I am shocked by what Gavaskar has said. He says that we Indian suffers from the inferiority complex syndrome and hence he implies that we are always seeking a foreigner for a job. Now Mr Sunil Gavaskar tell me one thing. Which Indian coach contributed selflessly towards the cause of the Indian cricket? It was only after John Wright was made the coach of the Indian team that we played and won like a true hero. But sadly, Mr Gavaskar, those years of success went into the head of the cricketers and they started to behave as if they are the demigods of the country. John Wright was a better diplomat than Greg Chappel and he didn't want to take the players arrogance and bad attitude head on. So you see Mr Gavaskar mediocre player like Saurav Ganguly continued to call the shots during his tenure. When Greg was appointed he was not willing to foster these 'ills' and he wanted to a team chosen on merits and current forms. Sadly Mr Gavaskar, I found you to be very short sighted and I can also sense a feeling of jealousy for him. I understand Mr Gavaskar that you hate the Australian becoz of the history amongst you. But I would advise you to not get emotional and think why do they have the best cricket team in the world? You imply that Ireland would beat Australia some day. Do you mean to say that Ireland would become champion one day and we the Indians would still be targeting some one to blame for our defeat? Mr Sunil Gavaskar, grow up man. I have lost all the respect that I had for you.
i don't know whether to laugh or cry. coz gavaskar is a one who comment from outside but he is not willing to take the responsibility. let him take the responsibility and prove that indian team is one among the best. he has given some statistics that india is in sixth position in one day ranking, he doesn't know that for the teams below india it is not necessary to play for win coz those teams are their only to lose. it is easy to comment sitting from outside. he is also part of the selection committee who selected chappall. i bet even if god coaches indian team we will be losing. that too their will be lots of contraversy. gopal.c
He should have some shame to talk like tht.The main reason we lost Reliance Cup is because of this guy's flinthy politics.And this guy is talking like a big man.Please...pls dont play mumbai politics
RE:Gavaskar is big politician
by saibaba shanmugam on Apr 22, 2007 11:19 PM Permalink
well said. talent is there with in the team..but politics like these only stop them from blossoming
by raju kumar on Apr 23, 2007 12:23 AM Permalink
if our player did not perform in wc please accept it dont blame on politics, one should must accept this fact that players like sachin and ganguly do not performs when it matters most nither they will leave indian team because its matter of Rs.120cr. a year.
by ravi pathak on Apr 22, 2007 11:13 PM Permalink
who says that gavaskar is a big politician , when he is going good then we are saying that is politics . WHY we dont see that when politics is entered into indian team , it was begun after CHAPPELS ENTRY in to team , why we forget that , it may be some of the decisions were right but most of the practicals of chappeles were just only time pass there were no need , and if there were some necessecity then inconsistency was continuousally been ??? Greg was not a right coach that was a big politician who want to make his name only n his practicals n politics made him what he want.
If my columns are not right then pls tell me one thing that one who(GREG CHAPEL) has said that the days of saurav has gone n was taking the credit of GANGULY'S replacemnt , after saurav's boom come back saying that saurav's form is caused by him .We easily can see the dual nature of GREG CHAPPEL , whos only one moto to destroy team INDIA n earn money n popularity , n fortunately he got success in this n we indian are still saying that GREG is guru , " ARE LAANAT HAI AISE GURU AUR AISA KAHNE WALO PER JO APNE DESH KO GART ME LE JANE WALO KO ABHI BHI NAHI PAHCHHAN RAHE HAIN "
by Cricket s on Apr 22, 2007 11:44 PM Permalink
FYI - politics entered before GC took over. It was very much started by Ganguly to retain his place in the team in spite of his poor performances. Tell me why John Wright did not want to coach India and Wright himself did not want Ganguly to continue as captain.
by kuntal banerjee on Apr 22, 2007 11:55 PM Permalink
yeah john wright told u this.........u are talking like the great Raj Singh Dungarpur
by raju kumar on Apr 23, 2007 12:22 AM Permalink
if our player did not perform in wc please accept it dont blame on politics, one should must accept this fact that players like sachin and ganguly do not performs when it matters most nither they will leave indian team because its matter of Rs.120cr. a year.
