You can't blame Chapell too much. The fact is that the "Boys in Blue" are, well, a disgrace. The media is a problem too: it lionises cats. The camera beams into serious faces with sweat dripping from the forehead. There is loud sound in the background and bingo, ganguly has hit a six. Problem is, the sixes and the mean faces are just for money-minting ads. In the real life, little Bangladesh whips our so-called heroes black and blue. Then Sri Lanka smash them to trash. I think the media should start higlighting India's performance viz a vis the big teams. We will sulk to realise that in most cases, the other team has beaten us at least 50% more times. Sports channels keep showing highlights of games india has won, forgetting to mention that the other teams have beaten us more than we have beaten them. But public memory if short; wait till the next triangular series win on home soil and the world cup fiasco will be forgotten. Also forgotten will be the fact that the "boys in blue" are a bunch of over-hyped, grossly over-paid and over-pampered chickens. Long live Indian cricket. Indian cricket is dead.
I think Greg, you did right decision because you can't do better with rubbish senior player specially Sachin. In my openion the whole indian team should be resuffle...specially Sachin, Harbhajan, Dhoni....Don't say that you served so much...look at Saurav when he scared for his position in team the he performed.
Greg has done a great job - remember some of the great things we achieved under him. Setting a world record of winning 17 matches while chasing. So "Thande Dhimak se sochiye". The problem is that our players and coach have given their best (Forget WC - certainly match fixing played much bigger role than any one could imagine) but our player's best is not 'good enough" that is a fact which will become more apparent - especially after talented guys like Sachin and Dravid exit. Let us be realistic and not get disappointed by this - Indian's have natural limit of their capacity - To expect more from them is not realistic. This sport in future will belong to those who will have both brain and brawn power. Indians may be very good in brain power but not good enough in brawn. So We will have to forget WC etc but keep playing Cricket because it is one game most kids can play at any time any where with minimum parapharnelia
I respect Mr. Greg Chappell. To be honest Our Cricket team is out not because of coach but because of their POOR, PATHETIC performance. They really never deserved to be in the Super 8's. So no matter who the coach was, our Dravid the so called "WALL"....(surely PAPER WALL) deserved to be out of the World Cup. I would have more appreciated if he had stepped down from captaincy (can't think of him to seek retirement because they won't retire untill they are thrown out...) rather than Mr. Greg Chappell had submitted his resignation. Also, our Cricket's future is bleak because now BOOKIE's and politicians decides the fate of Indian cricket and not the players. ARRE HAAN, the ADVERTISERS can also decide the fate of game provided they announce before the start of a game how much $$$$ they will reward the highest INDIAN scorer and INDIAN wicket taker (if this turns out to be higher than what bookies offer), than may be our team will win the world cup :-) CONGRATS Mr. Dravid, the PAPER WALL, for cutting short your WEST INDIES TRIP, hope it was a nice HOLI VACATION.
No doubt Greg Chappell's intentions were right. I don't think he joined as a coach to disrupt and disintegrate Indian cricket. He did come with the right intentions but unfortunately could not make his or our dreams come true. At the end of the day whatever be the reason, he failed to deliver what HE had to. Therefore like every CEO or Chief Executive he rightly resigned and not surprisingly gave the reasons most people give -'personal reasons'. That does not mean that Mr.Chappell is not a good cricketer or a good coach just like one bad season does not change the fact that Sachin is one of the greatest batsmen ever. I think what the Indian cricket team needs IS someone like Gavaskar or Ravi Shastri or even Kapil Dev because 1.They are respected much more than players from abroad. 2.They know the Indian mind-set and needs which is a must if the mind set needs to be changed. 3.They have been through the same things that the current cricketers are going through. I therefore think it would definitely be a good idea to have an Indian player as a coach someone who commands the respect of everyone including all the senior and junior cricketers someone who has lot of experience in international cricket and the names that come to mind are Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Mohinder Amarnath, Ravi Shastri etc. Your comments please.
" I look forward to continuing my contact with India in the coming years and I wish Indian cricket and all those involved with it much joy and success in the future.."
the last statement refers that how has a commitment with Indians.....great to see the above line from an AUSSIE
I feel bad to say this , but sachin it is the fact now , Sachin you severed for India because you were heavily paid by BCCI and also with your add contracts so stop praising now with your 17 yrs career , now its the time when he need to think why he fails in crucial matches, in this world cup inboth match he scored just 0 and 4 ???? probelm is that we comman people are cheated with all by the players , media persons all ... these players earn heavy revenue from BCCI and there Add contracts even they score 0 and our news media .. they sell these players even when the fail or win by the means of SMS .. they are in full profit , even if India lose or win .. they have there experts to discus on all condition and to fool viewers and then SMS your view so double gain from ads as well as SMS .. this is the magic of funy cricket only the coman people worry .. reset all earn
RE:Sachin stop blaming others
by amit jain on Apr 05, 2007 02:09 AM Permalink
Stop this attack on Sachin rite........even the soldiers of our army are paid to fite out.........so wats rong wit des players getting money...........no1 s doing social service out here niether u nor myself..........i guess u r more bothered about the money des people make instead of sate of cricket.............des paeople get money becoz of people only so now u need not blame players and sachin especially.......u r urself to be blamed for hero worship.........Sachin has proven time and again he is the greatest the world has ever produced......now he s not performing so u have the guts to stand agnst him..........even Sir Don Bradman endorsed the fact he s the best in the business.........so u get ur facts rtie or u will be fooled agn ........one piece of advice....use ur brains instead going after the media hype.........
