Looks like our champion cricketers are ageing and need to be rested for few years (till they retire). If they can not score 300 runs against Bangladesh, what chance do they stand in front of the world's top 2 teams?
We are thankful for the joy they gave us in their 20s, but now, they are past their prime and, it is time for them to move on and give the mantle to youngsters.
Indian cricket administration should share the blame for this pitiful condition of our team. Out of Billion plus population, they could not develop 20 world class teenagers, to represent India in a respectful manner. What is the use of the money, if they can not spend it to develop good cricketers / sportsmen?
If Pathan comes in,we have a sure fire batsman and a 50-50 bowler..which is better than Uthappa, who is a version of Sehwag,but with absolutely no experience.
Plus Dravid's POETRY style of captaincy has taken us to the depths.............Pls Rahul Bhai, you are a batsman like Sunny Gavaskar, but a CAPTAIN you are not!!Pls withdraw your name and let Sachin be the captain, so the entire team can be united.
RE:Pathan needs to come in place of Uthappa.............
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Mar 23, 2007 07:07 AM Permalink
Ya I agree with this thought and I think Sachin must be the captain because Rahul and Ganguly always have cold war and have even supporters in the team.. Ganguly's supporter-- Harbhajan, Yuvraj,Sehwag Dravid's supporters- Anil kumble,Zaheer,Uttappa,Dhoni etc.. Where Sachin and Agarkar remained nutral so ther is tendency of faction among players
RE:RE:Pathan needs to come in place of Uthappa.............
by sabyasachi ghosh on Mar 23, 2007 07:36 AM Permalink
Not entirely correct Yaar. Zaheer is of Ganguly's group.Also Sachin has his support from Mumbai Lobby(within the team as well as externally). But India should play above all these party politics and Dravid must learn that he singly can't win matches and take the example of Ganguly who captained INDIA aggressively and was always with the team. But Sachin never was a good captain and very sedate.In India u need a bold captain like Ganguly who have the guts to defend his players from some selectors , media and other hostile sources.
RE:RE:RE:Pathan needs to come in place of Uthappa.............
by on Mar 23, 2007 07:49 AM Permalink
a Bong will always talk about such rubbish as Ganguly being the captain. He is an unfit player who cant even run properly. He wouldnt even be selected for my college team
RE:Pathan needs to come in place of Uthappa.............
by anirban kakati on Mar 23, 2007 08:09 AM Permalink
sorry, but both the ideas of pathan inclusion and sachin's captaincy dont look wise enough. uthappa is in form(minus the last match)and hence can go on to attack the bowling. on the other hand, pathan is low in confidance at the moment and not supposed to do well under this pressure(during the world cup). at such situations, the prevailing pshyco matters more than statistical things. same is with sachin being the captain... he just cant do wonders in the first match itself, specially when the pressure is enormous !! ganguly was the best captain, must say. lets hope for the best...once we defeat lanka and go to super eight with 2 points, things will surly improve. surly ! - anirban kakati
RE:Bob Murdered confirmed by police
by rayker rayker on Mar 23, 2007 10:45 AM Permalink
there will be positive and negative moments for sure in any given cup, but probably the world cup with a lot of events (negative/ positive). on the brighter side, i guess this is the world cup with a huge number of sixes already i suppose! i'd love to get some stats from the stats guys
RE:MY TEAM SHOULD BE LIKE THIS....
by akula shridhar on Mar 23, 2007 08:13 AM Permalink
1)GANGULY 2)DINESH KARTHIK 3)SACHIN 4)DRAVID 5)YUVI 6)DHONI 7)PATHAN 8)BHAJJI 9)MUNAF 10)ZAHIR 11) Agarkar
RE:India 11 that will beat SL
by dhaval modi on Mar 23, 2007 05:42 AM Permalink
uthappa and sehwag both are out of form, pl. give chance to pathan... he can bat as well as bowl.. :0
RE:RE:India 11 that will beat SL
by vasu on Mar 23, 2007 05:47 AM Permalink
Sehwag showed signs of form atleast he looked like trying to get into form( he was really concentrating hard against Bermuda) and also he bowls quite a bit
RE:RE:RE:India 11 that will beat SL
by on Mar 23, 2007 08:35 AM Permalink
I dont think our BCCI will see this comments - Its all about game -- Win and Loose -- I remember World Champion Aistralia lost 6 ODI right ? - so - just" Cheer For India " :-)
RE:RE:RE:RE:India 11 that will beat SL
by on Mar 23, 2007 08:36 AM Permalink
I dont think our BCCI will see this comments - Its all about game -- Win and Loose -- I remember World Champion Aistralia lost 6 ODI right ? - so - just" Cheer For India " :-)
Hello folks. Welcome to award giving ceremony of the worst commentators. Well, Applications have poured in from all quarters with special mention to the sub-continent region. The competition has been tight. To get a fairer picture we need to filter the worst from the worse & crown the ultimate killer of cricket.
