the Congress followed it up with another stupid and nation-damaging move: Unlocking the doors of the Babri Masjid, and officially calling it Ram Janmabhoomi.
In those days in 1986, there was only Doordarshan, no other TV channel. News used to be READ OUT by an anchor, with very little visuals, or still photos. And a news anchor/reader came on. Beaming from ear to ear, she announced "Aaj sarkar ne Ramjanmabhoomi ke talay kholna ka aadesh dhiya hai..."