Even CHINA has a policy to align with whomever it wants to en-circle India.
Example
1) Gwadar Port in Pak, supply of Nukes and missile tech to pak 2) ELectronic Intelligence post in Myanmar close to Indian Naval area 3) Promise for Nuclear reactor to Bangladesh, in return of a port and military access to Bay of Bengal 4) A new relation with srilanka, for weapons and nuclear tech.
In short India is already encircled... CHINESE are not traitors like Indian commies, they love their country, not India, so will do anything to destroy India unless it becomes a COMMIE coountry like them, which offcourse is the dream of people like you.
So In this circumstance if USA feels their strategic interests aligns with India against CHINA, we need to co-operate because we have no other option against chinese threats and west is not a strategic threat to India.
Ok, kindly explain a different path for India other than Iran. Iran is supposed to be bombed by west. Because they cant live in a jihadi nuclear threat. So is it in our interest to lay down piplines to them through that horrible pak, for gas/oil. In an event of a west/Iran war it will be destroyed for sure.
But I agree that we shouldnt be a USA chamcha... But we have no option but to align against our enemy CHINA/PAK and guard our fundamental interests from USA. Iran"s interest need not be Indian interest.