i believe india met with a resurgent bangladesh and then with sri lanka who will most likely win the cup. apart frm that our net run-rate was quite good as compared to teams who won two matches in other groups. just the stars haven't favored us.
RE:india unlucky to lose
by BlurBlur on Mar 26, 2007 05:41 PM Permalink
you mean stars like Sachin, Saurav and Sehwag? In that case you are right... they havent favoured us!!
Cant believe you can still find positives in our performance? If beating Bermuda and therefore improving our net run rate is a positive then you have sadly set the bench-mark very low and you may be glad to hear that India will consistently beat Bermuda atleast for the next 3-4 years.
by Ankur Khanna on Mar 26, 2007 05:42 PM Permalink
I beleive Australia have been extremely lucky in the past 7-8 years or so.
I also think that we should get 'paath-pooja'/'havan'/religious rituals done to ward off evil spirits and bring luck to Team India. The BCCI should take action in this direction and should also undertake in 'daan-punya'.
by veejay on Mar 26, 2007 06:11 PM Permalink
i think the guy is right.. india is still among the top teams and can beat any other team on any given day.. we should not be angry with a couple of loses!!!
RE:RE:india unlucky to lose
by Sara R on Mar 26, 2007 05:41 PM Permalink
do u really know what you are talking about???!??! india's nrr was good at the expense of bermuda (who was the weakest of all minnows in the world cup!), so we should not really be talking about india's nrr!!! i am a die-hard indian fan and was devastated by india's exit - however i have accepted the fact that this team - the way they played and performed (or rather did not perform) - did not deserve to go the next round!!! and that is a FACT!!
by veejay on Mar 26, 2007 06:09 PM Permalink
bangladesh was the best of the minnows and they were all charged up for this tournament.. imagine india in same group with holland and kenya ? would we have lost then??? sri lanka is quite a force to reckon with are we were up against some decisions that went against us.. overall we broke the record for the highest runs scored in world cup and did get some achievement we should be proud of!!!!
To improve team performance there should be new law to be imposed immediately
1.only the teams qualify for super eight will be allowed play international matches between them other teams will be disqualify from the international matches they have to play only between non qualified team
2.qualifying match should be conducted between non recognized teams ( ie.kenya,india, Pakistan) before world cup
3.unnecessary world records should not be entertained in the international matches that too in the world cup (ie six sixers in six balls & 413 highest runs)
4.spl protection should be given to international team coaches
5.all players physical fitness should be certified by the International authorized physiotherapist
RE:new law
by suresh p on Mar 26, 2007 05:31 PM Permalink
if anyone please tell me if Indian team still can play Test matches after this disqualification?
by Sara R on Mar 26, 2007 05:43 PM Permalink
i hope not!!! atleast not till there is a complete revamp of the indian cricket setup which again might be wishful thinking on our behalf!!
by narayanan vigneshwar on Mar 26, 2007 09:39 PM Permalink
by saying only super 8 teams will be allowed play international matches between them ,how will the ICC promote cricket throughout the world? people in countries like england & aus. where cricket is not a main game as of in india,people only come to watch 20-20 matches where blatant hitting take place .so reconsider ur recommendations
If Gods of Indian cricket still not wake up after this big jolt they are right on the track of Hockey. Hockey used to be a means of national gathering before cricket but their players rely on their dribling skills inspite of dramatic changes in playing surfaces, I mean from grass to astroturf. In cricket also the playing tracks(pitches) have been changed dramatically. All the cricketing nations are now changing their playing surfaces from grassy pitches to flat one. Now even a 350 plus score is not safe, so this is now a game of stoping every run and to be mentally tuff specially in shorter versions. In test cricket one team must score 350 plus score on regular basis if they want to win a test series. Fitness is of prime importance now,without that you can not servive in cricket. It's time for players like Saurav, Laxman, Anil, Sehwag, Rahul to say goodby to one day cricket.. There is rumers that Sachin will be the next captain and Yuvi will be his deputy,but I would say the selectors should take a bold step by giving yuvi a chance to lead the country with Dhoni as his deputy. I'm sure the young blood will bring some new ideas to Indian Cricket which it needed badly.
Now, This undeserving crorepatis are back home, we the under priveleged who has to travel close to 3 hours and work 10 hours a day can focus on our work and to our future.. China is not in Cricket, why Should India Be? Let us get out of this Britains colonial symbol...
RE:RE:Good for Indian Public, that the Team lost now..
by BlurBlur on Mar 26, 2007 05:47 PM Permalink
What has China got to do with anything? Sadly cricket is the only sport India plays and it is not very good at that too. China plays a whole load of other sports and are very good at it. Infact, I feel they will clean the medals table in 2008 olympics...so India's lone gold in archery, shooting etc. could be under threat!
