ADDICTED TO CHAOS contd..
by Girish Mishra on Jul 04, 2008 05:50 PM

There is simply no escape!! The torture story continues. Adding to the chaos is my most hated project now, the airport flyover. The contractor seems to be taking its own merry time and we are left to die in chaos. Arey Bhai, traffic management naam ki koi cheez hi nahin hai. Our Pandu Hawaldars are efficiently working at the busy junction slapping fine and making good money, but no one thinks of managing the traffic smoothly. When they started the flyover project, they could have alternatively widened the adjacent roads by encroaching footpaths or diverted traffic through nearby roads to distribute load. But who cares for us? After all we the mumbaikar is brainwashed by the media and Politicians for handling the worst come worst situations (like the 26th July flood, the train blast etc..) so that we could earn and keep the financial capital churning out more and more money. But ultimately suffer for the bad quality of life we live now.
I think I have said enough and am too bored to talk about the potholes which are the cause of cheap quality of work done by contractors.
Maybe it time we the Mumbaikars start our own movement and let them know what we need and when instead of getting ADDICTED TO CHAOS.

Tell us your Mumbai traffic horror story