Here we go,
RANJIT FERNANDO: - For those who don%u2019t know him, here is a mild intro of the greatest Sri Lankan commentator of all time. For him Sri Lanka is the greatest team to have graced the game. This fellow things all others who are watching the game are nuts. Even if Mr.Muttiah bowls are real bad delivery and gets hit for four, he outrageously blurts out, mishit four. I can still remember when Sourav and Rahul where blasting Sri Lankans all over the park in that World Cup game, this fellow said that the pitch would suit the bowlers early on and when they were hit so badly this fellow did a complete somersault to say, a wonderful batting wicket. His nasal Tamil-Singhalese-English accent adds virus to the already infected disease.
RAMIZ RAJA: -What can you say about this fellow. Tried to become a good player-failed, a good captain-failed, a good commentator-failed with miserable results. He has blue syndrome. Sometimes you can see Ramiz frustrated when Pakistan performs badly as it did against India. Whenever Ganguly dives and fields, this fellow says tumbling effort. When Inzi does it he says, acrobatic. His yardsticks are not only different in size but also in shape. His punch line is, hold on to your breadth, meaty blow followed by aaaaaaaah.
Think Ramiz has great flair for pun. He inadvertently uses it and doesn%u2019t even understand he%u2019s doing it again and again. Check out his amazing use of %u201Chis%u201D.
%u201CMeaty blow by Gilchrist. Think something has come out of his bat.%u201D
%u201CHis bat just slipped out%u201D.
He%u2019s in the all time list.
MAKE WAY FOR THE INDIANS
SANJAY MANJREKAR: -He is the partner in crime with Ramiz.He tries to be too unbiased and ends out giving atrocious comments. And believe me or not, for anything a fellow commentator says, Sanjay will blurt out, %u201CCan%u2019t agree with you more%u201D. His pronunciation of Taendulkar (oops, Tendulkar) is still a mystery. He tries hard to speak good English but miserably fails at that.
He has the amazing habit of doing a presentation ceremony where he literally never allows the captains or players to speak. So vast is his knowledge that he tries to analyze the problem & give solution without knowing that he is the problem.
IT TAKES TWO TO TANGO: -
ARUN LAL & MANINDER SINGH: -The two are inseparable properties of Indian commentary. When they are on a song, they go on a killing spree (literally). Wanna watch dumb and dumber live? Tune into any India match on DD. These two are capable of turning an adrenaline thriller into a full-length comedy. They are inventers of great words. Arun Lal invented %u201Chooker%u201D. Think he doesn%u2019t bother learning a thing or two about words.
Arun Lal%u2019s famous lines %u201CHis balls have been hit badly%u201D? Gosh gimme a break.
Arun Lal and Maninder can just talk about anything, from insects to Rain with amazing ease. Maninder Blurts out %u201Cbaarish tapakti huyi aa rahi hai%u201D & Arun follows up %u201Csahi kaha aapne Mani%u201D as though we don%u2019t know it%u2019s pouring heavily. They get so immersed in it that they start describing the rain. They are exponents of Radio commentary on Television.
Once a ball starts going into to the outfield, Maninder starts his 100-meter sprint. %u201CSehwag ball ke peeche daud rahe hai,slide karke pick-up kiya ,aur bowlers end ko throw maara,aur ye over throw,proper back-up nahi thee aur ek aur run mila Australia ke ballebazon ko%u201D.Phew.
He is the owner of some sensational punch lines.
Guys, use this only with his permission. These are copyright stuff.
%u201CSensational shot to silly point%u201D. Only Mani himself can play a sensational shot to a person standing two meters away.
%u201CThree runs to third man%u201D.
%u201CTendulkar taenduve ki tarah dive marke ball to lapacch liya%u201D(what on hell was that)
%u201CWell, Tony there is something unusual in the Pitch%u201D Tony: - Yeah, its grass.
This is a killer one. This is Mani%u2019s classic till date. Mani snapped out when a delivery was bowled & logged in when they were showing a slow motion replay. Guess what he said %u201CBAHUT ACHI SLOWER DELIVERY%u201D(A very good slower ball).
