Total 903 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
Absolutely correct
by RAMIT KAMBOJ on Apr 04, 2007 02:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The article is spot on. I know that there is not one player in the team who has that killer instinct. Remember Zaheer spraying it all over in the last cup final. I mean if you have to tell a 30 year old man with 300 matches under his belt about how to bowl or if the so called star of your team is making 10 runs and then gets bowled out, its ridiculous. Sachin, yes he is a great batsman, but not a great player. Try recalling when was the last time he won a critical match for India and you would not find one occassion where he has raised his hand. Its about time we start looking at current performance rather than the history. History does not get you anything. I know the axe is on a lot of people but I think it is the board that needs to be kicked for making cricket such a stupidly commercial activity. I would like to see the corporate culture coming into the BCCI where people who deliver are the people who make money. Otherwise, the dumb fans that we have out there will keep on burning effigies, bringing down houses and what all, but they will never see the world cup coming to India.

So wakey wakey BCCI and Mr. Pawar, and good morning to all the fans. Its time all of you start accepting the reality and get practical about it.

RE:Absolutely correct
by Selvakumar .M on Apr 04, 2007 02:03 AM  Permalink
say something new dude....

RE:Absolutely correct
by Gorango Thakurta on Apr 04, 2007 02:12 AM  Permalink
Why do you use the word "dumb fans"? Are you Einstein or Bill Gates or what?

I see you for what you are: a stupid guy that is ashamed of anything "desi". You, like your friend Lavakari, will spread malice about our Indian achievers, just to get a chance to suck on a white man's...

What needs to be done
by borncheater on Apr 04, 2007 01:18 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We NEED Greg Chappell. Greg Chappell is right for India. One cannot and should not blame the coach for the WC debacle when our so called professional players couldn't put away Bangladesh or Sri Lanka when it mattered. One can blame the captain or the coach for not inspiring the team, but these are professional players. They should be disciplined enough to play to win. That said, I don't think players are completely at fault either. I think what we lack is proper infrastructure to foster competitiveness, professionalism, discipline, desire to win, desire to be the best, mental strength, and the pride.

What we need is a 10 year plan to put in place a viable cricket infrastructure. While we are at it, we should do the same for hockey, soccer, and tennis. Ahh, now I am dreaming. But it%u2019s a must. Here%u2019s what I think we need:

Organized leagues at elementary, secondary, and high school levels:

* District wide tournament & championship
* Winner of district plays for state championship

College tournament & championship modeled after US%u2019s NCAA (National Colligate Athletic Association)

* Colleges and Universities divided by Conferences (one tier to start out with and couple more to follow in later years)
* Inter conference tournament & championship
* National championship based on conference champions

Each team to have a head coach, assistant coaches, specialized coaches, trainer, physical therapist, and maybe even a sports psychologist.

* Establish training school for coaches, trainers%u2026 etc
* Foster independent thinking

Of course to put this kind of infrastructure in place we need capital%u2026 lots of it. That%u2019s where state government comes in place. If state cannot provide necessary capital then have commercial companies sponsor schools fields, college stadiums, donate equipments (Nike and Rebook do it regularly in other countries), supply expertise and training.

Building an infrastructure like this will be painful and time consuming, but the benefits are plenty. Not only we%u2019ll instill disciple & professionalism at an early age, we will also develop mental capacity to compete. Furthermore, as much as we need our players to be smart, athletic and professional, we also need smart and resourceful coaches. A system like this one will force our coaches to think differently, to think smart, to apply different strategies, to make pitches support their own players. Think about it this way, if my opponent has couple of good spinners, I will have a seaming pitch; vice versa. A system like this one will foster strategies, plans and competitiveness.

All this is fine and dandy yet useless if you don%u2019t have a professional league based on the similar principle. We desperately need a professional cricket league. Now we are talking about a touchy issue here. If couple of private companies were to get together and start a league, BCCI may put a ban (to play for a national team) on any player playing in that league. Personally I don%u2019t care if BCCI owns the league, yet have the private ownership of the teams. I am sure we can easily have a league for cricket, hockey, and soccer modeled after US%u2019s NFL, NBA, MLS, or MLB.

