I currently work in China and i know these people. They want to rule the whole world, thats all. China is our #1 enemy and is certainly not a friendly one. India should put tremendous back office diplomacy in place and pressurize them to back off. A direct confrontation will not help. But really, Indian Govt needs more guts.
RE:Stop China
by Shreyash Shukla on Mar 19, 2008 06:27 AM Permalink
Charity and revolution begins at home badebhaiya. Come on lets protest against chinese let all Indian community working in china leave china kar saktey ho...nahin na. Tibet neet help not lip service. As i said India has done its moral duty towards Tibet by refuging their leader when all the world backed off. The world can give His Holiness Dalai Lama Nobel peace prize and i dont remember the recent award in USA but not refuge. USA and all other countries are giving lip service to Tibet but we have supported them by action. I suggest there is no point in giving some inflamatory statements against china and have a sour relationship. Politics bro jo bolna hai woh karna nahin jo karna hai woh bolna nahin...It will surely infuriate China. Imagine ghar mein shaadi ho we all are preparing for it the big event and the neighbour says your people are parking car in front of my house or something to create an unpleasent atmosphere how would you feel....After the marriage is over and when the neighbour has a function we will create problems form him. China holds olympics we are staging commonwealth games....be diplomatic. Help them but dont show them....
RE:Stop China
by Jai Bheem on Mar 19, 2008 06:31 AM Permalink
Many countries tried to rule world before..Greeks,Cholas (India), Britishers..Now America & future China...
We will show them thier place..Let there be another war...
India knows hrough introspection that tibet is a moral issue which promulgates the indian idea of freedom of expression and acts . the problem with india is that it always want to sail 2 boats n at the end we fell in sea . weather it is isreal-pelestine or china-tibet . if india cant stand in favour of truth now here is no point giving sheltor to DALAI LAMA and his devotees . India from now onwards should stop trying to become moral leder of the world and accept the fact that it doesnt have courage to stand with truth .
The emptiness in the claim of being anything Close to be called a Superpower can be seen in the way Successive governments have been impotent when it comes to Foreign affairs dealings with China.Indian Govts tremble when China is mentioned.We put Tibetans in jail when Chinese PMs visit India just to make the Chinese PM comfortable. This is correct to the point that we dont want to embarass them. But when our own PM visits Arunachal(an indian state) The chinese voice their concerns. Clearly how much a superpower status other countries give us can be judged by this fact.We are seen as a nation of Impotent Cowards becoz of the steps our highly respectable elected politicians take.When a Chinese PM visits india,its the top headline of every newspaper in india.meanwhile the visit of an indian pm just makes Page 4 or 5 in the Chinese Newspapers.Its a dream Indians want to see and believe that We are the next SUPERPOWER. We are closer than we were before in achieving that. but still miles away.The way India yet again Clamped down on the tibetan protestors in what was their biggest ever protest shows how our petty government has buckled down to the chinese pressure. Im not saying we need to Go at war with China over Tibet. But we need to Voice our concerns.Rather the tibetans voices were forcefully supressed.SHAME on India for stepping down from a noble cause just to please the real economic superpower which is China.India has lost alot of Moral superiority by stopping Tibetans.SHAME
RE:Impotent Indian Stand is Disappointing Yet Again
by Shreyash Shukla on Mar 19, 2008 06:00 AM Permalink
We dont protect our lands why should we interfere in other's affairs. Pakistan Occupied Kashmir, Aksai Chin and now Arunanchal Pradesh. India has done its duty towards Tibet by giving refuge to Dalai Lama. If we want to do something for Tibetiens then yes let them come in and give refuge to them instead voicing their freedom struggle. We allow Bangladeshis to come. Statistics show that there are 2 million illegal Bangladeshis staying in India. They are doing nothing but planning terrorist activities the one which was unfolded in Goa and the which unfortunately happened in Hyderabad blasts. Why did Kargil happen because our own jawans left the bunkers empty and went for a stroll and to regain it we have to sacrifice another 2000 of our soldiers to regain our own bunkers and even then we had a golden chance and reason to reoccpy POK but unfortunately no such orders were issued. Supporting Tibet is okay understood but politics says we cannot make one enemy who is as strong as ourselves and besides india has very troubled neighbours Pakistan, Bangladesh but could survive because of its military might over them. China is a different case. I am not saying we should be scared of them no...If forced a war then okay we will see them too...but we will not fight them for a third reason. We are a country called India not USA who needles around with everyone's internal affairs.
