This team has all the masala to win the cup. The combination of youth and experienced has raised our expectations. Lots of entertainment ahead. Woolala.
Brian Charles Lara, and Sourav Chandi Ganguly are the true Legends in their own rights. Although Lara has a better Track Record, compared to our own DADA, don't count Ganguly out of any equations. He will be a important factor in India's winning streak to the World Cup. Mr. Carribean King, beware of the Bengal Tiger, The Prince of Kolkata...
RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by kunal tiwari on Mar 05, 2007 12:27 PM Permalink
please..for god's sake dont compare ganguly and lara... lara is million times better than ganguly...
lara would have had far better records had he been part of a good team...ganguly cant even play fast bowling and lara has wreaked havoc on fast bowlers...
RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Anup on Mar 05, 2007 12:31 PM Permalink
You understand cricket or not. what have lara done for his contry only played for himself.
RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Sunny Goel on Mar 05, 2007 12:36 PM Permalink
What has Sachin done in his career of 18 years? Nothing man he only plays for himself. Did he win a series for India except in sharja in 1997
RE:RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Vikas Sehdev on Mar 05, 2007 01:01 PM Permalink
Sunny Goel ur sick as hell. How can you forget that this guy went back to the world cup even after his father died. He is too big a personality to be discussed by an insensitive looser like you.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Sunny Goel on Mar 05, 2007 01:11 PM Permalink
went back to show that he is great Greatness has not to be shown but he was insensitive Australians will not do that. usko ghar rehna tha
by sunish kumar on Mar 05, 2007 12:33 PM Permalink
i think u forgot the recent test series against SA in SA. Ganguly had helped india to reach decent numbers.
by neel on Mar 05, 2007 12:48 PM Permalink
did u forget how ganguly faced fast ball in bouncy pitch of south africa still u have doubt on ur own players. Lara did not win a big tornament for windies , Dada had many such record. As per world cup context check the one day record as well as world cup record and average of both. Try to respect heroes of our own nation
by Jim on Mar 05, 2007 12:32 PM Permalink
ya true we can not compare them. One is bengal pussy n other is Carribean dog..
RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Abhi on Mar 05, 2007 12:25 PM Permalink
dont start that ooh aah thing just yet... lets wait till the semis at least.. but one thing u cant help but feel..both dada and lara have got balls..unlike most of their team mates
by Sunny Goel on Mar 05, 2007 12:33 PM Permalink
Do u think they will reach semis? They cannot beat Australia, West Indies, South Africa, New Zeland, Srilanka(with Murali,Vaas back). Maybe pakistan is beatable. Surely they can beat scotland, Kenya, Zim etc.Moral of story : dont take failures in team
RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Prashant Misra on Mar 05, 2007 12:52 PM Permalink
abe tu kya samjta hai. tu jayega to semi mai jaenge??? aur tu bata 99 WC mai kisne vas aur murli ki bohot badi waat lagayi thi
RE:RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Sunny Goel on Mar 05, 2007 01:22 PM Permalink
Abe woh 1999 tha Dada, Dravid aur Sachin Buddhe ho gaye hain. woh dead pitches par mohalle gali ke bowler ko hi khel sakte hain.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:A Legend meets a Legend
by Deb Patra on Mar 05, 2007 01:51 PM Permalink
So you think WI pitches will be lively and not dead pitches? This shows your cricket acumen.
by basavaiah satish on Mar 05, 2007 12:42 PM Permalink
As long as thakathless captain dravid is their IND can't win World cup
It's good to see bothe the ornaments of cricket together just before the mega event. This meeting will definitely booost their mood to show their peak in the WC2007. all the best to bothe of you and eager for waiting the battle between two.
Why does every message board end up an arena for personal attacks? If some people think Dada sucks, so be it. If some think Dada is God, let them be. Read the messages and enjoy the diversity. Don't ruin it, please. btw, is Dada blushing here?
actually dada is better of the two shown in the picture .... as of today he is best and u all will know what i am talking about once the world cup starts
Good to see the smiles on the faces of 2 greats.... have Fun when outside coz its serious business inside the arena. All the best and may the best team win. though i am with the men in BLUE...heart
RE:cool
by Ian chappel on Mar 05, 2007 12:39 PM Permalink
Ganguly 2 be compare with Lara. What a rubbish?All world knows about Laras greatness and Ganguly is nowhere come close in that comparision? That pussycat Gangaly was kicked out of Indian team bcoz of my brother results in his avg. come back.By the way I dont think Gangaly is going 2 make any difference in WC.
