Total 360 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
Too much of it....
by vincent abraham on Apr 03, 2007 11:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I think cricket is just a game which is meant for entertainment for your leisure time But we are making cricket an alternative for work and our day long activity. I believe there are larger and more important issues where we need to focus. Why we consider cricket as the only game in this country.

RE:Too much of it....
by shibu philip on Apr 04, 2007 12:00 AM  Permalink
I do agree with you friend. It is becoming the most important national issue. pl give us a break

RE:Too much of it....
by Njoy Everybody on Apr 04, 2007 12:27 AM  Permalink
Go take a break!

Zee TV Cricket Excellent Idea
by rajkumar shankar on Apr 03, 2007 11:56 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Zee TV Cricket-Excellent--Keep it up
Sahara TV Foot Ball---Pls Plan
Star TV Hockey-Pls Plan
If this Can happens no body can beat INDIA SPORTS Ever--

RE:Zee TV Cricket Excellent Idea
by Javed MEandDad on Apr 04, 2007 12:12 AM  Permalink
Haha...Hockey football u can foegt india winning

criket soon to go teh same way

New Challenge
by SunilB on Apr 03, 2007 11:53 PM  Permalink 

About time somebody shook up the old foggies in BCCI! What we need is a professionally run body-not one filled with politicians and bureaucrats who wouldn't know what to do with a bat when they hold it. Just look at the list of BCCI office bearers and tell me how many of them have played at the highest level. Or for that matter how many of them have played first class cricket for that matter?

It's time the paying public (or is it the viewing public-considering that TV rules supreme) got together and showed the door to these chamchas and chelas and handed over our cricketing future to people who have played the game and who know what it is to be tossed around by the whims and fancies of these guys.

We need a fixed tenure for the selection committee (2-4 years so that they can mould a team) and a stictly non-zonal say in all matters, be it President-ship of BCCI or membership of selection committee. The crux of the problem is the "honorary" title these people hold. Apparently they are in it for the "love" of the game...don't get them wrong!!

Come on guys...lets sweep these buggers off the "board" and get fresh thinking in.

Good Idea!!! But intentions???
by Rajat Mehta on Apr 03, 2007 11:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The idea is good. A competition to BCCI will definitely wake it out of its slumber and lethargy. But am a little sceptical of Zee's intentions. firstly, Looks like he's taking revenge, having lost the bitter rights battle. Secondly, Subash needs to do something to bring up the Zee share prices to good old days of 2000 and get the 2 newly demerged companies - Wire & Wire and Zee News to a respectable market price. Third, bring up the falling TRP. Fourth, make the most money out of cricket.
Looks more of a personal gain rather than having to do something for India, as projected in the conference. Subash migt have got players on board, by ofering them good amount, but I doubt this circus will go too far.

RE:Good Idea!!! But intentions???
by Renuchandran on Apr 04, 2007 01:13 AM  Permalink
Rajat, your apprehensions are well founded. But what more damage can Zee do than the BCCI mess we have now. Overall I feel that it will be better for Cricket in India.

Master Stroke
by Ritesh Krishnamurthy on Apr 03, 2007 11:45 PM  Permalink 

This is a novel move by Zee, to bring in competition like the market. Over a period of time, one of his teams will be able to challenge BCCI's team. Perhaps the best Ranji (or equivalent) team should represent India, rather than individuals from different teams who don't quite seem to work like a team.

God Bless Zee !!
by Sal Suri on Apr 03, 2007 11:44 PM  Permalink 

This proposal is a win-win from all angles. Apart from the benefits to cricket, imagine the benefits it brings to communal harmony. You will have teams that are NOT formed along regional lines but a mixture of talent from all over the sub-continent (and beyond). It won't just promote unity within India but also with the neighboring nations. Imagine a team with Sachin, Jaisurya and Shohaib playing against Yuvraj, Murali and Youhana. To add more spice, imagine Wasim Akram coaching TeamA and Kapil coaching TeamB. To top it all, the 20-20 format is what is required in today's game. Noone has the time and patience to sit through a one-day game anymore.

Zee's new venture
by on Apr 03, 2007 11:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its bad to say something about a new business venture, but Mr.Chandra must have obviously noticed a major problem in Indian Cricket. Domestic Cricketing circuit in India is never well received by the public. Contarary to Mr. Chandra's belief, its not the lack of support or lack of money which is creating problems in Indian Cricket. In fact domestic Cricket is as heavily funded or even more funded than the International Cricket. Just look at the sheer volume of matches spanning accross in more than 6 categories all over India and even more at the Zonal levels. All thos players; even the U-13 Cricketers are paid with hefty fees and are provided with five star facilities both on and off the Ground. An U-13 guy playing for his home association's team can earn anything between Rs. 1-2 lakhs in a year; just imagine the how much the players are geting while playing at the Ranji Trophy level. So, the problem is not money or lack or support or even infrastructure, rather its only about the iconisim - which has become a strange phenomenon in Indian Cricket. The chosen few who make it to the international arena are made as icons of the Country not for what they do in the matches thy play rather, for the things they do outside the ground or rarely some times for on-off performances. Almost all of us know how many test centuries has Sachin Tendulkar has scored and he holds the world record for the most number of Test Centuries in the world. But how many of us can honestly say that we know the name of the player who has scored the highest number of First Class Centuries in the domestic Circuit. The essence is that we all follow some icons and not their game. So, if Zee is venturing out in domestic Cricket, they might be taking a huge risk. One might advice them that they should try something in the international arena, where there are people who follow their icons.But again since they have their owen channel, its quite possible that they hit success as well. And for the people who say that we are promoting Cricket at the expense of other sports; one might point out that you have to buy a ticket costing anything between Rs. 50 to 500 to watcth a match in the National football or Hockey league; where as you can watch it for free in case of a Renji Tropy, Deodher Trophy or the Irani trophy and one can still find their icons playing in them....

