Down-to-earth behaviour makes Sri Lankan cricketers popular
By K.R. Nayar, Staff Reporter
Georgetown, Guyana: Humility and the Sri Lankan team always go together. Despite being considered as world class performers, what impresses one and all is their down-to-earth behaviour.
As soon as the players arrive at the stadium, all of them are seen lining up to collect their kit bags from the bus. Right from Sanath Jayasuriya to Chaminda Vaas to Muttiah Muralitharan, everyone is in the queue.
At the Providence stadium, Jayasuriya was seen dragging his kit and waving at the crowd waiting to catch a glimpse of the blaster batsman.
While at Trinidad, I had requested Jayasuriya for a chat before net practice. But he suggested that we meet after the nets. And promptly after his practice, he came to the edge of nets and waved out to me asking me to come in.
Had it been any other team, most likely I would have had to request the cricketer again after the nets.
On Monday, it rained heavily and their skipper Mahela Jayawardene had to wait till the rains subsided after the official press conference.
Caring approach
Without any hang-ups, Jayawardene came out and began talking to scribes who were also waiting there. He enquired about our stay and wanted to know what we thought about Guyana.
The best thing is that some of their seniors even remember what language we speak. Russel Arnold and Muralitharan do not hesitate to talk to you in Tamil. All of them sport a smile while talking to you with hardly any airs.
There are teams with lesser cricketing experience, but arrogant enough to walk around ignoring everyone around them. After all, for a fan, a smile is all that they expect. In Trinidad as well as in Guyana, the Sri Lankans have won the hearts of the people. In fact, many West Indians would like to see Sri Lanka win the World Cup.
"They should win the World Cup for their behaviour. They may be the very few gentlemen left in the sport," remarked Robert Rees, a volunteer at the stadium.
All senior players in the team join in to help a youngster at the nets.
Jayasuriya was seen correcting Upul Tharanga's backlift. Moving around like a family, their team spirit is clearly visible. Though the team is not as strong as the 1996 squad that won the World Cup, they do possess the spirit and willingness to work hard.
Win or lose, the Sri Lankans will leave this island winning more fans than any other team.
RE:Down-to-earth behaviour makes Sri Lankan cricketers popular - By K.R. Nayar, Staff Reporter
by keeth Lapersonne on Apr 13, 2007 11:41 AM Permalink
I couldn't agree more with your comments.It's there down to earth attitude which gives them the will to perform. I sincerly hope they win the World Cup.
RE:Down-to-earth behaviour makes Sri Lankan cricketers popular - By K.R. Nayar, Staff Reporter
by Ravi chandran on Apr 13, 2007 12:32 PM Permalink
'Up in the sky' attitude of Team India makes it the loser. :-)
by Ashok on Apr 13, 2007 12:47 PM Permalink
eye kennot say i wud lyk 2 c SL vin dha WC. but eye strongli feel dhey vil vin it anivay. al dha best SL
by Ravi chandran on Apr 13, 2007 01:24 PM Permalink
Fellows like Jayasurya or Gayle (or Sehwag once upon a time) can single-handedly turn around any game. We wish he goes CRAZY on that day and wins.
RE:Great Job
by rakesh on Apr 13, 2007 01:14 PM Permalink
Well.. England doesnt deserve to be in Semi final. Theie 'win' against Bangla desh says it all. I say its SA. I would like to see Aus-SA , NZ-SL semi and Aus-NZ Final. and NZ win
RE:Great Job
by Ravi chandran on Apr 13, 2007 01:41 PM Permalink
No matter how they won, Eng has succeeded in shutting the mouth of BD captain who was spewing s--t with his mouth.
RE:India will WIN
by Ravi Subramaniam on Apr 13, 2007 11:12 AM Permalink
A bird in hand is worth 10 in the bush.
If you cant beat Srilanka Today, with world ranked Indian batsman and bowlers, what makes you think they will beat them in 2011 ?
It will be a different game in 2011 - though played in India , it does not mean you own the Cup Automatically. Still you have to play as a team and win.
The INdian team can play as team only when it comes to POLITICS. Not in the cricket stadium
RE:India will WIN
by Lalu Prasad on Apr 13, 2007 11:16 AM Permalink
abey, pagla gaya hai kya? indians have returned home shamelessly. Abhi tak india ke sapne dekh raha hai..neend se jaago
SL is playing a unit and better cricket. congrulations to Lanka lions ind super starts are fighting battle in dressing room by playing petty politics and for their sponsers..
