Total 1837 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>
BCCI just wind up
by Rahul Khatri on Apr 07, 2007 08:21 PM  Permalink 

why dravid again....bcci just wind up, pls u no good for the game

RE:Throw out players whop are dividing team
by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:23 PM  Permalink
Maybe you should be a part of BCCI too, with your GREAT ideas. How do you know the players mentioned were dividing the team? Bcos Greg Chappell told you so? Look at you, calling Sachin a Drama Queen! Shame on you. You are one of those Indians, who first put the players on a pedestal and pull them down whenever you have any grudge against them. What have you done for Indian cricket, except that?

by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:20 PM  Permalink
agreed with almost 80%of ur assesment . Agreed about the groupism created by the above players( Yuvraj included) Throw out all but if u throw out Yuvraj probably our bst batsman in one day matches be it chasing or otherwise, that is a bit too much..Dravid is the top batsman no doubt but as a skipper, he has failed to motivate the team..Throw out everyone, especially Ganguly and Harbhajan make Yuvvy the skipper and Dravid has to be there as a 1st down premier batter

by tabreez wahab on Apr 07, 2007 08:35 PM  Permalink
If yuvraj becomes captain Indian team will definitely become worse than Zimbabwe.

Captain is a gentlemans job, so Dravid is a right choice to captain. Yuvraj should play as allrounder that will boost the teams strength.

Throwing ganguly is 100% true, he is actually not looking for countrys pride name and fame instead he wants to be in his own world by staying and playing with slow run scoring rate in indain team.

by AAA on Apr 07, 2007 08:22 PM  Permalink
think BCCI has taken a right decision innretaining dravid as captain and giving chance to new faces. Definitely there should be restriction for each and every player while intereacting with media, becos he is not replying/questioning as an individual butas a part of indian team.
Regarding dravid's attitude, it is perfect. he has enough aggression required to motivate the team. Now if players(stars)like sachin, ganguly, yuvraj etc doenot gets motivated then it cannot be helped.
Gaguly is better where he is,infact he is lucky to be back in this team. now he(ganguly should concentrate more on scoring runs quickly than looking for a chance to be captain

No Thought Process!
by vishit kumar on Apr 07, 2007 08:13 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In my opinion, the appointment of R.Dravid as captain of the Indian cricket team is a bad move. This guy doesn't have leadership qualities to excel at the highest level. And good batsmen doesn't necessarily be good captains! No doubt ,Dravid is perhaps the best Indian batsman (some of the best memories of mine with Indian cricket has Dravid in it). His knocks of 233 & 70* in Adelaide, 180 in Kolkata, Centuries in each innings against Pakistan in 2005, Knocks in Kingston test-just proves that this guy is a match-winner. He has the guts to slog and slog but let him battle it out without the burden of captaincy. That leaves us with the question-Who Then? I think, S.Ganguly. Some of us (including me), are of the opinion that he is a selfish player. So, let it be. Because he is a selfish player that's why he makes sure that nobody points a finger at his captaincy. He tries to motivate his players so that they play the best under him and hence his captaincy is not affected. This is what I call, in technical terms, a symbiotic association.Here both Ganguly and Indian cricket benefit out of each other.Maybe, he can even try to nurture Yuvraj for the future role as a leader. The other candiatate-S.Tendulkar can be rejected in my opinion (and my apologies to Sachin's fans) on the basis of pure statistics. In his captaincy, India have failed to win even 35% of their matches.Also, it seriously affects his batting and at the moment he cannot afford that disaster. So, my friends-what do you think? If you have another option for a captain please go ahead but atleast try to put in some sort of rational justification rather than pure passion!

