Total 269 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Corruption in India
by Tummala Sreenivas on Mar 10, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

All the Public servants are corrupt in India. Either they are IAS or Chaprasis. I still remember paying a Chaprasi 5 rupees for the Chop (Stamp) for one of my Certificates. My wif3 also paid 400 rupees later on to get a birth certificate for my daughter from the Muncipal Office. One thing is sure in India, you can get Government services in India even without paying a bribe, but it will take a life time. So, are we going to wait for a life time to get a Certificate or a Passport? No!!!!!!!!! So we pay the bribes to get them fast to meet our requirements.

We also pay bribes to get a berth in a train, to get a water connection, Electricity connection, a ration card which is a defacto ID for most of the wretched Indians.

We pay bribes for getting a Death Certicicate as though we are responsible for it.

We pay bribes to land a government job, we pay bribes to get everything done.

So who is more corrupt than Indians. No body. Even the least developed countries don't have this system of parallel economy like we have in India.

You can even travel in Palace on Wheels by paying a bribe rather than purchasing the ticket for 1 lakh per PAX.

We also pay Income Tax (there are only 10 lakh people who have income more than 10 laks in India, but we have 4 Billionnaires in India within the first 10 ranks as per Forbes. I don't know how much they pay as bribes or taxes.

MC should know all these things still he bribed the farmers for their VOTES.

YES INCREDIBLE INDIA.

RE:Corruption in India
by Dipak Raj on Mar 10, 2008 08:33 PM  Permalink
You are absolutely correct. After reading your message I was trying to look back and find if I have done any official work in India without bribe? I am really surprise to find that I have paid bribe every where except my M.Sc certificate from Punjab University Chandigarh.
Here is the list.

OFFICIAL DOCUMENT                   BRIBE PAID
10th Certificate                   Rs 20
2 Certificate still missing after paying Rs100
3 Certificate Rs 200 as fine and Rs150 as bribe
M.Sc Certificate                   00
Birth Certificate                  Rs 200
Income certificate                   Rs 125 tiffin
Passport             Rs 400(clork) 50(Peon) 250(Police)
Ph.Dregistration Rs 250
PhD Thesis Dispatch                  Rs 800
VC signature            Rs 150 sweet 1Kg
PhD External      Rs 1500 Train ticket and
hotel (Rs 3200)      
PhD Provisional      Rs 200
Ph D Certificate       Rs 350
Diving License      Rs 635
Weaver from India350(passport office)
       500(police) 500(home Ministry)

Finally I am out of India since 2004 and enjoying a happy life, still want to go back
because my parents, friends and relatives are there and waiting for me.Still I have to pay custom each time I am visiting India.
In most of the cases I try to get the certificate and then realize that I am not going to get it with in next few year if I will not pay bribe.

Ramakant
NIH USA

by sanjay kumar on Mar 10, 2008 08:07 PM  Permalink
Billionires are paying more in bribe than tax. They are funding election campaign of political parties.

by yogesh maloo on Mar 10, 2008 08:05 PM  Permalink
excellant

by karan aggarwal on Mar 10, 2008 08:15 PM  Permalink
VERY GOOD ARTICLE...YOU MISSED OUT DELHI POLICE....

How can China be ahead of us with more corruption?
by Pranab Jyoti Ghosh on Mar 10, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is a popular belief among us that corruption is the root cause of our backwardness. Now, if the survey is true, then it is proved that corruption is not the root cause but a result of something else. What is that?

RE:How can China be ahead of us with more corruption?
by yogesh maloo on Mar 10, 2008 08:09 PM  Permalink
i think root cause of backwardness is our system. still government office are working in old system. thats why they are unable to handle huge work and day by day it goes on increasing as population increases. i think so with systematic work with using new technologies will increase efficiency and decrease corruption

RE:RE:How can China be ahead of us with more corruption?
by Supreo Mukhopadhyay on Mar 10, 2008 08:12 PM  Permalink
Regionalism! Simply follow rediff cricket and you'd know how polarized we all are. We are becoming shallower by the day when dropping Ganguly can result in rail bandh or a chat puja in Mumbai can call for violence.
Maybe sometimes it's OK to be regional, but never at the cost of our well being and development.
Once abroad, an Indian would gel well with a Pakistani as both speak/understand Hindi but not so much with a Chinese. And there the lack of familiarity will see with the locals will see such friendships blossom. I don't know when we can be more tolerant and disciplined here in India.

by sanjay kumar on Mar 10, 2008 08:09 PM  Permalink
Poor education and low participation in democratic process.

by Souvik Jana on Mar 10, 2008 07:57 PM  Permalink
No... Population is the Root cause of all the problems....

