RE:Remove Dravid Bring Saurav Save India
by bharat on Apr 03, 2007 12:34 PM Permalink
For Senguptas, Ghosh-s, Chaterjee-s etc, life begins and ends with Saurav Ganguly.
by Sreeram Ramaswamy on Apr 03, 2007 01:35 PM Permalink
Cricket is a team game and not an individual sport like Chess or Tennis. We are down in the dumps coz of our collective failure to group as a team and play to our potential and so beaten by even minnows like Bagladesh who are now being thrashed and lynched by Aussies, Kiwis, and Lankans. Lets not be hypocritic now by saying Sourav is better than Dravid and Sachin is better than Shewag and Raina is better than Dhoni. We don't need models and supermodels. We need players like Sri Lankans. It's time we learn from our neighbors.
by Sanjay Ranawat on Apr 03, 2007 01:50 PM Permalink
If this is the bengalis going to react & without shame going out of the way to back ganguly, then its a shame for indian cricket. cricket is a team game. For one individual, these bengalis are making a mockery of cricket in india.
by Ppt on Apr 03, 2007 02:15 PM Permalink
Mr Ramaswamy, your are absolutley right by saying that its a team game and not an Individual talent show. It is high time that the big cricketing brains of India should come forward and do a real analysis as why Team India has put up such a dismal show. I have seen lot many cols. and articles where wisemen are trying to defend the captain and the coach... well these do not amaze me ..reason .."pass on the blame and take the fame" has been there, is there and will remain there. Man, these responsible people just cannot let go scott free by saying "WC -2007 was just another match for us, and it was a bad day that the team didn't perform" The appointement of this very coach has been done on the basis of his presentaion "Vision India WC-2007"... just look at how experiments were made with Irfaan pathaan ... result ... he didn't played any match .... can somebody ask why ganguly was inculded in the side just at the 11th hour? He was out of the team for 15 odd months ... was not invited in any training camps specially organised for WC -2007 ..... and all the while was left in a dark grotto filled with litter and shame ....still he had the guts and mental toughness to fight back... Nobody from the BCCI either have the gumption or interest to ask Chappel as why he always keep on doing things which he is not supposed to do..look at the way this guy always come forward in the media and ooze unwanted and slanders remarks aganist gangualy....ppl its high time we should ask the responsible authorities to take stern steps and conduct high level inquries to unravel the truth. Believe me just posting back and forth and trying to make our points won't serve the purpose ..its only strict action against the culprits ... whosoever it may be ... chappel, rahul, ganguly .... etc etc ... can do some good... Kiran More shoould also be inquired thoroghly since he had played a very vital role in slow poisoning and decaying team india to its present state..... Indian .... join hands and demand a high level independent inquery and subsequent austere action against the reprobate .....otherwise its now or never
by Ravi chandran on Apr 03, 2007 01:48 PM Permalink
In Hocky also, we lose because our players do not pass, but take the ball all the way to score and fail.
by Ravi chandran on Apr 03, 2007 11:56 AM Permalink
Ban all other countries except Bermuda from playing cricket. Save India.
by Ankur Khanna on Apr 03, 2007 10:15 AM Permalink
Throw Saurav and his chamchas out and save India. Of all his chamchas, only Yuvraj Singh based on his performance deserves to be in the team.
Saurav should be made captain of the Bangla(desh) team
by Ankur Khanna on Apr 03, 2007 01:50 PM Permalink
Throw Saurav and his chamchas out and save India. Of all his chamchas, only Yuvraj Singh based on his performance deserves to be in the team.
Saurav should be made captain of the Bangla(desh) team
by kuntal banerjee on Apr 03, 2007 02:03 PM Permalink
yeah actually...why not u become the captain Ankur..Have u ever played cricket in your life..
RE:RE:Remove Dravid Bring Saurav Save India
by Ankur Khanna on Apr 03, 2007 02:14 PM Permalink
No i have not. But Rahul Dravid has. With more committment, sincerity, honesty and guts than Saurav Ganguly. At least he doesnt fake injuries when put on difficult green top pitches.
RE:RE:RE:Remove Dravid Bring Saurav Save India
by swarnendu maiti on Apr 03, 2007 04:29 PM Permalink
yeah ankur....u r gr8!dravid plays with honesty!!!!!ha ha ha ha ...hav u any relationship with dravid?i think u will be the next coach of TEAM DRAVID!!!!hav u ever seen when sourav was the captain ..then dravid was put in long off or deep mid wicket!!!!! then what is cordination b/n captain and a senior excaptain? ankur ...stop ur foolish comments from now onwards...plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!
No stupid indian is worried when a 110 crore populated country failed in olympic games.
Indians are brain washed by the media and politicians as cricket represents their Patriotism.
If you are really worried about your nations representation in the world, will cricket resolve all your country's problem seen ahead. Its after all a game played by only 16 countries in this world.
The players are respected and worshiped more than what they are.
Cricket control board is the only indian company to earn several crores profit per year with arround 30-40 staff.
