Total 12 messages Pages | 1
Natwest Final
by Amit GK on Mar 15, 2007 06:49 PM  Permalink 

A pressure map of the 2002 Natwest Trophy Final between India and England would be an interesting thing to see.

I am sure that when Sachin fell (India were about six down then for about 140) the pressure would have reached to levels in excess of 200!!

Kudos to Yuvi and Kaif!

Amit

waste of effort but good time pass
by kajum on Mar 15, 2007 03:30 PM  Permalink 

i never headr of cranes before. i googled and read about the company(may be that is what they want. to get known). i guess this is just some timepass the company's statisticians are doing. may be they are project less.

this is also the same company that was with CNN-IBN during punjab polls. i can't comment on that because i don't care(know) about elections.

the only thing useful that has come out of this is the debate it is causing and the no-holes-barred messages.

it is definitely nice time pass for all.

- kajum

confusing
by mayur thakare on Mar 15, 2007 01:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am really confused with pressure plot. At last ball it is shown maximum, which shud't be a case. Once you are sure that you are going to loose there is no pressure, cos u know things cannot be reverted back.

RE:confusing
by Amit GK on Mar 15, 2007 06:54 PM  Permalink
Nice perspective! The anamoly!

Maybe if they re-christen it to something like "Odds / Probability of Winning" as it sounds more relevant.

about saching tendulkar
by Jitender Sharma on Mar 15, 2007 01:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Personaly I am telling you i am a greate fan of tendulkar still i am saying that tendulkar is unable in playing under pressure with a strong team like Australis,West-Indies,S.Africa. It is time tested. If there is requirement of runs with destructive manner at that time sachin always fails so i want to say that sachin ji please please play with consistensy and comfortably.
Jitender sharma
vikaspuri,New delhi-18

RE:about saching tendulkar
by yellamraju sreenivasulu on Mar 15, 2007 02:09 PM  Permalink
you are absolutely right Jitender. We might not like the fact, but Tendulkar's ability to play under pressure is just around 30% to 40%. the only time he did well was way back in 1998 in Sharjah. Remember 'operation desert storm'? He scored successive 100s to beat AUS single handedly.

RE:RE:about saching tendulkar
by Amit GK on Mar 15, 2007 06:58 PM  Permalink
Mr Sreenivasulu,

I think you suffer from short term memory loss.

He definitely has scored many match winning knocks since then, or he wouldn't be in the team.

Maybe, the team management has asked him to play the role of a consolidator rather than an aggressor. That could explain his sedate innings lately.

huh
by nit on Mar 15, 2007 12:14 PM  Permalink 

I hate West indies...especialyy lara the stupid cow

Needs refinement
by Arvind Padmanabhan on Mar 15, 2007 11:16 AM  Permalink 

Hi don't you think sometimes pressure starts to get down once the players and the audience resign to the fate of "No Hope"... do u still believe they will carry on mounting the pressure on themselves even when they see the writing on the wall is as good as OVER and OUT.

Do you also feel in this current method - for the Aus v Sco match - the pressure on the Scots would always been higher at around 160 or above. I think they would have resigned to the fate. And what about matches if teams like Aus are chasing against minnows like Scotland? Will the PI be in relevance to the Req RR and Wickets in Hand or in relation to the easiness of the target.

I do not personally think this is the best way. A good beginning though, needs some good refinement to be authoritative.

Good
by Arindam Sinha on Mar 15, 2007 05:42 AM  Permalink 

I praise the guy who got this idea. This is great Rediff. Please do something like this more than taking "miao(n)-miuo(n)" interviews like Kiran GOAT More etc.

GEO!!

PI map
by sudesh bekal on Mar 14, 2007 09:54 PM  Permalink 

I think the PI map can be made more releveant by including factors like the ability and form of the players left to play. Also, factors like condition of the pitch, playing condition and the calibre of the bowlers at various stages should be taken into effect in the calculation of PI. Once that is done, I think it is possible to predict if the team has reached a point of no return.

Sudesh

Message(s) deleted by moderator not displayed on this page
Total 12 messages Pages: | 1