RE:RE:How can China be ahead of us with more corruption?
by Souvik Jana on Mar 10, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
jab tak mehengai bilkul mast tarike se nahin badegi aur log bacchhe paida karna band nahin karenge... tab tak desh ki problems kabhi solve nahin hogi...

Hijde bhi haq se maangte hain...
by Souvik Jana on Mar 10, 2008 07:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

SL class mein hijde bhi haq se maangte hain.... agar galti se Rs 2 diya to wo muh pe maarega .... Rs 10 se kam chalega nahin..... to bribe maangne mein kaun si badi baat hai..... dono bheek hi hai..... bus maangne ka tarika different hai.... aur bheek mein lower limit hai... ke usse kam bheek nahin di jaa sakti....

RE:Hijde bhi haq se maangte hain...
by Souvik Jana on Mar 10, 2008 07:55 PM  Permalink
Rates tay hain...

china is more corrupt?
by muralidharan somashiyandan on Mar 10, 2008 07:49 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indians must have bribed the regional think tank team to put China ahead of India in corruption!

RE:china is more corrupt?
by Deva Pratap Saathivayal on Mar 10, 2008 07:52 PM  Permalink
lol

I too am surprised after seeing Thailand score. I thought that's a better country.

by Chris on Mar 10, 2008 07:59 PM  Permalink
lol hahah ! Point to be noted !

by Tamil Arasan on Mar 10, 2008 07:56 PM  Permalink
Keep it up muralidharan! You have a great sense of humour Man.

by Tom on Mar 10, 2008 08:24 PM  Permalink
Indians have no self respect. Thats why they crack jokes on themself. They lack character.

what is wrong with you
by India on Mar 10, 2008 07:49 PM  Permalink 

Who has published this irrelevant and complete piece of c*@p article?!!

What are you trying to suggest really?!!

Don't you see our infrastructure..our environemt...cost of living..corruption..poverty..I can go on for the next two days with this list you knw!!

I think......
by A K on Mar 10, 2008 07:49 PM  Permalink 

I think Indian Ministers might have given bribe to Political and Economic Risk Consultancy to place India on 8th rank from 1st Rank.

Cahk De..........
by Rahul Prasad on Mar 10, 2008 07:47 PM  Permalink 

i have been in this for sometime but let me be frank every ne in our country blames the govenment. but everyone does somewhere wrong from monring to evening. Let us try to become perfect then ask for our country to be perfect. We can make india the best nation in the world. Like how we prey to god we shd make other people prey for indian flag.

Please be perfect for a month and look for the change...........dnt do which is against the law ...follow strict rules...dnt point other mistakes be perfect for a month and c the change...as gandhi said...

Be the change before u want the change to be done...JAI HIND

See its been one year i am trying to be to some extent perfect i do go a lot of problems and irritation from the society but i am happy for living this kind of life....

India is more corrupt then CHina
by harishanker on Mar 10, 2008 07:43 PM  Permalink 

India has the most corrupt politicians and government servants. The laws made by the British to govern a slave country are still there. To get arround them we pay bribes. No wonder 2 Prime Ministers were assasinated and there is armed revolt in 165 districts.

Have they been to Bihar?
by snpost on Mar 10, 2008 07:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Has the Political and Economic Risk Consultancy been to Bihar yet? :)

RE:Have they been to Bihar?
by Mallika Sherawat on Mar 10, 2008 07:53 PM  Permalink
Have you been to Bihar?? I think media during Lalu's Rule was after him for anything. Media has greater role in declaring Bihar as most corrupt state. So people who have never visited bihar have opinion about Bihar. I think UP is more corrupt than Bihar.

by Chandra Prakash on Mar 10, 2008 08:03 PM  Permalink
Yes. UP is number one--------

by sanjay kumar on Mar 10, 2008 08:15 PM  Permalink
Bihar is too backward to be 'most corrupt'. There are only 400 MBBS in comarision to 2000 in Mharastra. Around 43% people are below poverty line. They don't have money to give. Sharad Pawar is richer than Laloo yadav. Though both have started with humble beginning.

corruption free year
by arani prakasam on Mar 10, 2008 07:42 PM  Permalink 

Apart from saving the tigers , let us all save the country.we should have one year of ZERO corruption
year. the country will also prosper set a better example for the future generation. if every file moves with a bribe for one year we see a sea change in the development of our country. will all those in power cooperate and achieve the zero corruption country atleast for one year

Total 269 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>