RE:Pawar
by Aam Admi on Mar 21, 2007 07:06 PM  Permalink
tomorrow want to go along he needs company

DAILY CHANGE SHOW
by zubair shighrekar on Mar 21, 2007 06:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

ITS LIKE DAILY CHANGE SHOW...
HEY REDIFF START SHOWING THE MVP FROM SUPER 8 STAGE....
IN THE ABOVE LIST THERE ARE FEW PAKI PLAYERS...WILL ANY ONE OF THEM WILL GET MVP AWARD ????
SO ITS USELESS TO SHOW ALL THESE 194 PLAYERS...
INSTEAD KEEP THE TRACK OF TOP 10 PLAYERS...
THANKS
ZUBAIR

RE:DAILY CHANGE SHOW
by rupesh patil on Mar 22, 2007 09:31 AM  Permalink
well i hope they will remove players of the teams which do not qualify for super 8. And MVP should be based on all the worldcup matches. Also it helps to see all the players so that we can calculate and know right after a match how our players did. Rediff take whole 24 hrs to post the results.

RE:DAILY CHANGE SHOW
by Mayank Agarwal on Mar 21, 2007 06:56 PM  Permalink
You are correct but to keep track of top 10 players they have to consider each and every players performance. Then only can they deduce top 10 :-)

WHO WILL WIN
by john on Mar 21, 2007 06:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

CHOICE...
1 SOUTH AFRICA
2.AUSTRALIA
3.NEWZELAND....

REMOTE CHOICE

1.SRILANKA
2.ENGLAND.

NO CHANCE
1.INDIA
2.BEGALDESH
3.IRELAND

RE:WHO WILL WIN
by mdphy on Mar 22, 2007 06:36 PM  Permalink
You are giving England some chance ?? Look at the state of their team !!

by krishna mohta on Mar 21, 2007 06:25 PM  Permalink
India only

RE:RE:WHO WILL WIN
by ANIL KOVURI on Mar 21, 2007 06:45 PM  Permalink
Yes Krishna, you are right.

India only will win

RE:RE:RE:WHO WILL WIN
by Aam Admi on Mar 21, 2007 07:08 PM  Permalink
kya anil kuch tho sharam karo yaar malum hai tu hundustani hai lekin yeh sehwag,tendli,dada hindutani hai kya???

RE:RE:RE:RE:WHO WILL WIN
by heaven on Mar 21, 2007 11:48 PM  Permalink
Arey 'Aam Admi', thoda 'aam admi' ke jaisey socho....sharam kyon karey bhai? Apna Bharat mahaan, achcha din milaa to toh woh videshi England, Kiwi, Aussie, Windies ke daant khatte kar saktaa hain....kyon sharmaa rahen hon bhai....

Sehwag kaa dimaag kharaab ho to band bajaa saktaa haain, chahey woh McGrath ho yaa Tait (uskaa to tetua dabaa degaa), Malinga hon yaa Murli, Eddie hon yaa Freddie, Samuels hon yaa Gayle (usko toh Sehwag hi pelega)....

Toh yaar aarm se dekho kaisey hum 'safed chamdi' ki khaal udhedte hain....Shukra ko wahi 'Tendli', 'Dada', our apun ka Rahul bhai ko miss na karnaa....

Abhi apnaa kaam karo aur unko apnaa kaam karne do....

Meraa Bharat Mahaan!!

by ashish on Mar 21, 2007 10:17 PM  Permalink
Australia any one wanna bet

RE:RE:WHO WILL WIN
by mdphy on Mar 22, 2007 06:39 PM  Permalink
I have a gut feeling that AUS will be taken out by SA/SL/NZ in the semi s.

MVP will reflect the performance of the players in the long run
by ANIL KOVURI on Mar 21, 2007 06:04 PM  Permalink 

I think it is too early to comment on the MVP rankings. Just by one or two matches one cannot stick to the top rankings. Once more matches are played, MVP rankings will tend to the original performance of the players.

Just like, Ricky Ponting was on the top of the list after Australia's first match. And then after the second match, he was dropped somewhere to 18th position.

Next is Jack Kallis. Till yesterday he was at no.1, Once South Africa has played second match, he is dropped to no 10.

So, in the long run, may be after 5 or 6 matches MVP will reflect the true performance of the player. Once Super 8 stage of the world cup starts we can comment on the rankings.

I am sure that MVP will behave like this.

wc 07
by Subramanian K on Mar 21, 2007 05:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

WC 07 Cup Winning Team..............Sri Lanka
Man of the (Finals).............Jayasurya
Man of the Series..............Jayasurya

RE:wc 07
by heaven on Mar 21, 2007 11:52 PM  Permalink
slight change in plans..
WC07 winning team......India
Man of the (finals)......Yuvi
Man of the series....SRT

Process of finding out MVP doesnt make sense
by Fauwad Hurzuk on Mar 21, 2007 05:56 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The process of finding out the MVP doesnt make sense. It seems the batting average of a player is used to decide his rating for MVP which does not make sense. One may hit just one boundary (not out) and his average shoots to 400% or 600%
In the above ranking look at the ranking of "Farveez Maharoof" he has scored just 9 runs and he is ranked 3rd. Whereas Ricky Ponting has scored 136 runs and his ranking is 14th.

