I am one of those that are extremely dissappointed. But look inwards. How does you dad react to you when you dont do well... ore so how would you want him to react...all he cares is for you to do well..and the same is our emotion towards the indian team....we want them to do well...
So wat we have lost this once...did they not provide us good entertainment in the previous 5 matches b4 the debacle...
give them a break..i think they need our support and nothing else....
i sure they are equally hurt as us if not more....
do you truly think cricketers choose it as a profession only from money...no...thats not true...many love the game...
RE:To err is human...
by Sivakumar Seshadri on Apr 03, 2007 01:15 AM Permalink
I agree to you Mr.Sriram. Dad would be with you if you fail in your monthly tests. The same dad will lash at you if you fail in Annual exam!!!
We as ardent cricket fans have been let down very badly. Can we hit back? No...or so it seems. I would suggest that for starters we boycott and refuse to use ANY product or service endorsed by our much vaunted cricket "stars". I suggest that we do this actively and consciously.
Your argument sounds like: THE OPERATION IS SUCCESSFUL BUT THE PATIENT IS DEAD. We dont want that kind of ultramodern and technically superb capabilities that can anticipate many-a-things but in reality produce NUTS.
Okay.. How many times one would get a chance in a world cup? Come on, one failure kills your chance.....one needs that kind of mental back up to go to the world cup..He failed to produce good things....you must remember that some people were asked to resign eventually even after the team reached the final....If that was the premise then I can not accept anything that does not go even close to that situation....I think Dravid was given ample opportunities to excel as captain. He has already made it a chaos.The World cup was a testimony of DRAVIDs incapability.I AM THINKING OF THE FUTURE THAT IS WHY I AM WORRIED.
RE:How ganguly Made India Loose the World Cup
by Vivek Chaudhary on Apr 03, 2007 02:43 AM Permalink
To answer your question on why Ganguly was batting slowly. Because our Captain Dravid couldn't read the pitch properly and opted to bat first whereas this pitch was going to help bowlers. I agree that he was playing slow but how about other players like Dravid himself, Sachin, Sehwag couldn't even stay at the wicket.
Dravid is a good batsman, let him just do that in the team. Let us make Anil Kumble our test team Captain, India's best test bowler.
It was a total team collapse and Dravid is more responsible for this than anybody else.
Mr Chaudhary,haven't you gone through the news?It was a collective decision forced on dravid by the stubborn seniors led by ganguly to bat first so that they get some match practise. How come you bengalis all of a sudden are in for a south indian Kumble for captaincy when it was your dada who deprived Kumble of what he deserved?-the result-an arrogant&useless Harbhajan!!!
by Vivek Chaudhary on Apr 03, 2007 04:52 AM Permalink
Karan,
First of all I am not a Bengali. FYI, Chaudhary last name can be found through out world. I am a North Indian.
Going back to Dravid, this guy cannot think outside the box. Against BL, he brought Sehwag around 40th over, Tendulkar hardly got to bowl. He couldn't even remember that BDeshi spinners were troubling Indians.
Then against SL, he persisted with Tendulkar for 8 overs. He didn't change his bowlers quick enough when they were going for runs or were easy to play. Then in this crucial game, Kumble didn't get to play. Bhajji is predictable and playable, he shouldn't have been playing in the last game against SL.
I will still insist to make Kumble our test captain.
