Total 954 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>
Too much criticism.... is it necessary?
by Hemanth on Mar 26, 2007 02:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

there is so much critisism n hateredness against the players in the media n public who once hailed the same players as GODS... wy is it so? yes they played bad.. yes they looked pathetic at times, yet they are the best we have... they are the best performeres coming out of the existing system of indian cricket(read domestic)... they are out there playing for the country, or doing adds or modeling and we are sitting here critising them all bcoz we cud not make it there and they had the passion for the game and the capacity to go all the way and represent the country... hope we realise this soon and stop absuing the players....

RE:Too much criticism.... is it necessary?
by saurabh sheth on Mar 26, 2007 02:21 PM  Permalink
Criticism is for repetetive failure. Failure to make it to Super 8 is a shame.

ganguly is main culprit
by Suman Bhat on Mar 26, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

ganguly is main culprit for defeat against bangladesh. He is politician he his supporters played negative cricket deliberately to defeat the team and humiliated dravid and chappell. there is groupism and more politics after ganguly's return to team. He played for self and scored consistanly but not a single innings was not held for team victory. Hew as playing silly shot getting out when team required his service. His innings was shaky.ganguly wasted more balls than the runs he scored. His poor fielding and poor running wkt and unwilling to take singles cost more runs to team Yuvraj Scored 47 runs in 10 overs
Rest of team scored 50 in 19 overs
Against burmada he scored 89 in 114 balls wasted 25 balls that is around 4.6 runs per over... compare it to the indian teams average of 8.26 Ganguly was struggling while batting against burmuda, and got 3 lifes
In SA it is sresant, dinesh karthick, pathan won match and won mom against WI series sachin won mom and mos
only agaisnt the Sl ganguly won MOS after six years but zahir khan won mom.
Ganguly deliberately played negative circket and ditched dravid and his supporters played a big role in defeat
Harbajan singh went wktless in 2 matches
dhoni failed with bat
Zahirkahn was wktless in firest match and in he took 2 wkts against SL but he gave more extra runs b'cuz of erratic bowling.
VC captain sachin failed completely with bat Sewag selection was criticsed by board memebers and chief selector, was highest rungetter, and scored 100 and won mom.
excepat Yuvraj and dravid nobody committed to team ganguly played petty politics and deliberatly played negative cricket to team india defeat if some players are not ready support team captain, playe negative cricket humiliate captain what captain can do for that???

RE:ganguly is main culprit
by Ujjwal on Mar 26, 2007 02:24 PM  Permalink
Bhat, I think U should go and check your brain, whcih is failed to think properly and only delivering "and-bhand". Until U people accept the truth and start praising the right person, there will be more worst situation like this. Wake up yourself.....

by Suman Bhat on Mar 26, 2007 02:49 PM  Permalink
u r sic person
get a shock treatment

by Rajesh Parmar on Mar 26, 2007 02:37 PM  Permalink
Bhat & Ujjawal both required to check their brains.

by sandip darji on Mar 26, 2007 02:18 PM  Permalink
Well said....
But with ganguly, sachin, dravid, dhoni and yuvraj are also equally responsible for the exit.
You can't blame only one for that.

by Suman Bhat on Mar 26, 2007 02:51 PM  Permalink
ganguly is cunning politician
he is main culprit for the defeat
whatever u siad goes back 2 u
u need shock treatment to ur sic brain

Failure of tactics & strategy
by Nagesh Ramarao on Mar 26, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The politics should not get involved in the sports. Take the case of Sourav. He was a unfit before he was dropped and what great thing did he achieve in domestic & also english county to regain the place. Itis just political pressure.

As regds to Sachin, he just does not click in crunch games and during crisis. Above all his was the wost captaincy we ever had, still there are rumours that Sachin may replace Dravid. A crdue joke and assualt on the game of cricket.

RE:Failure of tactics & strategy
by sandip darji on Mar 26, 2007 02:19 PM  Permalink
Don't you think, the father of indian politics is the Great Saurav Ganguly.

by Ujjwal on Mar 26, 2007 02:29 PM  Permalink
Who r the Forefathers?????

by Rajesh Parmar on Mar 26, 2007 02:31 PM  Permalink
I agree with sandip. When sachin was Captain every one knew their turn will never come to be captain and they never played upto their potential. Sachin was never hungry for captainship. This should be understood clearly.

by Ujjwal on Mar 26, 2007 02:27 PM  Permalink
Dear Friends, they r making us FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL all along, and we r hoping for the best next time. Common guys, open your eyes, understand the truth. they r losing not because of performance, neither bad weather nor pitch or because the opponent is strong. Its all because of MONEY and MONEY and MONEY. Thats in MILLION-BILLION. So its my request to all of U 2 pls wake up otherwise we will be fooled whole life.

