The sale of firearms to general public is the major reason for such shootouts. The govt claims its the right of a person to defend himself by using firearms. I think they should enforce laws to control firearms sale. In many parts of southern usa, you would find kids & teens having a firearm & practice shooting at the street walls and spraying on them ... these are very common.
RE:Problems lies with firearms ...
by PKN on Mar 05, 2008 12:29 AM Permalink
Sorry but I could not disgree more with you. The gun is only a means to an end . The "end" in this case is tendency to go for violence . If the guns were not around he/she would use a bread knife to achieve end . The first violent human used a rock to crush the skull of his victim . Can we blame rocks? Wonder what Cain used to kill his Abel ?
RE:Problems lies with firearms ...
by Shadow on Mar 05, 2008 07:30 AM Permalink
Of course tool matters. It is harder to kill with a stone or a rock or a knife than a gun. Death rate is high with a gun than with other things. A rock is a rock, but you have automatic pistols, machine guns, shot-guns and so on which can give a sure death. There is a good chance in some cases you can defend yourself against a knife or rock and in some cases you can out run the other guy and escape. You see my dear friend it is the tool.
I am sure Dr Srinivas must have been a very innovative person who committed suicide by stabbing himself in the neck ! The American police are as corrupt as ours . They are a simply trying to cover up a crime ! Read 'The Innocent Man' the only TRUE Story written John Grisham . Musharaf must rueing the fact that he didnot get the American police to investigate Ms Bhutto death . They would have suggested that she committed suicide by banging her head on the sun roof of he SUV. Such crime against Indian students are happening too frequently for comfort ! The government of India must use every means to get the American Government to look into this matter more seriously. It is true that many a nitwit went to America beleiving it to be the land of 'Milk and Honey' only to realize that it was also a land of 'muggers and petty criminals' . But that would hardly let our government the right to remain silent .
To all the people in India who want to go to America, welcome to america where you can be stabbed, murdered, shot to death, mugged, and your body returned in flowers to your parents or relatives.
RE:Welcome to America
by Loan Shark on Mar 05, 2008 05:06 AM Permalink
abbe jub number aayega to lug jaayega ... abhee hur koi toh amrica aakur suicide naheen karta naa ... hur koi toh mugg naheen hota, stab naheen hota, shoot naheen hota.
by nitin on Mar 05, 2008 12:10 AM Permalink
Chetan, Why are you blaming America when the story is saying he commited suicide according to cops?
by vi si on Mar 05, 2008 12:16 AM Permalink
Boss, Why are you so angry ?? Life in America now no way differant from India US Cops are like indian cops only they will first say suscide to show...Guys from the good clleges ..please Don't come here as it is heading for a serious recession ...And guys from bekar colleges you are welcome ...
RE:RE:Welcome to America
by Loan Shark on Mar 05, 2008 05:08 AM Permalink
naheen bhai US kaa cop bahut achchha hai ... aise jhoot naheen bolta, rishwatt naheen leta ... abhee koi koi bad apple hota hai society mein, but overall sarkari bande idhar kaafi imandaar hein.
RE:RE:Welcome to America
by nitin on Mar 05, 2008 12:40 AM Permalink
Vi Si, Do I seem angry from the message I posted? However you do seem scared of the coming recession.
What is the logic behind welcoming guys from "bekar" colleges and not good colleges? Will they do better in recession?
It's a free country, anyone is welcome as long as they follow the VISA process.
by Pavan on Mar 05, 2008 12:17 AM Permalink
Nitin dude,
Just think, multiple stabs wounds on neck, who do suicide that way ?, also what is the need to come to US to do suicide ? he has already left the girl in india even if its a love failure case....
by nitin on Mar 05, 2008 12:37 AM Permalink
Pavan, Why should we speculate the cause of his death. If cops are calling it a suicide they must have found some evidence.
Although just reading the description it does seem like a really horrible way to commit suicide. But hey he was a doctor, may be good with surgical knife.
I'm living in a dorm pursuing my grad studies. In computer engineering in a California university. Believe me, it's very scary nowadays. There's SO MUCH RACISM ... I feel VERY SCARED walking to my dorm at nite. Have to...b 'cuz I have a nite class, then have to attend computer labs. Then finish programmes , compile & execute / run them. After that, it gets late. like even 1 a.m. All of us feel very insecure. 2 of my friends got mugged at 8 p.m. Think twice before coming to the U.S.