by hemant sharma on Mar 19, 2008 07:14 AM Permalink
I am not saying go to war neither. But the way Indian govt has kneeled down doesnt show any likeliness to the Superpower we think ourselves to be.
by italyseaayi on Mar 19, 2008 06:10 AM Permalink
Good comment. India should not interfere in tibetian affairs but needs to give the freedom for tibetians to move if they want to protest in Tibet. Looks like chinese have created too much hype on themselfs in the minds of others. I see that even in the comments made by readers. China cannot do anything to India. India is mighty like china. It is not 1960 (Nehru blunder). It is 2008 (Mighty India).
RE:RE:Impotent Indian Stand is Disappointing Yet Again
by hemant sharma on Mar 19, 2008 07:16 AM Permalink
The mighty India of 2008 is no different that the 1960 Nehru Blunder. Our army is very weak on the frontiers with China. If u read the Army chief's interview. there are indications that on the Chinese side they have hard roads whereas on the india side, areas are accessible only on foot.
Pakistan ruled by a military general see it's state or crisis today bombs every now and then and political unrest. China a communist country may be forcing or thrusting their decisions on the citizens but we have to accept it that those decisions have brought them at the verge of world super power status. I am not in favour of communism in broad indian view its like jagirdari system in india where the jagirdar holds all the capital in the form of land and farmers are just working for them...But this system has brought them an enviable super power status. A country as diverse as india with democracy has to accomdate all the view of its citizens and always look for a mid way path because we cannot make everyone happy at one go. This is not the easiest of jobs there is one ve and one -ve with it. Positive is we have our opinion heard and the negative is it delays the decision making process. So either appreciate china who is just working for it's national interest which our leaders dont do. Or appreciate India for its way of accomdating all views. Both are right it is just a matter of thought how we look at things. But yes i am upset with Indian govt statement saying it will not tolerate anti-chinese activities in India. Again i remind them that this is democracy and peaceful demonstrations are the rights of a community. India could have said "We will see that the demonstrations are peace and do not bring any negative impact on Indo-China relationship"
RE:A Piece of Thought...
by Indoamerican on Mar 19, 2008 05:36 AM Permalink
China is just a paper tiger. They cannot do any thing.eg. Taiwan, korea, tibet. They cant even think of dreaming to claim super power status.. Real power is USA. No one can take that away.
India should allow free flow of Tibetans to Indian universities and allow them close to Indian national status. India should use its "so called" friendly relations to pressure China for a more objective dialogue with Dalai Lama or representatives of Tibet. A high Chinese military presence in Tibet is a security threat to India and therefore should negotiate for a open border via Tibet and convert Tibet to military free zone. Tibet should be the new Hong Kong for business between India and China. Whether India wants it or not, historical connections to this spiritual nation in Tibet makes India party to the conflict directly or indirectly. China very well is aware of it, and should acknowledge the same although India can stay away from any negotiations but act as a facilitator. Together Chindia can solve the Tibetan issue thus allowing Tibetans to preserve their spiritual identity whilst carrying the Chinese passport.
RE:India should be proactive!
by Shreyash Shukla on Mar 19, 2008 05:57 AM Permalink
We dont protect our lands why should we interfere in other's affairs. Pakistan Occupied Kashmir, Aksai Chin and now Arunanchal Pradesh. India has done its duty towards Tibet by giving refuge to Dalai Lama. If we want to do something for Tibetiens then yes let them come in and give refuge to them instead voicing their freedom struggle. We allow Bangladeshis to come. Statistics show that there are 2 million illegal Bangladeshis staying in India. They are doing nothing but planning terrorist activities the one which was unfolded in Goa and the which unfortunately happened in Hyderabad blasts. Why did Kargil happen because our own jawans left the bunkers empty and went for a stroll and to regain it we have to sacrifice another 2000 of our soldiers to regain our own bunkers and even then we had a golden chance and reason to reoccpy POK but unfortunately no such orders were issued. Supporting Tibet is okay understood but politics says we cannot make one enemy who is as strong as ourselves and besides india has very troubled neighbours Pakistan, Bangladesh but could survive because of its military might over them. China is a different case. I am not saying we should be scared of them no...If forced a war then okay we will see them too...but we will not fight them for a third reason. We are a country called India not USA who needles around with everyone's internal affairs.
