You and the rest of India non-perfomer losers are a shame. How dare you blame the coach, who has a winner attitude. Overrated overpaid useless people like SRT and the rest are a pox on sport. Can't carry your own bags? What next, fake an injury so it won't look like you were dropped. SHAME!
I doff my hat to you Dear Greg today for you have taken the right decision especially with reference to your dignity, self respect and more importantly to your sanity. Farewell and Goodbye!
Greg is a fellow respects much in AUS after the Brdamann we are shame to that we degrade him He is better than our bla bla Kapildev/Gavaskar/Vengi/More........ all of them above ppl only roars nothing they will do.... The 1983 WC credits to only AMARNATH & MADAN LAL but the rest of the guyz used to say bla bla stories...... The total BCCI is full of sick ppl
Greg has done good thing by quit the coach
it is time for now our senior players too? Greg never stopped them while they were playing in ground.... after all we ourselves not tolerate the WC exit then how can a coach be silent? He has right to ask the attitude of each & every fellow otherwise no mean to a post to do but still he respects our country & our ppl he is against only to our senior but not to all indians.....plz remember we bless him to get a bright future.....
RE:Greg (good) Chappel
by Honest Opinion on Apr 05, 2007 01:12 AM Permalink
Chappel has shown what one must do i.e. "quit" , in the face of shameful show by the team. Can our so called Sr. players "Sachin, Sehwag, Harbhajan" take up responsibility and do the same i.e. "QUIT".
by Sudipto Ghosh on Apr 05, 2007 01:30 AM Permalink
I do not agree with the way you have put it. No doubt Greg Chappell's intentions were right. I don't think he joined as a coach to disrupt and disintegrate Indian cricket. He did come with the right intentions but unfortunately could not make his or our dreams come true. At the end of the day whatever be the reason, he failed to deliver what HE had to. Therefore like every CEO or Chief Executive he rightly resigned. That does not mean that Mr.Chappell is not a good cricketer or a good coach just like one bad season does not change the fact that Sachin is one of the greatest batsmen ever. I think what the Indian cricket team needs IS someone like Gavaskar or Ravi Shastri or even Kapil Dev because 1.They are respected much more than players from abroad. 2.They know the Indian mind-set and needs which is a must if the mind set needs to be changed. 3.They have been through the same things that the current cricketers are going through. I therefore think it would definitely be a good idea to have an Indian player as a coach someone who commands the respect of everyone including all the senior and junior cricketers someone who has lot of experience in international cricket and the names that come to mind are Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Mohinder Amarnath, Ravi Shastri etc. Your comments please.
RE:[object MouseEvent]
by hari babu on Apr 05, 2007 01:36 AM Permalink
Except AMARNATH, the rest are useless we experienced with kapil dev he used to give bla bla stories only "They are respected much more than players from abroad." what about the recent gavaskar-ponting's case did gavaskar got any respect? no body respects if we keep on telling stories My wish is AMARNATH is best among all indian players he is good as like dravid....... no more doubts about dravid plz....
by Sudipto Ghosh on Apr 05, 2007 01:44 AM Permalink
Dear Hari, I think Dravid is a fabulous and a very valuable cricketer and I have not expressed any doubts about him.
by Honest Opinion on Apr 05, 2007 02:15 AM Permalink
Wrong medicine. We need Australian or South African coach, because they bring with them different perspective - a professional perspective rather than our players who are so much absorbed in emotions.
It is a very sad end to a promising coach,who tried his level best to change the mindset,but unfortunately the dirty Indian Politics has played its part & the senior players who consider themselves not less than GOD played crucial non-cricketing stroke which unfortunately should have been played against minnows Bangladesh and Srilankans.Indian cricket will not progress unless the lobby of certain players are nullified.A sad end to forthright views on faulty selection process.
RE:Chappel
by Honest Opinion on Apr 05, 2007 01:15 AM Permalink
Chappel has every right to ask the players about their attitute. Mr. Tendulkar, really "pani ab sar se upar nikal chua hai". You too should quit . Am Admi ka bhi ab pani sar se upar nikal chuka hai"
Stop Worshipping this useless team. We are responsible for the defeat because we make them feel like a king when they play good and dump them when they play bad. Best way is to show no emotions.
RE:Stop Worshipping!!!
by Animesh Naskar on Apr 05, 2007 01:00 AM Permalink
Nobody worships a team. You call your team useless, what contribution have you ever made to impove the standard of Indian cricket. How many times u went to cheer in zonal matches. Do u ever dream of making cricket as career? India plays bad and will continue to do so unless each one of us shows the importance of this game at every level .. starting from school to national level ...