I don't personally blame Chappel for the failure of Indian team. It is the system to be blamed. Board should appoint the coach, give him a target and stop interfering in team affairs. Captain should be given the power to throw any member out of the team without giving reasons. Only then the guys will learn respecting the leader. In today's scenario, everyone is a leader. Selection committee should list the probables and hand over the list to coach and captain and ofcourse each probable should be justified having got selected. Committee doesn't have a better job than this. Here, everybody is a victim of circumstances. Vengsarkar wants to be in his position since he might not get an other term. Dravid tries to please everybody to remain as the captain. Sehwag uses his political power to remain in the team. Tendulkar uses his past records to be in the limelight. Ganguly wants to be there because he has struggled his life out to regain a spot in the team. Not a single soul feels he is playing for the Nation's pride. Our sadhu's are another set of fools who conducted pujas, homas and what not to see the team thru to the final. People should stop watching this game. They should abandon all endorsements of the cricket players. They should be made to earn every single penny. I simply hate this team which figured so bad in the tournament inspite of preparing from past 2 years.
So the BCCI will have a look on all the 250 near comments posted by us and will take appropriate steps. Lets relaxed and go home. Its heard that some of our comments will be selected for appreciation and those people will be felicitated and the President of India will give prizes for those comments. Some of us will be considered for the BCCI's selection committee also. Cheers my friends.....
I think that teams like Australia/SA are changing the rules of the game specially in One-day cricket. Fitness, agility and competitiveness are key to win One dayers. We have come a long way from the days when cricket was a leisure activity and a good sense of timing was sufficient . India and Pakistan are still complacent, happy to bask in the glories of the records...but if we do not adpat, soon we will be out of cricket the same way as Hockey. This is a wake up call for selectors, players, coach, captain and the indian public.
RE:Fitness Mantra
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Mar 26, 2007 05:15 PM Permalink
Absolutely,If they still not wake up after this big jolt they are right on the track of Hockey. Hockey used to be a national means of national gathering before cricket but their players rely on their dribling skills inspite of dramatic change in playing surface, I mean from grass to astroturf. In cricket also the playing tracks(pitches) have been changed dramatically. All the cricketing nations are now changing their playing surfaces from grassy pitches to flat one. Noe even a 350 score is not safe, so this is now a game of stoping every run and to be mentally tuff specially one dayers. In test cricket one team must score 350 score on regular basis if they want to win a test series. Fitness is of prime importance now,without that you can not servive in cricket. It's time for players like Saurav, Laxman, Anil, Sehwag, Rahul to say goodby to one day cricket..
RE:Fitness Mantra
by desi bhai on Mar 26, 2007 05:06 PM Permalink
Be a professional and thats why you are paid so much.... These days even ordinary talent survives and then make it big purely on will power, hard work, fitness, commitment...
This will be a good mix of players with exp pepole like Rahul, Zaheer, Yuvraj, Dhoni etc and new players like Manoj, Piyush, Rohit, Badrinath. I have been following some of these players and they are quite dynamic and not afraid of pressure, having good presence on field as well. This should be taken as first step towards future. Let them have a go against Bangla and then become more mature with the time.
What has happened is a past and we should look at future now... Problem will players like Sewhag, Sachin, Ganguly etc will let go of it ????
RE:Team for future !
by bharat on Mar 26, 2007 05:05 PM Permalink
Two attributes are required to win matches -
1. Talent - No problems. You will find plenty of talented Indian players.
2. Temperament - Our biggest problem is the non existence of good temperament among a very very big majority of Indian players. As Sunil Gavaskar said, this weakness has been existing among the Indian team for ages. Captains come and go, but the choking phenomenon of the Indian team has been long existing.
So, changing the team of A to N from O to Y will not change India's fortunes.
The BCCI should seriously consider getting a good psychiologist to have sessions with the Indian players to assess the weaknesses in the temperament.
by vineet kumar on Mar 26, 2007 05:36 PM Permalink
your team is perfect ...i would like to include Irfan Pathan in the team with some fine tunning.and Ganguly..may be as a captain
by mohammed irfan on Mar 26, 2007 05:06 PM Permalink
Tendulkar kidhar gaya bhai...India is nothing without sachin...He is an inspiration 2 all players...Remember
by desi bhai on Mar 26, 2007 05:08 PM Permalink
Make him batting coach.. :-) That way he will remain attached to the game and thats a good way to contribute towards Indian Cricket... AND I am not saying dont consider him at all in scheme of things, he will have alonger Test career (thats another advantage!)
by desi bhai on Mar 26, 2007 05:04 PM Permalink
Its not about considering.. We should seriously look for future... Saurav had been and still a good player but these days you need dynamic players as ODI has become very demanding... player who can take up multiple roles... and excel atleast in 2 departments of game.
Unfortunately Saurav was never a strong built or lean-mean player... and age do reflect on body.. We Indians live in a different zone and dont accept the realities of life...
by desi bhai on Mar 26, 2007 05:11 PM Permalink
Sorry - I think Chappel is a good coach with good intentions.. He doesn believe in personal relationships but give more importance to the cricket... unfortunately in India its too much dependent on zonal selectors, chief selector, Star/Senrio Players etc... :-(