Total 194 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Why expect too much from India
by on Apr 29, 2007 11:33 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indian cricket team is not as good as Aussies in terms of consistency at any point of time. Even when India won the world cup in 1983 they were the underdogs and not a beter team than the ever gr8 west indies team. Our win at that time is almost similar to our loss againest Bangladesh team in this WC. But our team is always a beter team after that win and on their day they can beat any team in the world. Unfortunately just one bad match put us out in this WC. After comparing strengths of other teams I still feel our team is a beter team than West Indies, Bangla, ireland, England , South Africa and Pakistan. Lanka and Aussies are good teams and to win on them any team in the world have to give their 100%. Gilchrist is in bad patch before he came into form in the final. But he was never blasted by any australian like what we Indians did for Sehwag, Sachin and Ganguly. On their good day's these were dangerous players like Gilly and won crucial matches for India. Srinath like MCGrath performed well in the last world cup before he retired aand made India to reach final. India bowled well aginest match aginest Lanka and restricted them to an achievable target. Unfortunately they succumbed to pressure and failed in chasing. Making money in cricket is gifted for Indians and its not the fault of players. We cannot relate it to their performance. Sachin is the cricketer who inspired lots of youngsters and he is in his final few years of his cricketing career. We shall expect best from him in these final days. I pity Sachin inspite of the entertainment he provided us for all these 17 years still facing dirty abuse from the so called fans. All the best to team India for next world cup but I hope the best team in the world lift the next world cup also.

RE:Why expect too much from India
by Jai Jayaraman on Apr 30, 2007 12:02 AM  Permalink
Hi,
Your Analogy would be accepted if India is amateur cricket team and everyone plays Cricket as a Hobby or as a alternate profession (Like Ireland Cricket team or Kenya). India cricket team in 1983 was not a bunch of professionals (Most of the guys worked in either Public sector or private sector). But now that is not the case. All the players who play now are professionals (So called) who do not have to work and only cricket is their bread winner. You have mentioned that Sachin played for 17 years, but did he play only for the country. Was'nt cricket his only source of income (Apart from the AD's and endorsements because of his cricket). He played for his family and well being also. I do not know whether you are working or studying, will they allow you to work when you do not acheive your target or sleep in your work. Just because you studied in the same school for 5 or 7 years will they promote you if you flunk your exams? Only Indian politicians are capable of giving unreasonable explanations to escape. Cricketers are also taking the same route.

by on Apr 30, 2007 12:28 AM  Permalink
What is achievement ? Scoring 100 in every match? Why Sachin is the only person seen in most ads and earned more money than any one else. Its just because of his skill and just because he is the number one in business. Is there any player in India now who can tear the offside field like what Sachin did when he is young? Is there any one in the youngsters who can ply the ball as straight as Sachin and make it reach the boundary with in a split second. Is there any one in the present youngsters who can make the world best leg spinnner sleepless before the match. Is there any player in the contemperery cricket who can make the world best fast bowler leave the field in middle of a over. It happened only with Sachin and that is for what he is payed for. He is not expected to provide entertainment but he provided unexpected entertainment all through the years . There were days when team India just collapsed after Sachin is out. Also Pakistan team made open comments like get Sachin out and India is out. Dont forget he scored again in the recent series with WI. He is definitely not the same player as he is before but still his presence in the team will increse the strength before the match.

by Raman on Apr 30, 2007 04:06 AM  Permalink
Sachin out India out is not true,even when he was in prime form,last 3 years he is just a mere passenger,during his prime also he wasnt a match winner compared to Inzi or Lara or Martin Crowe or so many others,people talk only about his desert storm Innings in Sharjah against a attack of Tom Moody,Steve Waugh,Fleming and Kasproviwz,not to mention Warne(who is blasted by all Indian batsmen not just sachin),then comes his 98 against a Pak attack with Ws in their last match(considering the next match was washed out)so that proves he is no match winner and foreign teams just used this tactic to lift his ego all the time by saying Sachin out India out,most famous wins have come because of a Sidhu or Azhar or Jadeja or Prasad or Ganguly(Compare Gangulys ODI innings during his prime and Sachins u will understand)or even Kumble and Kambli(during his 2 yrs).So give up this Sachin was GOD and only now he is flopping so lets give him 10 more years to compensate for his good deeds.
Even now people like Viv Richards say Sachin should still play because he wants Coach post in India and our folks will say Don Bradman himself said Sachin was great but wont agree if Chappel Brothers question his attitude,they use the Anti AUssie theme there,so convenient.

by s s on Apr 30, 2007 01:43 AM  Permalink
wah pahjii kya bathhh bolaa apney :-)