They knows that whenever they will win a match nxt time, we will forget everything and start praising then once again. So they need not to care abt these things. Making money by losing important games, and again getting all of ours support in the next game. Really isn't it a serious matter 2 think and STOP BECOMING MAD FOR CRICKET.

by Anon on Mar 26, 2007 02:26 PM  Permalink
dear nagesh.... fine ganguly was in bad form & was thrown out of team. he did nothing & was included again b'coz of political pressure. fine. how r u going to justify sachin's & sehwag's form. why they were not thrown out of team & later re-included into. WHY?

Completely agree with the article
by sandip darji on Mar 26, 2007 02:15 PM  Permalink 

Completely Agree with the article.

Regarding Greg, I think he was sidelined while team selection. He wanted youth, but he had to go with the original team of two three year ago.

Dravid is not much aggresive as Saurav (based on the look in TV)but he is a good player and thinker. He backed Sehwag, who only put some resistance in last two matches.

Stratergy of putting Sachin in middle to provide strengh in middle order had to changed after return of Yuvraj and Ganguly.

Seeing the performance of Ganguly, I think he is best suit for Middle order.

Sachin can't click when needed. We should give him some chance, but I think the sun is about to set. Saurav is wasting balls and creating unnecessary pressure as a senior. He should be well understood or put him in middle order. Worst part is running between the wicket.If he was in form, he should have played. He is not match winner now. Still he is a good player. Dravid is somewhat not suitable to one dayers. Dhoni, you can't reliable on because of in consistancy. Yuvraj, un reliable too.

To move ahead ground fielding, fitness level, enthusiasm in field and proper batting stretergy is must. We had superb batsman on paper, but unable to unite and extract them. It will not be wrong if said, They all are playing for themselves now the way Saurav, Yuvraj, Sachin batted.

The main issue is Captaincy. I think Yuvraj and Dhoni are better. But both are not mature in terms of consistancy and vision. They can be put as deputy of some one for some time say dravid only.(But for some time only)

All the best to Indian Cricket team....

eat,sleep and advertise
by sunil srinivasan on Mar 26, 2007 02:14 PM  Permalink 

i think players like sachin,sehwag,and the most important man our barber dhoni should be sacked.this three players are only for advertisements.i dont think they play for the country.all the cricket players(present) in our country are crorepatis.each having his hotels,saloons,etc.cricket has become a media of business.if you play well for 10matches then you become crorepatis as our fooooooolly faltooo advertisers rush to our cricketers door step brushin their nose.i really go with mark waughs comment where he has said that teams like ausralia,s.africa,new zealand,are hard players of cricket.

i myself was a cricket player played upto the senior levels in hyderabad feel bad that this kind of an exit has happened to us.
sack.tendulkar,sehwag,dhoni,harbajan singh,anil kumble,uttappa,agarkar from the team and include pathan,sreesanth,piyush chawla,dinesh kartik,vvs laxman.

Dravid needs a godfather in bcci to support him
by Suman Bhat on Mar 26, 2007 02:14 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Team won 26 out of 73 odis when sachin was captain
Team won 76 odis out of 147 matches when ganguly was captain
Team won 33 odis out of 65 ( including this WC matches) when dravid was captian
Both sachin and ganguly had more time as captain
Out of 76 matches 38 matches wonin india and 31 odis wins are against weaker team like kenya, nambia and Zimb
Dravid won many odis in Home ( did not loose series) and 2 matchs against ZImb
Ganguly had full support of bcci and dalmiay prsd with ganguly for all 5 yrs of his captaincy. Nobody ex cricketer or board officials dare not speak against ganguly's blunders He continued to enjoy captaincy even his late 3 yers he was out form and non performing but he was forutnate that dravid sachin, kumble laxman sewag were all in form and contributed lot his success as captain more than ganguly leadership qualities.
this WC some players deliberately played negative cricket and did not support the team or captain ppl are blaming dravid poor captain and praising ganguly captaincy. this was happening from last 18 months when dravid made captain. But when team won matches all players took credit. team won odis and tests without ganguly and sachin under dravid's captaincy. Even board members and chief selector criticized dravids support sewag but sewag is highest rungetter ( 164) and only batsman to score a 100 and won MOM. Even against Bermuda no other batsman clicked
dravid's big fault is he is not authorative shared the victory with his teammates, and not godfather to support him in bcci
In last WC sachin was contributed to team scored 33% of total runs won mos and bast batsman. HE WON MATCH AGAINST PAKISTAN this time being VC he failed with bat
Some player played negative cricket, deliberately had big role in defeat and not supported the team or captain and it was visible in all 3 matches.