RE:No Thought Process!
by carol devon on Apr 07, 2007 08:21 PM  Permalink
Deciding a captain based on motivation is not the right criteria..Why should a captain motivate a player? These 11 players have been selected to play for team india which is an honor.They need to realise that and play accordingly..Consider the game against Sri Lanka in the World Cup..Do u think Ganguly needs motivation to play or Sachin for that matter? Y did they perform badly then? Blaming everything on Rahul is not the solution..Getting Ganguly back as a captain is a very bad idea..He is supposed to be the most aggressive batsmen..Where is all that aggression now? He seems to be with the ipod all the time..Is it not the responsibilty of the senior players to help the rest..Then is he only aggressive when he is the captain..What does that say abt him?

by vishit kumar on Apr 07, 2007 08:23 PM  Permalink
But Carol-if not Ganguly then who at the moment? Dravid doesn't seem to think out of the box! For instance when India lost the 1st wicket against Bangladesh quickly, he could have opted for a pinch hitter just to disrupt the momentum!

by carol devon on Apr 07, 2007 08:26 PM  Permalink
You think that would have made India win the match i think now..U think that some other coach or captain had been there for the World Cup that India would have won..I really don't think so..

by An ex-cricket fan on Apr 07, 2007 08:46 PM  Permalink
A captain has to have much more qualities than mere ability to motivate his players! Ganguly may have just that quality at the moment (motivate the team for selfish reasons, as of your own admission!) His batting does not infuse any kind of confidence into the batsmen to follow! His fielding and running between the wickets are best left undiscussed! So let's score out his name straightaway!

Sachin - he was a great batsman, but is just a good batsman at the moment. A great thinker of the game, his undoing is probably his quest for perfection! Others who are far less gifted do not tow his line! - he is out too!

Yuvaraj is just that - a 'Yuvaraj', not ready for coronation yet. Needs to mature a couple of more years.

Sehwag - would've been an ideal choice but for his shattered confidence and lack of form; also does not exhibit the best of attitudes nowadays!

That leaves just Dravid - may not be the best captain in the world, but is a game trier and a serious cricketer with a matured head!

Let's accept him and wish him all the very best!

by Gadde Rao on Apr 07, 2007 08:31 PM  Permalink
Ok,

Choose the 11 best ones here in Rediff posting their expertise to be the playing Team. The best-of-best shall be the Captain, and the second-best the Vice-Captain. 10 more the reserves... And so shall someone from Rediff-maamu be the coach, and let Ajit/ Rediff be the Manager-cum-all-fixing (you know what it means, not bad one of course) coach...

Howzzzzat!!!

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:17 PM  Permalink

OK

--George Bush

by vishit kumar on Apr 07, 2007 08:19 PM  Permalink
Hey, On! Come on my friend! Seriously what to you think- who should be the captain! Let'sget into a meaningful debate!

Too many restrictions!
by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:13 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The list of decisions sounds more like a Communist Manifesto, than a Sports rule book. And why are only the players restricted from talking to the media? Just because Tendulkar spoke out? This is ridiculous! Also, Sachin didn't say anything to be censured the way he is being done.
I have nothing against Rahul Dravid as a captain. He's a decent enough guy, but does he motivate his team enough? Playing for the country notwithstanding, when the toughest of games is ahead, everyone could do with motivation. I don't see the confident body language of the players that I used to see during Ganguly's time. I think Ganguly should come back as captain. The captain does not have to be the player in the side, he has to be the best motivator on the field and strategist on and off it. I think Ganguly scores very well on those criteria. Most of all, he has the ATTITUDE!
Coaches: Robin Singh, Fielding Coach - FANTASTIC! But Venkatesh Prasad, Bowling Coach - That's a JOKE! Couldn't they get a better bowler in India? Just because he's coaching some team, doesn't mean he's doing a good job of it. His own action left so much to be desired, how can he coach the other bowlers?

RE:Too many restrictions!
by AAA on Apr 07, 2007 08:20 PM  Permalink
I think BCCI has taken a right decision innretaining dravid as captain and giving chance to new faces. Definitely there should be restriction for each and every player while intereacting with media, becos he is not replying/questioning as an individual butas a part of indian team.
Regarding dravid's attitude, it is perfect. he has enough aggression required to motivate the team. Now if players(stars)like sachin, ganguly, yuvraj etc doenot gets motivated then it cannot be helped.
Gaguly is better where he is,infact he is lucky to be back in this team. now he(ganguly should concentrate more on scoring runs quickly than looking for a chance to be captain

Cheers

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:17 PM  Permalink

OK

--George Bush

by An ex-cricket fan on Apr 07, 2007 09:03 PM  Permalink
It's a pity that you cannot outgrow your linguistic bias! In what way is Ganguly a motivator? My foot! He struggles with the bat and plays selfishly (let us not talk of the past, we'll stick to the present!) - he does not motivate through his batting!
He is probably the worst of the fielders in the side and the worst runner between the wickets - scores a zero again!
Let's not even discuss his bowling!
Strategy? That's a load of crap! He used to be a lucky captain - he took over during a turbulent time, when India could not have touched any further 'lows'! There was this collective will for everybody to perform as a unit to redeem the national pride, and hence the team clicked! Nothing special with Mr. Ganguly! Yes, he is a very good politician who looks after his favourites! That is his ONLY claim at the moment to successful captaincy!

And about Sachin, he may have been the best batsman in the world, but he momentarily forgot that even he is not above the game! If he had problems with the coach, what was he doing all these days? Either he didn't have the courage of conviction to report against him, or he was not bothered till the coach questioned HIS attitude! Bad - both! I suggest that he should be made to sit out for at least two matches!

Who is responsible
by Sandip Das on Apr 07, 2007 08:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Who is responsible for India%u2019s dismal performance in World Cup2007 ?

1.      Chappell %u2013 ( For his whimsical egoistic ideas and impractical coaching)
No. On his resigned and was requested by BCCI to stay. So nothing wrong with him.

2.      Dravid. %u2013 (For so called Captaincy)
Certainly not. He had been retained as captain.

3.      BCCI %u2013 (For visionless decisions and being busy finalizing TV rights and other political issues)
No. Because no one has taken the moral responsibility and resigned.

4.      Cricketers ( For poor performance and application).
No. They are only held responsible and show caused for exercising there fundamental right i.e. freedom of speech. Implementing new match fee structure does not make much impact because their main source of income is modeling.

5.      Selectors %u2013 (For their poor selection in big event like Worlcup, like Agarkar, Uthappa.)
No. Since no one had taken the moral responsibility for this disaster and there is no changes as well.

6.      Indian Cricket Fans
YES. They are the foolish breed who are ashamed of Country%u2019s performance & in immense pain over the last two weeks and being expectant about India%u2019s fighting performance, knowing the miserable state of Indian Cricket politics.

RE:Who is responsible
by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:15 PM  Permalink
I so agree with you. No one here, takes responsibilty and look at the rules! It's a joke.

don't interact with Major Ram Prasad Sharma
by Rajesh on Apr 07, 2007 08:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

To all,

Pl. don't interact with Major Ram Prasad Sharma.

He is a major of slum area of mumbai.

RE:don't interact with Major Ram Prasad Sharma
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:10 PM  Permalink
we all knew that yesterday..lolllllllllllllll

he is a major for all slum dwellers

select team, and captain amongst them not reverse
by avada kedavra on Apr 07, 2007 08:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

the team sghould be selected first, 14 people,

then a captains should be selected amongst them.

captain should not be selected first. as recco by greg chappel

and under 19 / A team tours to pakistan and srilanka should also be included

RE:select team, and captain amongst them not reverse
by on Apr 07, 2007 08:11 PM  Permalink

Ok. I will do the needful

--Sharad Pawar (BCCI Chairman)

RE:Dravid merits a place in the team just as a player
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:09 PM  Permalink
I have just stated my opinion..Look, South Africa made Graeme smith the captain when he was just 22 and look where he has brought the team now..Yuvraj is very young, attacking player and a great fielder.So with an eye at future, they should make him the skipper for a long term basis..Dravid is a great batsman and he merits his place in the team

RE:RE:Dravid merits a place in the team just as a player
by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:17 PM  Permalink
I like Yuvraj as a player, but I think he's very immature. He can become a captain, and should be groomed for that. But he needs to be more disciplined. I just have a problem with that. Else, he is fine. I think he is a good player and a good mind too.

by Vishit Kumar on Apr 07, 2007 08:10 PM  Permalink
Mr.Sharma, even I think that Dravid is the best batsman in the current team but as a captain I have doubts! I reckon he hasn't got great leadership skills. Great batsmen necessarily not be great captain!

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:10 PM  Permalink
u north indian punjabi ra#cal. balle balle yede k@mene... dont split the country... go back to kalistan

by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:27 PM  Permalink
Please don't use racist comments here. Its because of people like Gaurav Deol that there is so much division in our country. Please don't join his ranks by abusing someone just because he's from a different community.

by Surojit Chatterjee on Apr 07, 2007 08:11 PM  Permalink
Gaurav ,

YOu are the black flesh eating uneducated "bania" often seen in underwears. Go hide.

