Chappell or no Chappel is not a big issue. But the point is Indian players are really weak in their mentality. With age and experience players from other teams start performing better than ever. In India, with just 1 or 2 years of fame, Indian players start visiting fashion shows and ad campaigns more often than the playgorund. Indian players complain about too many matches because they miss revenue from more advertisments and fashion shows. No coach can help this situation.
We think captain is great when he wins 50% of the matches. Look at ponting(79% win at home, 73% in away and 94% in neutral venue). Inzamam (70% at home, 52% in away and 63% at neutral), G. Smith(81% home, 38% away and 63% at neutral), Vaughn(57% home, 58% away, 83% neutral), Ganguly(50% home, 50% away, 59% neutral), Dravid(62% home, 38% away, 55% in neutral). This clearly shows indian captains are near bottom of the list. There is a contentment in the Indiam team. They are happy with their records and that makes the difference.
Instead of Sacking Chappel, BCCI should Sack our famous five. Replace them with youngsters who may not be as talented as them. At least we all will be spared off the expectation whenever India takes the field. Any win will be bonus like bangladesh. Biggest dissappointment is the big let down by the famous five due to high expectation from them. Remember a TV add showing them as tigers. Tigers they are of course, but paper tigers.
already 130 messages to this articles,only mad men are writing like this.everyone is enjoying with their life and u people are wasting ur time by writing such messages.i'll bet even 1 lakh message eveyday like this cant change BCCI,selector and chairman's mind.if want to say something,then just do it.because yesterday noone is there to read all these messages and it'll go to dustbin.agian new article and again feebacks.life is so boring for rediff journalists and you people with your feebacks.
face the truth and then report abuse if anyone wants.
RE:all are boring news......
by h r on Apr 03, 2007 03:02 PM Permalink
tera kya hoga kaalia?
Telling mad people that they r boring shows u r dumb. Remember whatever u say abt others reflects who u r. I think u r bored n so blaming it on others. U must be a boring fellow
Greg Chappel has been a real professional in terms of his contribution to the Indian Cricket. He is trying to pitch in the Professional arena which the Australian Team has and we in India dont seem to understand it. His Vision is for long term and get the best in each player. Look at the Australain Team , its always been bend of Experience and Youth. This is what chappel is aiming for but our great so called Seniors play for their places and not for the country .......
Give me all the powers to choose a team based on merit ...... Agreeed this will take time but trust that we will have a competitive team if not world beaters ...... Australia didnt become over night champions. If they can show the door to greats like Mark / Steve Waugh, Damien Martyn (well he retired on his based on the future of his career) y cant we do the same for players in India.
I would strongly recommend that Greg stays ..... A coach can suggest strategies , its for the the players to implement. As the author says teacher can ask someone to learn and improve , if the student is not ready or cannot pick up what is taught to him , how can u blame the teacher?
Only way Indian Cricket can improve is give Greg or any other coach full powers to take the team to be competitive first , then later we can think of being world beaters or champions . Agreed?
RE:Continue With Chappel
by always_right on Apr 03, 2007 03:02 PM Permalink
Chappel failed big time and its a fact. If he was given a bad team, he should have raised this issue beforehand, not after the debacle. Thats shows wither he doesn't have guts to speak out his mind or he doesn't care. He was just interested in finishing his term and get richer. If all the responsibility lies with players, then why the hell coach is required?
RE:RE:Continue With Chappel
by pranav joshi on Apr 03, 2007 03:22 PM Permalink
He would have raised that issue, but that would have created bigger issue then present issue, and would have demoralized the players
The truth as Chappel said after the SL clash "We did not play good cricket" sums up all the reasons for the debacle. It is a collective failure and we, Indians are very much have a wonderful record of that. Ricky P was also right when he said "Indians are poor travellers". We have not won anything convincingly out of our country (barring 1983 & 1985). We are poor travellers because of our bowling lacks killer instinct. 192 against Bangla was a good score to restrict them and they were chasing. Unless and until we have QUALITY bowling talent, we can forget winning abroad. But the talent is simply not there. The MRF pace foundation has at the best only produced mediocre talents mainly because that is the level of talent available here. IMO, there has to be a Bowling coach and a batting coach.
Coach was a part of the team selection process. Definitely he would have put in his views during the team selection.
After having selected the team the entire onusis on the coach an the team to perform on the field.
IUt is for the coach to bring out the best in the team members. No point in ruing after exiting from the tournament and blaming senior / junior players etc.
If the team could not gel into a well-knit unit the entire blame for this falls on the coach and a slighter resonsibility for the same on the captain
Although the captain calls the shots on the ground, there is no government legislation barring th coach fro sending in his views to the captain.
Team India coach has miserably failed to build a team worth mentioning and a team worth even participating in the WC, let alone winning it.