Gavaskar continues to make India a laughing stock with his silly comments. To lay all the fault at Chappell's doorstep is the height of blindness and psychological immaturity. David
RE:Gavaskar
by Vijay Patel on Apr 22, 2007 11:01 PM Permalink
Truth is always bitter...It's fact that Chapple has failed and he shouldn't be offered NCA consultant post otherwise he will also use policy of devide and rule at NCA as well.
by raja moses on Apr 22, 2007 10:59 PM Permalink
Yes, he seems to be out of ideas as always. He used to fight for more money by complaining in every forum.He has problems with Kapil about money sharing. He was resposible for flying a teenager cricketer from college level to national level. Chappell didn't possibly understand how fattened (and useless) our cricketers were but Gavaskar is behaving like much older men who always say like parrot:India is best.
by rama prasad on Apr 22, 2007 11:08 PM Permalink
DVID ARE U A CHAPPEL CHAMCHA TOO. WE ALL KNOW AUSTRALIANS WERE DESCENDANTS OF THE CRIMINALS SENT FROM ENGLAND TO AUSTRALIA. CHAPPEL WAS KNOWN TO BE A UNETHICAL FELLOW DURING HIS PLAYING DAYS. HE ASKED HIS BROTHER TO BOWL THE INFAMOUS UNDER BALL AND ASKED LILLEE TO PLAY WITH AN ALUMINIUM BAT. SO MUCH FOR CHAPPEL. AND AUSSIES. WE HAVE SEEN HOW THE AUSTRALIAN UMPIRES USED TO CHEAT WHEN TEAMS WENT TO AUSTRALIA. BEFORE THE START OF THE NEUTRAL UMPIRE SYSTEM
I think gavasker is trying to divert the attension of the public. Players are responsible for defeat and not the coach. gavasker should join the politics.
[1]. Chappel's activities should be judged against the backdrop of his very wellknown unfair play against West indies in a test match where, as captain of Australian team, he asked his brother to bowl underarm. [2]. O the cricket pundits of India, if such an unscrupuluous man is offered the post of head of National Cricket Academy (NCA), Bangalore- what will happen to India's future ? India will produce a bunch of unnscruoulous youngsters. [3]. So , O the cricket pundits of India , just try to understand why Chappel has been offered the post to head the NCA by the BCCI ? -Obviously to serve the interests of BCCI members such as Sharad Pawar, Raj Singh Dungarpur & Co. [4]. O the cricket pundits of India try to see beyond your nose & you will find that BCCI is full of non cricketers.
RE:Chappel's unfair play as captain of Aus Test team
by Cricket s on Apr 22, 2007 10:51 PM Permalink
Just because Chappell did something wrong 25 years ago need not mean that he has to be bad today.
Unfortunately, guys like Ganguly who were good 5 years ago are bad today. These guys are playing for money, want to extend their career to make more money (players are set to share $250 million dollars out of BCCi's revenue of billion dollars. This is over 4 years), play slow to defeat his own team.
So let us talk about the real issue here...ie the senior players. I am not even going into fitness related issues
The whole episode started when Kiran More became the Chairman of Selection Committee and started politiking. There was a case of 10 lacs offer the Abijit Kale Case. if you remember. Sacking of Ganguly as captain at the behest of Chappel was the begining of the end of killing cricket as a sport in India.
I firmly believe that had Ganguly been the skipper, he would never have dropped Kaif who is India's best fielder.
Blaming the coach is not the point here, it is attitude of the entire selectors with vested interest and some of them have gained noterity over a period of time (la Bedi) who is a nusaince value and gain undue importance at somebody else's cost.