RE:What needs to be done
by Arup Palit on Apr 04, 2007 10:30 AM  Permalink
first KICK the coach out of India. then think what needs to be done. but first and foremost thing, this coach need at least ONE KICK FROM EVERY INDIAN and then he is allowed to go to australia.

RE:What needs to be done
by Manpower Consultants on Apr 04, 2007 01:44 AM  Permalink
do N AMIN knowS how to hold a bat. i think he don't then someone tell him to get coached by greg because he will be able to teach, the foreign chaplus.

Why greg has told dravid to bat first against bangladesh and dravid you don't have drain. those were newly laid pitches when nobody knows how it will behave, you should have opted for field first.

you were (i use the word "were" because you were captain till WC) the captain, you will get bashing india. Try to detach yourself from greg because he is aussie he will not allow INDIA to near to australia in playing terms. TRY TO LEARN FROM SAURAV, HE GAVE STEVE AND AUSTRALIA TIT FOR TAT. WHAT THEY HAD TOLD HE RECIPROCATED WITH SAME VENOM.

Even snail would beat Ganguly
by jose ferns on Apr 04, 2007 01:09 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This bengalis need some one from bengal..so let it be..throw ganguly out and bring Manoj Tiwari in!!!!!! But atleast throw that tortosie out

RE:Even snail would beat Ganguly
by anil kumar on Apr 04, 2007 01:21 AM  Permalink
Ganguly has played deleberately versus srilanka scoring only 6 runs out of 23 balls .He is selfish ,lazy and should be thrown out of the team

RE:RE:Even snail would beat Ganguly
by Lotiya Pathan on Apr 04, 2007 06:47 AM  Permalink
all above three guys are pucca southi.. they r blaming ganguly / tendulkar for WC debuckable. Still they r supporting the main culprit chappel and his puppet.

Ganguly Has become a liabilty
by jose ferns on Apr 04, 2007 12:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In the match against bermuda..Leverock took an outstanding catch..and another one to dismiss shewag..but the same type catch , ganguly dropped!! i mean he did not attempt it..if ganguly fielding was pathic..his running between wickets was worse!! Does this chap can lead india???? He should be thrown in the Bay of Bengal..

RE:Ganguly Has become a liabilty
by Sukhoi on Apr 04, 2007 12:56 AM  Permalink
So all fanatic fans like you should be dumped into Indian Ocean too!!!

Sukhoi

by Dan Lewis on Apr 04, 2007 01:17 AM  Permalink
How about the catch Dravid dropped on BNG day?
How much runs did he make on with BNG day?
Why did he choose to bat that day?
How about his running between the wicket on Bermuda day?Did you watch Yvrajs run out that day when Dravid was on the other end?
By the way did you ever play cricket in your life?What was Dravids use in the whole world cup- Fileding,bowlling,batting,wicket-keeping and captaincy.Tell me honestly in which one of those areas he looked comfortable.
Ganguly has a proven record as a captain and as a player.His running between the wicket was never great.But that did not make India's early exit in the world cup.After this debacle stop worshiping Dravid.It was the testimony of his incompetence as a captain and as player.Better you go and take a nap you may think better.

by Sukhoi on Apr 04, 2007 01:21 AM  Permalink
Dan,

You have good points here !! (am not a blind supporter of anyone)

Sukhoi

RE:RE:Ganguly Has become a liabilty
by Sukhoi on Apr 04, 2007 02:07 AM  Permalink
Dan Lewis,

You have gone too much here by swearing all Indians!! This is highly objectionable & unpardonable - you really deserve to get worst & stinky boots (I can say this level only, because am not taught like your levels!!!)

You proved yourself that you are one among them! Shame on you to be called as a human being !! Now stop your mess & take a hike or go chill somewhere with a glass of your fav. drink!!!

You want my name? What the hell can you do? Let me know, then I would take the risk of dropping my identity here!! I swear, you can't even pluck a single hair from my head !!!

