My experiences and 2 cents or paises !
by Narayan on Aug 31, 2006 05:51 AM

I have studied in a college during my engineering days filled with students who had come through reservation. This is something of a very high magnitude in South especially since every politically major caste has some how carved itself a quota for engineering and medical colleges. It is a staggering 72% in Karnataka. The problem one faces is that the standard of education falls down so drastically without effective participation and this use to happen since the vast majority of the students weren't really qualified for taking such an intensive course. So, the level of education was sort of brought down to decrease the failure. Politicians are so myopic they fail to see this. THis is certainly going to happen in the IITs and IIMs. The current students of these instutions also should realize that their instutions would no longer be reputed as they would once be. Hence, the alumni should voice their opinion wherever possible to prevent the standard in a few of these esteemed instutions from falling. There are several other reasons we should not support qoutas based on caste. For one it provokes lot of anger, division, complacency (among those who have quota).

Mere paas quota hai bhai...