I dont find anything wrong with CHAPPELL Even team manager is so positive towards the Aussie..... what could be wrong is........ existance of useless players like Sourav,harbhajan,zaheer,yuvraj,agarkar...... The first of the above are two culprits for Indian team.......
Poor Aussie tried to implement their Aussie kind of rules..........
once again It proved clearly that we are so back to Aussies mindsets.....
The best ex- was they removed even STEVEN WAUGH bcoz of AGE.......
But we?
one great senior players cried yesterday to make us fools they should remember the day today is not APRIL 1st....but April 4th....... In my view, The poor Aussie is good at final he resigned for mortal values
RE:today is not APRIL 1st
by Animesh Naskar on Apr 05, 2007 12:47 AM Permalink
Buddy ... These are the so called "useless players" who took India to last WC finals ..
Better learn appreciating the contributions of seniors like Sachin and Sourav before boasting some foreigners ..
Chappel came to India to destroy the team .. He succeeded because of some people like you ..
by VIVEK JADON on Apr 05, 2007 12:57 AM Permalink
U always believe that Old is Gold.But this saying doesnt fit in here.Instead "The Old Dogs dont learn new tricks".Coach tried to change the mindset of certain so called senior players who were in their comfort zone,He failed due to the strong lobby of these guys.To build a new succesful team he insisted on new players ,which unfortunately wasn't provided
by Sriram K. Bhagavatula on Apr 05, 2007 01:34 AM Permalink
Playing on a dead wicket is anybody's cup of tea. Playing off-side only is dada's cup of tea !!!. The true reason Sachin did not want to play in the middle order is the feilding restrictions won't be there, so tough to get the score and a good strike rate cum average. Sachin wants opening in onedays but he does not want to open the innings in test cricket, then he and the team needs some one else to open the innings for test. These are called double standards. Sachin and dada both think that they are playing for their brand value and endorsements from ads, than they think themselves to be patriotic. Sachin want to grab the captancy from the back door, and he was partly successful in getting vice-captain position in the team, by present performance he does not deserve in the one-day team at all cost.I do not know why Kumble was selected? and why sreesanth did not get an opportunity to bowl? some surprising questions to answer. Dravid seems to be caught in a quagmire, sure the most seniors in the team should go. As Chappel once said, "if India need to loose anyway then why not they try with youngsters?". Chappel hinted his view of the team before leaving "this is the team India(ns) WANTED" read that as team BCCI & selectors selected the team as per their choice. If BCCI fails to change it's functioning attitude then we should look forward to winning against Ireland and Kenya only !!!
by Chris on Apr 05, 2007 12:56 AM Permalink
I don't think so..if our guys can't stand the wickets...couldn't make a 250 score in today's ODI..there is no point in accusing team coach or any one in this matter..God should help them to make them scores..BAD POLITICS in every corner of daily business... :(
RE:RE:today is not APRIL 1st
by hari babu on Apr 05, 2007 01:01 AM Permalink
dont be foolish WC 2003 was luck we faced kenys in semis think of if it was AUS in semis... "Chappel came to India to destroy the team .." this is worthless statement
by Amit Nakra on Apr 05, 2007 01:58 AM Permalink
i hope by destroy u mean to say shake every indivisual out of its comfortzone.
and u know all what people like you have donne to put thees underperfoming players in a comfort zone
well done mate
and now when this team beats bangladesh in their home dance on the road.... (add to their contributions to indian cricket)
by Animesh Naskar on Apr 05, 2007 12:53 AM Permalink
Just imagine the degree of greediness of this so called "coach", he himself writes e-mails and letters to BCCI and leaks the same to media to earn quick bucks. Doesn't he has any Code of Conduct to follow.
His report was supposed to reach BCCI on 7h April, but entire world knows what are its content. Thanks to his sale of his report.
By contrast, I never heard of the content of Rahul Dravid's report which is to be submitted on the same day.
by MILIND RODRIGUES on Apr 05, 2007 01:21 AM Permalink
first of all my friend above seems obsessed trying to lay the blame on the coach and acting as saviour for the players. I think it is time that we look at cricket from the mind instead of just getting carried away by emotions. The players do earn a lot of money and hence they are expected to perform. If any of us dont perform at work you are bound to get fired, it' s pretty simple logic. Why blame the coach? He can only guide, but the performance has to be displayed by the players. It's not that chappel can destroy inborn talents of sachin or sourav. I think people need to grow up and stop worshipping cricketers or for that matter even fimstars
Contrast the dignified manner in which Chappell left with the undignified way in which Sachin Tendulkar reacted a day or two back in the press. As Kapil Dev said long back it is better for a longstanding player [I add especially if he is out of form frequently] to retire at the right time and hope Tendulkar would give serious thought to it at least now. - IM Sharma, mksmi55@rediffmail.com
RE:Chappel's exit
by Shidhil K on Apr 05, 2007 12:51 AM Permalink
Hey kid, u might not have seen how bad and ugly kapil dev was in his forgettable, sinking career. He played only to acheive the land mark of maximum wickets. I pity u for comparing sachin with Kapil, I have a respect to kapil, but he is not as great as sachin. He is committed but sachin is dedicated too, if u remember, sachin played world cup matches even with the demise of his father. And it was on his shoulder we reached the finals. Dont say that it is only for money, money is just a result. Look at this years record of sachin, he cannot be replaced by any one at this point of time.
