Yeah He is good batsmen. But he lacks courage to lead. He should consistentlt watch Ricky Ponting's style who by his outstanding form as a batsman over the last 3 yrs is giving results for his team also. He is very sharp captain. Dravid should atleast learn sth from Dada in his team. He shd not support low level batsmen like Sehwag n Dhoni who dont know how to bat; what situation demands; who is ahead of. They were never top class batsmen. Only their real face has come in front of us. Instead Dravid shd support young guys like Kaif, Raina, Powar Uthappa. If he stays with his current style, we cant even go to qualifying rounds of 2011 WC.
RE:Dravid is very very poor cricketer.
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:21 PM Permalink
if senior playes can get negative motivation / inspiration to group against captain, and playe deliberarly negative circket and gift the match to Bangla and SL what captain can do for taht??? A horse can be taken to water force to drink but sallowing or vomitting water will be done by horse it is senior players betryed the team and captain also no cpatin can't win matches when all the members are not with the captain. Most of the matches won by India under ganguly was because of Dravid's great knock and selfless attitude by way of keeping wickets and batting like a champion!!! At any nos. but dravid trusted seniors like sachin, yuvraj ganguly zahir and bajji but backfired by these palyers
RE:RE:Dravid is very very poor cricketer.
by on Apr 10, 2007 01:29 PM Permalink
Dravid represents the typical spineless jokers that come out of Karnataka. He is the greatest ass-licker of all times. No Indian cricketer is behind him. All big stars seem to be with Sachin, Ganguly, Sehwag.
I am still stunned and appauled when I heard that Venkatesh Prasad will be the Bowling Coach. I mean Gimme a break guys. We all know how "talented" Venky was in his years as a bowler. More so he is so shameless, he accepts the Job!!!. My Take would be Wasim Akram as Bowling Coach and Second Option Being Glenn McGrath (No that he is retiring) or Bruce Reid.
RE:Ventatesh Prasad as Coach..Unbelivable but true!!!
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:23 PM Permalink
when desi coach appointed u guys want foreing coach and when foreign coach wanted to bring professianlism and pushed all players from comfort zone chappell was blamed.
RE:SHASTRIJI's '' YOUNG DRACULLAS''
by cebu jonas on Apr 10, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
What would dravid do among shastriji's young dracullas by cebu jonas on Apr 10, 2007 01:20 PM | Hide replies
------------- But I dont know what would aged puppett dravid do among these shastriji's young dracullas...
I am sure there will be trio fight between Sashtri, V Prasad and Rabin Singh. Why not take a single coach ? would suggest Amarnath. If you can remove Ganguly , Sachin why this old Dravid is there in the team. Why not you remove one-by-one instead of a bunch of layoff. See B'desh already defeated South Africa, one can imagine how powerful they are at this stage. Its for sure they will be back with 0-3 defeat in ODI and 0-2 in test.
RE:coach
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
ganguly success is b'cuz of hardwork done by dravid,laxman kumble and sachin. NOT B'CUZ OF LEADERSHIP QULAITY OR AGRESSION. HE took the credit for victory and team work while dravid shared credit for the victory with his team mates. dravid accepted defeat o his responsiblilty in front of media. Had ganuly ever accepted himself defeat as captain when ind lost druing ganguly 's tenue as captain dravid was doing press briefs. WC debacle is totla failure not b'cuz dravid's captaincy Dravid always a team player and always supported his captain and have stood for the team. Remember those 4 years where he acted as a wicket keeper even though he is not a regular keeper. He took the pain for the benefit of the team. So called great Sachin refused and still refusing to play in the middle order and crying that I want to play only as an opener and crying that my attitude was questioned and so on%u2026 You can't win matches when all the members are not with the captain. Most of the matches won by India under saurav was because of Dravid's great knock and selfless attitude by way of keeping wickets and batting like a champion!!! and selfless attitude by way of keeping wickets and batting like a champion!!! At any nos. but dravid trusted seniors like sachin, yuvraj ganguly zahir and bajji but backfired by these palyers
Wasn't Sachin captaincy blamed when he failed? Why did not the world say that the team is not performing especially when Match fixers like Jadeja, Azhar, Mongia and Prabhakar were in the team? Didn't people vouch for Sachin's head then? Same thing happened with Ganguly, he was out of form but the team was performing. When they were sacked why the hell we come up with foolish arguments about player not delivering etc. Dravid should be held responsible and sacked. Why special status for him? Remember the whole team was behind Sachin and Ganguly in the recent Chappell Saga, Dravid cannot control them, only Dada can.
