What you mean really? Do you want to bring more shame to Indian cricket? If India could not win to Bang.. and Sri.., then whom you think India could win? Stop the useless comment. Are you interested to see that India would loose all teams than Bermuda? What ICC did that is best. At least you have 10% of your face to show. Neither...fill it...
Dear Mates! I guess my dear bro Greg couldn't understand the culture and work ethics of this country. I belive not every great player becomes a good coach but he can be a good thinker of the game. I think what India did wrong is 'not using their inform players properly specially Dhoni'.I think he is a very good thinker of the game but Rahul and Greg used this inform player in the very end of the inning which cost them badly. I am a supporter of this theory that when you have a player who is in tremendous form use him upfront don't use him as a 'precaution'...In srilanka match I was hoping that Rahul would send Dhoni at no. 3 but he didnt and when he came nothing much was there to be done, game was actually over that time. I think Dravid was also lacking in imagination and captaincy and he looked quite stubborn too by sticking with out of form players as if he wants to prove a point that he is right..! Dravid should leave the captaincy now but should remain in the team as a senior pro who can guide young blood, same thing you can say for Sachin too. I think Yuvi is the best choice for India with Dhoni as his deputy. While committed players like Sachin and Rahul around I guess both the young guys are quite capable of leading the team.I have never seen any commited players like Rahul and Sachin in this whole cricket world. Cricket will allways learn from both these jenious..Both these guys will always remain as a living book for younger generation. I salute them!
RE:RE:Salute to Rahul & Sachin..!
by VSS on Mar 28, 2007 11:34 AM Permalink
Dear Ian, What happened when dravid and chappel sent pathan at no:3. The press, public and former players panned them. U forgot Ganguly. throw out sachin and ganguly and continue with dravid and chappel for 1 more year with a young team..and believe me..india will scale new heights..may even chase 70 matches continuously. Remember sachin and sourav were not there when india-rahul were in supreme form
RE:Salute to Rahul & Sachin..!
by Avinash Hode on Mar 28, 2007 11:19 AM Permalink
yaar Iyan tu to pakka mamu hai yaar!!! why you are caring us too much. This is India man... no need any comment from outsiders we are enough to take desicions. Just take care of aussies...
RE:Salute to Rahul & Sachin..!
by Girish Kodaganti on Mar 28, 2007 10:40 AM Permalink
Hello Sir, So far you are correct about 80%. But i dont know why are you giving that much respect to Master Blaster(Sachin). I think he is also one of the main person why india lost the match against SriLanka. As a seniour player he should perform well in important mattches. What is the use of having many centuries and more number of runs in world cricket. I havn't find any responsible innings from sachin for past 3 years. My sugession for sachin is-- play the next comming series against Bangaladesh. We will definetly win the same and retire. We should send him from cricket world with respect. Because he made India proude making many centuries and runs.
RE:Mr. Bhindra - India had 2 bad days, not one.
by Ian Chappel on Mar 28, 2007 08:53 AM Permalink
Mate,bad day always considers against the weaker teams where the stronger team have 90% winning chance and not against the team where both teams have 50-50 chance.
U stupid Bindra what do u know abt cricket. DOn't find execuses for India's elimination. First u all guys are using all the money and now u r giving nonsense execuse abt India's exit. Let me tell u Mr. Bindra this was necessary. There has to be this kind of shock given to u greedy people who run BCCI and also the team who think they can keep playing and nobody will question. Time has come for big change. Cricket has become second to politics in corruption.
RE:RE:TO Ex chief (Cheap)
by Thamizhan on Mar 28, 2007 10:22 AM Permalink
yes vikas you are 100% correct... i dunno why all these stupids like kiran more and bindra are talking like this..jobless and useless fellows... Rediff take care of your site..if you keep on posting like this type of idiots interviews and messages..no one will come n read.
RE:TO Ex chief (Cheap)
by HIDAYATH HUSSAIN on Mar 28, 2007 08:18 AM Permalink
I definitely agree with Vikas,our stupid selectors just hamm and do not do thier Home work properly.
Instead of giving such lame excuses we better think that is JO JEETA WOHI SIKANDER
I get your "do or die" points. But a preliminary round CANNOT be called "Do or Die", If India-Sri Lanka was a "do or die" game and Sri Lanka lost, would they have been out of the world cup? NO!
That said, I had said the same thing about the format when Pakistan lost to Ireland (A few hours BEFORE India lost to Bangladesh. And mind you, when India lost, India weren't out of the cup, Pakistan was)
What I am saying is, even then, assuming India would make it through, and Pakistan being the "only" Big Gun out of the cup at the time, I said that the format is wrong for a big team like Pakistan to be out based on one bad game against a team like Ireland.
Moreover, what's even more interesting that all these people that are jumping with excitment because Bangladesh and Ireland "deserves" to be in super 8 based on their "performance" would really get a slap on their face when they don't win any one of their 6 games in Super 8 Stage, and in turn making it a SUPER 6 STAGE.
