RE:Aise beti, beti nahi, daian hai daian
by ryan sats on Nov 06, 2007 01:27 AM

Mrs Ruchi, inter caste marriages are common now when both husband and wife work in similar situations. usually in same/similar computer companies banks etc....the variation is not as much as Rs 200 crores (Imminent inheritance...todi only has 2 daughters) vurses a 15,000 Rs monthly salary (as computer TUTOR).
Clearly the girl was not 'love at first sight' but more of 'love of money at first sight'.
More over ask yourselves this question: If your daughter marries the opposite religion and someone not even of near social standing..(Riz was a BA in English) will you give your daughter gladly in marriage.
Thousands of years of Islamic persecution on Hindus in India have made the remaining Hindus very wary of Beef eating muslim grooms for their daughters. There are cases where they agree when they are Lost and have no alternative like Todi had neither money or govt employee support.
Grow up lady..These are not fairy tale marriages..Many ladies like you do have love marriages but they are smart to marry Engineers and well off grooms not Bus conductors or computer tutors....I bet if you were in Todi shoes and your daugther marries a slum dweller with a BA in English....I would shower my admiration if you would bless the couple...

Rizwanur's mother speaks out-II