RE:
by Rakesh Sharma on Apr 07, 2007 08:11 PM  Permalink
You stupid, I am also a Punjabi but I am proud of Dravid. He is best player and that is what matters in the game. By calling Dravid a Madrassi, you have only shown that you are from gutter. I hope you got point.

by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:17 PM  Permalink
I repeat it again, Dravid is perhaps the most complete and best batsman in the Indian cricket today.Why??he can rank among the top 5 batsmen in the world but as a captain, he is clueless..

That was my point..

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:18 PM  Permalink

Gaaaand Meeeein Ungggli - Sourav Ganguly

by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:20 PM  Permalink
Keep your RACIST comments to yourself. If Ganguly is a fish-eating stink, you might be called other choice names for belonging to the place you belong. Go by the credentials of the player, not by where he comes from.

by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:27 PM  Permalink
i always believe in patriotism more than regionalism..Ganguly is an indisciplined, selfish player who is a ZERO as a fielder..He does not merit a place in the team..Full stop

by Debashri Sengupta on Apr 07, 2007 08:32 PM  Permalink
Shame on you! The way you are using abuses! YOu are an Indian as much as we are. We don't call you PAKISTANI because you are from Punjab, why call Bengalis as BANGLADESHIS? And I have lived in Northern, Southern, Western, Central and Eastern India. Nowhere have I seen Bengalis being hated for being Bengalis. If you hate Bengalis, keep it to yourself. Don't generalise your RACIST feelings by making it seem as if it is on the behalf of the entire North India. Don't spoil India's name. This is a forum for INDIAN CRICKET. We are supposed to write about that, not filthy comments about Bengalis, Marathis, 'Madrasis' etc. Okay? Get it clear into your head that you don't OWN INDIA. INDIA owns you as it owns all of us.

RE:RE:Dravid merits a place in the team just as a player
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:42 PM  Permalink
My oh my..this is going a bit too far..If u did not know, our JAT regiment is the most bravest of all along the frontiers..When it comes to Patriotism, we r second to none..I just dont hate other communities iam just disappointed at the world cup debacle especially guys like Ganguly who spoiled it all for us

RE:Again they have got it all wrong
by Vikram Sagar on Apr 07, 2007 08:03 PM  Permalink
oh look!!! hero of a royal clan is speaking!

by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:06 PM  Permalink
hey vikram, what was wrong in my post??yaaar, the world cup ignomious exit is still hurting for me and i blame Dravid´s captaincy(lacklustre team selection) and Ganguly´s slow slow batting( 60 odd in 130 odd balls and 80 odd in 120 odd balls againt world class bangla and Bermuda)

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:05 PM  Permalink

Let Yuvraj take a break from Kim Sharma and go play cricket. Till then he is better off doing commercials.

Else, he should drink Sambar. The drink of immortality.

by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:07 PM  Permalink
Yuvraj drinks Kim´s milk. he doesnt like sambhar

RE:RE:[object]
by on Apr 07, 2007 08:10 PM  Permalink

Yuvraj has this injury of his knee which can only be cured by drinking lotsa Sambar. Actually Kim's milk is the problem. No calcium in it.

by Ramya on Apr 07, 2007 08:06 PM  Permalink
i think u better shut ur mouth and stop being racist....its because of people like you that the country is divided...

RE:RE:Again they have got it all wrong
by Raghav Sud on Apr 07, 2007 08:08 PM  Permalink
bhau butter chicken mein ka parfume lage hai?

RE:RE:RE:Again they have got it all wrong
by Gaurav Deol on Apr 07, 2007 08:11 PM  Permalink
arre raghav bhai, hum racist nahi hai..kyo galath sochtha hai mere bhai??

by on Apr 07, 2007 08:12 PM  Permalink
u north indian punjabi ra#cal. balle balle yede k@mene... dont split the country... go back to kalistan

by Raj Raj on Apr 07, 2007 08:17 PM  Permalink
You Moron Gaurav Deol,

Rahul Dravid is a Maharastrian born in Indore and did schooling etc... in Banagalore.

How does it matter to you where he was born or what language does he speak?

Grow up you moron

Total 1837 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>