lets hope barmuda wins today so that india reach in the next round. or fir super 8 mai ye saare match haare. fir jab indian team wapis ayegi to unki achii kahtirdaari hogi.
RE:today's match
by rayker rayker on Mar 25, 2007 04:44 PM Permalink
if bermuda wins, that'd be a bookies' dream im sure! so far all the upsets sure point towards that. there's more drama in this cricket world cup than balaji soaps!
Ban Maharashatra to interfere and taking part in Indian Cricket then only the Indian Cricket can survive or else be ready to take cricket as gone game for India like Hockey
RE:Ban
by rajiv on Mar 25, 2007 04:18 PM Permalink
it is true..myself being Maharashtrian..I support you..but Politics is such that nobody is being selected other than Mumbai in Maharashtra..tht's what is grub
by binu joseph on Mar 25, 2007 05:01 PM Permalink
My Future Team:There is a series with bangladesh on may.Test this team instead of the current team 1.Shikhar Dhavan (Delhi) 2.Robin Uthappa 3.Manoj Tiwary 4.Suresh Raina 5.Yuvraj (c) 6.MS Dhoni 7.Irfan Pathan (VC) 8.Joginder Sharma 9.Piyush Chawla 10.S Sreeshanth 11.Munaf Patel.
by common on Mar 25, 2007 05:17 PM Permalink
very good...if some amount of self respect is left with vengsarkar , this should be the team ahead , no matter the losses it incurs earlier..but by a year or so it ould be a fit one...but advertisement should be strictly banned and cricketers watched
by rayker rayker on Mar 25, 2007 04:45 PM Permalink
hey banning any part wont help. revamping the entire system will. this regional politics stinks
SELECTORS AND PLAYERS SHOULD BE KICKED OFF..DISSOLVE INDIAN CRICKET TEAM..THINK ON OTHER SPORTS..OUR TEAM IS SO PATHETIC THAT A. R. RAHMAN SHOULD DEDICATE HIS MAGNIFICIENT ALBUM 'PRAY FOR ME, BROTHER' TO INDAIN TEAM
After the World Cup debacle, most of us would be wondering what will happen to Indian Cricket. Will we witness drastic changes in Team India? Likes of Sachin making way for new bloods.
I believe that time has come for a change. New players should be given opportunities. Senior Players should seriously consider restricting their careers to Test Match Cricket. If the likes of Dravids and Tendulkars feel that anybody can have a bad day in the office and defeat should not be taken to heart by fans, then I must say that please think again about your one day cricket career. Here one bad day for entire of your so called greats has resulted in ignominious exit from the World Cup. Unfortunately, bad days for our cricketers happen quite often much to the chagrin of Indian Fans.
We cannot take anything away from great players like Sachin, Ganguly or Dravid. They have served Indian Cricket well for more than a decade but now they should do some introspection. They should think whether they can really cope up with the pressure and demands of the one day cricket. In Test Match Cricket, you always have the second innings to make amends for your first inning failures. In one dayers, there is no second chance. Pressure is enormous.
New guys coming into the team can play their natural cricket and will not be scared of safegaurding their reputation. Ideally, they should also not be scared of the reputations of their opponents. Fans will look at them in a different way. They will be more forgiving and understanding, if they fail.
I hope for sometime, our cricketers will not do any new commercials. They should take the moral responsibility for their bad performance and solely concentrate on improving the performance. If pride is what you play cricket for, then please do not make a mockery of your image by doing commercials, ensued by your failures on cricketing field. I hope BCCI pays you well for representing India. If you think that it is not enough then follow someone like Salil Ankola or Ajay Jadeja. Who knows, anyone of you can be a perfect choice for Lagaan-2.
Please leave commercial part for Shahrukhs, Aamirs and Hrithiks. People are not going to question them if their films dont do well in Box office.
I hope Indian Cricket will only get better from here on. Whatever is the composition of the team, whosoever is the captain and coach of Team India, we want them to give their best and play with new zeal and vigor. We are with you today and always.
RE:07' World Cup Debacle
by joe on Mar 25, 2007 04:12 PM Permalink
Hey there.. Not we all are idiots to believe what More says.. I wont want some one of the ataure of more to comment on this. If he doesn't like ganguly or if he has a problem with that guy he should keep it to himself. the eternal problem of indian cricket always was and always is the presence and the coverage given to stubborn and stupid individuals.. I cant think of a chief selector / or former who maintain a personal grudge against certain members of the team. Long live indian cricket..or is it Kiran More's vested interest cricket..
RE:07' World Cup Debacle
by Divakar Yadav on Mar 25, 2007 04:34 PM Permalink
I agree to the Subramanian upto some extent. No doubt every indian and cricket fan felt embrassed at the Team India performance. I think the cricketers doing commercial and earning money and their performance in the field are two different issues. I am not concerned how much money a cricketer or any one else is making as long as that is in line with law of the land. Important thing is how they perform in the field. Just a quick conclusion they are not able to perform only due to their involvement in the commercial is not fair. In my opinion the major reason for inconsistent performance ( as a team) is ongoing politics in the BCCI. I cite follwoing reasons. 1. What was the reason for desperate attempt to eliminate Ganguly as a captain when it was a winning team ? 2. Pawar Vs Dalmiya politics in BCCI, then several changes in BCCI affected performance adversely. 3. What was the reason Kiran More and company was againt ganguly inclusion ? 4. How can Kiran More act as chief selector when he runs a crickert academy ? 5. Why were the 3 selectors who advocated the inclusion of gaguly were eliminated while 2 who were againt ganguly were retained ? 6. Why selection ( thus selection committee) have huge regional influence ? 7. It is not the huge money revolving around BCCI/other cricket association attracting polititions like Pawar, Jaitley, Lalu etc. I don't think involvement of these people any is going to help cricket. 8. Several media report comments betting/fixing revolves around association( see recent Star News report).
