Thank you gavasker for standing by my campaign against Chuppal ...it takes someone like you ...the Godfather of Batting to have a clear perspective about indian cricket...no one said a word against chuppal after what he has done to Indian cricket...instead the whole country is busy sucking up to his white skin...your thorough (understatement)knowledge about the game is what makes you a villian for the non cricketing fanatics who have no idea what cricket is all about....thanks for taking this stand for my countrys pride....my respect keeps going up up and up for your bold stands and your blatant honesty and last but not the least your amamzing batting technique and your well deserved acievements and success....this ignorant mob will not be able to understand you because you are at a completely different level as compared to these people
batting technique ??? My gosh 36/174 ?? Sooper technique....
Dont touch the ball if it travels outside the stumps... Just block it if it would hit the stumps... Thats it.. Keep standing like a log of wood.... Gentlemen!!! Welcome to outsanding cricketing techniques seminar from Mr.Gavaskar.....Hurraaah!!!!! (claps..)
RE:Gavaskar the God
by rohit gupta on Apr 23, 2007 09:48 AM Permalink
abe Khacchar, why do u comment on it when u dont know abt a word abt cricket.He faced superb westindes bowler without helmate , arm guard .
by Atal Advani on Apr 23, 2007 09:56 AM Permalink
why are these south indians hell bent on alineating themselves from mainstream india by making such nasty statementss on people like gavasker....have they gone completely blind with the shine and fairness of chuppals skin...if you see all the hate mail on gavasker who is 100% correct aboout chuppal youll realize they are all from the south is it the dark skin inferiority complex?
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:43 AM Permalink
Kanan, in your earlier message you wrote that the "Indians are mean and selfish" You go on to talk about the reforms the British did. Remember they did the reforms to suit themselves, so that they could live here and rule over us peacefully. Please speak about yourself and not other Indians as I know many who are neither mean nor selfish. It is because of mentality like yours that some still worship the colonial masters and not our very own little masters.
You see from the Britishers' angle. I see the Indian angle -- the fact that India had harboured criminals of that sort. I dont give a damn about british or white skin.
And our little master -- does not even have the honesty to introspect his technique and rectify himself. Forget him..
by smskal yug on Apr 23, 2007 09:40 AM Permalink
Kannan, I thought you just described Dravids style.Good that you so like him, reminds of Gavskar, isn't it?
Yeah.. True, It looks like Dravid style too. But did he not change himself to suit the current ODI style. He has shown commitment and has improved. I adore him for that.
On the other hand, Gavaskar just made 1 ODI century throughout his career.
by saurabh bengali on Apr 23, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
Would you please have a look at the Test Records please?
First go and get ur knowledge updated,which is rally pathetic and poor.
And for your information, even to defend while batting, requires lot of courage and technique,especially when u are playing fast bowlers like Goel Garner,Mike Holding, Malcom Marshal which are few of the greatest and the best fast bowlers cricket has ever produced.
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:41 AM Permalink
Kanan, in your earlier message you wrote that the "Indians are mean and selfish" You go on to talk about the reforms they did. Remember they did the reforms to suit themselves, so that they could live here and rule over us peacefully. Please speak about yourself and not other Indians as I know many who are neither mean nor selfish. It is because of mentality like yours that some still worship the colonial masters and not our very own little masters.
by sandeep c on Apr 23, 2007 09:45 AM Permalink
who is this Gavaskar????? Oh!! he has scored 1 Century in One Day game Format and has a record of taking 37 Runs Not out after batting 60 Overs.
Gavaskar Ji!!! Hota hai Hota hai.. If there is no work to do, people will talk like this only.....
by abhijeet nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:54 AM Permalink
Maybe you don't know that one day cricket was not played as much in Gavaskar's times. Maybe you dont know that he scored over 10000 test runs(Chappell scored lower number of runs). You cant do that playing in ur backyard. Maybe you don't know anything about cricket or you willfully try to manipulate facts
RE:DRAVID: A Part of the MAFIA
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:47 AM Permalink
I have just restated the article. Maybe you would be wise to leave your blind Dravid faith and blind anti Mumbai tendency and think whats written there might be true.
