The whole of India except the Board knows that Dravid is the worst captain India has ever had. We even have likes of Vengsarkar calling it luck.
Leadership and Captaincy is abott Making it Happen !! NOT Wondering why it happened. Dravid cannot inspire , he is inspid, nail biting, non thinker of the game. His pitch readings have been atrocious . His results are the worst ever. First round out in Champions Trophy ,World Cup and a horrible performance in the DLF Cup. Yet the selectors want him captain, all because he is a YES Man!!!! If he was Man enough, he would have taken the blame and stepped DOWN!!
Now let me tell you what will happen on April6th Chapell will be OUT!!Dravid will be Retained as Captain !!! all what we are hearing is a prelude to that! Sachin will be RESTED for the Bangladesh tour!!! Agarkar, Bhajji will be dropped Powar picked, along with Piyush chawla or Amit Mishra and the Board will expect us to believe all is WELL in Bollywood oops sorry Indian Cricket!!!
If we have JOKERS as Selectors this is what the RESULT will be..
RE:Worst Captain India ever had
by mangesh rajhansa on Apr 02, 2007 10:00 PM Permalink
Do you remember 1992 world cup ? India was out in the first round there and Captain was Azaruddin, Later on he was the most successful captain of india before was charged for match fixing. In 1992 there was no criticism even though india has raised hopes after 1987 world cup semifinalist. I have faith in Dravid. He only have to shuffle the players if not peroformed in max. 2 games , if remained as captain.
by Sameer Bhagwat on Apr 02, 2007 10:07 PM Permalink
In 1992 we lost some close matches,not only that we did not lose to a minnow like Bangladesh. Azhar was captaincy material, because behind his calm exterior he was a fighter ( It's sad that he lost hos way later). Dravid is a CEO material not captainship material.
by sandeep chowdhury on Apr 02, 2007 09:53 PM Permalink
Rediff is paying him, to digest all comments we made here after wasting our time!!.everythins is because of running buisness and make money !!!
The first thing to do is through the bloody Sharath Pawar out of BCCI. The main reason team India%u2019s defeat is of these greedy politicians
Never let any politicians to handle these types of organization. They know only to steel money. They never want the result. Mr. Pawar who left Congress in the name of ideology saying Sonia Gandhi is a foreigner proved a long back that he that all he said was literally a lie. From this bloody management of BCCI he proved that he is good for nothing.
Through Pawar out and never let any politicians in regardless of which ever party they are form, that must be first step to clean
RE:Never Let Politicians in
by on Apr 02, 2007 09:55 PM Permalink
Stop blaming wrong people for our cricketers failures. Blame the playing 11 that failed on the ground and not who were sitting outside. The main reason i guess is that indian cricketers are over rated. They are not as good as we feel they are. If they were so good they would not have failed so consistantly. I think its high time we look at our players capacity and start expecting as per their capacity. Also pay them as per the capacity.
Over the last few years, bhajji had been our best bowler shouldering the responsibility as the leading wicket taker. He performed admirably well when he was the only spinner in the team, or when he was paired with part time bowlers like sharandeep singh. But whenever he is paired with a slightly better than a club cricket bowler like Powar, he loses his confidence and bowls miserably. He possibly knows he does not deserve to be in indian team and is afraid that if powar is in the team Harbhajan may be dropped. But since he took a hat-trick against the aussies, he should be included in the team, as per the management. but then india plays with 10 players for last 1 year. So the best solution is make him captain. he would stop any other spinner to make his debut for the next 20 years and atleast play better than a school kid with his confidence sky high. Besides it solves the perenial problem of who should be captain for the next 20-30 years. Anyways the amount of agility and the kind of fielder he is, i think even at 60 he would be able to maintain the same.
RE:Bhajji should be made the captain
by R. Samuel Devadoss on Apr 02, 2007 09:48 PM Permalink
Bujji may be a good bowler but very bad in his charcter in field. See the Bangaladesh mathch again. such people to be sacked first.
RE:Bhajji should be made the captain
by Bindaas Boy on Apr 02, 2007 09:56 PM Permalink
not a supporter of Bhajji but v need bad aggressive guys not tender polite guys like tendlya, rahool etc
i feel chapel came here to make sure that indians do not hav a storng team till the world cup season rolls around. all these years th8 he has been the coach, he has tried his best (thru his experiment) to screen all the capabl players. He actually , he wants to sabotage the team and reduce our chances to compete with australia. otoh, ppl like pawar & shah r here only to play politics , they dnt kno a sh**tt of crcket. wht qualification they hav to chair their positions. all our so called gr8 buddhha players r only surviving on their past records and the new guys like dhoni & zaheer r busy with their girlfriends, advertisements, nd interested in getting rich.thats it! they care a damn about sentiments of indians. good in this WC, they got to know "their real place ". i dnt understand Y r they paid so much money, they shud be paid Monthly salaries. the way lakhs of indians toil hard to succeed in their professions, only then they will realise the importanc.
RE:politics in cricket
by Dharm on Apr 02, 2007 09:37 PM Permalink
oh yeah? U know their responsibilities? U know how much pressure they bear..U know how difficult to handle such responsibility? U know nothing..Go cook food at home
RE:politics in cricket
by sandeep chowdhury on Apr 02, 2007 09:41 PM Permalink
Mr. Are you paid by rediff to reply??? Try to be reply in gentl manner.Otherwise we have enough to show you
See people in foreign, once we are always proud of our cricket! Now therse is nothing,a country of huge population has no sports to represent it's belonging in world..Shah is a nothing but a student of management. How he could speak about cricket? ( from his cricket-sucking mouth).We are nation of gandhi/netaji still we dont' respect our father figures. As we don't respect our cricket legends like kapil,gavaskar.,they should administer the cricket board., these shah type people is molesting (proud ) our lovely game.
He is making comments like he is some Ricky Ponting. Seen it all done it all types! These unknown entities like Shah, with zilch knowledge of the game need to be thrown out of BCCI first
Wait ... which of the leading cricketers cares for what the BCCI pays him? It's the endorsements that matter. Most of the players would be willing to play for free as they make much more money from endorsements.
Does India have good enough players to replace Sachin, Rahul or even Saurav today in ODI's and Tests, my answer is no.
I watched most of the Deodar Trophy matches, could not find even one good batsman. Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tewari seem to have the potential, but they certainly do not look good enough to make international debut at the moment.
Raina and Kaif were given maximum number of opportunities, but they could not make the grade and they do not seem to be in good form at present.
Only players who can be replaced is Bhajji with Power. The other player who needs to be replaced is Munaf with Ishant Sharma. Munaf is certainly a good bowler, if, Laxman cannot make the team because of his fielding, how can Munaf make it, they mention is age is 23, his fielding makes him look like he is 40.
RE:Replacement for Senior players
by R. Samuel Devadoss on Apr 02, 2007 09:46 PM Permalink
no one can replace other. but we can develop or give chance to youngters to become more than the old people you said. How long you still relay on them when they are not performing evn 3 out of 10.
RE:Replacement for Senior players
by Sameer Bhagwat on Apr 02, 2007 09:49 PM Permalink
We would rather lose with the likes of 18 year old Tamim Iqbal than the tried and trusted failures like SACHIN who is 33
Ek faltu ko sahara hai dusra faltu? Kaun hai yeh Niranjan Ahah? Kabhi iisko dekhke to koi kaam ka admi maloom nahi hota. Chaprasi jaisa. AAb chala ayay Dravid ko sahara baan ke.