In my opinion, the appointment of R.Dravid as captain of the Indian cricket team is a bad move. This guy doesn't have leadership qualities to excel at the highest level. And good batsmen doesn't necessarily be good captains! No doubt ,Dravid is perhaps the best Indian batsman (some of the best memories of mine with Indian cricket has Dravid in it). His knocks of 233 & 70* in Adelaide, 180 in Kolkata, Centuries in each innings against Pakistan in 2005, Knocks in Kingston test-just proves that this guy is a match-winner. He has the guts to slog and slog but let him battle it out without the burden of captaincy. That leaves us with the question-Who Then? I think, S.Ganguly. Some of us (including me), are of the opinion that he is a selfish player. So, let it be. Because he is a selfish player that's why he makes sure that nobody points a finger at his captaincy. He tries to motivate his players so that they play the best under him and hence his captaincy is not affected. This is what I call, in technical terms, a symbiotic association.Here both Ganguly and Indian cricket benefit out of each other.Maybe, he can even try to nurture Yuvraj for the future role as a leader. The other candiatate-S.Tendulkar can be rejected in my opinion (and my apologies to Sachin's fans) on the basis of pure statistics. In his captaincy, India have failed to win even 35% of their matches.Also, it seriously affects his batting and at the moment he cannot afford that disaster. So, my friends-what do you think? If you have another option for a captain please go ahead but atleast try to put in some sort of rational justification rather than pure passion!
dear , i think they r doing same mistakes, they r making rules, but are they followed by players? its a big question.. i think people of india, should see more future in tennis or any other sport where the players are not engaged with this big sponsors. first of all stop all advertise of players.
First Prince, then saroja yadav falls in a 160 feet deep pit meant for borewell across India to draw water.
The heading may be bit un related to the discussion board, however i would like to attract attention of all citizens of India to the depleting Ground Water Levels across India.
On the one hand the Govt is boasting of 9% GDP of which 1.5 to 2% is contributed by agriculture, however the attention towards recharging ground water level is lacking /miniscule, if left unattended our farmers may leave tilling lands due water and now the power shortage, could India face drought by 2010/2012.
The present politicians are too busy in reservation and caste related issues. I hope our Hon. Prime Minister wakes up to the problem and takes up this issue on a war footing else we may need to face water crisis like the present POWER CRISIS across India.
Will interlinking of rivers help in recharging ground water levels.
It looks like Kannad lobby worked with full swing!No country would like to see Dravid as a captain when it is already proven that he is a mess and not dependable.That too after such an early and shameful exit from the world cup.It is an absolute shame.
RE:What a mess!
by Raj Raj on Apr 07, 2007 08:19 PM Permalink
You Moron Dan Lewis, Rahul Dravid is a Maharastrian born in Indore and did schooling etc... in Banagalore. How does it matter to you where he was born or what language does he speak? Grow up you moron
Why not kapil dev if you want to take somebody from India or ex fast bowlers like Holding, Roberts, Garner ? Again a stop gap measure and sure to flop. Get Jonty Rhodes as BCCI is not short of cash. Get the best man. Nothing against Venky but what is the suitability criteria ?
The outcome belies all expectation of good cricket, all small namesake arrangements to deceive the general public and things remain the same. No hard decisions are taken of ommiting non performing players as such i do not see any future for cricket in India.
Better not waste time for us, instead concentrate on other issues of national importance.
You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. Each man that's in the side that's in goes out, and when he's out he comes in and the next man goes in until he's out. When they are all out, the side that's out comes in and the side thats been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get men still in and not out.
When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out he goes in and the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who stay all out all the time and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the men have out, and both sides have been out twice after all the men have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game!
Tell me how can ICC globalize it, if it is that confusing!
RE:HOW CONFUSING CRICKET IS: As explained to a American...
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 07:58 PM Permalink
Yuvraj sdhould and must have been made the captain not the madarasi Dravid.Also it will go very good if the fish eating brown bengali selfish player ganguly is totally kicked out from the team
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Apr 07, 2007 07:59 PM Permalink
Brother Gaurav, I have a fresh 'Mast' poem for that Gangu li...look
Nagma boli kem chhey kem chhey kem chhey Dada bole eim chhey eim chhey eim chhey runs nahin bante hain matches mein arrey yeh to game chhey game chhey game chhey game chhey
Jab ball ko maine dekha aur dekh ke maara shot sneak liya ball ne aur ho gaya main caught last time tha score less than 10 aur is baar bhi same chhey same chhey same chhey same chhey
Jab fielding ki thi baari to chhode maine catch mere kaaran hi India ne haare itne match khelta hoon itna ghatiya par mujhko aati nahin shame chhey shame chhey shame chhey shame chhey
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:01 PM Permalink
ahahahahahahahahaha hahahaha Vimalesh Bhai, i cant stop laughing.. It was very creative lollllllll
by Surojit Chatterjee on Apr 07, 2007 08:16 PM Permalink
Banarasi, paanwale bhai , ja jake paan bech. Cricket teri bas ki baat nahi....hahahahah, sath me Gaurav ko bhi leke ja......chuna lagayega.
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Apr 07, 2007 08:05 PM Permalink
are chup kar BANGALISTAN team ke coach!!! Dravid is the best available option, Yuvi should be vice captain.
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Apr 07, 2007 08:08 PM Permalink
Are bhai Gaurav lagta hai ye Ganguly, us ghatiya x-captain Gangu li ka 'half-bro' hai...ha...haa
RE:RE:HOW CONFUSING CRICKET IS: As explained to a American...
by on Apr 07, 2007 08:32 PM Permalink
Gaurav, that shows wat kind of uneducated assholes you are.
by sanketh garimella on Apr 07, 2007 08:19 PM Permalink
this clearly shows how immature you are...stop embarassing urself and get a life. its same northies who love idli sambar and again comment on it....stop being such a regionsist(not racist as i believe we're of the same race). trust me ur culture is as funny to us as ours may seem to u...i laughed my ass off when i visited the cow belt of up, bihar, punjab....
by Surojit Chatterjee on Apr 07, 2007 08:18 PM Permalink
are north wale paki.....Laden bula rahe hay tereko.Sath me banarasi ko mat bhulna, Laden ko paan pasand hay
by Sam Walton on Apr 07, 2007 08:05 PM Permalink
Gingilly oil fellows should not open their stinking mouths..
by Vimalesh Banarasi on Apr 07, 2007 08:23 PM Permalink
are chup kar BANGALISTAN team ke coach!!! Dravid is the best available option, Yuvi should be vice captain. jyada chatarji-paterji kiya na to...
RE:no scope
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 07:56 PM Permalink
sambhar is burning, agreed that Dravid?s choice was a big mistake now the BCCI should never include the fish eating brown pig Ganguly in the team if it has any intention of avoiding a defeat in the series
RE:RE:OOOOOOOOO
by Sam Walton on Apr 07, 2007 07:59 PM Permalink
Stop talking your trash talk..Sambar is not that worse than the fish cooked in gingily oil which stinks..
I think giving another chance to dravid is a very good decision. I hope he will get rid of all the mistakes he did in the past and look at a positive approach for the team. he was totally let down by his team mates including sachin and ganguly inspite of him playing a good knock in the world cup against srilanka.
RE:good decision
by baskar gowda on Apr 07, 2007 07:56 PM Permalink
yes my friends, its correct. because he is not done any mistake or he is the only person in our india play for the country all others will play for money. thanks god, good person got a good job. he will certainly show his power in future. its A VERY GOOD DECISION taken by BCCI's Working Committee.