Still slave mindset among indians are not completely vanished. thats why they want to prove more in cricket as we are one of the colonies of England.
thats problem... until 2005 india won consecutive 17 matches.. why india suddenly lose in 2006 and 2007 wc.. it shows again group in team..this is the reason to lose 2007wc.. ego and grouping
tedulkar failed as captain... then ganguly failed... then dravid came .. so competiotn betwen 3 seniors.. who is most worse captain...
RE:sanjay jagdale report
by anurag rai on Apr 03, 2007 05:24 AM Permalink
WHEN DID GANGULY FAILED AS CAPTAIN.....RUNNERS UP IN THE LAST WORLD CUP....JOINT WINNERS OF CHAMPIONS TROPY ONCE AND FINALIST ONCE UNDER GANGULY.....
FAILURE IS WHEN U DONT EVEN GO TO THE NEXT ROUND IN CHAMPIONSTROPHY PLAYED IN YOUR OWN BACKYARD.....FAILURE IS WHEN U GET KICKED OUT OF THE WORLD CUP....BY BANGLADESH.....I WONT EVEN CALL SACHIN A FAILURE...I THINK HE WAS STRONG ENOUGH TO COME OUT AND GIVE UP THE CAPTAINCY AS HE THOUGHT IT WAS BEST OF INDIA.....
I CANT SEE DRAVID DOING THAT.....COZ HE IS PATHETIC AND INSECURE...
by Sanjay Ranawat on Apr 03, 2007 01:54 PM Permalink
Dear Anurag, Dravid has been put under lot of pressure by the media and bengali/ganguly fans just bcoz ganguly was dropped from the team. Added to that sachin is not the player he once was. The selectors are scard to drop him. Sehwag's technical inadequacies got exposed. Ganguly was broght back and he's playing politics now. It's not that Dravid has spoilt a world beating side into a poor one.
by rick anthony on Apr 03, 2007 07:01 AM Permalink
anurag you believe or not ...but this is fact in indian team player only play for own record... captain and coach are not responsible for defeat..
everybody should make positive effort, if you want to win.. coach and captain can't do anything.. ex. if player drops jaysuriya/ hayden catch ,what captain can do ? if bowler gave 30 runs per over what captain can do ...because bowler selected selectors from his region...or senior recommendation..to make group..
suggestion: indian should learn from the australian/newzealand team..
if ponting fails, then gilchrist and hayden would play...you knew that hayden made 156, everbody failed against africa ...ifhayden had thought oh i made 50 -60 runs its good for my average and position team... then south africa would have been deafeated aussi.. in should learn from developed country team...
by anurag rai on Apr 03, 2007 09:54 AM Permalink
WHAT I M SAYING IS Y EVERYONE IS NOT PERFORMING UNDER DRAVID...WHILE THE SAME BUNCH DID SO WELL UNDER GANGULY...... DO U HAVE A ANSWER FOR THAT....THERE IS NOONE IN INDIA AND THERE WILL BE NOONE IN FUTURE...WHO CAN MATCH GANGULY AS A LEADER ...WE ALL HAVE SEEN WHAT HE DID......WHAT I M SAYING IS IF DRAVID IS LEADING THE SAME BUNCH WHY THERE ARE NO RESULTS....
by on Apr 03, 2007 05:59 AM Permalink
Main ne dekha tha ek baar Uhuhu Kaisa body hai Koi isse br@ pahnao Bahut seksy photu hai Haoa mein longi khul na jayee Uhuhu!! Dravid ko beach picture par mera reaction
By some historical misfortune, ie the British colonising India, we became part of a handful of nations that played cricket. Initially atleast it was restricted to the maharajahs, princes and the nobility who played this game just because their counterparts in the british aristocracy were into it. Even after independence there was limited following for this game. At that time the most popular team sport that the masses followed was hockey in which the nation was the reigning numero uno. Then began the decline in indian hockey as gradually other nations caught up and also because of circumstances like change in playing surfaces etc. A nation of billion people didn't have any world class idols to look upto.Even the universaly wildly popular sport of soccer doesn't have an appeal in India just because our teams don't do well in the world arena. Just the fact that fourth place finishers in the olympics like Milka singh and PT Usha are considered as legends whereas in countries like United States, even gold medal winners vanish into obscurity within a year(Case in point anybody anywhere remembers who won the golds in the races that Milkha Singh and PT Usha ran?) shows the paucity of talent in Indian Sports. It was in this void , in 1983, that a team of heroic ragtags created history by usurping the world cup of cricket. And a nation starved of sporting heroes warmly and readily embraced them. Here was a team and a sport where India mattered in the world stage albeit forget the fact that only 5-6 countries played it seriously. Decent successes in the future years maintained the iconic stature of cricketers. Once in a while the Indian team won some tournaments, beat strong teams and produced a boatload of fantastic individual talents.All this maintained their status as the masses's darlings. But the jolt at the current world cup could prove to be fatal if not already fatal. The fans are disgusted in the way that their beloved men in blue , their supposedly unbeatable heroes let themselves to be shown the door by minnows like Bangladesh and not so minnows like Sri Lanka. Hope this jolt brings some sense of balance to both the team and administrators as well as to the common fan. Cricket need not be a big part of our life and cricketers don't deserve the reverence that they now get.Sincerely hope other sports get better attention and we produce some world beaters there too so that we can have other heroes to look upto and not depend on only one bunch of guys.