RE:DRAVID: A Part of the MAFIA
by Suman Bhat on Apr 23, 2007 09:52 AM Permalink
DNA newspaper reported that it is sachin, ganguly yuvraj and sreesant signed contract till 2011. this resting and discussion media speculation are just eyewashing business nobody has guts to remove 2 super starts rrom the team
i knew that gavaskar was a biggest runs in test history since back.. now he is in icc chief. surprise to tell you that gavaskar had always comments to media ie austrialia team as useless and again to indian coach chappel as india team downfall.. how many runs gavaskar get in worldcup? not only indian team debacle in worldcup 2007 but also 2003, 1999, 1995, 1992 and 1987. indian team in worldcup 2007 exited in super8 not depend on indian coach and responsbilities in batting, fielding and bowling were the indian team worst ever i have seen them. however before worldcup 2007 they indian team did not play domestic, ranji, doeodhar, etc beause they were doing in their business as ADVERISTEMENT earning more than 1 crore better than world cup match fees.
indian team would be downfall if gavaskar is indian coach..
i think that gavaskar would be better sack in icc as chief if he comment to media again as he is an unpolite
RE:chappell hold mirrror for ind cricket
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:27 AM Permalink
It is very interesting to note that the divided Indian team phenomenon wasn't present in World Cup 2003. It surfaced in 2005, when Chappell took over as coach. Was that because of our Indian players or for once would you like to consider the crimes committed by the GREAT CHAPPELL
RE:chappell hold mirrror for ind cricket
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:37 AM Permalink
You say "Most Indians are mean and selfish"
Please talk about yourself, not about others Indians, because I know many who are neither MEAN nor SELFISH.
And yes, the british banned thuggi beecause they were looted the most back in the 1800s. They also did other great things like looting India's wealth and freedom. Thanks to this mentality, some people still worship our colonial masters rather than the little Indian masters.
RE:Gavaskar the Shameless Politician
by Truth Seeker on Apr 23, 2007 09:26 AM Permalink
I agree. Sunil Gavaskar is the most shameless to talk about anyone else. Let him tell one reason why his son Rohan Gavaskar was selected once to the India team. He just can't keep quite.
by smskal yug on Apr 23, 2007 09:36 AM Permalink
Rohan had been the 3rd highest wicket taker that year in Ranjis for Bengal and the 2nd highest run scorer in the Oneday tournaments, taking Bengal and east zone to all the finals. He was selected in the One day team and played few matches, before being dropped. Truth seeker is a awesome name, but it is hiding a person, who is propagating untruths.
RE:RE:RE:Gavaskar the Shameless Politician
by smskal yug on Apr 23, 2007 09:33 AM Permalink
Radhakrishnan,its unfortunate , you are lying just to make a point. 1975, India had just shaked off the Minnow tag, but no one had a idea about One days in India.
I can guess why you are upset that Gavaskar spoke the truth.You are not interested in the the wellbeing of Indian Cricket, but you want Dravid to continue as captain, because he is from your region. Gavaskar's indictment of Chappell, also clearly is a critique of Dravid's low class captaincy.
Pls look at the big picture , not just for your region,Kannan and SR menon.Its shamefull!
It is of no use and benefit to cricket. It is easy to make comments from out side. I remember Sunny being the coach of India in Sharjah and we lost it. Head of pitches committee. no results. what we need is people who have achieved something like sandeep patel.
RE:No use
by Suman Bhat on Apr 23, 2007 09:49 AM Permalink
sandip patil was coach for only for 5 months. some senior players did not like his coaching and ultimately he resigned Sandip patilin his analysis and future theam did place sachina nd ganguly wah cric in star news nay DESI coach will come with heavy baggage of favourtism, regaionalism, partisan...
RE:No use
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:44 AM Permalink
Why Sandeep Patil? I know he did well with Kenya but do you know his record as coach the last time he coached India?
If you had read "Hitchiker's Guide to galaxy", you would know why the number 42 is so funny. Thats basically the answer given by a "super-computer" as the answer when confronted with the question of "Why does Universe exist?"
