Total 364 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13   Older >
Dravid as ODI captain
by mutharaju ramana on Mar 28, 2007 04:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dravid got selected in the team as a batsman. But as a senior batsman and captain he failed to lead the team. His oneday average is not worthy as well as his strike rate. So we think to change the captain with some professionalism to lead the team at times some harsh treatment also. But this Dravid is solf and mild and cannot take decisions on his own.

RE:Dravid as ODI captain
by Johney Paul on Mar 28, 2007 05:00 PM  Permalink
Who was there in the crucial match to support Dravid with a good partnership? All started to blame Dravid for his captaincy. He should have avoided Sachin, Ganguly, Dhoni etc. for the crucial match with Srilanka, right? He did his level best and the most criticized and well supported by Dravid (Sehwag) was the only one to give a double figure score along with captain. All wants to blame captain for the loss not his batsmen. We should blame teams irresponsible batsmen for the defeat, not the captain. Dravid's average is the best among many in the team in the recent years. Dravid should continue as captain but give his some responsible batsmen.

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Dravid as ODI captain
by shirish on Mar 28, 2007 04:29 PM  Permalink
Mr Ramana.
Please check Rahul's Performance from Last 3 to 4 years his Batting average is more than 40.00.
as compare to any other player like sachin ganguly it is much better & His strike rate has also improved.He is still Mr.Dependable
as his captancy is concern your opinion is right But we Do not have any other strong option at presentCaptancy sucess depend very mutch on the team you get & Players performance

RE:Dravid as ODI captain
by Sriram Dayanand on Mar 28, 2007 04:31 PM  Permalink
Dravid has an average of 40 and 10,000 runs.

You might want to compare that with, say, Ricky Ponting's before you try to put him down based on his numbers.

And you choose to blame just him for this fiasco ?

Wrong photograph
by P SUBRAMANIAN on Mar 28, 2007 03:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Oh Rediff, the photograph is sure not of Gundappa Vishwanath but some Sri Lankan player.

RE:Wrong photograph
by Nit Wit on Mar 28, 2007 05:13 PM  Permalink
It's Dulip Mendes! ;)

RE:Wrong photograph
by Harish Bhatia on Mar 28, 2007 04:15 PM  Permalink
What difference would it make if it did look like GRV ? Any Tom or a Dick can give interviews on Rediff. Keep reading if it makes sense. Else, just leave it buddy.

INDIANS ARE ALWAYS AFRAID OF CALLING A SPADE A SPADE
by Rakesh Mohan on Mar 28, 2007 03:54 PM  Permalink 

What a waste of time and space by the author. There are not many people in india who are ready to accept that other countries have improved miles. we are still looking players by statistics. Bowlers like VRV Singh bowl well and these stars drop catches in double digits but he does not get selected as the statistics do not show wickets against his name. Similarly karthik, Suresh raina etc are not stars. But they play as a team and try to win. Our selectors go on shopping and look at statistics while selecting the team.

DRAVID & CHAPPAL SHOULD KICKED OUT IMMEDIATELY
by ashok chakraborty on Mar 28, 2007 03:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

AS FAR AS DRASTIC CHANGES OF INDIAN CRICKET IS CONCERN, FIRST OF ALL DRAVID & CHAPPAL SHOULD BE KICKED OUT IMMEDIATELY. VVS LAXMAN WILL BE TAKEN PLACE OF DRAVID,
IN MY OPENION THE INDIAN CRICKET TEAM FOR ODI & TEST SHOULD BE:
** EITHER m. AMARNATH OR MADAN LAL WILL BE THE COACH
1. SAURAV GANGULY- CAPTAIN
2. YUVRAJ SINGH - VICE CAPTAIN
3. VVS LAXMAN
4. MS DHONI- WICKET KEEPER
5. SACHIN TENDULKAR
6. MHD KAIF
7. ZAHEER KHAN
8. HARBHAJAN SINGH
9. ROMESH POWER
10.DINESH KARTHIK
11.SHRISHANTH
12.IRPHAN PATHAN
13.MUNAF PATEL
14.SURESH RAINA (for ODI)
14.GAUTAM GAMBHIR
15.WASIM JAFFAR

STAND BY:
--------
1. MANOJ TIWARI
2. ROBIN UTHAPPA
3. RP SINGH
4. PIYUSH CHAWALA

RE:DRAVID & CHAPPAL SHOULD KICKED OUT IMMEDIATELY
by vilas hegde on Mar 28, 2007 03:58 PM  Permalink
sir, y dont you replace the entire team with Bengal Ranji trophy team..

by Gnana Prakash on Mar 28, 2007 03:54 PM  Permalink
what will be your say if this team dose not win will your form another team?

by indian on Mar 28, 2007 04:33 PM  Permalink
ASS HOK CHAKRA BORTHY" sure your brain is gone kaput. You want Saurav the ager in the team. And lax man who is very lax, Kaif the gully cricketer, Tendulkar the over hyped gully batsman fit to be a last stand in, harbhajan singh who is a big har ka bhajan karne vala, gautham gambhir who looks any thing but gambhir. And for god's sake, get the names correct it is IRFAN not IRPHAN... You suck man...

by blrarun on Mar 28, 2007 04:02 PM  Permalink
Hello
Cricket is not individual game like Tennis or Chess so that one man will win game for india.
Dravid is good captain and dependable batsmen. But what he can do if
others ditch him in right moment.if cricket god like sachin,yuvaraj scored single digit in both crucial matches.
If u r removing Dravid from team u have to remove Ganguly,sachin,sehwag also and Kaif and suresh raina ,laksman were given lot of chances ,but they have not performed. Dont be biased.

by Harish Bhatia on Mar 28, 2007 03:53 PM  Permalink
Ganguli as Captain ? Amarnath as coach ? Chakraborty, tomar phaanda ekdum goal aachhe . . Baadi te giye bisram koro. Cha kheo.

