do u really need a b-school degree???
by BIJU KRISHNAN on Apr 08, 2008 10:19 AM

Hey nobody gets a dream hike...its just exagerrated. To be precise - yes MBA grads are paid high...but there are some finer points to it.

1. A MBA grad from a good institute and getting a really really fat pay, something 20-20 lakhs per annum, cannot be a fresher. He must be the one who has 4 years of industry exp, and quit job to get admitted in the IIM or ISB. So its a jump like 10-25 or 12-30. Getting a 50% or 100% salary hike in the range above 6.5 lakhs is difficult, thats where B-schools make the difference.

2. There are non-MBA professionals working well, like a sales guy with a great performance record and commision in crores, does not care for a B-school degree. No company will invest in B-school grads, had they found such people readily. A guy who sells baloon knows more abt selling than a fresher from IIM.

3. I think not everyone should race to get a B-school degree. Think of starting your own with basic idea being creating a good revenue model and I promise you will earn more than a B-school grad.

4. Altough both Mukesh and Anil are graduates from B-school, their father who shd get a lot more credit had not even be to college.
Osho - Rajnish - Some call him a spiritual leader - he is actually a management guy - no formal B-school guy but think of the leadership qualities he had. The loyality of his followers was unconditional.
Sunil Bharti Mittal - Founder of Bharthi telecom, one guy whom even Dhirubhai was fond of. He could see some competetion from

http://www.rediff.com/money/2008/apr/08iim.htm