We have never fared well on pitches of un-even bounce. 83 World cup was a bonanza due to an over confident Windies. As Greg said, Windies win by a mile or loose by a mile.
Lets now plan for the next one which vwill be on helpful pitches in the sub-continent.
RE:W.C 2011
by dream man on Mar 26, 2007 12:12 PM Permalink
Ha ha ha.. Ha ha ha... ha ha ha.. Wait for another 4 years glued on TV for another failure. Cricketers are God. ha ha ha
RE:W.C 2011
by sanjay bhardwaj on Mar 26, 2007 12:20 PM Permalink
good joke man ... Niki bhai wake up & see the reality ..... we are just going the hockey way ... from world champions to just qualifers in tournaments
Good points made by the writer. its really high time we realise and accept the fact that India is just a very mediocre cricket team. its utter foolishness to compare it with teams like Australia or Srilanka who excel in all aspects of the game. Our folks just rely on some exceptional batting that comes only against teams like Bermuda. its all work of media that makes this below average team comparable to world class teams. We need to make our basics right at least for the next tournaments. Remove the so called 'experienced' guys. Take youngsters who can field really good.
RE:Good Points
by sanjay bhardwaj on Mar 26, 2007 12:16 PM Permalink
The so called seniors or jokers are just sticking around to earn sponsorship & endorsement money. They will only go when they receive the big boot.
Regarding Greg, I think he was sidelined while team selection. He wanted youth, but he had to go with the original team of two three year ago.
Dravid is not much aggresive as Saurav (based on the look in TV)but he is a good player and thinker. He backed Sehwag, who only put some resistance in last two matches.
Stratergy of putting Sachin in middle to provide strengh in middle order had to changed after return of Yuvraj and Ganguly.
Seeing the performance of Ganguly, I think he is best suit for Middle order.
To move ahead ground fielding, fitness level, enthusiasm in field and proper batting stretergy is must. We had superb batsman on paper, but unable to unite and extract them. It will not be wrong if said, They all are playing for themselves now the way Saurav, Yuvraj, Sachin batted.
Key points for Indian cricket to consider !
by Jay on Mar 26, 2007 12:02 PM Permalink | Hide replies
We can go on and on about Greg Chapel's flaws in his tenure with our team however like you pointed out he did have a string of successes as well. Notably the ODI series victories against England, Sri Lanka etc BUT the major thing to note here is that they were all set up in our backyard - IN INDIA !
In foreign conditions our team has failed on numerous occasions. Recently they were drubbed by West Indies and South Africa. Following the West Indian ODI series defeat.. the team management should have moved up to RED ALERT. They never took the necessary steps to ensure Indian success overseas in challenging conditions. I don't wish to bring in the occasional victory here and there but the long term consistency. Nobody is expecting these guys to win every single match HOWEVER having said that they don't even demonstrate the charisma and intent that's needed to win matches away from home.
Speaking of Greg Chapel I acknowledge his tremendous achievements as a former player for Australia... both as a captain and one of the finest batsmen of his era but coaching is a different ballgame altogether. Ever since he took over there have been numerous reports of his lack of proper communication with the team members. Most notably who can ever forget his spat with Sourav Ganguly. Eventually that led to the expulsion of Ganguly and installment of Dravid as captain which I thought was the first slap across the face of India's blossoming future.
Ganguly led India with vigor and passion. His fighting instinct created an enthusiasm among the Indian team's brethren. It was as if they were pack of dogs fighting to grab a piece of the bone. How could any Indian fan forget Ganguly's buoyant shirt waving incident after winning the final game against England at Lord's in 2002 ?! Such antics made him ferocious in the eyes of the opponents and thats one major quality Dravid lacks as a captain. I have never seen Dravid animated or vocal on-field. He'd rather chew his finger nails than make an intelligent field placement or change in bowling. Such things all come under the so called *DO's of cricket*.
The most important thing for Indian cricket right now is NOT pure criticism. Yes criticism is bound to happen in a country such as India now that the team has been knocked out. However many important decisions have to be made and YES BOLD ones at that. Chapel's contract in my opinion should not be renewed. I have respect for him as a great cricketer BUT not as a good coach. Secondly the BCCI must bring in contractual system that it has been discussing for many months now. Under such a system the players are no longer retained under the pretext of past records.. rather its purely based on current form and merit of performance.
Thirdly, our domestic system needs a tweak. Indian players have traditionally suffered against the seaming/moving ball in places such as Australia, South Africa, England etc. We sho
RE:Key points for Indian cricket to consider !
by sandip darji on Mar 26, 2007 12:18 PM Permalink
Dear Jay..
I am agree to you in some sence, as a hardcore cricket fan. Cricketers must be banned from endorsement. It should be in there agreement to BCCI.
Dravid has the same record as the same of Ganguly by statistics. At the time of ganguly 38% of matches were in India. I accept Saurav has passion and good leadership. But, we already tested the Politics and somewhat rude behaviour from him. I don't think sachin is a good option. Yuvraj is still too immature. Sehwag is impossible. So who next? Dhoni is somewhat good, but he has to be much consistance. He should put as a deputy of dravid for some time.
All senior players must be asked. Whoever performs, should stay in team. Not only Sachin, I think Saurav too had not played well when needed. Look at his running between the wicket. Rest matches also he was looking like playing for himself, not for team. Dravid, Dhoni and Yuvraj too.
A overall rating to be generated based on Bowling, batting and fielding performance. Based on every month's rating, team should be selected. A fat test, Running test should be taken as an additional test.
