zahir has started badly AGAIN giving away wides and leg byes - total 10 runs off first over. I am sick of this indiscipline in indian bowling. He just lets the other team off the hook.
well we all know india is unpredictable but infact srilanka has more chances to win the game. as so called mighty indian batting is known for collopases. so hope india play to its potential and move ahead to super 888. all the best to team india
The match will be a tough match. For Indians it is do or die situation and for lankans it is getting the carry over 2 points. The decider will be who ever has the mental toughness and courage will win. In this aspect I see Lankans have the edge over Indians. Say if we loose Sehwag 2 wickets in the first 5 overs, we will in tremendous pressure and the approach will be very negative. This is what happend in Bangladesh match and in the past also. Whereas if you see Lankans they have the mental toughness even if they loose jayasurya in the early stage. So the critical point is not to loose big wickets in the first 10 overs and to have good run rate by Indians and if we does that we are capable of scoring 300 / winning the match
Come what may if India wins the match with SL Then we run in to a funny situation. SL India and B'desh have the same points(considering B'desh wins over Bermuda) As India, SL and B'desh have the same points, SL and India go thru as they have a better runrate. But India will be given B2 position as the runrate is lower to that of SL but carries 2 points.
RE:India's chances
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 23, 2007 05:55 PM Permalink
I dont think INDIA has any chance of winning the match. First of all, Sri Lankans are in good form. Secondly they want to take revenege of the 6-1 loss and 2-1 loss in India in 2005 and 2007 respectively. Thirdly, they would better prefer Bangladesh over India in the Super 8s to make it easier for them. NEXT thing, they would like to continue their winning spree as they did in the 1996 world cup and go ahead and win this world cup.
by Rajesh Vallabhaneni on Mar 23, 2007 06:13 PM Permalink
Yes the SL are in good form. If they want to take revenge, they may end up on the loosing side. Thirdly they would want the 2 points to be carried to super 8 and it will happen only and only if it wins over us. Lastly i am not sure it matters if it is B'desh or India in super 8. The only things that metters is the 2 points that it would carry. Further ahead in the semi finals 2 out of the 4 are certain namely Aus and SA. The rest two places are to be fought between NZ, WI, SL and India(if it qualifies to super 8). Now if india loses to SL the chances that SL would go to Semi final are low as the other teams will rampage B'desh. Then NZ will have a high chance of reserving a berth in Semifinal
If India wins SL has a greater chance of going to semi final. If India loses then NZ will have a berth in Semifinal the forth team is either SL or WI
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 23, 2007 06:25 PM Permalink
I think... If India loses to Sri Lanka, then Sri Lanka just have to win what 3 more games (I guess). If they do, they already have the 4 points carried from the first group: wins against Bangladesh and India. I am not sure how many points do they require for being in the Semis. But if they do, they have pretty good chance of going in the Semis. If India wins over SL, they are going to be thrashed by all teams, even England. Tendulkar, Ganguly, Dravid, Sehwag, Dhoni, Yuvraj, won't be able to do a single thing against eh Explosive South African bowlers and Australian batting line-up. Forgot how New Zealand beat Australians 3-0? So what if the Australians didn't have some players like Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Symonds, Clarke, and Brett Lee. They still have Hussey, McGrath and Bracken. But their batting line-up was powerful too. India's going to have their A** kicked against Sri Lanka. Even if they manage to go into the Super 8s, they will surely have them whipped by South Africans, Australians, New Zealand, Sri Lanka (ONCE AGAIN), West Indies and England... AND FINALLY THE INDIAN PUBLIC... so I am just waiting to watch the fun.!!!
by Yalaguresh Jorapur on Mar 23, 2007 08:07 PM Permalink
What a silly thought. You should not be critising like this for loosing in one game. The Indian team has all match winners. If they get through the match against Srilanka, they will reach the finals.
by Sriramkumar Lakshminarayanan on Mar 23, 2007 05:59 PM Permalink
I did not get you on the Preference of Bangladesh over India. How it will matters for Lankans?
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 23, 2007 06:03 PM Permalink
because The Sri Lankans will have an easier team like Bangladesh than India to beat in the Super *s. they already have 1- Ireland. So they would prefer one more. IN Fact teams like England, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, England would also prefer Bangladesh over India.
Person 1 (P1) is talking to Person 2 (P2) about the game tomorrow? They are trying to decide on what team they should bet on tomorrow to win good Money. P1: So what team are you going to bet on? P2: Sri Lanka! P1: Why? Indian team is "NOW" in good form. P2: But I still think Sri Lanka will win. P1: Kyun? Sri Lanka pe itna Bharosa hai? P2: Nahi! India pe Bharosa hai. I trust the Indians that they will lose. LOSERS! Haarega bhaai haarega! India haarega. Just can't wait to see the Men in blue turn into Red and Black
RE:Haarega Bhai Haarega India Haarega
by Rajesh Vallabhaneni on Mar 23, 2007 05:54 PM Permalink
Cool it man. Take it easy, its just a game. Its not your life
RE:Haarega Bhai Haarega India Haarega
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 23, 2007 05:56 PM Permalink
well its my birthday today. So its again to be another birthday ruined by the INDIAN cricket team as they did in 2003 world cup....
The ICC has fixed the match... India would definetely make it. If India does not, then a mojority of the indian sponsorers would pull out thus causing huge financial losses to ICC... It makes no difference to SL if they win or loose, so they might even not start their "A" team... Also for the world cup, if India does not go ahead, there would be 2 minnows - so it would be super six instead of super 8... I dont think that the ICC Officials and people who make money from this sporting event would want this.
RE:It surely will ICC has fixed the match
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 23, 2007 05:52 PM Permalink
dont say that ICC has fixed the match. Its the Indians who have Fixed the match. ICC has no control on match fixing. In FACT they are trying to stop it.
TO DAY INDIA VS SRI LANKA GOOD FIGHT & good Presentation give in world cricket lovers.thies mach 2nd world cup 2007 final.I love my india. RAJIB D. ASH CHINCHWAD PUNE