RE:Process of finding out MVP doesnt make sense
by AboveAll on Mar 22, 2007 10:26 AM  Permalink
Fauwad its not the way you think...

Maharoof took 4 wkt and thats why his points are so high.. each Wkt is fetching him 24 points..

In the other Thread Mr Swaroop has given a short formula to calculate.. I am copy pasting the same here...

Total Points = (2*R)-(0.8*B) # (24*W) - [r -(0.8*b)] # (5*c) # (10*s) # (24*p)

Read the"#" as Plus Symbol.

R =Runs scored as batsman
B =Bowls faced as batsman
W =Wickets taken as Bowler
r =Runs given as Bowler
b =Number of deliveries bowled by the bowler (example: 60 in 10 overs)
c =Catches taken as fielder.
s =Stumped a batsman as Wicketkeeper.
p = number of times participated in Runouts as Fielder/wicketkeeper.

What a system!!
by Dheeman Chatterjee on Mar 21, 2007 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is really nice to find Sourav Ganguly at the 43rd place after he scored 155 runs in two matches(two half centuries, average 77.5 and strike rate of 78 ). Also he is the second highest scorer of the WC so far, just after Smith(158, only 3 runs more). Ganguly's runs came at a lesser pace (but remember, one of them was in a wet pitch and in a match which India lost against Bangladesh), but is that worth a difference of 42 places!!!! What a point system, typical of rediff!

RE:What a system!!
by Salil Sahasrabudhe on Mar 21, 2007 07:07 PM  Permalink
I agree... On what basis palyers like Sehwag are at higher position than Saurav?
Saurav has less strike rate but he should be atleast in top 10.

SMITHY ROCKS
by sweta satpathy on Mar 21, 2007 05:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

smithy is d
bestttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.
i looooooooooooooooooooooooove hiiiiiiiiiiiiim

RE:SMITHY ROCKS
by mohammed aziz on Mar 21, 2007 06:20 PM  Permalink
hey sweta ....wassup

RE:RE:SMITHY ROCKS
by Varun sehgal on Mar 21, 2007 07:12 PM  Permalink
AO MUJHE PYAAR KAROOO MUJHSE MOHABBAT KARO NAA MAI..I M SO PASSIONATE

WC 07
by Subramanian K on Mar 21, 2007 05:32 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Bangladesh will beat Sri Lanka today. Will this help India's cause?

RE:WC 07
by Evangelizer on Mar 21, 2007 05:53 PM  Permalink
No. This will not help Indias cause. B'cos either way India will have to beat lanka. In case Lanka beat B'desh and India gets to beat lanka, they will atleast carry 2 valuable points... in B'desh beats lanka, india still have to beat lanka and if they do so, they will go with 0 points to 2nd round..
Also, other teams in super 8 can beat B'Desh and gain valuable points, thus reducing our chances to advance in case we reach super 8.. overall its better for lanka to beat them

RE:WC 07
by Deena dayalan on Mar 21, 2007 05:51 PM  Permalink
no way, rather it would tighten the chances of India to super 8 if and only if Bermuda beats Bangladesh

Nonsense
by Whats this? on Mar 21, 2007 05:11 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Can you stop this nonsense??

RE:Nonsense
by YOGI on Mar 21, 2007 05:23 PM  Permalink
thats true please stop this .......

RE:RE:Nonsense
by Whats this? on Mar 21, 2007 05:52 PM  Permalink
@ shalini...it makes me think its important and wastes my time..so am criticising

by Shalini h on Mar 21, 2007 05:20 PM  Permalink
Why do you read if you dont like it.
Better stop reading & criticizing...

by vijay krishnan on Mar 21, 2007 05:42 PM  Permalink
What is ur problem in some one critising

by INDIAN on Mar 21, 2007 05:23 PM  Permalink
same applies to u. if u dont like what is said above, then why reply to that. i hope u know we are in a free speech country. just imagine if people like u become politicians, no wonder India is ruled by dictators like u.

RE:RE:RE:Nonsense
by biz Narayan on Mar 21, 2007 05:48 PM  Permalink
Perfect.

by Vikas D on Mar 21, 2007 05:22 PM  Permalink
What exactly do you not like about this?

by INDIAN on Mar 21, 2007 05:20 PM  Permalink
Definitely. I feel like kicking the person who started this bullshit. Now I know why our media is crap compared to those of western or even easter countries.

by biz Narayan on Mar 21, 2007 05:51 PM  Permalink
This is no nonsense. When you find Dhoni on the top 3, you know India is winning big. When you find both Dhoni and Shehwag in top 5, you know India is in finals or have won the world cup.

But the claculations have issues... 1- what can shehwag do if catches doesn;t come his way. 2- I am happy that a couple of wickets to shehwag puts him on the top and silents dumb and unintresting people, but that doesn't reflect if India is winning.

Total 59 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2