RE:let's mind our business
by Rajeev G on Mar 19, 2008 05:11 AM Permalink
yes right lets care about kashmir and all problems which India faces. We are already helping tibetians by allowing their govt to function from India..Allowing tibetians to come and settle down in india and earn their livelihood. Now they should fight for their cause..We should not be fighting someone's else battle.
RE:let's mind our business
by thokka on Mar 19, 2008 05:14 AM Permalink
tibet was part of india not so long ago, brother. We need to take up the cause of tibet seriously. We cant just give away every piece of land to either china or pakistan.
Though the general India public is supporting the Tibetan cause, but these bloody Congress will bow to China. Situation no more like 1963. Gone were the days when China can march into Indian Territory. They have their own problem. More over there is a difference between violent allegation and peaceful protest. Those who are comparing Kashmir with Tibet are fools. Kashmiri ppl have been given all liberty and they have special provision provided in Indian constitution. It was always a part of India. There was not treaty between India and other country over Kashmir. Where Tibet was never been a part of Mainland China. More over Tibetians have been asking for autonomy which was never granted. If China is not suppressing Tibetians then it should not have problem allowing media to cover the reports. The story is all together different and they can't fool the world now. Everyone knows what is happening in Tibet. China is weaving the web of its own trouble. As far as India and Indians are concerned, we must support Tibetian cause. We need a peace loving neighbor and that can be achieved by helping Tibetian cause and this way we can get rid of the so called hostality of China. Jaajo mere bhaiyon. Lets pledge and wipe out the name of Congress from our country so that we can help the needy. Jai Hind.
RE:G mein goode ki zaroorat hai
by Rajeev G on Mar 19, 2008 04:56 AM Permalink
so what you are advocating.. Allow our army to march to Lhasa and grant freedom to them.. robin hood style? Just try and see what happens..why blame congress for it..
RE:G mein goode ki zaroorat hai
by Shesh Lak on Mar 19, 2008 05:18 AM Permalink
Rajeev, What ever we are is due to congress and kneeling down foreign policy. I'm not saying that we should march to Lhasa, but at the same time why to show so much of hostility towards peace loving Tibetians. They were not killing people or bombing anyone. Every human have the right to express his feeling and that what they did and all of them were arrested. Problem lies with the Congress, whether you accept it or not. They were always a big failure when it came to play big in the international arena. That is the reason we here today when no one cares about us.
Unless we stand up for what is right (in this case Tibet), we shall continue to disgrace the very ideals and the memories of freedom fighters who gave their lives for our country.
RE:Freedom and Justice for all...
by munno patel on Mar 19, 2008 06:00 AM Permalink
India is not saying anything because they want affiliation with china to follow their footstep to richness. No government in india is stupid enough to stand up against china and derail the economy. Sometime you have to look away and be diplomatic. We have enough problems in our own country and the pakis (our step sibling). If we stand up against china and create a war atmosphere, the economy will definitely collapse and Manmohan will not do that at our own cost. Let USA deal with it with the intervention of UN.
BJP is right to confront China, and Congress as usual is wrong. We should sacrifice the miserable Congress Party and its long family history of cowardly appeasers. When the next elections comes, Congress should be thrown out of India, and sent into exile. That idiot Nehru backed down in front of China in 1959, and we have been paying the price for it ever since. To hell with the Congress Party, Indians should stand up for themselves. There are a billion of us Indians, and meanwhile Chinese govt has to mostly point guns at its own people. We should join the Tibetans in their marches.
RE:Indians Should Sacrifice Ties with Congress Party
by Tamil Arasan on Mar 19, 2008 05:25 AM Permalink
Lets see if BJP dares to fight china if and when they come to power(which is doubtful).Then they will sing a different tune ...of peace ,of course!