The payers of the Indian team do not play for the nation , rather they play for the bookies.
No one controls them, Captain, Coach, or BCCI - it is purely the BOOKIES who control the Indian team.It is evident in every tournament that India Played.
Everytime the bookies give their verdict, the players go rich by few crores, and double that amount for senior players.BCCI is also highly corrupt organization.
no one can change this, its the bookies game now...
Atleast Dravid scored some runs against SL in the do-or-die match. So he DID it, while others like Ganguly and Sachin died. And they should reamin just that... dead for Cricket.
RE:Ganguly should retire
by Dan Lewis on Apr 03, 2007 03:33 AM Permalink
What was Dravids striking rate that day?what he did by the way on Bng days?Did ganguly ask him not to bat?Why did he hide behind Sachin on the Bermuda day?ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.
RE:
by Dan Lewis on Apr 03, 2007 03:59 AM Permalink
One mistake means that you are OUT. There was no leeway to cover that up? Didnt you realize that? Is it a local game? So that you can be given n number of chances which you require to score runs! Are you seeing BNGdesh these days? They have been thrashed by every other teams. Whereas India was an exception. If he can not deliver at right time then why do we need him? Like :THE OPERATION IS SUCCESSFUL BUT THE PATIENT IS DEAD! Just Amazing! How many times he could be given a chance to represent India. He is not a novice in the game! Remember if Ganguly could be removed eventually after we reached the final, then I have no reason to believe that this Dravid has any point in holding his captaincy .He is power loving guy and a very raw politician. Ganguly looks kids to him.
the only hope for indian cricket....wake up ...have a reality check...it will call for immediate axing of Sachin tendulkar, saurav ganguly, virendra sehwag, m s dhoni, harbhajan singh, ajit agarkar.
this is a list of extremely over - rated players...who stand no chance against the likes of rickey ponting,matthew hayden, jacques kallis, mark boucher, adam gilchrist, justin langer,mkaya nitini, glen mcgrathm chaminda vaas and murli
We as indians,,,,have turned a blind eye on the collective failure of these guys over the last 10 years....hence we end up being frustrated and dissappinted again and again.
My bet is....build a new team from scratch....and no turning back on old lame horses... who have built records...but not wins and not even near losses....please note ...when india looses we lose shamfully !!!
RE:indian cricket team
by Pams Nits on Apr 03, 2007 02:12 AM Permalink
my suggestion to the selection committe....new team is a must...heres what i think ...can be a decent one day team for the future.... 1. R Uttapa,2.G Gambhir,3.M Kaif, 4.Yuvraj Singh, 5. S Raina,6. D Karthik, 7. I Pathan, 8. Ramesh Powar, 9. Munaf Patel, 10. Sreesanth, 11. Zaheer Khan...12. VRV Singh.
but this team is subject to attitude tantrums thrown by ...Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan. If they do so...they should be shown the door and someone whos maybe leser talented but more committed must be given an opportunity.
Your argument sounds like: THE OPERATION IS SUCCESSFUL BUT THE PATIENT IS DEAD. We dont want that kind of ultramodern and technically superb capabilities that can anticipate many-a-things but in reality produce NUTS.
Okay.. How many times one would get a chance in a world cup? Come on, one failure kills your chance.....one needs that kind of mental back up to go to the world cup..He failed to produce good things....you must remember that some people were asked to resign eventually even after the team reached the final....If that was the premise then I can not accept anything that does not go even close to that situation....I think Dravid was given ample opportunities to excel as captain. He has already made it a chaos.The World cup was a testimony of DRAVIDs incapability.I AM THINKING OF THE FUTURE THAT IS WHY I AM WORRIED.
RE:RE:RE:Saving Indian cricket
by karan on Apr 03, 2007 02:33 AM Permalink
Dutta ko Hindustan se bhagao!What are you doing here Dutta,why don't you go to Bangladesh-desh of the Banglas?
Jealous of Sachin,na?don't worry your dada can never achieve what sachin did,well he can atleast set records against minnows-his trademark style!
You didn't know your dada was against Moody!He can't respect John Wright,what he'll respect Moody,usko bhi bhagayege!Egoistic fool-By the way did you wish him on his birthday on Sunday???
Appoint Steve Waugh as Indian Team Coach & see the performance. He was one of the Greatest "AAPATH-BHANDAV" of Cricket history. Only he can improve Indian Team by giving his idea of how to stay in crease & give a target or chase a target even when 9 wickets are down.
RE:Bring Steve Waugh
by Pams Nits on Apr 03, 2007 02:02 AM Permalink
yes....he would be a good choice...but not a slong as guys like tendulkar, ganguly, sehwag, harbhajan , yuvraj are around....these guys think they are the best....where as most of them wouldnt have qualified to play for australia or south africa...and even if sachin had....he would have been long forgotten by now...
RE:Bring Steve Waugh
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:25 AM Permalink
Sir Viv Richards mentioned he would be interested. he can also be a good candidate. A bit of calypso flair can do us good. Our fielding and running still wont improve though
Mr.Shah, until BCCI bans players from endorsing products, performance based contracts won't do squat. They make crores/year from their advertising revenues, so how do you expect BCCI's performance based contract (in lakhs) to incent them to perform? Be practical, this is not rocket science. Ban endorsments by players. This game is not about making money, it's about playing your heart out. Our players' hearts are only on milking more money than on improving their game. Finally, if you believe Dravid is an astute captain, pray tell me how the collective geniuses that comprise the Indian think-tank chose to leave out Pathan, the most successful bowler against Bangladesh over the past few years and use Agarkar and Zaheer? There are several other such bloopers that the "astute" captain has made in 8 days that I'll be happy to point out. My point is this - don't make statements thinking that people who follow the game don't know it. We know the game very well and we are waiting to see if BCCI continues its farce or is actually going to step up and make a few calls such as banning endorsements for the betterment of cricket. The game is always more important than any player. Perhaps BCCI needs to be reminded of that before they run off and make more multi-millionaires rather than cricketers.