We indian are weak minded people !!
by on Apr 29, 2007 10:56 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lets take example of cricket, V.Richards said that that it does not take cricket skills to win matches, but great mental skill and belief in yourself that you can do it . Indian may have some cricket skills me mentally they are very weak , when time comes to play they simply crumble .
Its culture in India to nurture weak minds , we call out boss "sir" , when go to government offices we behave like "coward cat" to get our work done , even in collage this culture is promotes by calling senior, junior and ragging .
Learn from West, call everyone by Name, speak your mind, teach them they are best from childhood and openly. Indian kids are treated as kids , in US 5 yer kid talks like adult , with confidence , its taught to them and they grow up with that .
Indian cricketers are chickens, they are very weak mentally, even they have talent they are useless , there must be some motivation-classes and psychological evaluation before selecting player into team .

RE:We indian are weak minded people !!
by Bengal Tiger on Apr 29, 2007 11:50 PM  Permalink
That's why in the west kids are poor in studies and people from third world countries like India are hired to boost their lack of intellect!

You lack common sense, don't blame kids for corrupt BCCI politicians.

by jonas britto on Apr 30, 2007 12:05 AM  Permalink
Bengal Tiger.. U look like a ganguly fan :) which from experience i have seen are normally all too emotional and not logical :) ..what the orig. message says i totally agree, with you i dont !... we are mentally very weak.. what u r talkin abt is raw mathematical skills which we do have.. but dats good for say being a scientist... or really closed disciplines.. but for nythin today.. whether a s/w eng or cricket.. u MUST BE ABLE to communicate and be confident..u must be street smart.. be able to be transparent.. all this requires u to be responsible and independent for yr actions.. but in India.. we are all dependent on each other.. .and dats really bad... dats the reason why even in your terms you say 'the west hire us'.. u are wrong.. they 'USE' us... we may be the so called software engineers.. but we do nothing more than the execution mostly.. the realy plannin and monetary earning is done by them...trust me they are far better than us on average.. just that we are offering CHEAP LABOUR!!.. They dont give us high positions coz they rightfully know we would fail.... so mister please understand the context... our indian mindset sucks.. and is the major reason for our ouster...

by Gaurab Sengupta on Apr 30, 2007 12:24 AM  Permalink
Some excellent points have been raised, even though I may not agree with everything you have said :). It is worth thinking whether respect indeed should be earned on the basis of age (as it is in our country) or on the basis of demonstrated caliber!

test
by on Apr 29, 2007 10:45 PM  Permalink 

test

Nothing can be done
by tapasya sen on Apr 29, 2007 10:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Guys.. there is so much lobby baazi & politics involved in Indian cricket we cant do anything... lets not be too hopeful about the next world cup to..

RE:Nothing can be done
by Raghuram Mocherla on Apr 29, 2007 11:06 PM  Permalink
Is it legal to have a squash ball, which is a foreign object in your glove? No credit is taken away from Gilly, but is it allowed as per laws?

Also, I was dismayed that the Chairman of ICC in his speech didnt refer to Woolmer's death and spoke of the all the highs of the tournament and thanked everyone. I think he should have made a reference atleast, given Woolmer's contribution to cricket. Pretty sad..

When our blue brigade will Learn
by nilesh modi on Apr 29, 2007 09:41 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Our blue rigade shlould learn the simple thing attitude,committment and execution of job and not making only money from advertisements.

RE:RE:When our blue brigade will Learn
by Srinivasan Ramiah on Apr 29, 2007 10:11 PM  Permalink
minus the Money the Blue Brigade has nothing to play for, they will run away! Not like New Zealand where they have to select 15 out of a total National availability of 150 Players and without much money! [and still consistent Semi-Finalists for all the WC
SERIES!!]. They are playing for their Country.

RE:When our blue brigade will Learn
by raja moses on Apr 30, 2007 10:14 PM  Permalink
good stats.... when will we learn instead blowing the trumpet:Mera Bharat mahan. Isn't this sheer hypocricy?

2011 World champions
by cricket fever on Apr 29, 2007 09:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Australia r going 2b the champions again in 2011 and complete their 5th world cup triumph under Michael Clarke's captaincy. I don't think any team has the guts to challenge their superiority and least of all the stupid dogs called Morons in Blue.

RE:2011 World champions
by on Apr 29, 2007 10:01 PM  Permalink
"Cricket Fever" is the only moron I can see around here. Why don't you have another beer you red-neck, cretinous imbecile.

Good Job
by Munish Kumar Dogra on Apr 29, 2007 09:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Brilliant display of courage n Talent !! Routing every team on the way, no tactics worked on them, be it omitting key players in non-crucial games! Just whooping the oppossition's ass! That's all they know and they do the best!

