Total 63 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
Slam the boards, A-SLAM! Get us the Olympic Gold!
by Vipul on Apr 29, 2008 06:11 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Aslam bhai,(1.)get our players to get psychologically strong. Half the time the match is lost even before it starts because we have in our minds given up. (2.) Please improve their physical fitness (3.) Improve training facilities and regulate their diet (4.) Enforce strict discipline (5.)Please develop specialists for converting penalty corners and penalty strokes (6.) Have back up players for key positions - you don't have to panic if the key player is sent off for a foul or otherwise (7.) Get sponsorships and motivate the players with better money - i know we all play for the passion of the game; let us get realistic and make hocket monetarily remunerative (8.) Keep all politics out -hockey players' seniority, committe members' seniority, socio economic backgrounds of the players etc (9.) Don't allow Mantris and Babus to influence you or tell you how to run the show (10.) Don't ever make the mistake of encouraging the likes of Jothikumaran and Gill -in other words, don't have 'chamchas' (11.)Improve hockey in not just 5 or 6 cities but in many cities - lay Astroturf in many places in each city; even ordinary schools abroad have Astroturf fields for hockey while important stadia don't have it in India (12.)Don't be corrupt, please (13.) Don't send teams abroad in which there are 16 players and 25 observers-keep the Mantris and Babus out, please (14.) Take ownership and be accountable for the team's performance (15.) Encourage the views of other respectable past players

RE:RE:Slam the boards, A-SLAM! Get us the Olympic Gold!
by Ally on Apr 29, 2008 06:33 PM  Permalink
Excelent VIPUL

@ moderator who deletes this post
by mmspm on Apr 29, 2008 06:07 PM  Permalink 

not politician u fool, before he become politician he is an Olympian, person who played key role in winning 1975 Olympic Gold.

do it now congie moderator

Hockey the National Game of India
by Neeraj Sharma on Apr 29, 2008 06:07 PM  Permalink 

Its going to take very long time to heal the wounds inflicted by Jyothikumaran and Company with Gill playing a second fiddle.The persons who were appointed in the selection commitee (except Dhanraj Pillay)belongs to an old genere with least technical competency.To bring back the glory of hockey they had to start right from the scratch.The first thing is to revive the national level hockey tournaments like beighton cup and variuos other club level hockey.I hope Aslam Sher Khan keeps his promise of getting a good infra structure for hockey and drive all the sarkaari daftar out of hockey stadiums to give players better facilities.

big challege
by sudhu on Apr 29, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink 

It's big challenge for aslam and co. to revive hockey in india.
anyways , all the best aslam.. hope we will see much better than Gill regime ..

Aslam - the last hope ...
by Secular India on Apr 29, 2008 05:45 PM  Permalink 

or as he has said, to Hell with Hockey - which was delivered by KPS Gill and his henchmen.

We hope Aslam makes the difference.

Isn't Kalmadi Should be sacked too...
by Jeevan on Apr 29, 2008 05:34 PM  Permalink 

And what good Kalamadi, the bearded sports mafia, has done for the good of sports in India.
He is there wherever there is a chance to make money and hog the limelight.
He should be kicked out immediately too.

one more politician....
by soorma on Apr 29, 2008 05:16 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

one more politician is making promises....

RE:one more politician....
by Kaushik Basu on Apr 29, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink
Who? The person commenting here are ex players and not polititians. Of course it is to be seen how successful they become.

by soorma on Apr 29, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
aslam sher khan is a full time politician now. He was a congress MP. In 1997 he rebelled and joined BJP.

by soorma on Apr 29, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink
why can't we have pure sportsmen. There are better than aslam.... may be balbir singh (3 time olympic gold medallist)....

why chak de?
by Anandh on Apr 29, 2008 04:49 PM  Permalink 

first let the hockey federation get real..i have got sick of all this chak de comparisons.. chak de is just a movie.. a movie that has a barely thin connection with real life.. the hockey federation and public has to come out of the chak de mindest and break some real ground.. since chakde released i have only heard hockey officials speak about "chak de" rather than implementing some drastic measures.. i am afraid chak de has done a lot more bad than good to the sport by taking it to the big screen

now who will suspend kalmadi?
by pradip datta on Apr 29, 2008 04:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

now who will suspend kalmadi? India's olympic sports ruined by kalmadi & Co.

RE:now who will suspend kalmadi?
by ajai cs on Apr 29, 2008 06:37 PM  Permalink
valid point. India sure has better managers who can be given a chance. Its time for Mr. Kalmadi to fgracefully retire.

AGAIN A POLITICIAN!!!
by Ranajit Bhattacharyya on Apr 29, 2008 04:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

OLD INDIAN SAYING..WHOEVER GOES TO LANKA BECOMES RAVAN...dont forget Aslam Sher Khan now is a full time politician. Do we really need politicians running our sport associations? Never mind he was player.

RE:AGAIN A POLITICIAN!!!
by mmspm on Apr 29, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink
not politician u fool, before he become politician he is an Olympian, person who played key role in winning 1975 Olympic Gold.

eat ur shit u prejudice duffer

RE:AGAIN A POLITICIAN!!!
by A K on Apr 29, 2008 05:59 PM  Permalink
Better than Mr. Sharad Powar does not ABC of cricket. Instead of solving problem of Maharashtra Farmers, he jumped here to take a chunk from crores

Total 63 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >