It is understandable and clearly shows the MAFIA men in Blue, as Mr.Sachin cries in front of the media about his 17 years of commitment to the game as though cricket frenzy citizens of India never knew his achievements over last one and a half decades. How long ? How long you want to play Mr.Sachin, so and so DADA etc coterie.... Especially, it is very evident from their faces, Mr.Yuvraj, Mr.Bhajji, Mr.Sehwag are the MAFIA men trying to succeed Mr.Sachin, Mr.DADA & etc.... We have a BCCI Chief who can not even figure out whether he belongs to Politics or Sports and talks about running the richest cricketing body of the world.... How sad, finally, the great Indian Media...completes this coterie of MAFIA men in Blue......
RE:What an absurd, Sachin cries foul in front of the media - Chappel resigns quietly
by rajendra prasad on Apr 04, 2007 11:44 PM Permalink
I agree with you partly.What is Mr.Pawar doing in the BCCI?Owning responsibility has to come from top.instead BCCI is looking for scapegoats.the first one is poor Greg.who next?as greg puts it short term knee jerk reactions are not going to help.they will harm the team. MR.PAWAR it is time to go.
I cant imagine anyone blaming the coach for the loss at the WC. He only leads the horses to the lake for a sip. They just turned out to be stubborn donkies refusing to drink. One needs to notice that you'll see more of the players in ads than as professional cricketers.
If they'd only spent more time rebrandishing their talent, this would not have come to pass. I dont think Greg did a fantastic job and I know he tried and that I salute, as well as everyone else I can see, looking at blogs worldwide and the news on TV! Thanks Greg for all you tried and we're sorry we gave you the wrong tools.
Patriots who want to play the "Be Indian" card and be naive - open your eyes to reality. Stop watching the ads and you'll see how much less cricket our chaps are playing. They're just busy helping MNC's fleece 8Rs/Pepsi/Coke from Indians as profit and earning their 1Rs for every bottle sold. All said and done, I think Greg was a better Indian.
This is the best thing to have happened to Indian Cricket in the last 2 years. Otherwise if Chappell would have had his way, Raina would have been Captain, vice-captained by Utthappa and we would have been on the verge of losing our Test Status.
RE:Damn cool!
by alexinho lobo on Apr 04, 2007 11:49 PM Permalink
Sanjeev ur absolutely right...All guys from calcutta only want ganguly to perform and they are happy about it,,they could not see dravid being successfull
by Sanjeev Verma on Apr 04, 2007 11:11 PM Permalink
Shut Up! Ganguly was rightly shown the door. Remember the most successful opener Justin Langer was fighting for his place in Australia. Indian players like Ganguly take their place in Indian Team for Granted even with poor performance. I think that lack of support from media and Indian Fans lead to the defeat of Team India. Ganguly and Calcuttans never wanted Dravid to be the most successful captain of Team India. SV
by rana bose on Apr 04, 2007 11:32 PM Permalink
Shut up Sanjeev. Why do you start comparing an Indian cricketer with an Australian. Bootlickers of the "gora sahib" like you have ruined this country. My gut feeling is that either you hail from Lalu's Bihar. Besides, Ganguli atleast used his common sense and wisdom to reach the WC'03. HMV (His Masters Voice)Dravid came a cropper in the prelim. Just remember captain's are born and not made or positioned through the back door, just as Dravid
by srihari mohanty on Apr 04, 2007 11:58 PM Permalink
good.AUSTRALIANS R FREE AND FRANK.THOSE PLAYERS WHO DONOT PERFORM THEY QUIT .U can find examles like waugh brothers,damien martin,michael bevan etc.But indian peoples are idiots they see only records.In last 3 years Tendulkar has shown no ability in playing under pressure.he has bad records batting in second innings.Tendulkar ang Ganguly when reach the score of 90 consumes large no of balls to reach 100 for personal record only.GANULY NAHI CHAHTA HAI KI DRAVID SAFAL RAHE
by joseph carmel on Apr 04, 2007 11:45 PM Permalink
Dear Sanjeev, You are one of those innumerable eunuchs('hijras' to you hindiwallahs) who populate India's heartland and make it the cesspool it is. You seem to know nothing about winning because you are programmed to lose right from your birth. Calcuttans hate Dravid because he lacks balls and if the hatred of Ganguly and the Calcuttans is enough to defeat India then maybe the Indian team should consist of only Calcuttans. And a single Calcuttan at the helm of the team had created history just a few years back. But I guess for you and your vegetarian ilk an aggressive Captain was too much to stomach! Your men should wear skirts.