RE:RE:cool
by neel on Mar 05, 2007 12:53 PM Permalink
What great thing Lara had done by the way. check world cup records of both then compare. Supporting a normal foreign player and spit venom against ur own nation player with a foreign ID proves how brtishers dominated india for more than 200 yrs
RE:RE:RE:cool
by on Mar 05, 2007 02:52 PM Permalink
If Ganguly has 22 hundreds in one dayers, why does he have only 12 hundreds in tests. Why does he average so low against 4 tough nations of the era between 1995 to 2005(with exception of WI moving out of top 4 later on).
Why does Ganguly average around 30 against WI, SA, Pakistan, Australia. Apart from that Ganguly averages 27 in Zimbabwe, 27 in NZ. He was a batsmen of dead flat tracks of India but that too only against Zimbabwe, NZ, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. He was fortunate to debut against the weakest English side of 90's where he scored 2 hundreds and when the real test came, he came a cropper.
Test Cricket is the real thing a bowler can test a batsmen with short picth and bouncers and his fielding side doesnt have restrictions.
One day is a batsmen's game, all limitations are imposed on bowlers and fielders. Thats why one day specialists are there, Bevan, Graeme Hick, Symonds and Ganguly were purely one day cricketers.
Gavaskar was not the best one day batsmen but he is remembered cause of his record in Test Cricket. Greenidge, Haynes, Richards, Chappell, etc are still remembered cause of their test record and not one day record.
Test cricket is the real thing, and i hope you check gangulys record yourself before commenting
RE:RE:RE:RE:cool
by chandravijoy chatterjee on Mar 05, 2007 03:35 PM Permalink
Graeme Hick?? He's a great one day batsman?? Ha, ha...u must be crazy yaar...He was only good in english counties!! His one da avg. is not more than 30 or 32!! Bfore educating others, educate ur self my dear...
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:cool
by Sameer K on Mar 05, 2007 09:33 PM Permalink
Your english is very bad. Nowhere it is written that Graeme Hick is a great batsmen. It is written Graeme Hick was a one day specialist. He averaged 37.33 scoring 3846 runs in 120 ODIs with 5 hundreds and and in 65 tests he averaged 31.32 scoring 3383 runs with 6 hundreds. So surely he was more of a one day specialist.
Test Cricket is the real thing. A bowler doesnt have limitations. One day is a batsmen's game. A bowler cannot bowl more than 10 overs, he has to bowl in fielding restrictions, he cannot try to swing the ball as much as he would love to as it might be called a wide. Till 2000 a bowler couldnt even bowl a bounce only after the year 2000 did ICC allowed bowlers to use one bouncer per over. Apart from that a bowler cannot test a batsmen by bowling around the rib cage area, cause even the slightest movement would cause the bowl to fly down the leg side and it would be a wide. With so many restrictions the batsmen already have a upper hand.
The real test of a cricketer is a 5 day match and that is why it is called TEST match, it tests the attitude, the talent, the patience, the courage and the mental strength of a cricketer. When you look at Ganguly's test record, you clearly find that his average of 40 overall is due to the fact he scored well against Bangladesh, Zimbabwe in subcontinent pitches. Even NZ is no match on subcontinent's pitches. NZ last won a test match in India way back in 1989 when Richard Hadlee was in their squad. Sri Lanka never produced good fast bowlers and lesser said of England of the 90s the better. This leaves Australia, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies, these teams produced great fast bowlers and ganguly never scored a single hundred against any one of them. His sole 100 against Australia came against the weakest Australian bowling attack in 10 years since 1995 to 2005.
Just imagine, if you remove Bangladesh's average from Ganguly's overall average of 40, his overall average falls belows 40. Majority of his runs at a good average have come either on flat, dead batting tracks of India against NZ, Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh or against Eng.