Sukhoi

RE:RE:RE:Ganguly Has become a liabilty
by Dan Lewis on Apr 04, 2007 02:21 AM  Permalink
Sukhoi my message was not meant to be for you.Someone abused me in the forum say critics or some one like that.As such I do not blow up my anger unless and otherwise I have been abused.I did not write to you.It was a mistake.Sorry for that buddy.

by critics on Apr 04, 2007 12:56 AM  Permalink
Jose ferns, I agree with u , we should thro ganguly in Bay of bengal and throw some ganguly supporters in to drainage ??? assoles

by zzzzz zzzzz on Apr 04, 2007 01:12 AM  Permalink
You're so right. Only if Ganguly had taken that catch we would have beaten Sri Lanka pretty easily. I wonder how Ganguly fans can overlook such obvious details.

Grow up buddy. Ganguly batted well and has been doing so since his return. This chap can and has lead India very very successfully.

Cricket is a team game and responsibility of failure lies on all. But when failures such as this happen, changes are initiated so that the team can return to winning ways again.

by critics on Apr 04, 2007 01:14 AM  Permalink
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, changes are initiated so that the team can return to wining ways again . I AGREE , BUT IDIDOT Y GAGNGULY AGAIN ?
he is m**f**

Chappell the underarm bowler
by Soumitra Ganguly on Apr 04, 2007 12:43 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Probably very few knows that Great Greg Chappell (then Captain of Australian Team) ordered his brother Trevor Chappell to bowl underarm to avoid possibility of a six against New Zealand on Feb-1, 1981. Detailed story may be read on Wikipedia or any other reference.

It was described as "the most disgusting incident I can recall in the history of cricket" by the then Prime Minister of New Zealand, Rob Muldoon, who also observed that "It was an act of cowardice and I consider it appropriate that the Australian team were wearing yellow". Even the Australian Prime Minister, Malcolm Fraser, called the act "contrary to the traditions of the game".

I was very much shocked when BCCI selected him neglecting Amarnath. But, soon the purpose of selecting him came into picture when he able to mentally torture Ganguly so that Ganguly should made mistakes. Greg was successful so was the then BCCI selecting body who were not pleased with Ganguly.

Greg is a cleaver, foxy natured and a very bad person. Nobody in Australia like him for the infamous underarm bowling incidence.

Due his bad coaching, our great players becomes mentally irritated which results ultimate failure.

He should be removed from coach of India immediately before he could do further damage to our cricket.
Soumitra Ganguly

RE:Chappell the underarm bowler
by Ramesh Saripalli on Apr 04, 2007 01:58 AM  Permalink
Once you remove your bengali glasses off evrything will be clear. Ganguly is and always the reason for politics in the team.This guy just plays for himself and nobody else and twirling your shirt in the air is not called great captaincy.

RE:Chappell the underarm bowler
by Manpower Consultants on Apr 04, 2007 01:52 AM  Permalink
well said ganguly.

go and chk greg coaching history in australia, no province wants him as a coach, but the BCCI have him.

RE:CHAPPEL HAS TO GO - NO IF'S AND BUT's
by anupama singh on Apr 04, 2007 12:42 AM  Permalink
grt reply mate!!!!!!i totally agree with u.

RE:who is this bugger
by anupama singh on Apr 04, 2007 12:59 AM  Permalink
kya be tarka laga ke english likhta hai kya???first improve ur engish and then have ur say...

by Selvakumar .M on Apr 04, 2007 01:56 AM  Permalink
anupama,
if ur gal, pls fuk me , if ur guy pls fuk stray dogs !!

by critics on Apr 04, 2007 12:14 AM  Permalink
tadaka shekar , improve your language b4 commenting others dude....

by Manpower Consultants on Apr 04, 2007 01:56 AM  Permalink
critics,

you are shit, You M**F**, is someone in rediff stop this person from posting replies. you must aussie

by JM on Apr 04, 2007 01:13 AM  Permalink
You have an apt name- tadaka shekar...hahaha

Chapel Needs to go on the same line as he wanted Ganguly to go - Performance
by Ravi Shankar on Apr 03, 2007 11:57 PM  Permalink 

I believe he should be shown the door on the lines as any other player should be .. He did right when he questioned Ganguly's performance and now the world is right when it questions his performance.

Spot On!
by Tamil Indian on Apr 03, 2007 11:48 PM  Permalink 

liked this "They cannot even imagine, one supposes, that, as penance for their recent deed in the Caribbean, they should offer to play one full season for the nation without a contract and without match fees."

Total 903 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>