by mohan babu appaiahgari on Apr 04, 2007 11:40 PM Permalink
Hey, Why do you people always point out that Ganguly is just a calcuttan? When he lead the Team with pride and so many matches for India, apart from improving the toughness in the team, Do you think he was leading Bengal? Tell me how many Bengalis got into the team while he was the captain. So, Man I think you guys should shut your mouth. He rightly deserves to be the captain. Dravid became good in batting only when he was made Wicket keeper in the team by Sourav. Wicket keeping always improves the player's eye on the ball and also makes it easy for an intelligent batsman to understand the nature of the pitch. I am sure, once again if he goes back to this WK position, he will be more consistent in his batting. Good luck India and the TEAM INDIA. Jai hind
by Dheeraj Mahajan on Apr 05, 2007 12:04 AM Permalink
if what u saud "Wicket keeping always improves the player's eye on the ball" is true then all wicket keepers in the world cricket should be great batsmen, i struggle to count many good wicket keeping batsmen.
It is good that Greg packed his bag as it would have been difficult for him to be in the middle of the same team after so much of mudslinging. I tend to agree with Greg on one account that senior players have become more complacent and taken BCCI for granted.
BCCI should fire all the old cricketers and groom only fresh and young lads. Indiscipline by any player should not be tolerated. There were reports in media on how Shewag did not turn up for match practice when coach other support staff prepared the ground and waited for him. This shows arrogance and calousness of the players.
BCCI should conduct interview with all the support staff to ascertain the statements made by Greg and if found coach was right, they should fire all the guily players.
We indians again Proved our attitude.. by going in to the hands of Media which is always partial and exited about creating hype. No one knows the truth , and we started to accept what ever media is saying.. its really pity... The reality will only be known if either dravid or greg or the manager of the Indian Cricket team to west indies. I completely agree with what greg said, he tried to bring methodical and professional way.i strongly feel that our our players failed to respond and surely their Body language in the matches do suggest their loss of commitment and the passion to perform. I do agree with the fact that greg to owns some responsibility but not the major part. If we have to blame, first BCCI for their ignorant policies and politics which gone to the extent to leak even the mails and reports which should be the soul property of the BCCI board. Unless and Until the Board look towards improving the quality of the standards in which domestic cricket is played instead of looking towards making more and more money by playing excessive cricket. After BCCI, its the turn of selection panel as these people are reluctant to give best performing players by name of experience and also based on the OLD records..Especially Romesh Pawar, who can be proved a lethal weapon in the WI pitches, instead they owed for a bowler who is demoralized, struggling to find rhythm , low in confidence who will just throw his ball if the batsmen hits a six on previous ball( none other than Bajji). And if we come to our batting, no one except Sachin, Dravid and Dinesh karthik can really play on Bouncy pitches( all ready proved in South Africa ). A team with bunch of hitters (uttappa, sehwag, yuvarag, dhoni) who we say the future of can only hit the ball in Sub continent. So called future captain Yuvaraj, is struggling and struggled to find his place in the test team. Even i can go for the extent to say that it cant be denied for the possibility of intentional low performance play by the Ganguly and Co to give knock out punch to Greg. After the selection panel its the turn of players, who lacked commitment evident by their body langauge. We always say he filled insecurity among Indian players, but if they really can perform why they should fear?.It just shows their lack of confidence on their ability to perform, and for those who have doubts on their ability have no place in the team. Then Comes the turn of greg, who lacked the man management skills and his adjustment towards Indian attitude and politics in Indian cricket. His another big mistake is calling a spade a spade and his commitment to bring professionalism to Indian cricket. Above all the major contributor to all the controversy "Indian Media", always in look out for news which can cause excitement and can bring viewer ship to their channels. Its the time for Honest Introspection and necessary action towards the betterment of Indian cricket.
