Dear All, Last night I had a dream that India lost to Sri Lanka, but wait, be happy because whatever I see in my dream, it becomes opposite in real. So India will definitely will against Sri Lanka.
India can win and may be pigs will fly. But i dont think we can win if they bat first. i don't think we have a bowling attack that can rip past Bengal's batting... forget the Lankans and who can ever forget Zaheer's never ending first over of the last cup finals. Guys do u really feel it in your bones that our bowlers can get any team out. That they do is another story at times... but do you really feel that they can. I cannot. It's sad. But true. Just the way Kumble comes out to bat as if he's playing his first match... and come to think he has ranji trophy hundreds to his name. imagine what a terrible innings it would have been if munaf and zaheer hadnt put that 30 odd v/s BL. Worse is to watch the blue billion hoo haa india when wickets are tumbling on our end. Just hopes the gods and all the 53 crores of them are on our side tomorrow.
Person 1 (P1) is talking to Person 2 (P2) about the game tomorrow? They are trying to decide on what team they should bet on tomorrow to win good Money.
P1: So what team are you going to bet on?
P2: Sri Lanka!
P1: Why? Indian team is "NOW" in good form.
P2: But I still think Sri Lanka will win.
P1: Kyun? Sri Lanka pe itna Bharosa hai?
P2: Nahi! India pe Bharosa hai. I trust the Indians that they will lose.
LOSERS!
Haarega bhaai haarega! India haarega.
Just can't wait to see the Men in blue turn into Red and Black
a. Come tom. to play with a psoitive body language (Definitely not the case against BD and Ber)
b. If win toss, get ready to bat (yes, even with swinging ball). MJ's track record on winning toss (Bats 90% of the times)....
c. Plan, prepare and have a flexible batting order. What does this mean?
- I suspect Uthappa may not be in for these kind of pitches (Just a sense, am not sure ), i would replace him with Dinesh (ya, I am not dropping VS, even though I hate him so much)
- Dinesh and SCG open the innings
- If the start is OK (4 rpo in 10 overs without loss of wickets), I will send MSD at 1 down
- If the start is not OK (losing one wicket quickly, I will send RD at 1 down)
- If things go solidly, I will continue with MSD followed by YS and then so on
- If things worsen in the first 15 overs, I will quickly change strategy. Instead of sending my main stream batsmen , I will send in Sreesanth (Risky, but instead of agarkar or AGarkar if RD retains him) and Zaheer after the loss of 3 quick wickets - mandate, try scoring 10 runs each in 3-4 overs each...no smashing around
- Apart from this- Here is my objective for each individual batsmen
- DK/ SCG- Target: 30 Runs each in 45 balls each (60 in 15 overs)
- MSD/ YS- 30 runs each in 30 balls each (60 in 10 overs)
-RD/SRT/VS- 30 runs each in 35 balls (90 in 18 overs)
- One of the above batsman then extends to score 75 in 85 balls.....
Net net score : 255 in 48 overs (approx)....Add another 20 in 2 overs...Total target 275.....
Since RD is a useless captain..here is my strategy to deal with that problem
Tom. instead of RD leading the team, I will split the fielding team into 3 parts
A team of 3 India players will be responsible to plan to get the top 3 batsmen out.....similarl two other fielding teams will be set up to plan for the other batsmen,.....
That way...each team needs to plan, think and execute on match day...The necessity of an idiot captain is over as he will also be a part of team planning to get 3-4 batsmen out......
Also....since everybody is in a smaller sub-team....the conrtibution and responsibility to the team will increase manifold......
RE:Strategy Tom
by Chhagan Bhujbad on Mar 22, 2007 11:12 PM Permalink
totally Agree with you. right Strategy. I dunno if the Indian team is thinking like this. This will definitely help Indian team.
RE:Strategy Tom
by G Gokul on Mar 22, 2007 11:10 PM Permalink
Nice to know you have lot of free time. But why you left the case of India batting second by one simple blunt sentence. I expect a detailed strategy for that also ....