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:05 AM Permalink
mr bardhan thats the problem with u bengalis , u keep living in the past. in the PRESENT ganguly has no use and should be thrown out. everything has a shelf life and so does ganguly . his expiry date lapsed 1 or 2 years ago . enough said
by Dan Lewis on Apr 03, 2007 03:43 AM Permalink
You are convincing yourself.Ganguly is the best capatin that India can ever produce.I am not a Bengali,yet I feel Ganguly is still able to take India to a new height.I see you are biased.You are giving irrelevant stat.You do not need to be a Bengali to like Ganguly.On the other hand it is not neccessory that every non-Bengali will have to hate Ganguly. If you are frustated then go and take a dip but do not bother us being the regional hooker.By the way have you read about Indian Independence.That movement was not very global though.It was concentrated in Maharastra,Bengala,Punjab, Gujarat and some parts of Southern India.Ask your parents or grandparents about that.
by Haresh G. jagtiani on Apr 03, 2007 01:19 AM Permalink
Sare Jahaan se Accha Hindustan Hamara, Hum bulbule is iski, yeh gulsitan hamara. for a small team of cricketers and their loss in the world cup, a whole bunch of us become as a roudy and ignorant and arrogant, an arguement which concerns no one of you at all, and an arguement does not win at all, let us collectively get our heads and brain and mind thinking together for the welfare of our Mother India. I love my country and her children. Better sense will always prevail.
by Manoj Nag on Apr 03, 2007 01:15 AM Permalink
Mr Gaurav, It is becoz of ganguly's performance Dravid could manage to win a test in South Africa. It was ganguly who was the highest scorer for India in the world cup and it was also ganguly who won the man of the match series aganist Sri Lanka and West Indies, so it only becoz of the contribution of Ganguly Dravid managed to win home one day series before the world cups. Learn to respect the people who perform for India, have some justification in ur comments.
by karan on Apr 03, 2007 01:54 AM Permalink
Mr Bardhan!First get your facts right before you put up your argument!Do you have any proper knowledge of freedom struggle,Tippu Sultan,mysore ruler led his forces against british.The Angrez started English East India company to mark their arrival to India,not South India company. Out of form &selfish Ganguly can never take India to a WC final singlehandedly.If he can do so,why can't he take the responsibility of India's loss on his sole shoulders,why he has to share the defeats alone with the team?Veggie Southies hold more than decent share in Indian bureaucracy,this rediff space will insufficient to list their names! Next,get your geography right!The coastal area of whole of WB is not even 1/4th of that when compared to what is shared by SouthIndia as a whole!!! Great you seem to know at least Rajnikant.Do you have any better ideas of the movies made in the South,or the amount of actors/directors nominated for National Awards. Why are you so concerned about Rahul ancestors,it seems like your Ganguly's forefathers were the loyal servants of their mighty british! Were you unaware of the fact it it was your traitor Bong brothers,the Bangladeshis who had taken the side of Pakistan against India-so don't you think its high time that the east&west Bengal form a unified Bangladesh and take your independence from India,afterall losing one insignificant state shouldn't be as big a problem as losing 4 states! And finally,for God's sake don't join hands with the Punjabis,leave them alone.For a Bengali is like a frog in a well,he thinks Bengal is the universe:(
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 12:57 AM Permalink
I totally agree. My Ganguly has done nothing to suggest he was playing for the team. and what happens when he returns, bengalis give him a warm welcome. what a bluddy joke!!!! there is a limit to regionalistic pride. maybe bengalis wanted bangladesh to qualify. after all they speak the same language dont they ?
by karan on Apr 03, 2007 02:19 AM Permalink
Mr Manoj As I said before,Frog in the well-Bengalis can't see anything beyond Bengal. Ganguly-paper tiger against minnows&rat against first grade team. Needs support from Tendulkar,Dravid or a certain Laxman to win against the Aussies,WI,SA,Eng.,NZ,but against minnows-he'll say MAIN HOON NA-has the distinct capability to handle things singlehandedly! Would you please mind taking your valuable time to check out how India drew the series against the Aussies,you think it was because of Ganguly whose shivers at the site of Mcgrath or even any medium pacers for that matter.After playing for so many years the fool still can't face short pitch deliveries! You are east Indians,don't try to take pride calling yourself NorthIndian as it a well known fact all over the contry that no other state members are as regionally biased as a bengali. Can you recollect how many balls that fool waisted for his personal gain???don't just talk about average,what is his strike rate?? Its an obvious &well known fact that the cunning fox is indulged in big time groupism,just wait&watch. Nobody is scared of Rahul's ouster from captaincy,but you guys seem to be restless&scared of your DADA's ouster from the team itself-the sooner the better-its high time we threw that ghandhi MACHLI out.!
