Total 114 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Get Mayawati on Board
by Loads on May 05, 2008 03:28 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Time has come for Mayawati. Mayawati would be the next PM.

Re: Get Mayawati on Board
by Robin Mitra on Oct 15, 2008 08:15 AM  Permalink
Loads, do u live or have lived in UP in recent times? A CM whose ego index is so high that she has scant respect for the poor(witness her expressions the day the bridge collapsed in lucknow killing 3 ppl and injuring others), her invasion of the state treasury for building her massive statues in the name of public works, her refusal to grant land to railways for the coach factory so that she could steal the thunder from Sonia...these are just a few points which go a long way to show how callous her attitude is...and u want her to sit in that august chair?

Re: Get Mayawati on Board
by kranti on Oct 15, 2008 05:22 AM  Permalink
pagal hai kya???

Re: Re: Get Mayawati on Board
by Akash Pillai on Oct 15, 2008 05:22 PM  Permalink
bakwaas..... he is easily the most egoistic person and most of her statements are highly contradictory. pls do not write this kind of atrocious things

NAXALITES
by Abdul Majeed on May 05, 2008 01:33 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Because of ignoring the poor IN India Naxalites are operating in 17 states in India.Government should work so that they shun terrorism and join mainstream.

Re: NAXALITES
by Mohan Raja on Oct 15, 2008 08:50 AM  Permalink
Becasue ISI, Communists, China & Missionaries are helping the naxalites(nowadays called as Maoists)

Congress should be Slammed
by obama man on May 05, 2008 10:10 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its utterly Shameful to even see some such crap from Somnath Chatterjee. I mean, CPI should just fold up in India. They have done crap..nothing ...zilch....delayed the progress of country, led to moral degradation of WB and Kerala and at the same time managed to make people way worse off and poor.

Congress has been the ugly face of India that keeps on rising every time india fights for honor in the World Stage.
Same old politics, same old ugly Gandhi family. Same old monarchy....
I mean when will this end.

Its heartening to see Obama cry out.. same old Washington policies wont change if we elect same old washington internals....i mean its not even half as true in USA.

But Delhi internals...the friggn Congress Party and the Rahul Bianca Sonia...just because of their blueblood n good looks.

I dont know what more to say.

The country is doomed as long as these two enemies of the country, namely: Congress and CPI are totally abandoned from political process.

I mean there were a few sensible guys , great guys rather, PC and Manmohan Singh..one has been neutered by Sonia and the other keeps on making populist half willed moves.

I mean...banning Commodity futures is great if it actually helps the country. Why not work with the trading regulators and traders and set limits.

Why let things like Commodities lead to food crisis in the world.
Just in the friggin wake of an election, they continue the policy of 1950s.
This is utterly shameless.

Re: Re: Congress should be Slammed
by Danny on Oct 15, 2008 09:53 AM  Permalink
U should write a book man, it will be better than Adiga's white tiger..seriously, i mean this as a compliment to your comments

Re: Congress should be Slammed
by neelima neelima on Oct 15, 2008 03:51 AM  Permalink
You are forgetting that your BJP is showcasing another Gandhi, Varun! They cannot ignore the Nehru family attraction, can they? And then people like you talk about dynasty? Whose son is Udbhav Thakre?

Re: Re: Congress should be Slammed
by Calspadeaspade on Apr 30, 2009 10:54 PM  Permalink
We love a gandhi who hates another gandhi. So why not? Let us have a level playing field.

Poverty
by navnit =nick = mandalaywala on May 04, 2008 07:27 AM  Permalink 

BREEDS ALL EVILS

We need to understand the basics of removing poverty.
by bihari babu on May 04, 2008 06:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ever since economic growth started in last 10 years there are so many poor people who has jumped to the next level (Middle class). Now we know the way. We have to keep providing fair business environment, with good infrastructure and local people with job skills. Thats all. Pvt company, multinationals (Indians & foreign) will come running to you. As they will set up shop/offices it will creat jobs for locals.
This is mantra of all rich nations. There is no other way. Communists, neta can keep giving big talks, ideology about helping poor, but we all know what these stupid ideology has given us in last 50 years.
Also we need to use media to create good consumer. Unless people involve in buying/selling they consume product/services (Depeding on capacity of course), why would pvt company come there.
So the basic point is to help creat a business atmosphere and jobs will be created, poverty will be removed. U look at Mumbai, why so many jobs, people earning good income. Same we have to copy on others town also. Jai hind.

RE:We need to understand the basics of removing poverty.
by jay b on May 05, 2008 09:05 PM  Permalink
i am not against modernisation and progress But rapid westernisation is making people forget their indian culture. If you conduct a survey the previous middle class, upper middle class is less happier than before. Poor class may be more better financially bu they too resent the high stress, low human values ,crassy materialistic life which everybody is aping from west.

Re: RE:We need to understand the basics of removing poverty.
by Calspadeaspade on Apr 30, 2009 10:57 PM  Permalink
Man is never happy. We have to strike a balance. we can not have everything.

RE:We need to understand the basics of removing poverty.
by manoj on May 04, 2008 07:59 AM  Permalink
I totally agree with this view. Not only we need to understand this point very clearly,
but also should spread awarness of this new reality of the modern world. Unless many people in smaller town, are aware of this nothing can happen. We can keep dreaming of strong nation. we can waste another 100 years, blaming politics, govt and gossipping about it.
this mantra which has worked for all rich nations in the world. Even communist china has said good bye to ideology and very strictly working on this formula. thats why they are growing at jet speed.