RE:Dravid needs a godfather in bcci to support him
by Suman Bhat on Mar 26, 2007 02:52 PM  Permalink
u sic person
need a shock treatment 2 ur sic brain

BCCI and its honourary cricket running
by roby on Mar 26, 2007 02:13 PM  Permalink 

It was a great piece and Arjun clearly gave the thoughts with a level headedness which is lacking with our BCCI.

Really, we can not blame the coach alone and sack him as the solution. As Arjun said, it was the same coach with his emphasis on youth and fitness who gave a chain of one day series victories. But then it hurted the interests of senior players. So one failure and with BCCI backing they came back and forced him change his plan.

Are not we the ones who asked for experience when our youngsters failed once, especially in the seaming bouncy tracks of SA, where we have never fared better? Now we had the team and every experts agreed its the best team! So why blame the coach and selectors alone now?

Really, its BCCI who is making Indian cricket a tamasha! Where else you can see a politician (Pawar) or a business tycoon (Dalmya) running a cricket board? What the hell they know about cricket the game and how to groom youngsters? Do these honourary members know about professonalism and accountability, which are the two virtues devoid in politics??

With this how can ever think of matching the Aussies/SAF? No chance. Unless BCCI is made of professionals, we will lose out and win occasionally, with some individual brilliance. But only when we perform consistently as a collective unit, we can match Australia. Already Srilanka and Bangladesh have learned it and fast improving in this increasingly fit and hard game of cricket. But we are still in the midset of the 80s!!

Roby

The Chapells and Dravids MUST GO.......
by Sam beledona on Mar 26, 2007 02:12 PM  Permalink 

Greg Chapell and Dravid should be the first to be axed . Their shadow to the Indian Team should be considered inauspicious to the Indian Team . If these guys are allowed to stay it will send a message the criminals are more powerful than the public at large. IT is well known that the dislike for these to characters within the team were mainly responsible for Indian teams poor performance.

The Greg Chapell middle finger approach should end and with the middle finger of Chapell should be attached the ar*e of Dravid.

WC failure
by Navdeep Bhatia on Mar 26, 2007 02:10 PM  Permalink 

in past few years no one day test has been saved or won by Rahul Dravud , Sachin or Ganguly . Only person who has shown reselience and grit has been VVS Laxman . He has been a saviour for test matches outside India. Had he be playing in the one day the game with Bangladesh nad Sri lanka the story would have been diffrent

Failure of tactics and strategy
by shashi ranjan on Mar 26, 2007 02:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

At some points I disagree with Mr. Arjun Swaroop. The main reason for Failure of Indian Side was only three:
1. Poor Captaincy - Rahul Dravid was totally confused in the field. During Ind & SL match when Harbhajan Singh was bowling, he did not try to convince the bowler to do bowling round the wicket. Harbhajan Singh was doing bowling over the wicket even for Left Hand Batsman. Secondly, After completion of 43rd over, Rahul could have given ball to Medium Pacers for bowling balance 7 overs. During 35 - 45 overs when singles were being taken almost on every ball Rahul did nothing to stop those singles. At that point of time, Indian's body language was so poor which was clearly speaking that they are not palying this match for defeating Sri Lanka.
2. Failure of Top Order Batsman - It was a wrong decesion when Virendra Sehwag was brought into Indian WC Team. This happend only due to rigidness of Rahul Dravid during Selection Process. In place of Virendra Sehwag, we could have taken Suresh Raina or Mohd. Kaif (at least they could have proven themselves in Fielding Part). Second, Sachin Tendulkar, whom suggest to take retirement from One Day (at least). Team Management should warn M S Dhoni also for his poor performance.
3. Coaching Part - Guru Greg who has been involved with the Indian Team for extending support in Coaching Dept. seems have forgotten to teach the basics of Cricket to the Indian Team. When the Target given by SL was 257 he should have given a clear message to all Top order Batsman not to play in hurry and to avoid long shots (4's & 6's) on each and every ball. Had our batsmen played calmly and scored 1 or 2 on every ball (3-5 runs per over)the scene could have been different and there was 100% chance to win this game. Sorry to say that even after falling of 3 wickets Guru Greg not even tried to send tough messages to the batsmand on the ground not to show hurry and avoid trying for 4's & 6's rather try for 1's & 2's. It clearly shows that Guru Greg s failed in his job.
Suryakant Dwivedi

RE:Failure of tactics and strategy
by Ramanath Babu on Mar 26, 2007 07:11 PM  Permalink
It was not eleven children who were playing. They were men, representing India. They should know what should be their approach in a given situation. Do you think that this simple formula of scoring 4-5 runs per over, without indulging in big hit, was not known to players?

EVerything is easier said than done. Sitting in your drawing room, watching TV you can criticise the appraoch of the players, captain and coach, as if they have no cricketing knowledge and we, viewers have the same in abundance!

Babu

Total 954 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>