RE:Good Job
by siddhartha on Apr 29, 2007 11:43 PM  Permalink
ndian cricket team is not as good as Aussies in terms of consistency at any point of time. Even when India won the world cup in 1983 they were the underdogs and not a beter team than the ever gr8 west indies team. Our win at that time is almost similar to our loss againest Bangladesh team in this WC. But our team is always a beter team after that win and on their day they can beat any team in the world. Unfortunately just one bad match put us out in this WC. After comparing strengths of other teams I still feel our team is a beter team than West Indies, Bangla, ireland, England , South Africa and Pakistan. Lanka and Aussies are good teams and to win on them any team in the world have to give their 100%. Gilchrist is in bad patch before he came into form in the final. But he was never blasted by any australian like what we Indians did for Sehwag, Sachin and Ganguly. On their good day's these were dangerous players like Gilly and won crucial matches for India. Srinath like MCGrath performed well in the last world cup before he retired aand made India to reach final. India bowled well aginest match aginest Lanka and restricted them to an achievable target. Unfortunately they succumbed to pressure and failed in chasing. Making money in cricket is gifted for Indians and its not the fault of players. We cannot relate it to their performance. Sachin is the cricketer who inspired lots of youngsters and he is in his final few years of his cricketing career. We shall expect best from him in these final days. I pity Sachin inspite of the entertainment he provided us for all these 17 years still facing dirty abuse from the so called fans. All the best to team India for next world cup but I hope the best team in the world lift the next world cup also.

Indian Cricket
by sriram venkatram on Apr 29, 2007 09:30 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Tendulkar and Ganguly. Please note !!

The way the Aussies played yesterday confirms the fact that they dont go for individual records and their country and team comes before self. This is exemplified by the fact that Gilchrist was out on 149 trying to go over the ropes when he could have easily tapped another single !! We Indians have a habit of going slow regardless of the circumstances to get to a milestone.

Shame on you !!

Tendulkar also complained that the fans have been ungrateful to him and that he has served Indian cricket for the past 17 years. While every one acknowledges that you are one of the greatest batsmen, you are human too and that it is time to contemplate your future as such.It is not that we were ungrateful to you. You have made more money than you could have ever imagined !! Even now with the kind of form that you are in, you make more money than even the Great Aussies who are the world champs !!

RE:RE:Indian Cricket
by raja moses on Apr 30, 2007 10:19 PM  Permalink
great posting.. very inspiring... these crooks don't care for India. When their 100 approaches India's score almost comes to a halt. what a shameful thing.. sadly most don't notice this!!!!

RE:Indian Cricket
by kanal on Apr 30, 2007 12:56 AM  Permalink
making money is common for any popular person in our country .shahruk khan ,amir khan rajnikanth allof them earn more than our cricketers.even a new actor is payed around 50-75 lakhs per movie and he acts for about 4 to 5 films per year and earns more than our cricketers. can you compare film stars who act with 100 re takes to players who get only a single chance in a match. have all of you who speak so much about money earned by cricketers raised any question about money earned by politicains anfd government officials. if only you had expected the same level of consistency you expect from our cricket players from rest of the people then india would have been top nation long ago

RE:Indian Cricket
by cricket fever on Apr 29, 2007 09:39 PM  Permalink
that's why all indians say "Mera Bharat Mahan"

Congrats the Great Aussies!!!
by karan on Apr 29, 2007 09:24 PM  Permalink 

I would like to send hearty Congrats to Aussies&Gilly especially on their remarkable victory!!!Well Done,You Truly deserved it!

A Gaint retires at the top of his game
by R K on Apr 29, 2007 09:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Can you imagine an Indian player ratiring after winning the man of the tournament on the biggest stage the world cup. My God...yeah he wold have become god and will select himself for the rest of his miserable lives in the team sheet. Only death could have stopped him. So much greed and power are we indians after. We need money and power to kill and sqash the rest of our country men and enjoy that sick feeling. Ask Tendulkar, Ganguly, Dravid, Yuvraj Singh or whoever. But McGrath...he is true champion. So Unselfish and knows that an upcoming bowler like Tait and stuart clarke need their due before they get too old. No wonder they win the world cup unlke the greedy indians.

RE:A Gaint retires at the top of his game
by raja moses on Apr 30, 2007 10:24 PM  Permalink
The original message is very true.. we are in a very selfish culture and that too very greedy and shamless..our 33crore gods are insufficient and we add 11 more every cricket series is played.. what a pity

by AandTattey on Apr 29, 2007 09:20 PM  Permalink
They are shameless creatures. When they are still there due to their past records, then imagine what they will do if they perform well in final. They will be there for ever. Mo*$#r Fu@k*#$....

by sriram venkatram on Apr 29, 2007 09:37 PM  Permalink
You have hit the nail on its head !! well done. This is exactly what ails Indian cricket .

Total 194 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>