RE:Perforamance Based Contracts - For Whom?
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:22 AM Permalink
I totally agree with so much commercialism , salary is not an issue. make them accountable for failure. PAST records should be no reason for a place in the team. Age is no excuse for not running singles or being less effective in batting due to injuries. Ganguly and tendulkar, look at Hayden and Jayasuria ... these people are in the team because they perform. Both of you have earned so much money that its disgusting to see u play on for money and not for the pride of playing for india
by Javed MEandDad on Apr 03, 2007 01:24 AM Permalink
agarkar and zaheer are far better than sreesanth and pathan...just check their records.....
sressanth performed only in 2 matches in S.A,,he was blasted by WI AND SL batsmen...his record in odi IS 25 wickets in 24 matches....
HE IS lucky 2 escape critiocism since he didnt play in WC..
RE:RE:Perforamance Based Contracts - For Whom?
by Rman on Apr 03, 2007 01:48 AM Permalink
Oh boy, do you need help. I was trying to make a point on the "astute" captain not playing not against Bangladesh, despite the fact that he has the best record against them. For the other 2 you mentioned - we just saw what Agarkar and Zaheer delivered ok. We all saw how deadly and fearsome their pace attack was and how the other team batsmen dove to save themselves from the blistering Indian pace attack. India was packed in 8 days and that's a statistic you seem to have forgotten. Finally, since you bring up statistics, can you help explain why the "astute" captain left Kumble (I hope you know his stats) out of the 1st game and the "must-win" 3rd game and played Harbajan? Are you really going to come back with "SL has more left-handers hence Harbajan over Kumble?" Puh-lease.
by karan on Apr 03, 2007 02:44 AM Permalink
Mr Rman,all the news channels were batting for Harbhajan ahead of Kumble against the lankans,till the day before the match.They felt Kumble should be left out as
Harbhajan seemed to hane a better record against the Lankans.But once Kumble announced his retirement from ODIs,these very same people used it as a weapon against Dravid.
by Rman on Apr 03, 2007 02:59 AM Permalink
Karan, what you described is akin to the blind leading the blind. At no point in his entire career has Harbajan ever delivered the goods for a match winning performance unless the pitch was a minefield and/or India had a good 250 plus score to play with and the pacers took early wickets. Dravid as the captain, should have been the first to be aware of this. But, like everything else in India, decisions seem to be made on a whim with nothing to back it up.
RE:RE:
by Ramanath Babu on Apr 03, 2007 10:24 AM Permalink
Do you know what is Kumble's record against Sri Lanka. He forget to bowl when he see Sanat occupying the crease. He had a nightmare with Aravinda. Fortunately he is not around now. But still Kumble would have been a super flop against SL. As sure as death!
Definitely it speaks about the astuteness of DRavid.
Niranjan Shah is trying to save his skin. Dravid is the number one batsmen not only of India but also of the world. but when it comes to captaincy Dravid is not good enough. body language is not ve. Niranjan Shah is with Indian cricket politics for last 30 years and now He too should retire.
RE:Dravid
by Nirman on Apr 03, 2007 01:08 AM Permalink
what was he doing for 30 years. HE could not even influence the board of which he was also a member to makes few FAST PITCHES, which is the reason for all our problems
RE:Dravid
by rick anthony on Apr 03, 2007 01:56 AM Permalink
dravid is a world class batsman... but concerned is that there are gorup in team... they should play in one team... like australia, newzealnd...
If they play for their country, then win.. otherwise you change captain, coach, not worked out.. too much politics in indian team... coach also tired with selectors and borad..
RE:Look at New Zealand play right now
by Murali on Apr 03, 2007 01:25 AM Permalink
very right bro.. ganguly's runs were worthless. he mistook mediocre bangla bowlers to be aussie pace attack on a lively perth pitch.
he was painfully slow aganist the bermudans too. he should be grilled by the cops to check if he underperformed on orders of bookies.
by Javed MEandDad on Apr 03, 2007 01:25 AM Permalink
they do not depend on any player...so all of them contribute their bit to the team
by Pradip Ghorai on Apr 03, 2007 01:30 AM Permalink
Everyboday was playing them except Ganguly; Right? Can't you think indian cricket instead of attacking any particular person. Noboday played well. It was lack of motivation.
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:31 AM Permalink
shane warne left when he left it was time, so did steve waugh . when will ganguly and tendulkar leave ?
by Pradip Ghorai on Apr 03, 2007 01:38 AM Permalink
Don't compare like that. See Jaysurya, Fleming. It depends how many quality player available. Can't you think anybody who has more capability than them. We did a lot of expt. but no one simply no one. Somehow we have to motivate them. Why will they retire? Because they did not play only WC. Other did not play any match. Why are they? Age is not the key fator to play or to retire.
RE:[object MouseEvent]
by Pradip Ghorai on Apr 03, 2007 01:41 AM Permalink
Now I know what type of people you are. I though you are a educated guy. Now I know from whcih family you are. Who think for 2050. All the best. India is still like that because there are lot of people like you who thinks for themselves not for the country.