The Indian Cricket deserved it
by Sanjeev Kumar on Mar 28, 2007 03:45 PM  Permalink 

After going through so many media reports regarding the defeat in world cup,I have come to conclusion that the world cup was not played by Indian team but it was by individual players who were playing there. Cricket is a team game and not played by individual players. If a team has got so many groups among team members ,how do you think they are going to win any matches. The BCCI is busy either in fixing former chairman or in making money.They do not have time to look in team building. The BCCI chief has got so many portfolios under his belt and barely would be having time to concentrate on the most loved sport in the country.If he does that he may not get time for his political ambitions. It would be a nice idea if the BCCI chief/selectors are full time paid professionals having accountability for what they are doing. Then they can see that it is for the indian team to play and not the individual/groups to play.Then one can have eyes uponj the team player's conduct and descipline,how senior or junior he is.The captain has to be a great leader,who must be communicating with all and most important listening to all.If he can inculcate the confidence on junior most player that this is his role and his role is as important as the senior most player,he can take work from minnows too.Last week I read a column in TOI that one senior pacer standing in the boundary ilne while fielding abused the junior non playing player for offering water to him.What the culture,he will adapt,when he will become senior.Remember,Indian team defended a total of 183 in 1983 world cup against mighty west indians,so it's not the total on board but the confidence within team(not individuals)which matters to win.
I am sure that BCCI shall do nothing good for Indian cricket while meeting on April.If they have guts,then come out with some great decisions after a great brain storming session. Sack any one,let how much senior or powerful he is ,but if he can not be a part of team,so him the door to play individual games,not cricket a team game.

Batmasn let Dravid down
by Rahul Saurav on Mar 28, 2007 03:41 PM  Permalink 

and Mr. You? You are bringing up?
Ha hahahh

Sale kya kya mantabya dete nhe...

let us resolve today to not to buy/use any services/product endorsed by indian cricket team.
by Bob Seth on Mar 28, 2007 03:35 PM  Permalink 

The Indian team consists of 3 players who is the favorite of the selectors, 3 of the BCCI president, 3 of the captain, 3 of the coach. there is no place for performance , form etc. In fact rahul dravid has to be blamed for Indians humiliating defeat, he forced the inclusion of sehwag who was totally out of form ( as stated by vengsarkar ) and we got defeated by bangladesh. we Indians have been taken for a ride by our politicians , the police, the judiciary now we have this cricketers. all Indians should collectively stop using any product endorsed by any playing 11 cricketer. lets hit them back where it hurts.

a radical change has to be made in the selection process where there is no favoritism. Chappeel commented that the seniors did not allow the younger lot to play, sreesanth was not even allowed to play for one single match. maybe it was dravid sehwag and sachin . Secondly we should keep politicians like sharad pawar out of the game else it will be another story of favoritism ,cheap dirty politics and money making. why don%u2019t we have a system where in the performance guarantees a slot in the Indian playing 11 and not being close to the selectors, kiran more was the center of controversy some years back where in he was charged for demanding favors / money in turn for a place in the Indian 11. we can have a simple system in place where in we have 5 team s India west, north, south ,east and central play league matches and the top performing 10 batsmen and 10 bowlers are taken into the final list. The top perfomance is based purely on measurable metrics. The playing 11 should consist of the best 6 batsmen and the best 5 bowlers and after every match the performance is reviewed by measurable metrics and the player who cannot deliver is put on the bench and the next player is offered an opportunity. I mean in short a team which is selected only by performance and not because of chamachagiri to the BCCI president, coaches and selectors .

let us resolve today to not to buy/use any services/product endorsed by the playing 11.

NO DEFENCE FOR ANYBODY INCLUDING DRAVID
by rajendra agrawal on Mar 28, 2007 03:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why defend your captain after his team has performed miserably.
Even a Prime Minister resigns when his party loses an election badly.
Even the CEO of a Corporation resigns when his company suffers such huge losses.
The same happens in all games all over the world.
Please therefore stand up and get counted by asking for your coach and captain to resign first.
Thereafter only, you can go ahead and select a young team - even if it is with Dravid as captain again.
But, first seek their resignations as "moral responsibility" for letting down the entire nation.

RE:NO DEFENCE FOR ANYBODY INCLUDING DRAVID
by Harish Bhatia on Mar 28, 2007 03:48 PM  Permalink
Rajendra, You forgot - Courage & Character. Don't think any of these guys have the C&C to come and say "I take responsibilty for the diasater and resign"

They expect people will forget it over time.

RE:NO DEFENCE FOR ANYBODY INCLUDING DRAVID
by Krishiva on Mar 28, 2007 04:14 PM  Permalink
very much true... if the same guys thrash bangladesh by 150 margin in their next tour match...all ouyr zeroes will become God's and will be worshippes by the idiotic fans and media... some stupid state govenrments will provide them a prize money of Rs. 5 lacs and few acres of land..stupid indian cricket...

Total 364 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13   Older >