I'm flaunting Tata's & Ambani's wealth!!
by gaida on May 04, 2008 03:36 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

"The shameless way wealth is flaunted is extraordinary"
So every time I whip out my cheap Reliance phone am I flaunting Ambani's wealth? Every time I eat Tata's cheap namak(salt) in front of my guests am I flaunting Tata's wealth? wow! you use some twisted logic there my friend! If a poor brick-layer goes to a movie with his family is he flaunting his wealth... NO! he is just reaping the rewards of for his hard work, initiative and for obeying the law. The same goes for rich businessmen too... Money represents your hard work, brains, risk-taking and ultimately the reward for how much people value what you produce... Get your morals, your logic and your economics straight before you write a book..(I think you got one part of your economics straight... the part where you become rich by selling this book)

RE:I'm flaunting Tata's & Ambani's wealth!!
by gaida on May 04, 2008 04:13 AM  Permalink
My point is: The first impression that a poor man gets about a rich man driving a luxury car is wrong... the poor man sees that he is unable to buy what he needs whereas a rich man can easily afford life's necessities and more. The way to earn more money is for the poor man to show some initiative to upgrade his skills & actively seek opportunities and for society to enable (mind you: not "guarantee" but "enable") his social mobility in the form of easy access to credit(so he can borrow to learn new skills) & easy access to information(non-profits disseminating information about work opportunities). My irritation with this author and other such socialist writers is that they never talk about how the poor man also has to display initiative. The poor man reads such writings and comes to the WRONG conclusion that his hard work and initiative will be worth nothing as he will always face invisible barriers to his economic progress. Let's talk about those barriers if they are real and let the poor man meet us mid-way by showing some initiative. Blind sympathy for the poor man is what got Russia into trouble when unscrupulous muscle-men took over the Communist party from idealistic do-gooders.

Firstly we should give poor jobs based on merit, not based on marathi, bihari.
by manoj on May 04, 2008 02:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

See whats going on maharashtra. North indians are being targeted. For what ? They are destroying culture ? Have u asked this question, Who is destroying marathi culture ? for what ?
Raj Thakary is confusing, misleading Maharashtrian just like Lallo did to bihari for 2 decades.
If u want to speak marathi u speak with family. Why should outsiders learn it. Is marathi rashtra bhasha, national langauge ?
Also Raj is so proud of marathi culture. Do u think other state in north have inferior culture. Every region has its own list greatness, proud. Reason they come to maharashtra because job here created is by indian not marathi. Then why should marathi get it. Let marathi businessmen creat job for marathi who is stoping u. why should tata, birla, ambani's created job should go to marathi.
And about destroying culture ?
why the hell outsiders would destroy marathi culture, what for ?

RE:Firstly we should give poor jobs based on merit, not based on marathi, bihari.
by jay b on May 05, 2008 08:38 PM  Permalink
this is probably out of context here but the reason which is valid to a certain extent (although i do not agree with the way Raj and the supporters are protesting) is that if more northerners start coming in mumbai then the marathis will obviously loose control of mumbai which has served maharastras interest for a long time (5 decades plus) . The northerners would demand mumbai to be a separate state which no marathi would like again because the rest of state has progressed a lot financially (industries,jobs,taxes,high land prices,more control in central government of marathis due to past significance of mumbai,Pimpri - chinchwad,.....)in the past 50 yrs solely due to mumbai (which has to the contrary developed only because of All indian populace). This is the cultural (albeit financial) concern of marathis

To Anyone Caring
by manoj nair on May 03, 2008 02:08 PM  Permalink 

I Know there are lots of keralites are reading the conversation. I am just here to present one thing that would devastate the whole of kerala and will make the state of kerala a place where we couldnot live and travel. And that thing is the "QUOTATION". Do you wonder hearing the word. Yea this word has a lot of meanings and this word is going to be the devastative power in kerala. I scare within a few years kerala is going to be the state like " Mumbai was in the 1980s" and the real reason behind this is the politicians who are taking full advantage of this so called "Quotation" system.

POLICE is just the puppet in the hands of politicians and i know a lot of occations where these small quotation teams were left unpunished after the call from local politicians. LIFE is going to be so pathetic and Kerala is going to sink into the hands of MAFIA. But we can only change it with the reaction from "The MOB". Just please write to me to manojnair_101@rediffmail.com, one who would like to participate and would like work as a team to oppose this system and we can show them what we could do? just write to me.

Need for Introspection
by Jayanta Dhar on May 03, 2008 02:08 PM  Permalink 

Thanks a lot to rediff for the thought provoking interview of Arvind Adiga, the author of The White Tiger.

Everywhere in the world, people get the kind of politicians they deserve.If there is poor governance in India, we, the common people can't simply blame the politicians and relax!!!
They are from our society only, not imported from the MOON!
If all the people with good ideas and interst to serve the country avoid politics as a dirty game, then it will be obvious that politics will be managed by people who are on a much lower plane.
It is therefore, high time we realised that there is an urgent need for introspection before it is too late to save our beloved country INDIA.

Jayanta Dhar

Total 114 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >