Chappel%u2019s comments against senior players are nothing but the reflection of the psyche of a bully. Whole country should stand by Sachin at this point to save Indian cricket %u2013 Dr Arijit Ghosh , Pune
Too much importance has been given to cricket players in this country.There are some fantastic world class palyers but with due respect these are not the same players anymore.It has been proven before the world cup that these palyers are no longer an asset for the team but somehow the selecter seems to think their presence is required because of the names.If their presence was required then they should have been included as reserve players to boost the team morale.Smething should be done about the selectors too.They are the main culprit.A player is selected because of their whims and reason.Its time to change and players too are aware that changes is the only solution if we have to be considered a threat in cricket.If this murky situiation continue cricket fans will go haywire and anything can happen.Greg Chappal is a great guy and he is not responsible for this embarrasing loss.A coach can only help but the players are the one who are on the field but somehow Greg is too controversial and the players don't respect him and that will not help the team.Please sack the players and select a new team.The thousand of talented youngsters need to be given a chance.I just want to get away from this topic but somehow i can't escape it.Its everywhere.One can ignore it but cannot avaoid it all together.Need a break.
RE:sentoff
by ramprasad varma on Apr 04, 2007 05:44 PM Permalink
your comment shows 2 things: you have no idea about the technicality of cricket and you are too used to some players scoring 50's and 100's all the time which is not a problem but expecting that every time is. Some players were scoring all the time because they were great. Now they might not be scoring as much and they might not be as great but they are not useless. They might be of the same caliber as other normal cricketers you might find. Failure has been glorified since it was in the world cup. Experience of senior players cannot be replaced and thrown out. Why do you think B'desh hardly wins any matches against the super 8? Leave the odd win. Thaat is because they lack senior players to groom the youngsters. Some thing is wrong after the new coach came in which needs to be addressed. Most of the senior players have atleast 1 more year to go. Bottom line is reduce your own expectations.
RE:Chappel should be out of Our Team..
by rizwan ahmed on Apr 04, 2007 02:43 PM Permalink
You are true Shinto..We should give a chance to Our senior players.
RE:Chappel should be out of Our Team..
by Rajiv Tirupathi on Apr 04, 2007 07:09 PM Permalink
Seniors players are not at fault. Sachin,Dravid,Saurav shouldnt be blamed,first of all cricket shouldnt be taken so seriously as to attack players or burn their homes. What type of game is this where players are demi gods if they win matches and Devils if they loose. Advice to cricketers " Stay away from this type of crowd which act as Back Stabbers". All the Best to the India Cricket Team for future matches.
Sourav should be the next captain of Our Cricket Team...Only he is capable of leading India to Victory.If Saurav would have been the WC Captain,atleast india would have been into the Super Eight.
RE:Ganguly Should be the Captain..
by varun krishan on Apr 04, 2007 02:30 PM Permalink
Hah... That is the joke of the decade.. India at least needs a performing captain.. Sourav should be kicked out for the kind of politic plays he got into the indian team.. He just played safe cricket in WC to shield himself from getting dropped. He played for himself not the country.. The only person who was playing slow when the pitch was good(against Bermuda) and playing fast when pitch was bad(against Sri Lanka).
by Suman Bhat on Apr 04, 2007 02:24 PM Permalink
ganguly should retire ganguly and his gang deliberarly played negative cricket and gifted match to bangaladesh to humiliate dravid. early world cup exit to prove dravid a poor captain ang ganguly stat of succes did not harm. when team players only betray the team why u blame coach and captain?? the root cause of problem is politician ganguly he dtiched dalmiay and dravid he can do it his chelas like bajji, dhonik zahir, yuvraj sewag??/ dravid anchored the scueess of ganguly as succes ful captain. but ganguly ditched dravid and WC is best event for that.team won 18 odis by cahsing without ganguly under dravid captaincy. ganguly had great comeback but always played for self , saving wkt, scoring runs to cement his place. in SA it is sreesant, pathan and dinesh karthick ganguly is promoting groupism. he did not built any team When ganguly was out and dravid made captain team was ranked 8 in ICC ranking, now even after early exit from WC it is ranked ^th and odi winning average difference is only 1.22% for dravid when comapred ganguly 5 yrs success. ganguly led team for more nos matches and had 38 wins againsst weaker side like kenya, namibia, Indian captains in ODIs
Names Matches Won Lost Drawn/Tied Won% Kapil Dev 74 40 32 2 54.05% M Azharuddin 173 89 76 6/2 51.45% SR Tendulkar 73 23 43 6/1 31.51% SC Ganguly 146 76 65 5 52.05% R Dravid 65 33 28 4 50.77% http://www.hindustantimes.in/htcricket/74_1959563.htm india team did not play as unit the body language and attitude of some players on the field was not encouraging ( as if they were playing a practice mathch) A captain is as good as his teammates some ganguly %u2018s marketing agents ( ex cricketers ) are screaming that draivd is not inspirational captain and ganguly should be reinstalled. If is player to get motivated and decide to play for team or self ( without help of coach and captian) IF PLAYERS CAN GET MOTIVATION/ INSPIRATION TO PLAY NEGATIVE CRICKET TO PLAY DELIBERATLY NEGATIVE CIRCKET to ditch captain and betray team, why cant%u2019 they be motivedted for playing for team. IF some players are not readyt o commit to team but not support captain and team why don%u2019t blame the individual players??
by sunil pradhan on Apr 04, 2007 02:33 PM Permalink
ur sick don't know anything. do u forget he owned a test match in aust against austrlia ? dravid can't be captain like ganguly. dravid haveing some fundamental problem do u forgot he was not taken to one day match earlier but ganguly gave him lift.
by sudeep siddu on Apr 04, 2007 03:09 PM Permalink
Hello Mr. Sunil Pradhan, Make ur statement on the stats of truth and not on your dream or imagination. Dravid was not lifted by ganguly in one dayer's he came back into one day team because of his gusty performance in Newzealand when all of the others failed before the world cup of 1999. And then he cemented his place by making highest run getter in world cup 1999. (Till then sourav was not even the vice captain of the team). He helped sourav to win one day matches with the help of 7 batsman which he could afford only because dravid took up wicket keeping. No one supported dravid he came back on his batting skills and not because of this dirty politics. Please make sure what you are speaking is truth before making any comment.
by hari on Apr 04, 2007 03:43 PM Permalink
if he gifted the match rahul should have batted to get a win over the bangla.... I think you may not know because of rahuls slow batting we might have lost quite a few matchs u r talking about dada slow batting.... what he can do when wickets are looseing..... U just dont know any thing about CRICKET... JUST SHOUT UP AND STOP WRITING THE BLOGS
by carol devon on Apr 04, 2007 03:50 PM Permalink
Mr Hari i think it is you who doesn't know anything abt cricket.Don't think in imaginary terms.V r giving statistics to prove our point.U on the other hand just support ganguly becoz u have to and are his fan
by SHAM SUNDER on Apr 04, 2007 09:29 PM Permalink
Ganguly should be hanged naked in public he is the one who spoiled everything after Greg took over ..He never let cricket be a game.. he went to every politician to come into the team ..he was smiling went india thrown from WC
by carol devon on Apr 04, 2007 03:38 PM Permalink
Ganguly becoming captain again could be the worst thing happening to Indian cricket at the moment.He is so full of himself.Don't support Ganguly only becoz u r a fan and come up with crazy ideas that he led india to glory only becoz of himself.Let me give u the real statistics..Take World Cup 2003 for example..Against Zim ganguly went for 23 runs whereas Sachin and Rahul batted till the end scoring 88 and 43 not out respectively.India won..India against England.Ganguly out for 19 runs.Sachin 59 Dravid 62 and Nehra 6 wickets ensured India a place in the Super Six..Against pak. Ganguly 0 Dravid 44 not out Yuraj 50 runs.India won.These were the pool matches..Now super six.Against sri lanka sachin 98 sehwag 65. India won.Against nz ganguly 3 Kaif 68 n.o Dravid 53n.o.India won and went into semifinals and in the final 24..He played well against Kenya and Nambia..and in all this rahul dravid was a wicketkeeper..I don't think Ganguly contributed one percent.Check the records..Don't blindly support one player.
RE:Sachin should be there in 2011 WC
by krishna tripathi on Apr 04, 2007 02:30 PM Permalink
yes why not..if every body plays till 40, why cant he?? and none of the greats like waugh and all played well in the last couple of years and further there is no replacement for sachin..
by prakash rachayya kadakol on Apr 04, 2007 02:51 PM Permalink
The moment Steve Waugh was seen as a liability he was shown the door. steve waugh was the ultimate cricketer in hour of crisis, Allan Border turned the Australian Cricket's fortunes, Lara is still single handedly capable of changing the course of a match and even in this world cup except against Srilanka when he was stumped briliantly by Sangakkara he has played well. So dont compare the "SO CALLED" BEST BATSMAN IN THE WORLD MR SACHIN TENDULKAR who except for those 2 matches in Sharjah against Australia and 2003 match against Pakistan has never played well in any big matches. So 3 innings in 17 years !!! I think it is high time he quits the game and save Indian Cricket
by ramesh muthukrishnan on Apr 04, 2007 06:49 PM Permalink
Hello Prakash You first keep watching or reading the news as correctly. You only saw the 3 matches. Sachin is the batsman who led the team in to the final of 2003 and semifinal in 1996. No body in the world is compare with sachin. this team was entered the last world cup final. do you remember. IN india this is the habit of criticise the best people means that this people are genius. so please avoid this type of criticism. Can you tell how many time lara left the team to victory.
by abc on Apr 04, 2007 05:23 PM Permalink
To prakash rachayya kadakol do u want cricket to go the way hockey went from top to nowhere now... then sachin should better retire!!!
by krishna tripathi on Apr 04, 2007 02:18 PM Permalink
true man...all these people here shud talk sense. can anyone of u tell me the name of any, i said any, great player retiring at 33?? no way!! waugh retired at 38, border at 38, ponting still playing at 34 lara playing at 35, why the hell shud these indians go?? these rainas and kaifs are no good. they are tried many times. and why this so called young blood uthhapa failed??
Against the flow of the Nation's ethos rediff.com brings out long interviews of some Amins or any other fellow who has a word of support for Dravid & Chappell. The deadly duo who has slumped India to it's lowest ebb in recent times. The useless captain and coach couldn%u2019t utilize champion players like Sachin, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Sreeshant (made to look as a tourist in WI), Pathan (almost ruined the career of this talented all rounder) & of course Ganguly (one of the greatest ODI batsman India has ever produced & only player who showed consistency in almost all matches he played after comeback and main reason for the turnaround of the squad after a series of dismal & obnoxious performances till ODI Series at SA, still unnecessarily being criticized by the South Indian media who rightly fear the exit of their impotent darling Dravid from captaincy).
The captain and the coach could not even read the pitch (took the blunderous decision to bat first in Bangladesh match) and shows utmost reluctance to take suggestions from the more capable seniors.
It would be even more damaging to Indian Cricket, if any damage is still left to be done, to retain either Dravid or Chappell.
Also those who think Ganguly succeeded as a Captain due to performances from Dravid and all others, please note they of them are still there in Dravid era, then what stopped them from winning the matches against Pakistan (where we lost in Test series, won in Ganguly era), atleast making to the semis of ICC trophy (reached to final in Ganguly era), Super 8 of WC (again finalist in 2003 - Ganguly era). List is even longer 0-4 with SA in ODIs, 1-4 with the weakest ever West Indies in last 50 years.
Also was there any contribution even from batsman Dravid in last 3 series including WC? Or the senior members of the Team (read Sachin and Ganguly) are responsible for his batting slump even?
Before supporting Dravid or Chappell there should be some cricketing logic than some regionalist emotions.
RE:Dravid & Chappell must go
by Suman Bhat on Apr 04, 2007 02:25 PM Permalink
ganguly should retire Ganguly had big role in defeat in mathch against Bangladesh. He gifted match t o bangaldesh deliberately playing negative cricket just to humiliate dravid and to take revenge against chappell ?? but he betrayed the whole team ganguly wasted more balls than runs he scored poor fielding and poor running wkt and unwilling to take singles cost more runs to team also created pressure on batsman on other side He did not bother to try and hold an easy catch during agarka bowling , Never tried to accelerate run rate He did not tried to hold simple catch during agarkar%u2019s bowling 60 runs in 130 balls how it can help a team cause?? Ganguly had one stage for having batted through nearly 11 overs to make a mere 7 runs. Yuvraj Scored 47 runs in 10 overs India Scored 191 in 50 overs Ganguly Scored 66 runs in 21 overs wasted more balls than runs he scored., Yuvraj Scored 47 runs in 10 overs Rest of team scored 50 in 19 overs Against burmada Ganguly scored 89 in 114 balls wasted 25 balls that is around 4.6 runs per over... compare it to the indian teams average of 8.26 Ganguly was struggling while batting against burmuda, and got 3 lifes Ganguly 7 in 23 balls against SL Ganguly did return with team but nest day when arrived in kolkat airport media said he got a warm welcome He was not team uniformGanguly success is b'cuz of dravid contribution in tests and sachin contribution in oids.. Not B'CUZ OF HIS LEADERSHIP OR AGRESSION GANGULY %u2018S SELFISH, OPPERTUNIST, CUNNING POLITICIAN AND PROMOTING GROUPISM AND NOT BATHER ED IF TEAM WINS OR NOT GANGULY IS MAIN CULPRIT IN DEBACLE OF WC HE SHOULD BE OUT OF IND TEAM FOR TESTS AND ODIS team went final in WC2003 bcuz sachin batted brilliently. he scored 33%of total runs and won MOS and best batsman. NOT B'CUZ OF GANGULY CAPTAINCY OR LEADERSHIP, srinath bowled well and dravid ketp wkts to accomodate one more batsman No player played negative cricket that team should loolse. But this time some players were not with team or captain . And WC event is best place to humiliate captain. One win would made team to in Sleague and there won%u2019t be any change in some players deliberately played negative cirkcet and betrayed team and ditched captain. But this time it is ganguly sachin, dhoni, harbjan betryaed team and ditched the captaint non cooperation of some players to captain is failue and cause for defeat who is running in front for captaincy race ????
I Names Matches Won Lost Drawn/Tied Won% SC Ganguly 146 76 65 &nbs p; 5 52.05% R Dravid 65 33 28 4 50.77% Ganguly had advantage of leading team for maximu nos of matches and 5 yr lengthier period and 31 wins against weaker team dravid only captian for 16 months and difference in winning average is only 1.22% Ganguly is seofish, opportunist politician he can ditch dalmiya and dravid and do it anybody
by Rajesh Kumar on Apr 04, 2007 03:36 PM Permalink
Suman, Why don't you change the message. You are being too repetitive and you also write irrelevant things and your only aim is to criticize India's most successful captain Saurav. Please stop writing messages.
by prakash kadakol on Apr 04, 2007 03:01 PM Permalink
Look who ever you are get your facts right. In the last 3 series before world cup except South Africa where every body failed except Dinesh Karthick check the averages of Dravid and in the world cup in the must win game against Srilanka it was Dravid with 60 and Sehwag with 48 were the only 2 Batsman who played well and Saurav played well against BANGLADESH(66 IN 129 Balls) and Bermuda where his was the slowest strike rate. Agreed Saurav when he was at his best was a Great Captain but to say Dravid had no significant role in those victories is nonsense. Whether in Australia wher he scored 232 and 72 Not out in the test that we won or that 270 he scored in Pakistan or in World Cup 2003 as the Wicket keeper Batsaman his role can not be discounted. Som get your facts riht before you say something
by carol devon on Apr 04, 2007 03:36 PM Permalink
Ganguly becoming captain again could be the worst thing happening to Indian cricket at the moment.He is so full of himself.Don't support Ganguly only becoz u r a fan and come up with crazy ideas that he led india to glory only becoz of himself.Let me give u the real statistics..Take World Cup 2003 for example..Against Zim ganguly went for 23 runs whereas Sachin and Rahul batted till the end scoring 88 and 43 not out respectively.India won..India against England.Ganguly out for 19 runs.Sachin 59 Dravid 62 and Nehra 6 wickets ensured India a place in the Super Six..Against pak. Ganguly 0 Dravid 44 not out Yuraj 50 runs.India won.These were the pool matches..Now super six.Against sri lanka sachin 98 sehwag 65. India won.Against nz ganguly 3 Kaif 68 n.o Dravid 53n.o.India won and went into semifinals and in the final 24..He played well against Kenya and Nambia..and in all this rahul dravid was a wicketkeeper..I don't think Ganguly contributed one percent.Check the records..Don't blindly support one player.
by varun krishan on Apr 04, 2007 02:38 PM Permalink
Tell me which match Ganguly won as a captain without the efforts of Dravid and Tendulkar. The truth is Ganguly clung on to the captaincy while these guys were the true ones who won the match for him. And please a good performance of an individual is not captain oriented. If that would be the case then Dravid's performances and records are better than Ganguly's. If that would have been the case then Ganguly would have never won any match coz he was the only captain always getting out on ducks and sitting back at pavilion and watching. Wat ganguly knows better is playing politics and negative cricket. Sourav should be kicked out for the kind of politic plays he got into the indian team.. He just played safe cricket in WC to shield himself from getting dropped. He played for himself not the country.. The only person who was playing slow when the pitch was good(against Bermuda) and playing fast when pitch was bad(against Sri Lanka).
Sachin, you have gained more than what you have given to Indian cricket. Please be practical. Currently you are not that Tendulkar to whom we want. It is the matter of nation. We love you. And for us you retire. It will be better for Indian cricket. Don't try to fool indian public. They are so emotional. They will cry. Please retire. 17 years you spent on playing cricket. 12 years for playing cricket and 5 years in india team for not playing cricket. How many days you want to stay here. We know you are trying to succeed. But it is worthless. Try that at your home. International team is not the place to try. Here to perform. Alvida Sachin. Play with kambli in Mumbai. That will be better holiday plan.
RE:Sachin should retire.
by Atul Thakur on Apr 04, 2007 01:38 PM Permalink
let him play for another six months and if you still feel the same then tell him to retire.... just give him some more time coz of all that he has done for india............ he has played at least 100 match winning knocks you can check that and that is more than anybody else in this world....many of those were played under pressure only.... its only that people wanted to see 384 match winning knocks which is not possible
RE:RE:Sachin should retire.
by Special on Apr 04, 2007 02:30 PM Permalink
Sorry to say, I have never seen Sachin's match winning knock...Tell me one of the match where he drove the innings throughout and snatched the win from the paw of opponent. NEVER...IT NEVER HAPPEND. He just scores centuries if India Bat first and will score centure in the second innings where the opponent is a weeker team. Or he will score a good runs in the second inning but will never nevigate the team to win the match. He is such a rediculous guy, who can know to play for himself, which Ganguly has started doing now.
by saahil singh on Apr 04, 2007 02:06 PM Permalink
can you plz Forward me those stats which u say that under pressure he has performed. i will be hghly obliged to you. my id is descentscorpio@gmail.com. thanks in advance.
by Special on Apr 04, 2007 02:33 PM Permalink
Saahil, You are absolutely right. I did not see your comments before, otherwise i would have not wasted my time just to write abt Tendy. He is mere a waste in the team. Neverever performed under pressure. See his gesture when he got out against SL. I think, if we check the statistics, he will be the No. 1 player to got himself out as BOWLED. He was just trumbling after the deliver. If you cant keep ur front foot firmly, why you try to go that forward ?? Why you call urself a gr8 player and says I have spent my life playing cricket.
by prakash kadakol on Apr 04, 2007 03:04 PM Permalink
I WISH SHARAD PAWAR AND HIS TEAM READ THIS. Perfect Boss, let's hope sense prevails and Sachin retire before he is shown the door
by Shinto Govind on Apr 04, 2007 02:38 PM Permalink
Dont you have shame to criticise him now???When he was hitting centuries you were appreciating like hell.Now he is trying to recover from his injuries,you have to support him.Dont ever criticise him.....
by Karthik ramaprasad on Apr 04, 2007 04:53 PM Permalink
Suvendu Sahu, Remember Sachin has been playing for India for more than 17 yrs....and a flop in couple of matches is absolutely fine....the same happened to Ricky Pointing when Australia were touring India in 2001...when we was out for zero 3 in a row....No one remembers it now because he is very successful now....
Also, for all of us(forget about cricketers)....we donot have good days and bad days...but that does not account that we are bad performers....if the percentage of bad is much over percentage of good...then its time to retire....I believe Sachin is still in positive and we need to trail him more....
RE:Saale Sab Chor hai !!!!!!!!!
by kuntal banerjee on Apr 04, 2007 12:46 PM Permalink
These politicians are virus to cricket..first get them out of the system....otherwise we cannot revive in world cricket
RE:Saale Sab Chor hai !!!!!!!!!
by the indian on Apr 04, 2007 12:53 PM Permalink
Dinesh Kaarthick and Yuvraj are topping the list on cricketvotes.com go vote now..