by cool on Apr 05, 2007 03:30 AM Permalink
f*** sachin...........he's not fit to be in the team at all.......he can play only when india plays agains bermuda, kenya etc to add to his tally of centuries.......
by dharma seetharaman on Apr 05, 2007 03:32 AM Permalink
Could you shut up your mouth before making any bkind support to scahin. I am not balming sachin but dont compare him with the soldiers . Do you know the difference between any soldier and the sachin thu bevkoof, koi soldier apna poora jindagi main utna paisa kamaane ka soch bhi nahin sakthe hai, Jitna sachin kamaya hai aur tax relaxation yoh woh kitna sarah suvidaye. Bolne ke pehle socho to sahin. Nahi to chup re.
by on Apr 05, 2007 06:10 AM Permalink
Whats with numbers ! Sachin-Tond-Dhul-Kar saahab you came, you saw, you conquered - now its time to hang your bottoms and relax. Sachin-Tond-Dhul-Kar you are ageing up - it has caughtup so get out with grace instead of becoming a "nagging-nanny"
Sachin you did a great service to India...India and Indians paid u well for your services...Now u are not able to provide any services to India so please do a favour to India and retire.
RE:Sachin Go Home..Please
by amit jain on Apr 05, 2007 02:12 AM Permalink
now i guess u will provide the service........Good news for people of India i guess..........
by amit jain on Apr 05, 2007 02:15 AM Permalink
Stop this attack on Sachin rite........even the soldiers of our army are paid to fite out.........so wats rong wit des players getting money...........no1 s doing social service out here niether u nor myself..........i guess u r more bothered about the money des people make instead of sate of cricket.............des paeople get money becoz of people only so now u need not blame players and sachin especially.......u r urself to be blamed for hero worship.........Sachin has proven time and again he is the greatest the world has ever produced......now he s not performing so u have the guts to stand agnst him..........even Sir Don Bradman endorsed the fact he s the best in the business.........so u get ur facts rtie or u will be fooled agn ........one piece of advice....use ur brains instead going after the media hype.........
by hari babu on Apr 05, 2007 02:27 AM Permalink
"Sachin has proven time and again he is the greatest the world has ever produced".........
Kapil dev too proven......
shall we ask all provgen heros to play for india team.........
No Q of. individualities....... there is a lack of team spirit which made them to go personal records.... tell me if I am wrong.....
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 05, 2007 01:51 AM Permalink
Anybody defnitely have rights to tell Sachin or anybody to retire.
But Chappell and others don;t have rights to say: Seniors acted like Mafia. They divided the team blah blah.
RE:RE:Sachin Go Home..Please
by hari babu on Apr 05, 2007 02:03 AM Permalink
scores against minnows like 66 in 22 overs vs BAN, 89 runs in 20 overs, 7 runs in 4 overs.....hats off to GANGULY
DUCK vs BAN, 4 vs SL and half centuary agianst minnow BER.......hats off to SACHIN.........
2 matches - 20 overs , 0 wickets....hats off to HARBHAJAN......
what else the evidences u want
Thses things revels that how our seniors perform.....
dont support the guilty guyz those who prefer for vitamin-M and personal records........
sachin played world cup matches even with the demise of his father. 25k in international , not an ordinary player can do that or even extraodrinary player can do that ..only a master can do And it was on his shoulder we reached the 2003 world cup finals (though Dravid performed in all the matches and luckily kenya was in semis) BUT WHAT IS HAPPENING TO HIME WHNE THERE IS ADEMAND FROM HIM DURING CRUCNG MATHES ?HAS HE GETTING NERVOUS, FALTERED , WHY ? time and again he proved that he cpould nt deliver at crucnh time.... comon guys I was (or still I am great fan of sachin ) but why he couldn't do like Desilva, ponting or steven waugh?This is defenitely a million dollar question for me .....
RE:guys answer this question
by Libran on Apr 05, 2007 02:26 AM Permalink
Looks like all people commenting against Sachin are jealous about his earning. IF money was a motivator, it should have motivated him to perform at his best as future money would depend on it. If you say "Pet Bhar Gaya" there may be some truth. But the need of the hour is to find real reasons.
by SEL KUMAR on Apr 05, 2007 01:43 AM Permalink
SO WE NEEDTO FIND HOW TO SUPPLMENT VITAMIN -m , INSTEAD OF SACKING COACH ,PLAYERS ETC ETC ETC
by mahesh sawant on Apr 05, 2007 01:44 AM Permalink
yes i agree with u , sachin stop praising now with your 17 yrs career , now its the time when he need to think why he fails in crucial matches, in this world cup inboth match he scored just 0 and 4 ???? probelm is that we comman people are cheated with all by the players , media persons all ... these players earn heavy revenue from BCCI and there Add contracts even they score 0 and our news media .. they sell these players even when the fail or win by the means of SMS .. they are in full profit , even if India lose or win .. they have there experts to discus on all condition and to fool viewers and then SMS your view so double gain from ads as well as SMS .. this is the magic of funy cricket only the coman people worry .. reset all earn