SriLanka were in in control of the match for the beginning It was an big win against Inform NewZealand.Notable factor is that ,they had won in absence of Lasith Maliga,who is fantastic in Death overs. Mahela captaincy is brillint in this world cup.One of the example is the way he has been using power plays to their advantage. He has been one of the outstanding leaders of this tournament. This is apart from Stefen Fleming,and Ricky pointing.Three paleces are almost confirmed ,with Aussise are at he Top,followed by Srilanka ,and Newzealand. For the fourth place both South Africa,and England are fighting. All the best for Srilanka for all their forth coming matches,and Well done on their win against Newzealand.
Yes, all teams playing against India, kows about Sachin Tendulkar's weak points. They woerout on it and get him out cheaply every time.All opposition team's captains admit this in their interviews,still our buddhus don't realise the fact and fall a prey to their stratagies!! I want to ask, what is the use of Sachin's so called experience to India, if he can not save his wicket aginst opposition's well planned attacs?Why should we retain him in Indian Team? Iam sure, other team members must have started Jocking on Sachin and Sehwag!!
RE:All opposition teams must be knowing Team India's weakness by now?
by Ramakrishna Panicker on Apr 13, 2007 10:23 AM Permalink
Dear Sheri, team spirit is the secrect of winning. Kindly keep away discussions on individual player. Say on our team in bulk.
by nixon costa on Apr 13, 2007 10:33 AM Permalink
It is learnt that every time Sachin comes to bat there is a argument in the opposition team for bowling. Every one wants to bowl against sachin because it is the most easiest task to get his wicket.
by kishore khanna on Apr 13, 2007 10:37 AM Permalink
You are absolutely right. It was way back in 1947 when Sachin won India any match. Last 5-6 years whenever India was in a desperate situation and wanted Sachin to fire, he came back scoring 5-7 runs. He is finished and there is no doubt about it and when so many failures and advertisement revenue is heavy in your mind you can not score. So dear Mr Sachin you have played enough, now please make way for a youngester. Don't forget that you were taken into India team when you were only 15 years, now please give chance to other deserving players.
RE:SL vil vin WC
by neeraj chaturvedi on Apr 13, 2007 10:22 AM Permalink
sachin is just playing for his personal benefits if he has some shame left then he shuld retire or selectors shuld sack him to teach others lesson.and then let him do the ads as much he wants.SACHIN IS JUST A LIABILITY
by Sushil Sharma on Apr 13, 2007 10:43 AM Permalink
Dear Neeraj, I 100% agree with your comment.Sachin should learn from Brian Lara who declare retirement from ODIs after defeating last match.
by GS on Apr 13, 2007 10:02 AM Permalink
Sachin by Raman sSubramanya on Apr 13, 2007 09:46 AM | Hide replies | Hide message
Don Bradman quickly set world record and retired. Our Sachin after breaking all records, now wants to prolong his career [for personal benefits] earning high stakes thru commercials keeping his place in the team, which is questionable in view of his continuous pathetic performance. Its time the Selectors drop him once for all for the sake of future of Indian Cricket. Indian Cricket is not Sachins personal property. For whatever he played so far, he has been rewarded. Now he is proving to be a dead-wood in the team.
Sachin is unfit to act in commercials also as he has no personality and speaks in squeaky feminine voice ! He does not deserve any endorsements.
This message was reported as abuse, but I think this message is true and completely correct. Sachin and such other players are taking the Indian Cricket for granted and they should be shunned out immediately to preserve the dignity.
by Raman Sheri on Apr 13, 2007 11:18 AM Permalink
I agree 100% with your views. Yes, all teams playing against knows about Sachin Tendulkar's weak points. They work out on it and get him out cheaply every time. All opposition team's captains admit this in their interviews, still our buddhus don't realise the fact and fall a prey to their strategies!! I want to ask, what is the use of Sachin's so called experience to India, if he can not save his wicket against opposition's well planned attacs?Why should we retain him in Indian Team? I am sure, other team members must have started Joking on Sachin and Sehwag!! My this message is also does not appear on this page.I think it must have been removed.What is wrong in mentioning truth? I agree 100% with your views.