The main roles usually played by selectors, manageers, cricketing officials etc usually get unnoticed as they are not seen on the TV channels, however they influence the game heavily.
Now a days the whole BCCI and offcial are crying to review the contract of players but no one talks a about role of hidden 'white collor offiecrs' in BCCI and/or other association.
It is really a time to think about the money and politics in the game. Measures must be taken to keep the Politicians and Beureacrates away from the cricket.
RE:Look...whos talkin
by Neo on Mar 25, 2007 03:55 PM Permalink
I think we have a problem with this bunch of selectors as well as BCCI itself. I mean for heavens sake is there any professionalism at all in BCCI? Right from the top, there is a problem. Sharad Pawar or for that matter most of his team knows crap about developing cricket at grass roots. They are using Cricket as money making exercise. I know money is important, but that is not the primary aim. Who gets advertisement rights for transmitting from India, who endorses their dresses, bats, gloves, chaddi...the list is endless. How many stadiums and National Cricket academies have been built, how many quality players are coming out of the ones we already have?- Pawar and his cronies, are you answering these questions to us, the common public?
by Hemant on Mar 25, 2007 04:08 PM Permalink
Ban Maharashatra to interfere and taking part in Indian Cricket then only the Indian Cricket can survive or else be ready to take cricket as gone game for India like Hockey
by Kannan SivaramanViswanatha on Mar 25, 2007 04:23 PM Permalink
Friend, you have hit the nail on its head! Our problem lies in our "head" (meaning BCCI as the highest body for running cricket in India). All problems down below your head can be cured if your head is healthy. On the contrary, if the top-house is "rotten", no amount of medicine infused into the body can cure it of its ills. At best, we can remain like a vegetable, alive and kicking but without any use to anybody. If the mind is paralysed, body can do nothing. If BCCI in its wisdom understands this simple scientific truth, remedy will be in sight. Otherwise, no hope!
I request all to boycott products and company's using indian cricketers, money is on their minds and nor cricket, hunger of exceellence has been taken over by the greed of luxury, guys like dravid, tendulakar, sehwaag, ganguly, harbhajan not reaching second round is blasmeous, these guys should be whacked in public for betrayal.
KINDLY REMOVE SACHIN, DRAVID, KUMBLE, AND GANGULY IMMEDIATLY FROM THE TEAM FOR ATLEAST ONE YEAR. LET THEM GO TO THEIR HOME AND TAKE REST. THEY ARE VERY MUCH TIRED BECAUSE OF BUSY CRICKET SCHEDULE. LET THEM GO TO THEIR HOME AND ALLOW TO ACT ON MOVIES AND ADVERTISEMENTS. PLEASE DONT SQUESE THEM MORE. THEY HAD GIVEN EVERYTHING TO INDIAN CRICKET. SO PLEASE ALLOW THEM TO REST FOR SOME TIME.
MORE HAVE U GONE MAD????? WHAT HAPPEND WHEN UR SELECTION COMMITTEES PRESIDENT THAT TIME U DIDNT SAY THESE WORDS????? WHY GANPATI BAPPA MORE... THIS IS RIGHT TIME TO KICK BACK ALL THE PLAYERS OF INDIAN TEAM. STILL NONE OF INDIAN PLAYER READY TO ANNOUNCE RETIREMENT, SACHIN WANTS TO PLAY 2011 WORLD CUP-WHAT A JOKE SACHIN-GHAR GHAR MEIN SACHIN KO CHAPPAL SE MAAR RAHE HAI
RE:RE:THEY ARE NOT ANSWERING MACHINES
by white sangit on Mar 25, 2007 03:49 PM Permalink
DEAR SURESH
BCCI IMMEDIATLY ASK SACHIN TO RETIRE OTHERWISE BCCI WILL TAKE IMMEDIATE STEP TO DISMISS SACHIN FROM THE TEAM. PLEASE ALLOW THE NEW GENERATION ALSO TO PLAY THIS WONDERFUL GAME.
RE:THEY ARE NOT ANSWERING MACHINES
by Medayil Shabu on Mar 25, 2007 04:15 PM Permalink
WHY SHOULD SACHIN RETIRE? WHY HE WAS NOT ALLOWED TO OPEN THE INNINGS. HE HAS SCORED AND WON MATCHES AT THAT POSITION.
RE:THEY ARE NOT ANSWERING MACHINES
by Khaja Mohideen on Mar 25, 2007 04:21 PM Permalink
hare, world cup is not played on flat wickets like in sharjah or indian subcontinent. Do u know one fact about sachin, he has scored more than 40 hundreds but no hundreds in australia, south africa, west indies..he is flat wicket bully...what a shame we call him india's best batsman..
Look at Aussie and South African players BCCI. The game of cricket has had a sea change today. Its not just about skill anymore, its skill AND POWER PLAY today. We are still stuck in Gavaskar era, where we believe technique is everything. Do we even an answer to the hulks like Hayden, Gichrist, Smith, Kallis, Lou Vincent, Jacob Oram? These player's instill fear in opposition with their sheer physical presence even before they bat. Here, like jerks we keep discussing whether we need Sehwag or Ganguly. Forget these guys, build a young team that is in TODAYS cricket...
RE:BCCI
by Khaja Mohideen on Mar 25, 2007 04:24 PM Permalink
I totally agree with you, if we do not make the necessary changes, indian cricket will soon follow the hockey way