Hey Mr. Shah...here is the justification u needed:
a> As chapell said....It was the Mafia Consisting of Ganguly and a few senior who forced dravid to bat first against Bangladesh...please refer today's news....I woudnt be surprice if ganguly had fixed the match especially at the pace he scored...the brat wanted to be captain again.
Allowing singles....well wasnt ganguly one of the bowlers who bowled and got smashed around...and why did he no take any singles?
Please dont tell me it is all chapells fault...that would be a cheap reflection of regionalism.....every body know wxcept the average bengali that ganguli was one of those most instrumental in India sitting out the world cup
Stop discussions and try to be good. Look at the srilankans and try to get their spirit. Our players are not patriots. They should first try to love their country and not think of their wealth only. Look at Muralidharan-his whole hearted effort to help the sunami affected people of Srilanka. Hats off to the players of Srilanka. My appeal to all the cricket lovers of India " Dont go the stadium when our greedy players are playing".
This person is a cold blooded person and who cares his view. I have never seen person like this. He has nothing to do with peoples emotions mainly bcoz of whom his board is the most richest board in the world. These fellow's don;t have to do anything with whether team performs good or bad. They just care how money should come to their pocket. First of all such a cold blooded persons should be removed from the team. Let me tell him very frankly if he and his board do not teach lessons to bad performers and the Indian team we will stop watching cricket match and would appose these foolish persons on national scale. First of all this Niranjan Shah should be sacked from board and we would not let him to come near the BCCI office. I think we should have Cricket Board elected by the people of this country not by foolish Illiterate cricketing knowledge people.
RE:Who is Niranjan Shah
by $unny on Apr 03, 2007 12:52 AM Permalink
Mr Mishra
Please dont expect BCCI to have any concern towards peoples' emotions. there is no reason for it. BCCI is not liable to the public. why should it be? how can we sack Niranjan Shah from the board. we dont have the power. BCCI does not run on our money.
next, why should we oppose the BCCI on a national scale. why dont we oppose the indian football association or the indian athletics association or other such sports assocoation.
make other sports as happening as cricket and BCCI will automatically learn its lesson. as long as we keep cricket as the most hyped game BCCI ko koi farak nahi padega.
I don't understand y ppl abuse each other with comments. Everyone supports one player or the other and tries to justify it.Hence when one person supports ganguly the other who doesn't opposes it.But y all the abuse?
RE:Don't understand
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:08 AM Permalink
because we are a country where meritocricy is dead. get some supporters and make them shout . most likely u stand a chance to be successful
My left foot. The person (Shah)who has has never played cricket (even tennis ball)in his life has the audacity to give interviews on cricket. How does he justify:
a) The captain (Dravid)opting to bat first against Bangladesh on a pitch where there was expected to be some movement;
b) Allowing Sri Lanka to milk out 112 runs in singles in the middle stage;
Does Shah know the difference between being astute and being laid back..
RE:Shah's observation
by Jai Shriram on Apr 03, 2007 12:31 AM Permalink
u r a stupid fan of ganguly who shud be kicked out first. his 126 ball 63 in bangladesh ruined india. he flopped against sl a world class team. and when every one were smashing against bermuda, this idiot was "grafting" his innings. shame on him.
RE:Shah's observation
by kunal barot on Apr 03, 2007 12:51 AM Permalink
Well Mr. Bose dude.. im no fan of Niranjan Shah or something.. but yeah seems u knw him quite well huh..
Neways... It might be agreeable that he must have not played cricket on a professional level so his knowledge of the game might lack experience.. In that case why dont try and be the next BCCI secretary?