by parul parul rai on Apr 13, 2007 10:38 AM Permalink
is sachin asking an endorsement from you?what is your status ?what you have achieved in life till today?before giving free comments for anybody great like sachin you look in to your own "GIREBAAN".
by Raman Sheri on Apr 13, 2007 11:29 AM Permalink
I agree with you Mr.R.S.Subramanya,Sahin is taking Indian public and Indian cricket for granted. Sachin has not talked a single word about his failure in very critical matches. He is not consistent since last so many matches. why? Isn't he answerable for this? Shame on him when he criticized Mr. Chapple , a bad act!!!. Why even a respected and senior ex -maestro like Chapple, who was given a job to look after, can't even ask, scold or say any thing to Sachin for his continuous failure, none performance? We never expected this from you Sachin,such an act from you!!!
Absolutely wrong. Greg Chapple is elder, senior to him and a coach, which is called guru in India, guru's place is considered even higher than God in Indian culture. It is true that Sachin has spent 17 years in Indian team, and even more, may be 28 years, if he had started playing cricket from the age of six. This is what hurts, after so many year's experience also they require a coach! For what? What is to be taught? Playing good cricket? They are supposed to have selected, because they are good, isn't it? if it is so then why any coach is to be blamed, if he, i.e. the guru scolds any none performing one, who is also very senior and hence should be hold more responsible than others? Mr.Chapple commented on Sachin's performance and his attitude towards the game. Why Sachin is not questionable or what? We never expected this from you Sachin!!!
by Raman Sheri on Apr 13, 2007 11:41 AM Permalink
You are right.Sachin and plyers like Sehwag should be removed from Indian team.But,the big question is, who will do it? Because at present, BCCI is acting and behaving like Pvt.Ltd; company. They are thinking in monetary terms only. Earning big profit out of this game and doing nothing for the development of the game! That is the reason why they are marketing certain players, they build images of such players even larger than their size to attract more sponsorships and advertisements and ultimately getting more and more profits. This is the only reason why they don't dare even in their dreams to remove such non performing players.
by milind gadkari on Apr 13, 2007 10:16 AM Permalink
hi fellow i dont know what statistics you are refering to when you are talking about don bradman. how can you say that he set record and retired? He retired at the age of 40. sachin is really 6 years younger than that. Bradman featured in far lesser no. of tests beaacuase in between many years were lost due to world war II, when cricket and other sports were sidelined. obviously you would not know all this.
Don Bradman quickly set world record and retired. Our Sachin after breaking all records, now wants to prolong his career [for personal benefits] earning high stakes thru commercials keeping his place in the team, which is questionable in view of his continuous pathetic performance. Its time the Selectors drop him once for all for the sake of future of Indian Cricket. Indian Cricket is not Sachins personal property. For whatever he played so far, he has been rewarded. Now he is proving to be a dead-wood in the team.
Sachin is unfit to act in commercials also as he has no personality and speaks in squeaky feminine voice ! He does not deserve any endorsements.
RE:The worst site for shopping.
by on Apr 13, 2007 10:07 AM Permalink
Same with me. I too have not received my order. My order status says that delivery is cancelled yet there is no news of delivery of amount which was charged to my credit card. On sending an email I just received an auto reply stating that my email is in que.
RE:RE:The worst site for shopping.
by Kaushik Das on Apr 13, 2007 11:35 AM Permalink
Although this is out of context, I have the same woes. :-)) I once bought a 2 in 1 - it worked for only 1 day. . Later, I bought a raincoat - pretty expensive one at 600/- Not only did i not get the design i paid for, the colour was a cheap orange (there are good oranges, mind you). And - and - and - it DID not stop the rain. :-)) . My earlier raincoat of 150/- bought outside was much better. . Sorry for the digression but this needed to be pointed out somewhere because the complaints bounce as the email in their feedback site is incorrect. Sad thing for an otherwise good site.
RE:RE:RE:The worst site for shopping.
by KRISHNA PRASAD on Apr 13, 2007 11:38 AM Permalink
I lost Rs.1000/- for an astro report. It is now 2 years that they have not sent the report. All my emails to them are now bouncing. hopeless site for shopping