Similarly, if the same super-computer is asked "What is so bad about cricket?", it would say 36,174 and Gavaskar.
Sreekumar Menon and Others, Please stop denouncing Gavaskar. You are looking at his 36 runs innings, but forgetting that he contributed very significantly in 1983 World Cup. He played a 36-run innings, when one day cricket was starting and he was known for his slow knock as an opener. You are also forgetting that he captained 1985 Benson and Hedges Cup winnng team in Australia. Come on man. Show some respect to the Winners of your own country. As regards - How Greg Chappel is responsible for performance of failing team members, then please inform why was he appointed coach and what was his responsbility. For such senior positions, there are accountabilities and he is also accountable and that is why he resigned.
Gavasker - You are one of the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket.While others remember your 36 run innings, I remember your one of the fastest century with something like 93-balls century.
Actually, on the 36 ball inning, Gavaskar himself admitted that he took a nick on the 2nd ball of the innings which went un-noticed by England. He did not accept the truth and leave the crease.
And his innings was widely regarded as his expression of contempt towards the then captain.
Also, as Ricky ponting pointed out, he is a selfish guy who came out of the ground with his team because umpire gave him as out.. (now go read the first para again)
Not Really dude. I am not any slave of white skin. I talk to foriegners with my head-high.
Many foriegners consider me brunt and rude, fyi. I understand their culture and way of life and I know the Indian way too. I have seen shameless Indians who just cheat and cant even be proud of themselves. They r found wanting of so many good qualities - the most important is of being "honest and sincere". Thats why I talk about the mistakes of my fellow Indians. India needs a change, India needs perspective to clear out the cobwebs that have engulfed the national psyche.
RE:Gavaskar's Comments
by Abhijeet Nandy on Apr 23, 2007 09:25 AM Permalink
Are you Australian? If not, then why is it that you would believe people like Pointing but Gavaskar himself?
by Suman Bhat on Apr 23, 2007 10:05 AM Permalink
sachin and ganguly are main culprits for wc debacle. and there were huge public opinion against sachin. But strong mumbai lobby will never let down theirlocal hero. and vengasrakar wanted him to captain. resting ganguly and sachin is eyewashing exercise. And many ex cricketers, media cricket experts had not guts to spaeak against these 2 super starts. the lack of commiment , passion , poor body languge or groupism or petty politics played against captain and coach.. both ex captain are fighting for captaincy behind scens. so they have to prove dravid is not good captain . but dravid started well wining 18 odis in chasing and won test series in WI , histoirci test match win SA, and odi sereis in WI.Chappell report was right in pointingout these dressing room politics and some players undermine dravd's captaincy and not to led by skipper . As per some news report tendulkar and ganguly had last laugh that they got rid of chappell and next terget is dravid Indina express poll 75% favoured dropping sachin and ganguly for odi series against BL But this did not bring any laurales to ex captains.they are looser b'cuz there is no guarantee that sachin ganguly will play next WC and in many public polls more than65% voted in favouring the bcci decision to rest superstars while dravid's supports to retain him as captain increased even after ongoing dravid bashing articles.. 80% of cricket associanton (survey in ndtv) supporte dravid. 50% voted for dravid in IE express,. IBN CNN survey 86% ppl voted for dravid..48% voters is voted dravid to be captain by big margin. .cricketvotes.com Sachin may be living legend but he is no more bigger than team or game SL is playing superb cricket None of senior player /ex captain m envied mahila%u2019s his promotion as captain From the outset they gave unstinting support. they remained hungry to perform and did not rely on reputation or popular support to protect their places. Ganguly and sachin are considered better odi players than dravid but had advantage of opening and play more balls tandulkar calibre players should be able to play in any position and dravid played from No1 to 7 as per team requirement dravid is still ahead in ICC odi ranking, also finised 10krnsn, highest no of fifties, highes catch holder, also nominated for icc odi team for last 2 yrs
by smskal yug on Apr 23, 2007 09:43 AM Permalink
Kannan is the same person as Rahadhakrishna meneon...its a shame he is manufacturing these stories just to save Dravid's skin,because he comes from the same region,this is so low!