So, what's more interesting?
8 good teams fighting for Semi-Final birth?
or
6 good teams and 2 "so called good-because they had one good game" teams making a complete mess of the points table in super 8 stage?
RE:RE:in thou's defense!
by Manan Patel on Mar 28, 2007 05:08 AM Permalink
To further my point about a big mess yet to come in SUPER 8... and believe me, and remember me when it IS a mess, come Semi-final time.
When it comes time for the Semi-final, at least one team will go in because of NRR. Then what if England, which is clearly a lesser team than West Indies has a higher NRR because they have two opportunity agaist Bangladesh and Ireland to improve their NRR, whereas, West Indies only have one opportunity agaist Bangladesh.
It will be just as unfair as Kenya making it into semi final and South Africa didn't, as had been the case before....
RE:in thou's defense!
by Arvinder Paul on Mar 28, 2007 07:37 AM Permalink
This is the perfect format as perfect as it could get without a full round robin with each team playing every other in which case the WC wud go on for 3months... The way it has been designed is to give a chance to the minnows to have a couple of games against the top nations and the so called "TOP Nations" cud use these as a warmup game or game to improve their net run rate (if it came to that as in India's case). The so called Top Nations were expected to win and if they can't then they don't deserve to be in the Super 8...like Pak and India. U r saying that BDesh and Ireland r going to loose all their matches...that might be true but then how r u so sure Pak / India wud not hv lost all their 6matches had they made it to the Super 8? I think BDesh saved India from the further embarrassment. The tournament works on the current perfomance and not on the rankings. If u can't perform u go out...it's as simple as that !!! Also...even if Sri Lanka lost to India they would not be out of the WC as they had won 2 matches already. It wud have come to the net run rate after BDesh's win over Bermuda and they wud hv gone thru with India.
U r asking what is interesting 8 "good" teams or 6 good teams 2 so called...does India / Pak qualify to be a "good" team after their current performance...and the WC is based on the it and not on the so called "good" team status.
Again ur NRR logic is flawed. England doesn't have more opportunities than say WI just b'cas they play both BDesh and Ireland in the Super 8. The NRR is not just for the super 8 matches...it takes into account the match between WI and Ireland from their group match to calculate the NRR for WI (if at all it comes to that). Get ur facts right about the rules as to who goes thru 2 semis after the super 8.
So this is one of the most fair formats the WC could have had keeping the number of games in mind.
Hope u get the point that Pak / India just didn't deserve to be there based on their current form.
RE:in thou's defense!
by ayush dubey on Mar 28, 2007 10:29 AM Permalink
u guys r getting it wrong only points are carried into super 8.. NRR will have to again start from 0
RE:RE:in thou's defense!
by vamshidhar reddy on Mar 28, 2007 10:32 AM Permalink
Thats true!!!!Guys I think we should stop thinking too much of our Team India and realise where the hell we stand, man the body language was clear...They werent excited at all... Look at the way the Bangladeshi's were playing(Cant dare to compare with Srilanka), it looked quite sure that they are goin to win.. and anyways even if it wins or looses other matches...it wont make a diffrence to them, as I am sure they know they will not win the cup...For them their target was minimum second round and they got that quite comfortably, I am 25 yrs now so by the time my life is over may be I will see an other 10 Worldcups..I am not sure if I will see Inida wining atleast once!!!!
RE:Please don't blame Bindra ji
by Raman on Mar 28, 2007 03:12 AM Permalink
So that gives him a right to talk rubbish like this?These kinda people only spoil Indian cricket more and defend these losers every time team loses,if the victories are more than the losses no fan would complain..and that too over a period of time. If Ricky Ponting blames the pitch we all shout he is whining(this for a team which wins everything in sight and loses the odd match or series)whereas if it is our team any excuse is allowed.
Just imagine if Westindies feel this way and ask for a 3 match final in 1983,India wouldve never got that one good thing in Indian cricket..
Bindra makes it sound as if we kept winning everything in sight and lost just one match,for gods sake please dont even interview these kinda idiots in future..
India lost like 20 finals and no one is to be blamed..India lost all those experiment matches and no one to be blamed..we again loose in WCUP and the format is to be blamed?
Its like in 1999 Robin Singh said we didnt know format of the tournament well,WCUP i mean,the guy shouldve been slapped for giving such a excuse..
RE:Another joke
by Rman on Mar 28, 2007 12:44 AM Permalink
You got it right buddy. The beauty of this is the fact that the Captain, brilliant Dravid, and the rest of the genius'like Bindra constantly reiterate "one bad day" led to all this. Well, hello, the world cup is all about one-day games, so what are these clowns talking about? Did they think they were out playing a 5 day game?
RE:RE:Another joke
by Manoj J on Mar 28, 2007 03:57 AM Permalink
Totally...they are paid through the nose to perform on that one day. If this was not the case , i can do the same job as all they bozo's have done. I can lose too.