RE:Wasn't Sachin blamed for captaincy
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:27 PM Permalink
if senior playes can get negative motivation / inspiration to group against captain, and playe deliberarly negative circket and gift the match to Bangla and SL what captain can do for taht??? A horse can be taken to water force to drink but sallowing or vomitting water will be done by horse it is senior players betryed the team and captain also no cpatin can't win matches when all the members are not with the captain. Most of the matches won by India under ganguly was because of Dravid's great knock and selfless attitude by way of keeping wickets and batting like a champion!!! At any nos. but dravid trusted seniors like sachin, yuvraj ganguly zahir and bajji but backfired by these palyers Captai never asked Sachin always get out inside edge onto the pad and clean bowled in a match where he needs to perform.
Captain never asked Saurav to go over the top and play a silly shot where the need of the hour is play sensibly and play more over and get a good century and make the India to win.
Captain never asked Yuvraj to go for a silly run where there is no run and get out.
Captain never asked Dhoni to play back to a ball where you need to come forward and play.
Captain never asked agarkar to bowl full tosses in the final overs so that guys like Arnold and Vas can hit him for fours and sixers.
Captain never asked Harbhajan to concentrate on bowling his 10 overs for only 40 and don%u2019t take any wickets.
Captain never asked Saurav to drop the catch where as Murali in the same catch held on to a very difficult catch. senior players played deliberately negative cricket and betrayed the team Captain never said that. Players, have some Responsibility playing for your country
RE:Wasn't Sachin blamed for captaincy
by on Apr 10, 2007 01:18 PM Permalink
Riaz miya, you are echoing the sentiment of a nation. Dravid should be court-martialed. Some Digs will be sad but who cares?
Defeat in against bangadehs and SL deliberate attamet by some players to make team An early exit in WC means to prove dravid not good captain and ganguly%u2019s record not harmed SIMPLY BACKASTAGE POLITCS WHICH PLAYERS NAME IS RUNNING FRONT IN CAPTAINCY RACE?? loose match b%u2019uz dravid is not inspirational captain and ganguly is an aggressive leader gnaguly succss is contributions of sachin laxman kumble sewag and (laxaman, kumble, sachin and dravid were on best of form and average age 28-32) NOT B'CUZ OF AGRESSION OR LEADERSHIP QUALITY OR AGRESSION. ganguly promoted groupism and laxman and kumble were out of odi team b%u2019cuz both were not in good books of ganguly?? Sachin bated brilliently in Last WC sachin scored 37% and main reason to ind won match against pakistan and entered smeis and fianl??But this WC he was VC complete failure. Who is responsible?? Player or coach or captain?? Ganguly had big role in defeat in mathch against Bangladesh. He gifted match t o bangaldesh deliberately playing negative cricket just to humiliate dravid and to take revenge against chappell ?? but he betrayed the whole team ganguly wasted more balls than runs he scored poor fielding and poor running wkt and unwilling to take singles cost more runs to team also created pressure on batsman on other side He did not bother to try and hold an easy catch during agarka bowling , Never tried to accelerate run rate He did not tried to hold simple catch during agarkar%u2019s bowling 60 runs in 130 balls how it can help a team cause?? Ganguly had one stage for having batted through nearly 11 overs to make a mere 7 runs. Yuvraj Scored 47 runs in 10 overs India Scored 191 in 50 overs Ganguly Scored 66 runs in 21 overs wasted more balls than runs he scored., Yuvraj Scored 47 runs in 10 overs Rest of team scored 50 in 19 overs Against burmada Ganguly scored 89 in 114 balls wasted 25 balls that is around 4.6 runs per over... compare it to the indian teams average of 8.26 Ganguly was struggling while batting against burmuda, and got 3 lifes Ganguly 7 in 23 balls against SL: Harbajan singh went wktless in 2 matches dhoni failed with bat was laughing when he dro[[ed catch t there were not sight in picture which tv channel shown when India lost ot SL all other players are in tears Tendulkar scored a duck, Ganguly 7 in 23 balls and Yuvraj 6? Dhoni 0?( match against srilanka) zahirkahn was wktless in firest match and in he took 2 wkts against SL but he gave more extra runs b'cuz of erratic bowling. VC captain sachin failed completely with bat coz the players who played all 3 matchs Except dravid munaf yuvraj nobody has shown commitment? ganguly in whole faced 266 balls nearly 50 overs and make only 162 runs, the how much pressure built on bats man other end, not incoming bats man doesn't matter india wins or Lose Ganguly RETURN WAS HYPED BY MEDIA BUT HE WAS NOT IN TEAM UNIFROM ALSO AND HE DID NOT ARRIVE WITH TEAM?? The picute of ind team dressing room which tv channel shown after ind defeat in Sl . all players were in tears but no sight of ganguly dhoni and harbajan!!!! ganguly seflish oppertunist politician
As far as World Cup debacle is concerned, all 11 players are equally responsible. And to little extend Coach Greg Chappel for his behaviour only. Chappel was never wrong in his approach but he was not given a free hand, senior players played their messy roles.
