RE:About World Cup Performance
by Anirban Basu on Mar 24, 2007 05:07 PM Permalink
This proves that we are not the producers of great sportspersons. It is true that cricket is not a game of seriousness. Ok, lets take it as a fun, like a circus.
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 05:09 PM Permalink
We get angry because, now and then they appear in our TV and claim their success is due to 'this' or 'that'. Where is thesuccess?
We get angry because, they enjoy supermen status and earn a lot
by Ganesh Ramesh on Mar 24, 2007 06:32 PM Permalink
Rashmi.. I agree with you to some extent.
I am a die hard cricket fanatic and I was crestfallen when India lost to so called 'minnow' Bangladesh.
But the Kirana Shopkeeper in our colony told me this " Kya Saab Kirket Kirket.. aat ghantay ( 8 hours kaa itnaa bada game.. pooora hamara time waste aut uskay baad bhi.. India agar haar gayaa tho dhimaag kharab Issay achah Fillum (Film) dekho ..masth relax , ladki kay ya phir game khelo.. beedeo (video) game.
I was argiung that day with the shopwala saying I am cricket crazy person and you dont understand what cricket brings to me and 1 billion people.. but yesterday I realised that he was right and I was wasting 8 hours staying late in the night and watching the stupid Indian team play like bunny rabbits. Today morning he was laughing and telling me.. Yesterday he had a nice time with his wife and kids enjoying a comedy picture on DVD and I had a sad , morose face as a result of India's defeat.
RASHMI is right.. Lets enjoy life and forget cricket (although for me and billions of others .its easier said than done...we love cricket more than anything naa)
Our board must get the points system (being followed by ICC to rate international players). It must then use it to rate the players in our domestic tournaments. Selection of future teams for the country must be based only on that.
RE:Shame Chappel Shame
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 04:51 PM Permalink
Chappel once asked his younger brother to bowl 'under-arms' to win a match in Australia. Here also, if we had allowed him to have his way the Cup would be ours. (For example, 'stealing it', is a secret method of him).
Why do we? to select the wrong players and then to pass on the blame from one individual to another?
I think we should base the selection on latest performance(last 7 matches or so)..... The top ranking players get chosen automatically and if they are not performing, others next in line get a chance....just like a league....so if you want to be in the team keep performing....and if you are not performing.....you sit out and let others better than you perform......new players get a chance based on their performance in domestic cricket....
RE:We don't need a cricket board !
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 04:37 PM Permalink
'Selection' is only one activity of the board. Those fellows enjoy many more things like foreign visits, 5-star hotel stays, etc. These will continue whatever the result of the games may be.
It's a really shameful and disappointed for 110 crore indians. I blame Rahul Dravid, Greg Chappel, Rahul didn't use such a nice bowlers Irfan, Sreesanth. Indian team don't have well middle order batsmen. That's one of the reason for the Great defeat. Our Indian team have over confidence and headweight. Our Dreams was over!!!! I wish Dravid would take all responsibility for this defeat and should resign his captaincy. Ganguly took our team to World cup final tast time but Rahul????? I wish Ganguly will take captaincy again.
RE:Shameful for 110 Crore Indians
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 04:28 PM Permalink
For the odd ten overs, Rahul used Ganguly for 3 and Sachin for another 3. He got 2 wickets thus. He must have given Yuvraj and Sehwag also 3 each. That might have brought in variety and wickets. But, he foolishly continued with Sachin.
I think we were having high hopes from old horses. From those players who are effortless. Lets not waste time in putting comments what could have been done. Please stop a discussion to pin-point any single player. The match is over and we are out of hopes as well as WC. Its time to take serious action ON WHAT NEXT? In true sense, the time has come to bring a big change in our strategy/minds in order to get fruits in future.
In my opinion: Lets bring in all new commers and prepare a new team--similar to what Australia and NewZealand and many others have done years before. A person works or earn money to feed family..If we look at to many other sports there are families who doesn't get food (e.g., wrestling, hockey). At present our players are earning so much by commercials such that there is no need to PUT EFFORTS and win the feelings of billion of Indians. Therefore, from top to bottom there should be a complete replacement from MANAGFEMENT to PLAYERS. I suggest, Kapil dev would be an ideal choice to head the management. A well-defined rule should come for those players who engage themselves in COMMERCIALS..
Lets chase future TEAM INDIA for putting dedicated efforts rather than doing commercials or putting huge hopes..An intensive training programme to keep the confidence level CONSTANT DURING PRESSURE should be embedded---similar to what our soldiers are doing 24/7. Imagine, if there is a failure from their side then whom do we show our face to?
There is no dirth of talented players in India. Lets invite people in different zones to prove their ability and invent a NEW TEAM INDIA..I insist in saying that there should be no influence of any person while inventing NEW TEAM INDIA..
I wish them GOOD LUCK if not exactly but close to this happens..
RE:New Team India: No Commercials
by hematnth kumar on Mar 24, 2007 05:51 PM Permalink
what the heck man just telling or commenting about the past ...this is india were only the words or outspoken if any one has guts or any parties have guts sack the cricket team and this sport in india ,well the answer would be no.because everyone are emotional about the game ,so we need to think practically for eg suppose if any one dies in your family you will cry so after couple of days you will forget that their was person ,same way cricket should be sacked in fact i am also telling no response would do good to this question you can ask y and watch match but you r mom f*** agreed?
RE:New Team India: No Commercials
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 04:22 PM Permalink
We can start off with the 30 probables who were first selected:
Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni (wk), Zaheer Khan, S. Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Anil Kumble, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, R. P. Singh, V. R. V. Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Mongia, Suresh Raina, Mohammed Kaif, Ramesh Powar, Munaf Patel, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, VVS Laxman, Wasim Jaffer, S. Badrinath, Joginder Sharma, G. Gambhir, A. Nehra, J. P. Yadav, R. S. Sodhi, Venugopal Rao.
Exclude all, except Dinesh Karthik, who went now and pick from the rest.
I am so happy that India has lost their match against Sri Lanka. I must congratulate Sri Lankan players for defeating Indians, because, India could have won the definition of sports and sportsman became changed. India cricket team is a team of jokers, they know how to make advertisements, not to develop doggish tenacity in the team. If they could win, the future of our nest generation might have destroyed by all those circus men. Those who will be delivering something rude against me, I request them to think ones the future of other sports, in which India participates. India has the potentials to produce great sporting persons, but it is become hard to possible by this bloody cricketers. They are sending wrong messages to our children, who are the future of our country. This is my request to each and every of my co-natives, not to be a fool by those cricketers, otherwise in next 15 years, India will no where in the world of sports.
RE:Think my frnds
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 03:25 PM Permalink
In those days, Sachin used to shout, 'Boost is the secret of my energy'. These days, without energy, he murmurs the same.
I would like to suggest that BCCI must first ban the sponsors for every cricket players, so that they can get only the pay paid by BCCI rather than the money they get from the sponsors, which is making them live lavishly even without caring the Billion people who die for their Hero's even if they win or Loose....
Why dont BCCI do like Cricket Australia.... after being the ricjhest Cricket Board in the World. Get only the people who perform not the people who show their hair styles, cars going to Page 3 Parties.....
Was this present with the 1983 Kapil Devil's???
They only got 'All The Best' not a full support of India.
RE:Pathetic performance
by Ravi chandran on Mar 24, 2007 03:16 PM Permalink
When India bowled, it was top class. SL scored mostly of singles.
When India batted, not a single ball in the first 8 overs beat the bat. Plus, our batsmen were middling the ball. Both Uthappa and Ganguly committed suicide and the procession started.