Better is to go back to Ganguly and appoint him as skipper and then ask him for results. He is the only skipper who knows no regional affinity when it comes to selecting players and also gets the best out of them. This is SOS
RE:Not Chappel but Kiran More and Company started the whole soap opera
by anshu on Apr 22, 2007 10:49 PM Permalink
Why do you all, are blaming each other like this, can't we all give some good suggesstions? And yes, I feel that the whole team has to go and new faces have to come, who can atleats play with some zeal. Just forget the old war horses, they are over.
by Ganesh Rammurthi on Apr 22, 2007 10:56 PM Permalink
Better "the known devil than the unknown" is the logic. The same guys have given us results remember or still waiting for the young brigade to deliver ????????
by Cricket s on Apr 22, 2007 11:04 PM Permalink
what result are you talking about? We were never a consistent team under Ganguly or Dravid. Just because someone makes a noise, takes his shirt off ...does not mean that he is a good captain. 50% of one-day wins is a good record? that includes winning 30/31 matches against minnows. 23% of one-day matches we won when playing outside the country. It does not matter who the captain is, India is a poor one-day team. Test matches - 9/21 wins came agt Zim and B'desh. You can give captaincy to anyone over 5 consecutive years with SRT, VS, RD and VVS at their peak of their batting...they will be able to show you 20 victories.
My point is...Ganguly as a good captain is a myth. My second point is, stop this 'move fan' attitude of clinging onto one player. Our team is more important than Ganguly, SRT or Dravid.
by Ganesh Rammurthi on Apr 23, 2007 06:10 AM Permalink
Either your knowledge is adequately enough or not, I do not know, remember our reaching the finals in the WC 2002. There have been winning streaks and remember no one uses his brain better than SG, his typical language irritates even the Aussies. Remember past is the foundation and if your fundamentals are right then everything falls into place. His attitude of Tit for Tat, had raised the average Indian image abroad. You have to have memory of even Sehwag complimenting SG for his excellentt capataincy and man management. I do not have any grouse against Rahul, but by putting the burden of Capatincy on his shoulder, his performance has also taken a dip.
by Cricket s on Apr 22, 2007 10:59 PM Permalink
1. There was cricket before Ganguly and there will be Cricket after Ganguly. Ganguly is not the solution to every cricket problem. In fact, if Ganguly retires now that will solve half of the problems. 2. Politics - Ganguly is planning to enter politics after Cricket. We never had a player who entered the team via back-door without proper domestic performances to back it up. Sponosors and politicians helped SG to come back into the team. That is setting a bad precedent. Now Shiv Sena is talking about protests for SRT. 3. SG had poor performances before he was dropped. the team was consistently losing. SG was playing politics with help of Dalmiya to retain his place in the team. 4. Kaif was dropped by SG during the Zim tour in spite of Kaif performing very well in the one-day series including a century against NZ/Bond 5. It is the player's attitude that must be questioned. 6. Appointing SG as a captain is like going two step back. A guy who averages 40 runs over 10 years (in test matcches) should never be in the test team.
by overblown on Apr 22, 2007 11:04 PM Permalink
you moron laras average was 52 something so a average of 40 is quite good. The best of players average around 50 so 40 over 10 yrs is not that bad.
by Cricket s on Apr 22, 2007 11:08 PM Permalink
first discuss based on facts. stop abusing.
40 average is good? not in this day and age man. VS, SRT, Dravid all average above 50. In those days very good batsmen averaged above 50. But they were very few in numbers. These days, every team has at least 2-3 players who average above 50. Even VVS averages close to 50 since 2001.
40 in this era is an ordinary record. There is a very huge difference between averaging 50 and 40.
by kuntal banerjee on Apr 22, 2007 11:59 PM Permalink
go and check ur cricketing knowledge..!!! and then come to speak........ganguly has the best one day avg after sachin.........ganguly had the best batting avg against SL and SA......do u think they are minnows........???