I don't think after this much hustle and bustle BCCI will be able to take some hard step? Becaus the question is Who next????
The basic problem with any indian is "only theoratical". We all say, criticize and shout but never implement anything in practical.
We all say the players are not supposed to do modelling / advertise. Does anyone stop purchasing/using any product advertised by any player ? Why can't we do this ?
The players remuneration should be on the basis of performance, strictly. That means, for example, 100 rupess for 1 run scored, 10000 rupees for one wicket taken. 1000 rupess for one catch taken, etc.
I think team india needs a rigorous practice and the above cited treatment to win atleast 5th world cup from now.
RE:Theoratical Vs. Practical.
by Polisetty Ravishankar on Mar 26, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
This is a god logic. Incentives as per the real performance on the ground.
The preveous message board writers are right when they mean there should be a revamp at the top. The captain has to resign immediately like pakistani captain. But unfortunately our captain is so shameless that he wanted board to rethink, sparing himself. He chose all his cronies to go to WC except for for some whom he could not ignore because of outside pressure.
He ignored all the good players who perform on the foreign fields. Our players are more interested in advertisements rathers than showing their prowess on the field. They thought that they can win the WC by all the best wishes, yagnas, homas and the prediction of some gullible astrologers whom some of the TV channels hired to fool the entire nation. Shame of those useless TV channels and their hosts.
Last time puja was offered for bat. This time ball was included. They did not offer puja for stumps so we lost early wickets.Next time our players will be happy to include stumps and bells. Likewise they will offer puja for the everything including the physio without keeping fit and choosing deserving ones.
People are mad also. One man sang a ballad for our useless team under water in a river. All in vain. We should get rid of all these and the non performers who sit in the TV studios giving their useless views creating unnecessary hope in the minds of the innocent beleiving population of hte country. Hope good sense will prevail.
We have more players who are ony interested in improving their performance and sticking to the forever. Can you imagine a player taken to Australian team scoring just one century in two and half years? It happens only in India.
Our batsmen never score when required and have bowlers way below internaional standard. There is nothing much to talk about fielding.
The root cause of all this is the administration. With 32 domestic teams why we are not able to produce a world team? Why we have almost same players played last WC playing in this world cup?
Unless we cannot breed new and wuality cricketers India has no future in Cricket. We will lag behind other countries like what happned in hockey.
Our players are paid 50 Lakhs, 30 Lakhs and 20 Lakhs per annum by BCCI Crores of advertising deals. All this irrespective of how they perform!
Breaking News from CNN- IBN- Dravid sacked as captain and TENDULKAR is the new captain. Congratulations every one, Now he will lead the team from front Yuvraj is the vicecaptain,sehwag/Agarkar/Harbhajan/kumble dropped Comments pls
RE:sachin- captain
by SSYK Y on Mar 26, 2007 12:14 PM Permalink
Its not breaking news, dear friends, its just one of the possibilities of restructuring. Trust this decision will proove to be worst. Sachin, except for playing well against Bermuda or other third world countries has never led India from front. Though he has got good records (he is interested for only those) he has never contributed with bat or in field when India needed. I believe, Dravid's performance is better as a captain, and he should be retained as a captain and axe Tendulkar, Ganguly, and other seniors, bring young blood, and groom them with Dravid as a captain. Then look how Indian team propels.
by krishna prasad on Mar 26, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
I would say, Captaincy should be given to Yuvaraj with immediate effect. Sachin as captain does not make any sense to Indian cricket. He should provide to resignation to ODI cricket immediately before he is dropped. Ganguly and Zaheer should also be dropped. Dhone should be dropped for 2 or 3 seasons. He has been hyped so much, he is not performing well from almost 4 - 5 seasons.
by Kamal Maheshvari on Mar 26, 2007 01:11 PM Permalink
BCCI has gone mad if they are planning to make sachin caption. he's just good for nothing, for past an year or more he hasn't performed well in any of the major matches, yes he can make 30-40 run against countries like bermuda, but against, WI,Aus,SA,NZ and lately Bangladesh and shrilanka, he makes zero runs. looks like he has been quite inspired by the egg advertisement he has performed. Ask any indian player to perfrom in an advertisement and in cricket, they will do their best in advertisement and shit in cricket. all of them should be banned and new young players should be grommed to rise up the indian cricket. Current team is nothing but a big bag of advertisement shit.
by sanjay bhardwaj on Mar 26, 2007 12:08 PM Permalink
It is the worst that has happened. Dear friend even if you think that Sachin is God re-incarnated even then the time has come for him to go out of the game once & for all.
by on Mar 26, 2007 12:16 PM Permalink
Sack Him First ..What Tendulkar can do as a captian..?He will get more add and will spoil our team.We need players like kapil Dev ,Robin Singh ..to play for our country..
by noth ing on Mar 26, 2007 12:15 PM Permalink
can u please check the earlier statistics when sachin was made captain. We will loose all the matches. So dont even imagine that.
It's just a bloody game. Hope people stop giving it so much hype and put things in perspective.
What the hell is our parliament doing discussing cricket?? We have much more important issues to tackle. I find the parliament discussing this a much more disturning trend!
RE:RE:Just a game...
by sanjay bhardwaj on Mar 26, 2007 12:10 PM Permalink
It is not just a game. Cricket is to India what football is to europe & baseball to america. Even in those so called advance countries productivity suffers & people even get killed for sports. Which some like you say that it is just a game.