A batsmen who averages around 30 in test cricket world over except Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and England cannot be termed as great.
by Ian chappel on Mar 05, 2007 01:08 PM Permalink
Laras avg is 44 in odi and Pussycat ganguly is nowhere come close in test. Then why people in bengal is crying?
by chandravijoy chatterjee on Mar 05, 2007 01:17 PM Permalink
Dear Pussy Ian... I'm not frm Bengal,I stay in Mumbai.... 2nd point, Just try and score 25 runs in 1 ODI , then we'll see ... 3rdly, don't use a foreign alias, it makes u a loser all the way...be bold & have balls to show us ur real name & i.d.
by Atanu Chatterjee on Mar 05, 2007 02:04 PM Permalink
u'r really sick..go and see a doctor immediately. take your brother along. and then go to australia, for god's sake dont stay in india.
RE:cool
by on Mar 05, 2007 12:08 PM Permalink
2 Gr8's???? LOL Lara 10 thousand plus runs in Tests and 10 thousand plus runs in one dayers, Lara 30 100's in Tests, Ganguly 5 thousand runs in tests at a moderate average of 40, apart from that just 12 hundreds and a pathetic average of 30 in Test Cricket kind of against Australia, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies, teams which had fast bowlers. And 1 hundred in 50 Tests against those above mentioned teams. Such a gr8 Player Ganguly is, ha ha ha.
by halwai sanjay on Mar 05, 2007 12:41 PM Permalink
What is this ??? Supporting individial player is good thing but not at the cost of abusing each other . My Dear friend , this is chat room & every body maintain some decency . With best wishes
by Atanu Chatterjee on Mar 05, 2007 12:42 PM Permalink
friends, dont forget dada is one of the greatest captain of his time which is a tedious job anyday specially u'r captaining teams like india/pakistan. till the time captaincy took the better off him his averages used to be pretty good. he's much more successful than lara in this aspect. in one-dayers also their batting records are almost equal with the addition of dada can bowl few overs.
by on Mar 05, 2007 02:43 PM Permalink
Well check Ganguly's record before captaincy against Australia, Pakistan, WI and South Africa in Tests and you will find his averages are 30 and has no hundreds in those five years. He scored 1 hundred against Australia and that too against the Weakest Australian bowling attack in 10 years from 1995 to 2005. Gillespie(Injured), Bracken, Andy Bichel and McGirl. That means Ganguly has never scored a hundred against the greatest bowlers(fast) of his times, McGrath, Donald, Ambrose, Walsh, Pollock, Wasim/Waqar etc.
Apart from that Ganguly averages 27 in Zimbabwe, 27 in NZ. It clearly meant Ganguly was a one day specialist, who kept playing test cricket for 10 years, scored runs at a good rate against Zimbabwe in India, NZ in India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and England which was the weakest bowling side of 90's and early 2000, which used to be thrased by Aus, WI and Pakistan.
Any batsmen who has averaged approx 27 for first 5 years of his career and again the next 5 years saw same thing happening, against some major test teams should have been kicked out or told to rectify the fault in his batting and come back and score consistently.
But then the gr8 administrator Jagmohan Dalmiya use to call Ganguly as a fine batsmen.
by Ian chappel on Mar 05, 2007 03:48 PM Permalink
No Mr Nair, Dont use abuse lang.Truth is always painful. Dont worry my brother is there with team he will look Ganguly also
by on Mar 05, 2007 12:11 PM Permalink
At the most Ganguly was a good one day player but because of Jagmohan Dalmiya such a weak player of fast bowling who averaged like a lower order all rounder or wicket keeper played Test Cricket for 10 years and ended up scoring 5000 runs, majority against weak teams of 90's like England, Zimbabwe and in subcontinent against NZ, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Even Michael Bevan would have scored runs against England, or NZ in india on dead tracks. But he couldnt score against tougher opponents in Tests and was out.
by amit joshi on Mar 05, 2007 12:39 PM Permalink
Mr.on...whatever that means...u have made it ur calling to keep posting messages here whatever the subject.its ur prerogative.but dumbo,ganguly may not be great by ur estimate but he is certainly worth more than 100s of ur ilk.dont spit at the SUN.wallow in ur own swill.
RE:Fear
by Varadarajan Iyer on Mar 05, 2007 11:59 AM Permalink
I think even Lara will have the same feelings. It is not how one feels when they meet each other off the cricket field. It is how you put up against each other on the field. I think thats important...
RE:Fear
by Kastur Majumder on Mar 05, 2007 12:07 PM Permalink
Hi Kanta! what nonsense are you talking aboout. Dada is wellknown throught the cricketworld as a daredevil. Who r u hell to criticise him ?