RE:RE:RE:Strategy Tom
by G Gokul on Mar 22, 2007 11:19 PM Permalink
you left it because u dont have time. But still u concluded we will lose 100%. may I know how... ( (Leave that free time issue)
RE:What if we lose to Srilanka and B'desh Loses to Bermuda??
by on Mar 22, 2007 11:02 PM Permalink
Then net run rate will decide who moves to S8: India, Bangladesh or Bermuda?
can u imagine a day when cricket becomes like hockey in india..no money no sponsors no results....may be this will happen to indian cricket after 4-5 years when there will be no master blaster sachin, no controversial dada, no wall of Dravid....all boring and useless youngsters with no personalities
RE:indian cricket like indian hockey???
by Bengal Tiger on Mar 22, 2007 10:45 PM Permalink
I am waiting for that day. But, that day seems to be as mythical as Armageddon.
I watched India's terrible game against BL. As much as I would love to see India win all the matches, I think it was a good game to loose. India's tendency is to loose key games and I think it is good that they lost the first game. Now they will not be complacent. Game against Bermuda not as good as I thought due to couple of reasons. First, bowlers lacked killer stinct. Secondly, Dravid again failed to bring on his spinners Kumble/Tendulkar/Sehwag earlier even when Agarkar desptite bowling OK was not striking. Lastly, batsman have to rotate strike. It puts opposition fielding and bowlers under pressure. Opposition bowlers will try harder and will make mistake then you can hit them for maximum. Then lastly, it is a game of glorious uncertainties so couple of Empiring mistakes can tilt game either way (like against BL, Dravid and Tendulkar were given out by mistake).
I wouldn't have any problem with our team even if they loose as long as they give their 100% like a professional.
And what about the times where the B'desh batsmen were not given LBW despite replays clearly showing that was the case... Specially when Sachin has hit pads in his first over.
Here is analysis regarding Chances to win the World Cup 2007 for India :
Reason1:
Year 1981 1. Prince Charles got married 2. Liverpool crowned Champions of Europe 3. Australia lost the Ashes 4. Pope Died 5. 2 years later India won the world Cup!!!
Year 2005 1. Prince Charles got married 2. Liverpool crowned Champions of Europe 3. Australia lost the Ashes 4. Pope Died 5. 2 years later India will win the world Cup
Reason2:
1982 Football World Cup won by Italy 1983 Cricket World Cup won by India
2006 Football World Cup won by Italy 2007 Cricket World Cup: INDIA
Reason 3:
1983: India has lost the only first match in 1983 world cup
2007: India has lost the only first match in 2007 and will not again
Still doubtful??? Watch out on Final Day
Knock out Punch:
1983 ? India stopped WI from winning World Cup for 3 rd consecutive time and since then WI has been in doldrums! 2007 ? India stops Australia from a 3 rd time WC ? and then ???
lets hope for the best
? only subjected to its win against srilanka tomorrow.
RE:try proving this wrong
by Saket Jain on Mar 22, 2007 11:31 PM Permalink
OPTIMISM .... the key to success. Boss, u r right. We have the capability to win, we can win. God willing, we will. Best of Luck team INDIA, we all are with you. Do us proud ..... just do it .....
by krishna dutta on Mar 23, 2007 05:59 AM Permalink
Inspiteof this optimistic set of facts, our poetry loving captain,RAHOOLJI DRAVIDJI will see toit that all our players are COMPLETELY DEMORALISED before the game!
by Manas Dey on Mar 22, 2007 11:35 PM Permalink
Nikunj, Terrific job done man!! We need stuff like this quality. Amazing!! India win or do not win WC, but this is amazing discovery. Good obsevation. Lets hope yr observation prove right once again.
by afsar syed on Mar 22, 2007 11:31 PM Permalink
India didn't lost the first match in 1983 WC, india lost 2 matches in between... first match vs WI, and india won with WI
Past is past.Let us look forward.Let us forget the differences we have in our mind.Let us unite our minds and thoughts together.Let us hope that we are through GROUP EIGHT.Best wishes to TEAM INDIA!