I Hope that BCCI comes with good thinking which helps in taking Indian cricket to more heights in future. V ~VK
Chappels decision is good for all incluidng Chappel. Hope Chappels wishes are honoured by the Board. This is step no 1 in the right direction. Lets see what comes next. Tell me India why should any of the three Rahul Sachin or Saurav retire? Tell me India which newcomer you can rely upon? Utthuppa, Kartick, Raina or who better than these three? Unless you find suitable new players you cannot simply ask the old guards to take rest. I feel the coach and the captain failed to perform the role they were supposed to. Coach must keep watch over the old tested players. If someone is failing it is not always prudent to remove him. You analyse as a coach the reasons of such failures. Give him confidence. Dont make him shaky. Tell him to change his batting stance, tell himto change the weight of the bat. With age people lose a few things but gain many,like experience and confidence. This you will have to honour as a coach. It is very easy to simply pass on the buck to senior players or players. It is more difficult to extract the best ouf your limited resources. It requires prudence and patience. Chappel lacked both of it. Dravid was equally hopeless. He did not make up the lapses and lacuna of the coach. As a batsman Dravid Sachin and Saurav has still left a good amount of cricket in them but may never be upto the next cup.
the Indian Cricket is free from the evil clutches once again...now it's time for the BCCI Chief to resign....or maybe he is still greedy about the post rather than the betterment of the game. Regards, Suvrajit
RE:Gone for good
by ashish capoor on Apr 04, 2007 11:14 PM Permalink
No i dont agree that the indian team was ever in evil clutches.Though his method of coaching could not get the desired effect, his tenure has brought many things which shall make us a lot to think about. there are many steps that needs to be taken on an urgent basis if we want to make a team which has a wining combination The board should be spared of politicians whose habit of sticking to the chair dies the hard way and should rather be turned into a professional organisation run by cricketers and the people who have given their blood and life to the game
RE:Gone for good
by Ramesh Saripalli on Apr 05, 2007 12:16 AM Permalink
Hi Ashish, Before you reply see who the person you are replying to is.If it is bengali sounding name dont bother....they cannot see anything beyond ganguly...
What else can the coach do but resign seeing the non performance of the cricketers at world cup.
The common Indian fan has done much more than that burn effigies etc. Unfortunately Greg cant do that but speak facts, which he has done.
India has lost to Bangladesh bcos of Greg , thats what the Indian team wants to say.
These guys are playing cricket only for the sake of money and not for playing cricket. They tend to make us believe that the players are rightt.
The best thing that can happen is to ban the game from our country , which will save millions of man days in work , studies etc lost due to focus by millions on the game. If not Dravid, Sachin, Ganguly, Sehwag, Dhoni, Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Uttappa should be out from the team.
RE:Greg has done and expressed what a common Indian felt and done after india was out of super 8- nothing wrong with Greg
by satya sahoo on Apr 04, 2007 11:15 PM Permalink
There was absolutely no point for Greg to continue with gutless 11 idiots from India...good that he is not wasting his time with Indian cricketers...he is just doing what was said ages ago " No point in talking to fools"
RE:Greg has done and expressed what a common Indian felt and done after india was out of super 8- nothing wrong with Greg
by Minto on Apr 04, 2007 10:46 PM Permalink
Indian players play for individual records. The coach and the captain are responsible to instill team spirit in an individual -- that's where the Greg and Dravid failed. Both must go, and do not try to circulate old wine in a new bottle by recycling Sachin/Sourav as skipper.