RE:Great Greg - -3 cheers 2 u - - Himmat ho to aisi
by Honest Opinion on Apr 05, 2007 12:36 AM Permalink
With dure respect, history has shown the great players don't make great coaches. They feel that they have nothing to prove as they have already proved themselves in their playing days. Look at Dave Whatmore, Tom Moody, John Buchnan and Bob Woolmer- They were not star players. These guys felt the need to do something special to prove that they are special and they did it in their coaching careers. I'd strongly suggest BCCI to look at individuals abilitity for future coaches , not just " Uchi Dukan, pheeke pakwan" type.
RE:RE:stop reporting this as abuse
by hari babu on Apr 05, 2007 12:35 AM Permalink
u do onething u praise ur plyers dont u have the winning spirit? it seems u also a fellow kind of our seniour plyers who r eagire for vitamin-M what colud be wrong if we consider an Aussie's ideas & views our players never followed them it costs much now I just tell u that get lost to hell
by prince prince on Apr 05, 2007 01:46 AM Permalink
winning spirit? India has the potential to play a good game and win it too. if these players are earning good money whats your problem? why are you jealous about it? they have worked for it. nothing is worng in considering anyones ideas, can't you people see the problems and mess he has created in this past 22 months?
RE:stop reporting this as abuse
by SEL KUMAR on Apr 05, 2007 12:47 AM Permalink
and Mr idiot (thats hould be the good name for you instead of Prince) ..... Have you ever read John wright's book abut Indian team" Indians listen to coach in the dressing
by SEL KUMAR on Apr 05, 2007 12:35 AM Permalink
Anser these question? Is Chappell ever said to 1. Shewag to play that shot on cruncg match when there is a slip? 2. Yuvi to run for a sucidal run out 3. Dhoni to play backfoot shot 4.Sachin to play that shot and got out 5. Saurav to lose ur wicket simply for no reason 6. Harbajaan to forget his spin.. ok if you have answer to all these !!!, bring current austrlian coach to coach indian team now , and we will see the record..
by prince prince on Apr 05, 2007 01:37 AM Permalink
well a coach is suppose to take care of the cricketers game, for what is he getting paid? to create fights?
by Shidhil K on Apr 05, 2007 01:06 AM Permalink
Nice questions!!!! U have a place in parliament. Along with laluji. Are yaar. A coach should not denounce a player, or his players. Why the motivation of team was down? It has to be answered by the coach.
Why we were not able to stop singles against Srilanka ? It is again some thing need to be answered by coach.
Why the fielding standards came down when you compare it with the John Right period ? Again a question to coach.
Why the confidence factor was down?
Why the team was 11 Players ? Not the indian team ? It is again to chappel.
Why nobody knows who is next to come for batting ? Again coach has a role here.
Why harbhajan bowled like a defender when India was on the UP in the match with srilanka ? It is coaching problem.
Why Harbhajan is not giving enough loop and air for the deliveries ? It is again a problem with coach.. This list will go on like any thing if you are a guy with sufficient understanding of tactics... I hope, these questions will defenitely make chapel hugely accountable for the lose...
during 2003 WC India was in great form, India was second only to Australia, it actually sounded as a threat to Australia, and have a look at the team and the game after Chappell entered, (mind it well even Chappell is an Australian), Chappell has calculatively and purposefully played dirty politics in and with are team, and we can see the Indian teams fiasco in the past few months as well as the WC. After every few days there is some news about Chappell and his games, is'nt this obvious for the readers of this board to understand simple logical game played by Chappell? stop licking this chappell's backside. stop supporting Chappell. he has resigned for good
RE:panoti Chappell
by R K on Apr 05, 2007 03:44 AM Permalink
Go to hell man...go and support Tendulkar. Sachin''s record speaks for itself : Sachin Tendulkar since Sept 2005 against Australia and SA in one day matches Innings : 11 Runs : 155 Average : 14.09 100s/50s : 0/1
No other team in the world would pick him on the above performance but for India he is "Master Blaster". BTW what has be blasted recently ?
As far as Ganguly is concerned, he could not even match Tendulkar''s number....and WOW we have countrymen defending these two and giving excuses for them.