Compare the performance of Indian players with that of New Zealand players. Even if they lose 5 wickets in the first 10 overs, they will still go to score 250 or more. Every one of them play according to the situation and have a strong mental strength. On the other hand India, if they lose even 2 wickets they will go on total defence and ultimately third class bowlers look like great bowlers, eventually getting out making harakiri.
It is mental strength which matters most. In the last match against Sri Lanka with a proper message to the tail enders, Dravid could have achieved the target easily. But the message never gone, and he himself got out to a poor shot, unnecessarily taking pressure his own. Ganguly is also not mentally strong, his shot against Sri Lanka reveals that. On the other day he would have taken the ball out of the ground, but on that day his feet was not moving fast enough with pressure which reduced the power of short, landing the ball in the hands of Murali. Tendulkar was never a big match player.
RE:Total failure
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:29 PM Permalink
Winning or defeat in matches depends on performance of XI players irrespective of captain, coach, pitch, stretagy and conditions. Bangladesh and SL victory against India is best example and a captain is as good as his team and it is individual palyer to deicide to suppor team and captain or play for self ?? I When chappelll tried to give chance to youngesters many ppl said expereinece players required. When experienced failded now same ppl are asking for youngsters%u2026 If a player can get negative inspiration why can%u2019t same palyer /what is problem in getting positive inspiration play for team ???
F team win all players come forward to take credit then all players will be responsible for the defeat. Ind%u2019s early exit is b%u2019cuz of attitude and ego problem of some players and lack of commitment to team.has captain and coach told players to drop catches, bowlers to bowl so many extras , poor running bet wkt or not interested to take singles or rotate strike??? This WC team India %u2018s early exit, b%u2019cuz some players delieberatley palyed negative cricket and betryed team and dtiched dravid /team. If players are not ready to support team cause what capatain.some players fielding and body language was visible that as if they were playing an practice match and gifted match to Bangladesh an early exit from WC means dravid is not good captian and ganguly%u2019s records not harmed When players only go against captain and coach and betray teammates why blame captain or coach??If player can not perform for team what is his role ? He should be kicked out team IF players can get negative inspiration why could not players did not perform for team??how can cricket expert say that coachis not motivating player?/ WC is the biggest event of cricket and those players who get chance to play this on behalf of team India?? A funny joke?? A cptain and coach can not induct inspirationg to any players the inspiration, positive mindtset and right attitude should arise from play%u2019s mind. If a player can get negative inspiration why can%u2019t same palyer /what is problem in getting positive inspiration play for team ???In team India many players think that they are leaders and not want be led by captain
by sumit parekh on Apr 10, 2007 01:29 PM Permalink
Tell me mr Nair, if my company that employs 5000 people runs into losses, who is responsible for that? My self and my management or my 5000 employees. Think about it.
by on Apr 10, 2007 01:21 PM Permalink
We are discussing captaincy and coaching here. In the Ganguly, I used to be most critical of that fish-eating soul. But after seeing Dravid and Chappell, I can say that Ganguly was 10 times better as a captain. The 2 world cup stats are in sharp contrast.
RE:If Dravid would have been in any other country
by on Apr 10, 2007 01:13 PM Permalink
Well said, Riaz bhai. By the way, black is the color of Mohamedans. It's time India gifted this captain to Pakistan, now that Inzy bhai will be hanged for killing Woolmer.
RE:If Dravid would have been in any other country
by Suman Bhat on Apr 10, 2007 01:30 PM Permalink
it is not dravid's captaincy it is senior players who betreayed team some players deliberately played negative crciket and gifted match to SL and Bangaldesh sachin, dhoni ganguly bajji, zahir khan should be kicked out