When a meeting is called on 6/7th April by the BCCI,Why this so called Shah or Dugarpurkar are giving interviews? Are they trying to build pressure on the selectors? On one side Shah tell that we do not interfere in the selection and it is the job of selection committee, then why he is giving his openion that too when it is not asked for? Mr.Dugurpurkar is a man with no knowledge of cricket.He had once told, long back as long as in seventies about Gavaskar before going to WI on his 1st tour, that Gavaskar will not succeed as he can not face the short balls. But the Same Gavaskar score more than 700 runs with 4 centuries and he went on to become 1st Indian to score more thatn 10,000 runs.So this is the calibre or knowlege of cricket of this old man Dugurpurkar.So these Dugurpurkar, shahs or Rajiv Shuklas should be thrown ut immediately for the benefit of Indian cricket.A politician like Sharad Pawar has business to do with Indian cricket and he should hand over the post to a past welknown cricketer and look after his agriculture ministry and try to stop self killings of farmers.
RE:Mr.Shah
by Rajendra Bongale on Apr 02, 2007 10:01 PM Permalink
50 lacs contact per year should be cancelled immediately.then see how these tendulkars will react.Because on the past performance these playesrs are getting 50 lacs a year whether u perform or not.once the payment is based on performance, then Tendulkars will anoounce tetirement.
The BCCI and the selectors are a bunch of jokers. They will do whatever is neccessary to earn money. The will retain the players who are having name, no matter if they perform or not.
I saw a recent interview of Niranjan Shah on Aaj Tak yesterday, he said that BCCI only administers the proceedings of Indian cricket and does nothing else and selectors selct the team and the team in turn play, that means if the India loses the Indian team has to be blamed and not Selectors and BCCI.
This clearly means that we indian people are fools who are the only ones who support the team and expect performances.
I sincerely suggest all educated cricket lovers to forget Indian team and love cricket and watch all matches played by other teams unless and until these bunch of jokers become thinkers.
I think it is high time the retired players from the Indian cricket, particularly those that won the world cup should be brought on the board of cricket, be it selectors, planners, and strategists. Will not help bring in the real zeal for hte cricket and make them feel worthy of their contribution to our cricket by involving them again in contributing their experience to the present players. This will not only help spend their time productively but also wanting to do better for our present bucnch of cricketers, unlike the politicians who only want to earn a side income out of such an interesting and attention-grabbing game as cricket.
I think every player of yesteryears should be made a board member, paying them a monthly fixed salary, and the training, selection, and planning should be left to them
In addition to current domestic cricket, India needs a professional league styled after "NBA" for one day and 20/20 cricket. They should allow international ( < 33%) players in these teams. This league will lift the standard of indian players as well as provide entertainment.
1. SHEWAg- knows there is slip, played that shot 2. Yuvi - sucidal run out (need chill beer in the dressin room) 3. Ganguly - No thoughts or whatsover to win the match 4. sachin- Never a match winner
By the way , the match against Srilanka , some of u guys commented that it is Jaywar made Ganguly frustraded .... my replies for em' 2. Jaywardene never ever attcked Ganguly , it is his bowlers made Ganguly frustrate and to loos his wicket... let us assume if Jaywar have Agarkar can he disturb ponting , fleming or even his Jaysuryaaa..
The involvement of politicians and bureaucrats has spoiled the cricket. If these people are around and they have to choose a team from the best 2 teams in the world, they will end up in selecting losing combination only.
RE:NIRANJAN SHAH SHOULD BE DECLARED PRESIDENT OF INDIA
by Gurjeet gill on Apr 02, 2007 09:21 PM Permalink
Good captain!!! What should be good sign other then failing to read the pitches, not once but twice in as many matches.
People like Pawar and Shah have ruined Indian cricket. We need professionals, who have experience and the know-how to play CRICKET. I am sure that Mr. Shah was asked the questions as the Secretary of the BCCI! So, where from, does the personal opinions come from? Avoiding the blame, Mr. Shah???? The need of the hour is to remove bureaucrats and politicians from CRICKET. They have ruled enough including Mr. Dalmiya, whose phone bills as the head of BCCI ran into crores. We should welcome past cricketeers like Gavaskar, Vengsarkar, Srikanth, etc to the BCCI and take the Indian team ahead. The bunch of jokers like Pawar, Shah and all those running the helm of affairs at the BCCI should be shown the door. The sooner the better!!!!!!!
RE:Come on, India
by Raj M on Apr 02, 2007 09:02 PM Permalink
Well done! Get lost, Mr. Pawar, please indulge in some kheti-bari as the non-performing Minister of Agriculture. Mr. Shah, time for you to quit to!! What are your qualifications to be Secretary of the BCCI?
as per WC performances many changes would be done in indian team.like karthick should dhoni, inclusion of moh.kaif and suresh raina , and the huge mistake in form of rameh powar he bowl so well in series against sri lanka and westindies and why should he not choosen for world cup wrt to harbhajan who did not take atleast a single wicket in 2 matches that he played.... i think that players should rely that they also have capabilities like ausess and they come out in the field with one determination i.e only win