There are many bad commentators from Sidhu to Krish Srikanth to Venkatesh Prasad to L.Siva. Sidhu is becoming tolerable and he sometimes does give good points.
Krish Srikanth thinks he is the super intelligent guy with the most perfect views. He has great foresight. %u201C Arre yaar, sachin guma guma ke marega%u201D. %u201CThe match will be over in 40 overs%u201D. I%u2019ve lost count of the number of times he uses the words %u201CAbsolutely amazing%u201D. Should be having him in the team as our foreteller.
You don%u2019t hear Venky speak. He runs through his lines at speeds faster than shoaib%u2019s delievery. He better improve his bowling speed first or else Kumble would catch up with him.
But when it comes down to that one single person, the king of them all, it has to be the matchless performer in field & off field. The award goes to MANINDER SINGH.
Ok, Arun ji don%u2019t cry here is your consolation prize.
RE:Cricket Commentary
by tanubhav vasisht on Mar 23, 2007 05:21 AM Permalink
awesome Mauruthi ji..mere khayal mein aapko award milne chaiye slow motion mein....fab work....keep us laughin too good...been ages since i watched a live cricket match but this was nothin less that tat..wait im gonna read it again
RE:RE:Cricket Commentary
by vasu on Mar 23, 2007 05:23 AM Permalink
My Nominations for top 5 Worst Commentators in the order of "worst"ness:
1)Sivaramakrishnan (I feel like kicking him when he opens his mouth) 2)Ranjit Fernando (I usually mute TV when he starts his commentary) 3)Tony Cozier, for some reason I feel this old guy talks nonsense 4)Maninder Singh(was useless when he was aplayer, and now he is useless commentator) 5)Ramiz Raja(Always praises Pakistanis especially Shahid Afridi) ......
by ary yoo on Mar 23, 2007 08:05 AM Permalink
Liked many parts but lost interest when I saw a lot of math symbols and numbers in english text.....Add Tony Cozier and Micheal Holding (Only when WI is losing). And yes, Aamir Sohail. He is still struggling to get his dismissal by Venkatesh Prasad out of his mind...
by Subramanian K on Mar 23, 2007 07:41 AM Permalink
Real bakwaas.................can Maruthi do a better job?...........He can't even write properly...........
most of the sponsors are Indian. if India is out who will watch the world cup? most of the spectators will be Indian. the sponsors will suffer losses. i think India will reach the super 8s
a day before team india to play srilanka the price for tamator and ratton eggs have gone up. team india fan are rushing to the store to buy as much as they can. fan have lost hope in team usa(opps my bad i mean team india its a stolen name)if u havent brought any dont pay extra 2marrow the price are expected to go higher for next few days.this the best way to welcome your team. apun ne banch derjen andey or do killo tamator team ki welcome ka laiy khariday hay 1000 ropay de kar (kalash a bombay student) i am goint tto my kids some tamotar and anday so my kid can trow them on team india upone their return(durga davi a working mom) dont wait for last min my brothers from across the boder save money
RE:higher prices for tamator and rotten eggs in india
by Atul Gargate on Mar 23, 2007 03:38 AM Permalink
true my dear friend. You pakis would alwats be ready for this. If India wins the WC, even then you'll buy tamatars and eggs.
you should better keep them ready for your players to come back (Allah knows when they are going to come back) and buy a truck of tamatars and eggs...
RE:RE:higher prices for tamator and rotten eggs in india
by mrpaki on Mar 23, 2007 03:46 AM Permalink
pehley super 8 me to quilyfiy karo per wc jetney ke khuwab deknana Belli ke khwab mey chechray
RE:RE:RE:higher prices for tamator and rotten eggs in india
by veeravel on Mar 23, 2007 04:41 AM Permalink
hey nomrpaki, if india wins today would you put the rotten eggs in your...............?
by prashant junagadhe on Mar 23, 2007 07:45 AM Permalink
oye Mr MRPAKI India ki chodo aur aapni socho.iran bhi harake gaya super8 ke har darvaje band ho gaye koi hope bhi nahi rahi tumhare liye.aur sarmnak hadsa huwa bobsir ka and ur captain and selection commity resinged from job so better to buy tomato & egg for them and if there is no more there then we will send it from here without cost (as usual)right atulbhai.
by Anoop on Mar 23, 2007 12:04 PM Permalink
ha ha ha so is that tamator and rotten guys u used to kill ur coach :D
India will beat SL by more than 100 run if betting first, or beat more than 5 wickets in within 40 overs if betting second so not worry about super 8 now do calculation for semifinal only