by Suman Bhat on Apr 23, 2007 10:09 AM Permalink
Lack of commitment, fighting spirit, negative body language, playing for self recores, to cement place for next matches, sponsers, poor fielding, trying to expose each on the field, promoting groupism etc.. Has coach told instructed for all these?? chappell's big mistake was he treated all players alike, equally and push the players from comfort zone. many superstars were taken their placed for granted.... winning and defeat depends on performance of XI players on the field irrepective of coach, captain, pitch and conditions. SL is playing superb cricket None of senior player /ex captain m envied mahila%u2019s his promotion as captain From the outset they gave unstinting support. they remained hungry to perform and did not rely on reputation or popular support to protect theanguly and sachin should have fought battle on ground rahter in dressing room both may successful to get rid of chappell but both players may not play WC2011 tee taht t Three former BCCI Presidents today The former Presidents, http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/007200704031320.htm It was all about attitude, feels BCCI Indian cricket needs Chappell: Tiger Pautidi he was trying to bring in Indian cricked was kind of shift to the emphasis from individual flair and brilliance to a kind of teamwork - which Australia are so good at - which is why he was actually invited to this country. http://www.cricketnext.com/news/indian-cricket-needs-chappell-pataudi/24441-14.html Cricketers remain unbeaten in advertising field Most celebrities, who have bet anything between Rs 250- 300 crore on old warhorses Sachin Tendulkar, Dravid and Ganguly, for http://www.outlookindia.com/pti_news.asp?id=462779
Chappell held up a mirror to Indian cricket'-Manjrekar http://content-gulf.cricinfo.com/talk/content/current/multimedia/288811.html was what John Wright couldn't do for four years, he showed the nation what the team was all about, what problems it had'
Player-agent nexus ruining Indian cricket: former BCCI chiefs Three former BCCI Presidents today The former Presidents, http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/007200704031320.htm It was all about attitude, feels BCCI
that contributed to our losses against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka." http://worldcup.indiatimes.com/It_was_all_about_attitude_feels_BCCI/articleshow/1839620.cms
RE:Gavaskar's Reverse Politics
by Suman Bhat on Apr 23, 2007 09:54 AM Permalink
sachin and ganguly are main culprits for wc debacle. and there were huge public opinion against sachin. But strong mumbai lobby will never let down theirlocal hero. and vengasrakar wanted him to captain. resting ganguly and sachin is eyewashing exercise. And many ex cricketers, media cricket experts had not guts to spaeak against these 2 super starts. the lack of commiment , passion , poor body languge or groupism or petty politics played against captain and coach.. both ex captain are fighting for captaincy behind scens. so they have to prove dravid is not good captain . but dravid started well wining 18 odis in chasing and won test series in WI , histoirci test match win SA, and odi sereis in WI.Chappell report was right in pointingout these dressing room politics and some players undermine dravd's captaincy and not to led by skipper . As per some news report tendulkar and ganguly had last laugh that they got rid of chappell and next terget is dravid Indina express poll 75% favoured dropping sachin and ganguly for odi series against BL But this did not bring any laurales to ex captains.they are looser b'cuz there is no guarantee that sachin ganguly will play next WC and in many public polls more than65% voted in favouring the bcci decision to rest superstars while dravid's supports to retain him as captain increased even after ongoing dravid bashing articles.. 80% of cricket associanton (survey in ndtv) supporte dravid. 50% voted for dravid in IE express,. IBN CNN survey 86% ppl voted for dravid..48% voters is voted dravid to be captain by big margin. .cricketvotes.com Sachin may be living legend but he is no more bigger than team or game SL is playing superb cricket None of senior player /ex captain m envied mahila%u2019s his promotion as captain From the outset they gave unstinting support. they remained hungry to perform and did not rely on reputation or popular support to protect their places. Ganguly and sachin are considered better odi players than dravid but had advantage of opening and play more balls tandulkar calibre players should be able to play in any position and dravid played from No1 to 7 as per team requirement dravid is still ahead in ICC odi ranking, also finised 10krnsn, highest no of fifties, highes catch holder, also nominated for icc odi team for last 2 yrs