RE:Zee's new venture
by suneetri on Apr 03, 2007 11:51 PM  Permalink
you are quite right.
But can be grossly wrong,when you know during creeping old age;that Cricket in india since Sir gavaskars time has ventured to make it a Reality Show.

Cricket League will be a flop show
by Javed MEandDad on Apr 03, 2007 11:25 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dont compare cricket league to a football league.

football match gets over in 90 mins while ODI cricket takes a full day !!

Ppl simply dont have enuf time to watch all this matches...which consists of rag tag teams of mixed nationalities.

Just look at the World cup......So less ppl are following the WC even though all top teams are competing.

Cricket doesnt have a strong club culture like Football....ppl like to watch internationals and not local ranji or county cricket.

- also the foreign players commitment /availabilty is doubtful....most probably it will be filled frm players from PAK/SRI LANKA/B'desh as opposed to those from Australia/SF/NZ.

Lastly...on Indian pitches everyone is a TEndulkar ....so do something about the pitches to makle the matches interesting !!

Success of this league is doubtful...though the concept is novel...nobody watches ranji...doubtful if anyone would watch all this tamasha cricket wasting a whole day!!!!!

RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by suneetri on Apr 03, 2007 11:38 PM  Permalink
javed ,me, dad ,cricket and burger and by that time the 20-20 gets over.
But the crisis starts when it starts all over again the next day.when will i do my job.

RE:RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by Javed MEandDad on Apr 03, 2007 11:41 PM  Permalink
u sure its 20-20...??

20-20 will not improve indians bowling or anyone's bowling..since its a batsman oriendted format !

Still participation of main players from AUS/SF/NZ is doubtful...most probably will ahve 2 do with internations from PAK/SL /Bdesh

RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by NITIN AGARWAL on Apr 03, 2007 11:30 PM  Permalink
Its a 20-20 game javed saheb..no need to watch for a full day..:-)

RE:RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by Vivek Chaudhary on Apr 03, 2007 11:36 PM  Permalink
My guess is that he is going to use prime-time for this. Game might start around 4 or 5PM till 9 or 10PM.

RE:RE:RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by Indian on Apr 03, 2007 11:59 PM  Permalink
You are right vivek

thats a good idea we will get rid of K serials from ekta kapoor...good going chandra in india 60% are males of whom 90 % are helpless aginst madam ekta and her serials we want some sports to have fun.

by suneetri on Apr 03, 2007 11:39 PM  Permalink
subhash aapse khush hua-welcome aboard Zee board---we have taken sharadiya too.(by the way the idea is his promotion.

RE:RE:RE:Cricket League will be a flop show
by Indian on Apr 03, 2007 11:59 PM  Permalink
You are right vivek

thats a good idea we will get rid of K serials from ekta kapoor...good going chandra in india 60% are males of whom 90 % are helpless aginst madam ekta and her serials we want some sports to have fun.

We have been there done that...
by aim on Apr 03, 2007 11:19 PM  Permalink 

...er, aren't SAARC games the sub-continental version of olympics? India keeps winning medals like USSR used to do in olympics. Heck we win medals left-right-center inspite of our diets comprising of sambaar and mysore bonda and having layers of fat in our bellies.

If you have seen the nubile female gymnists in SAARC games , you would know what I mean. I hope it Zee doesn't screw up like SAARC.

That's Good. Please bring reforms in
by Ravi Kumar on Apr 03, 2007 11:16 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It sounds good in fact. But, the ZEE should not use the players for its Product Promotional Purpose(PPP).
To change the present scenario of Indian Cricket (In fact all the players who represent India Internationally), I suggest the following:-

1. Their remuneration should depend on performance.
2. Should not appear in media for profits.
3. Unless they have International tours, they should participate in National leagues.
4. Selection of team should be completely upon National Selectors.
5. A Captain should be CAPTAIN in the ground only.

RE:That's Good. Please bring reforms in
by suneetri on Apr 03, 2007 11:29 PM  Permalink
Whosane ? certainly, You sane.
But sorry,no Indian in India is worth the soil---because he can't think straight.

RE:That's Good. Please bring reforms in
by sumant mishra on Apr 03, 2007 11:27 PM  Permalink
Mr Chandra has let the cat among the pigeons, to say the least.
Lets say, if league cricket does come to India, BCCI would become like our very old Doordarshan, "rule until there is no competition" and then be relegated to a third class documenatry channel.
Buton the flip side, betting can be rampant too.So would be steroids and drugs, and the interest in so called drab world cups, where only 6 to 7 standard teams participate.
Way to go Mr Chandra, we will wait and see whether you deliver or not.
Meanwhile, the BCCI guys upload their resume in www.rediffjobs.com.Enough of sarkari a job!!!!

Total 360 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>