RE:It IS SCARY here in the U.S. - a computer engineering graduate student's story.
by on on Mar 04, 2008 11:04 PM Permalink
why living in fear...go back to the mother land..live peacefully...u r such a hippocrate
RE:It IS SCARY here in the U.S. - a computer engineering graduate student's story.
by on on Mar 04, 2008 11:06 PM Permalink
if you are so scared..why live in USA..go back to india...live peacefully.
by Adrian on Mar 05, 2008 12:23 AM Permalink
So you are trying to tell me you will never get mugged and robbed in India. Violence is everwhere may the poor guys soul RIP. I live in US too and had my my share of getting mugged at gunpoint , but I will never be stupid enough to think that India is a safe place.
by Prashant Pawar on Mar 04, 2008 11:50 PM Permalink
Well its time that you start rooting for second amendment rights for International Students too!
by Anil Agarwal on Mar 04, 2008 11:13 PM Permalink
Sreyashi...I sympathize with you. My niece barely escaped.
She was withdrawing money for grocery at a teller machine in South Central Los Angeles. Barely escaped...
by Anil Agarwal on Mar 04, 2008 11:08 PM Permalink
My niece also has similar experience like yours....She had bad experience one Friday night while withdrawing money from the teller machine.
RE:RE:It IS SCARY here in the U.S. - a computer engineering graduate student's story.
by love on Mar 05, 2008 04:30 AM Permalink
then dear y r u there still, y dont u come back 2 india ifu r so much scared...u r staying but saying othere not to come,, u r a hypocrite..
They are going there to earn Big Money....They forget India...as there mother nation. They are least bother about India then why we bother about them ?????
RE:Why should we bother if they are not Loyal to India ???
by PKN on Mar 05, 2008 12:01 AM Permalink
Let me rephase what you wrote as a statement from Raj Thakeray to Lalu Prasad Yadav " lalu ji ...They are going there to earn Big Money....They forget Bihar...as there( THEIR) mother state. They are least bother about Bihar then why you bother about them ?????" Does it sound right ? If it does then what you wrote also sounds right to us.
by Prashant Pawar on Mar 04, 2008 10:31 PM Permalink
Funny thing how you refer to "our administrator", it shows the classic slave mentality you have been brainwashed to.
by Anil Agarwal on Mar 04, 2008 11:09 PM Permalink
No...it is a thing of concern. My niece had horrible experience withdrawing money from teller machine late at night.
Somehow escaped...jumped back to her car and drove off
The latest gruesome killing of Akkaldevi Srinivas under suspicious circumstances, in Pensylvania (US)- the fourth such tragic case in just three months' time,has become a cause of serious concern for all law- abiding Indians, and deserve condemnation by one and all, in the storngest terms.That the US Administration, supposed to be the most high- tech in the globe,with best of the intelligence sleuths and top organisation like the FBI, has not succeeded in halting such dastardly crimes against Indian students and scholars, apart from bringing the culprits to book, have indeed hurt us all, just trribly.Would the US Authorities take all necessary stepos, in order to bring the assasins to book, as fast as it can and also set in motion a system of surveillance, protection and alert, so that, this fourth case would be the last such case, and also adequately compensate the families of the victims? JPRajkhowa, Narikal Basti, Guwahati- 781024, INDIA.
RE:Horrid killing of an Indian Medical Student- Akkaldevi Srinivas
by Fried Yakov on Mar 04, 2008 09:51 PM Permalink
It is time that the Indian Government took notice of the events and talked some sense into the US Government about the priority of protecting human lives in the US.
The Indian govt spends a huge sum of money to churn out doctors in the country and whats the use of them surviving if they are not doing any thing for their motherland??
RE:No good done to India
by Fried Yakov on Mar 04, 2008 09:50 PM Permalink
Do you think that the country should stop training doctors? What about those doctors who return to India after training a few years abroad and bring with them advanced skills and technologies? Instead of taking a 'frog in the well' attitude, do you not think that the government could do much to encourage doctors who gained valuable experience abroad to return and the populace could benefit from their skills. Would this not be a progressive step?
RE:No good done to India
by nidhi chaudhry on Mar 04, 2008 09:51 PM Permalink
plzz realize that one life has been lost before commenting such stuff and for ur information d student srinivas had served while doin his ms... if engineers can make fortune why are people like u hell bent on targetting doctors..do care to reply