RE:Cricket and India
by Amit Shah on Apr 03, 2007 03:47 AM Permalink
Great article. India did have hockey champioships before 1983 world cup cricket but I agree with the fact that we, indians have made cricket a big part of life. We treat cricketers like GOD.
Vishwanth Anand, Mahesh Bhupathi, Dhanraj Pillai and all other stars of other sports (current and in last 10 years) deserve a big thanks from us that they chose that sport even though there was hardly any fame or a big reward when they chose that game.
Few things can help: (a) Corporate sponsorships to the cricket should be diverted towards promoting other sports. (b) Cricket calendar in a year should be limited to one or two months where they can have all international games. This will force people to look into organizing, hosting and pariticpating in championships of other sports. (c) Sports ministry should have active programs and goals for promoting other events and sports. (d) Some Govt. sponsored and some private companies sponsorted scholarships might be good (somewhat related to (a) above.
RE:Cricket and India
by radhika kumari on Apr 03, 2007 03:32 AM Permalink
i can see our guys making a mark in the 100m dash, soccer, swimming, diving, badminton, basketball(ah!), man, you name it. physically we are not really there to excel in certain sports. the other fact is, what is wrong with liking cricket? in US they are mad with football and the local superball is like a world cup. it may sound and look funny but the bottom line is let the people enjoy and spend(waste) time with whatever thay want. may be it is part of british culture. the only problem with the average indian cricket fan is that they take losses too personally. but then life moves on. our team tours bangladesh in may and i am pretty sure we will make them pay. that will make our fans happy again albeit a certain section who will say, hey it is BD? it is not aussies. its all part of it. lets enjoy whatever cricket is around. rt now most fans are not able to come in terms with india's exit. some one will win the sup on april 28 and then we start thinking about the next series and so on. let people enjoy cricket and there is nothing wrong in some hero worship and money spending. thats the way india is and its fine. the only thing that shouldnt happen is attacking player's families, houses, properties etc.
now the real deal starts for the kiwis. matches against SA, AUS, SL. that should tell them and us whether they r worth all the expectations. it will be nice to see whether they can carry on the adv they had over the aussies before the WC. ofcourse, murali may have a feast against the kiwis, no offence. hope kiwis live up to all the hopes and hypes. so far, no major contest for them, which is always calling for trouble because the first major one may bring in all the trouble. SA already got 2 shock treatments and they should be in good shape from here. the matches to look forward to from here are eng v SL, SA v eng, NZ v SL, WI v eng, Aus v NZ and ofcourse Aus v SL. that last one should be a nice one unless there is a catastrophic failure with one of the teams that day. looks like eng and SL may fight out for that fourth spot if NZ can maintain their job. vaughn should thank the windies for this whisker of chance and the fact that ind and pak players are spending time on some beaches and resorts elsewhere after a memorable show.
Can any tell me why there is mistake in points table about West Indies and South Africa. i.e WI has played 3 and SA has played only 1 match in the super 8 contest.
RE:Error in the points table
by Anil Kumar on Apr 02, 2007 11:46 PM Permalink
In super 8 they are also considering the matches played between the qualifying teams in the group stage.
example: wi carries 2 pts because it defeated ireland in the group stage, and ireland has also qualified for the next round.
RE:Error in the points table
by rick anthony on Apr 03, 2007 01:25 AM Permalink
forget points... see how australia and new zeland played against bangla...
shame to indian babygirl....they should sit on rest. counter
SACK FOREVER - SEWAG,SACHIN,DHONI,YUVRAJ SINGH. INCLUDE - DRAVID (CAPT), GANGULY (VICE CAPT.), AND ALL THE OTHERS WHO WON THE UNDER 19 WORLD CUP AND JUST SHUFFLE THE TEAM WHEN THERE ARE PACE BOWLERS WE CAN SEND MAYBE HARBHAJAN SINGH & KAIF OR THIS WAY THE OVERS ARE ALSO OVER AND YOUR TALENTED PLAYERS ARE ALSO SAVED FOR THE LATTER PART TO PLAY AND CAN SCORE VERY GOOD RUNS AS FOR HARBHAJAN SINGH AND KAIF MAYBE THEIR SCORE A LITTLE RUNS AND MAYBE TURN OUT TO BE GOOD HITTERS. COZ THEIR DON'T HAVE ANY BATTING AT LAST AND THEIR BELIEVE THAT WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO NOW. SO JUST SHUFFLE THE TEAM HERE AND THERE AMD MAKE YOUR START ORDER PLAY MAY FROM 3 OR 4TH PLACE. BY THE TIME THE BLOWERS ARE ALSO TIRED.TRY THIS FORMULA AND SEE.IT SHOULD WORK OVER ALL.